Bitcoin Forum
June 18, 2019, 04:05:35 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Electrum 3.3.4 doesn't start (Linux)  (Read 161 times)
simpic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 763
Merit: 513


View Profile
April 24, 2019, 01:41:31 PM
 #1

Hello, I'm on Ubuntu and I have upgraded my Electrum wallet from 3.2.3 to 3.3.4.
Now if I run it from the application menu it doesn't start anymore.

If I try from the command line, I get the following error:

Code:
~$ electrum
Error: No module named 'aiorpcx'. Try 'sudo python3 -m pip install <module-name>'

~$ sudo python3 -m pip install aiorpcx
Requirement already satisfied: aiorpcx in ./.local/lib/python3.6/site-packages
Requirement already satisfied: attrs in ./.local/lib/python3.6/site-packages (from aiorpcx)

~$ electrum
Error: No module named 'aiorpcx'. Try 'sudo python3 -m pip install <module-name>'

What could I do to fix it?

1560830735
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1560830735

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1560830735
Reply with quote  #2

1560830735
Report to moderator
It is a common myth that Bitcoin is ruled by a majority of miners. This is not true. Bitcoin miners "vote" on the ordering of transactions, but that's all they do. They can't vote to change the network rules.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1560830735
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1560830735

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1560830735
Reply with quote  #2

1560830735
Report to moderator
NeuroticFish
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1876
Merit: 1237


There are no mistakes. Only opportunities wasted.


View Profile
April 24, 2019, 02:47:43 PM
 #2

Did you try all the things suggested in other threads for similar error? I guess not. I'd try with this one: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5088612.msg48849435#msg48849435
Good luck!

ETFbitcoin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666
Merit: 1804

Use SegWit and enjoy lower fees.


View Profile WWW
April 24, 2019, 06:02:09 PM
Merited by bones261 (2)
 #3

Try to install Electrum with --upgrade parameter

Code:
python3 -m pip install --user Electrum-3.3.4.tar.gz[fast] --upgrade

In very few cases, remove [fast] parameter (?) fix the problem

Code:
python3 -m pip install --user Electrum-3.3.4.tar.gz[fast] --upgrade

If neither of them work, you could try uninstall and install required library again. Also, as for reference, how did you upgrade Electrum? Do you use pip command or use AppImage file? AFAIK there's less problem if you use AppImage file.

simpic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 763
Merit: 513


View Profile
April 24, 2019, 06:20:53 PM
 #4

Try to install Electrum with --upgrade parameter

Code:
python3 -m pip install --user Electrum-3.3.4.tar.gz[fast] --upgrade

In very few cases, remove [fast] parameter (?) fix the problem

Code:
python3 -m pip install --user Electrum-3.3.4.tar.gz --upgrade
They don't work.

Quote
If neither of them work, you could try uninstall and install required library again.
What are all the libraries involved and what is the best way to remove them and then install again?

Quote
Also, as for reference, how did you upgrade Electrum? Do you use pip command or use AppImage file? AFAIK there's less problem if you use AppImage file.
I used the pip command as described on the Electrum site.

BitMaxz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456
Merit: 1191


Beware on fake trezor website from google ads.


View Profile WWW
April 24, 2019, 07:01:19 PM
 #5

~snip~

How about the python did you installed the python dependencies that electrum requires?

This command
Code:
sudo apt-get install python3-pyqt5

Then try this command below

Code:
sudo apt-get install --upgrade python3-setuptools python3-pip python3 -m pip install --user Electrum-3.3.4.tar.gz[fast]

simpic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 763
Merit: 513


View Profile
April 24, 2019, 08:15:42 PM
 #6

Code:
~$ sudo apt-get install python3-pyqt5
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree      
Reading state information... Done
python3-pyqt5 is already the newest version (5.10.1+dfsg-1ubuntu2).
The following packages were automatically installed and are no longer required:
  bridge-utils libstdc++5 ubuntu-fan
Use 'sudo apt autoremove' to remove them.
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 3 not upgraded.

~$ sudo apt-get install --upgrade python3-setuptools python3-pip python3 -m pip install --user Electrum-3.3.4.tar.gz[fast]
E: Command line option --user is not understood in combination with the other options

BitMaxz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456
Merit: 1191


Beware on fake trezor website from google ads.


View Profile WWW
April 24, 2019, 09:30:22 PM
Merited by bones261 (2)
 #7

Try the appimage if it still not working.

Here's the command line below.

Code:
wget https://download.electrum.org/3.3.4/electrum-3.3.4-x86_64.AppImage
chmod +x electrum-3.3.4-x86_64.AppImage

and then you can run it with this below.

Code:
./electrum-3.3.4-x86_64.AppImage

Abdussamad
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2128
Merit: 1148



View Profile WWW
April 25, 2019, 02:14:09 AM
 #8

>Requirement already satisfied: aiorpcx in ./.local/lib/python3.6/site-packages

It's not installing it sitewide. It's installing it some home directory. Either the unprivileged user's or /root i.e. root's. I suggest uninstalling electrum with `sudo python3 -m pip uninstall electrum` and then installing it as an unprivileged user i.e. `python3 -m pip install --user <pathtoelectrumtarball>`.

simpic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 763
Merit: 513


View Profile
April 25, 2019, 05:02:23 AM
 #9

I did as you told me, but I get the following errore while installing:

Code:
Exception:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/pip/basecommand.py", line 215, in main
    status = self.run(options, args)
  File "/usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/pip/commands/install.py", line 360, in run
    prefix=options.prefix_path,
  File "/usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/pip/req/req_set.py", line 784, in install
    **kwargs
  File "/usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/pip/req/req_install.py", line 851, in install
    self.move_wheel_files(self.source_dir, root=root, prefix=prefix)
  File "/usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/pip/req/req_install.py", line 1064, in move_wheel_files
    isolated=self.isolated,
  File "/usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/pip/wheel.py", line 247, in move_wheel_files
    prefix=prefix,
  File "/usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/pip/locations.py", line 153, in distutils_scheme
    i.finalize_options()
  File "/usr/share/python-wheels/setuptools-39.0.1-py2.py3-none-any.whl/setuptools/command/install.py", line 38, in finalize_options
    orig.install.finalize_options(self)
  File "/usr/lib/python3.6/distutils/command/install.py", line 351, in finalize_options
    self.create_home_path()
  File "/usr/lib/python3.6/distutils/command/install.py", line 581, in create_home_path
    os.makedirs(path, 0o700)
  File "/usr/lib/python3.6/os.py", line 210, in makedirs
    makedirs(head, mode, exist_ok)
  File "/usr/lib/python3.6/os.py", line 220, in makedirs
    mkdir(name, mode)
PermissionError: [Errno 13] Permission denied: '/home/myUser/.local/lib/python3.6'

bob123
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1091



View Profile WWW
April 25, 2019, 07:35:13 AM
Merited by bones261 (2), ETFbitcoin (1)
 #10

Try to install Electrum with --upgrade parameter

Code:
python3 -m pip install --user Electrum-3.3.4.tar.gz[fast] --upgrade

In very few cases, remove [fast] parameter (?) fix the problem

Code:
python3 -m pip install --user Electrum-3.3.4.tar.gz --upgrade


They don't work.



They do work.

You did download the .tar.gz from electrum.org, right ? You did not just try the commands in your command line without having the file in your current directory ?

Also, "They don't work" is pretty little information, don't you think ?
Linux gives you an output explaining why the command didn't work...



The easiest would probably be, if you simply download and use the app image:

Try the appimage if it still not working.

Here's the command line below.

Code:
wget https://download.electrum.org/3.3.4/electrum-3.3.4-x86_64.AppImage
chmod +x electrum-3.3.4-x86_64.AppImage

and then you can run it with this below.

Code:
./electrum-3.3.4-x86_64.AppImage


But make sure to verify the signature before executing / using it.



If you want to have it installed, and not just as an executable containing all dependencies, do as ETFBitcoin said and download the .tar.gz and run
Code:
python3 -m pip install --user /path/to/Electrum-3.3.4.tar.gz[fast]

But again, make sure to verify the signature before installing!



What version of python3 are you using ? To find out, run this:
Quote
python3 -V

Abdussamad
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2128
Merit: 1148



View Profile WWW
April 25, 2019, 07:59:32 AM
 #11

I did as you told me, but I get the following errore while installing:

Code:
Exception:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/pip/basecommand.py", line 215, in main
    status = self.run(options, args)
  File "/usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/pip/commands/install.py", line 360, in run
    prefix=options.prefix_path,
  File "/usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/pip/req/req_set.py", line 784, in install
    **kwargs
  File "/usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/pip/req/req_install.py", line 851, in install
    self.move_wheel_files(self.source_dir, root=root, prefix=prefix)
  File "/usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/pip/req/req_install.py", line 1064, in move_wheel_files
    isolated=self.isolated,
  File "/usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/pip/wheel.py", line 247, in move_wheel_files
    prefix=prefix,
  File "/usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/pip/locations.py", line 153, in distutils_scheme
    i.finalize_options()
  File "/usr/share/python-wheels/setuptools-39.0.1-py2.py3-none-any.whl/setuptools/command/install.py", line 38, in finalize_options
    orig.install.finalize_options(self)
  File "/usr/lib/python3.6/distutils/command/install.py", line 351, in finalize_options
    self.create_home_path()
  File "/usr/lib/python3.6/distutils/command/install.py", line 581, in create_home_path
    os.makedirs(path, 0o700)
  File "/usr/lib/python3.6/os.py", line 210, in makedirs
    makedirs(head, mode, exist_ok)
  File "/usr/lib/python3.6/os.py", line 220, in makedirs
    mkdir(name, mode)
PermissionError: [Errno 13] Permission denied: '/home/myUser/.local/lib/python3.6'


what is the output of `ls -lha /home/myUser/.local/`?

Abdussamad
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2128
Merit: 1148



View Profile WWW
April 26, 2019, 06:32:08 AM
 #12

Listen maybe it would be better if you simply untarred the tarball and ran electrum directly. Don't bother with installing it. Just cd to the directory that is created by extracting the tarball and do a ./run_electrum. Make a link to that file on your desktop for easy access.

bob123
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1091



View Profile WWW
April 26, 2019, 06:39:04 AM
 #13

Listen maybe it would be better if you simply untarred the tarball and ran electrum directly. Don't bother with installing it. Just cd to the directory that is created by extracting the tarball and do a ./run_electrum. Make a link to that file on your desktop for easy access.

Or - even more easy - download the appimage.

He still might be missing some dependencies which would result in errors.
Using the appimage would probably be the best way since it comes with all needed dependencies and is easier to use for people who are not that familiar with linux:


Code:
wget https://download.electrum.org/3.3.4/electrum-3.3.4-x86_64.AppImage
chmod +x electrum-3.3.4-x86_64.AppImage

and then you can run it with this below.

Code:
./electrum-3.3.4-x86_64.AppImage



But make sure to verify the signature before executing / using it.

simpic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 763
Merit: 513


View Profile
April 30, 2019, 07:53:24 AM
 #14

They do work.

You did download the .tar.gz from electrum.org, right ? You did not just try the commands in your command line without having the file in your current directory ?

Also, "They don't work" is pretty little information, don't you think ?
Linux gives you an output explaining why the command didn't work...
Yes, I did download the file and I have it in my current directory.
Sorry about little information, but I mean that I get the same error.

Quote
The easiest would probably be, if you simply download and use the app image
I forgot to tell you that if I try to run Electrum, instead of installing, it works:

Code:
tar -xvf Electrum-3.3.4.tar.gz
python3 Electrum-3.3.4/run_electrum

Quote
What version of python3 are you using ?
Python 3.6.7

what is the output of `ls -lha /home/myUser/.local/`?

Code:
drwxr-xr-x  5 myUser myUser 4,0K jul 12  2018 .
drwxr-x--- 80 myUser myUser 4,0K apr 30 08:56 ..
drwxr-xr-x  2 root     root 4,0K apr 25 07:00 bin
drwx------  4 root     root 4,0K apr 24 15:31 lib
drwxr-xr-x 23 myUser myUser 4,0K apr 29 21:39 share

Something is wrong with my OS?

bob123
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1091



View Profile WWW
April 30, 2019, 08:02:50 AM
 #15

Yes, I did download the file and I have it in my current directory.
Sorry about little information, but I mean that I get the same error.

You get the same error installing electrum as when trying to run electrum ?  Huh
Are you sure ?



I forgot to tell you that if I try to run Electrum, instead of installing, it works:

Code:
tar -xvf Electrum-3.3.4.tar.gz
python3 Electrum-3.3.4/run_electrum

Yes.. this would have been quite handy to know  Grin


But.. why do you want to install electrum, instead of just running the binary ?

Do you want to be able to start it directly from the console with electrum ?
In this case, you can just replace the current electrum binary which is being started with electrum:
Type: which electrum and replace the working binary with the one in this path (maybe back it up before).

Or do you want to be able to start it via your application menu ?
This can also be done quite easily. The exact procedure depends on your OS and Desktop environment.


These are the only 2 reasons - i can think of - why you might want to install electrum, instead of just running it from the binary.

Or is there another reason i am missing ?

simpic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 763
Merit: 513


View Profile
April 30, 2019, 08:11:29 AM
 #16

Yes, I did download the file and I have it in my current directory.
Sorry about little information, but I mean that I get the same error.

You get the same error installing electrum as when trying to run electrum ?  Huh
Are you sure ?
I mean adding "--upgrade" parameter.

Quote
I forgot to tell you that if I try to run Electrum, instead of installing, it works:

Code:
tar -xvf Electrum-3.3.4.tar.gz
python3 Electrum-3.3.4/run_electrum

Yes.. this would have been quite handy to know  Grin


But.. why do you want to install electrum, instead of just running the binary ?

Do you want to be able to start it directly from the console with electrum ?
In this case, you can just replace the current electrum binary which is being started with electrum:
Type: which electrum and replace the working binary with the one in this path (maybe back it up before).

Or do you want to be able to start it via your application menu ?
This can also be done quite easily. The exact procedure depends on your OS and Desktop environment.


These are the only 2 reasons - i can think of - why you might want to install electrum, instead of just running it from the binary.

Or is there another reason i am missing ?
I want to figure out what the problem now, why I can't install Electrum anymore. This is the reason.

Abdussamad
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2128
Merit: 1148



View Profile WWW
April 30, 2019, 11:14:55 AM
 #17

Code:
drwxr-xr-x  5 myUser myUser 4,0K jul 12  2018 .
drwxr-x--- 80 myUser myUser 4,0K apr 30 08:56 ..
drwxr-xr-x  2 root     root 4,0K apr 25 07:00 bin
drwx------  4 root     root 4,0K apr 24 15:31 lib
drwxr-xr-x 23 myUser myUser 4,0K apr 29 21:39 share

Something is wrong with my OS?

Yeah you see those two directories are owned by root so the installation program can't write to them. I suggest chowning them to your user:

Code:
sudo chown -R myUser:myUser /home/myUser/.local/

Anyway since running it from the untarred tarball now works for you I suggest you keep running it that way. Maybe make a shortcut to run_electrum on your desktop. Installation is overrated IMO.

simpic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 763
Merit: 513


View Profile
April 30, 2019, 11:21:19 AM
 #18

Installation of old versions of Electrum did work. So what's wrong with installation of newer versions? 

bob123
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1091



View Profile WWW
April 30, 2019, 11:28:30 AM
 #19

Installation of old versions of Electrum did work. So what's wrong with installation of newer versions? 

Nothing.

It has to do with your setup / configuration.
Maybe some permissions aren't correct (see Abdussamad's post), maybe something broke the dependencies, etc...

Hard to tell without investing time and checking your system configuration. And especially not necessary since electrum is running fine on your computer.

simpic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 763
Merit: 513


View Profile
April 30, 2019, 12:12:04 PM
 #20

Ok, I see. Thank you so much for your replies Wink

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!