Bitcoin Forum
January 21, 2020, 11:09:49 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.19.0.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: I see strange IP addresses in "my connections" tab on router  (Read 114 times)
the_test
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 17, 2019, 02:24:07 PM
 #1

Guys, I've bought some S9j's recently. They are working fine, but I've noticed one thing. One of the machines has too many connections beside the pool ip address. It connects to the following addresses: 217.146.8.70 and 37.252.254.172.
Is that OK? What should I do?
1579604989
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1579604989

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1579604989
Reply with quote  #2

1579604989
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1579604989
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1579604989

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1579604989
Reply with quote  #2

1579604989
Report to moderator
1579604989
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1579604989

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1579604989
Reply with quote  #2

1579604989
Report to moderator
PassThePopcorn
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 431
Merit: 273


View Profile
May 17, 2019, 02:52:15 PM
Last edit: May 18, 2019, 02:06:38 AM by frodocooper
Merited by frodocooper (1)
 #2

I've never heard of RIPE / RIPE Coordination center. My suggestion is to first block those IP's on your firewall. Then factory reset the miners by flashing the NAND with an SD card.

https://support.bitmain.com/hc/en-us/articles/360019493654-S9-series-S9-S9i-S9j-S9-Hydro-Control-Board-Program-Recovery
the_test
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 17, 2019, 04:05:26 PM
Last edit: May 18, 2019, 02:06:57 AM by frodocooper
 #3

Thanks! Also would you block everything except pool ip or leave some other address allowed?
PassThePopcorn
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 431
Merit: 273


View Profile
May 17, 2019, 04:07:57 PM
Last edit: May 18, 2019, 02:07:11 AM by frodocooper
 #4

I would just block what shouldn't be there.
BitMaxz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680
Merit: 1309


Beware on fake ledger nano, trezor and electrum.


View Profile WWW
May 17, 2019, 05:44:09 PM
Merited by frodocooper (3)
 #5

It looks like someone monitor your miner or your PC check this detailed IP location and host name below.

Quote
Details of 37.252.254.172

IP Address : 37.252.254.172

Location   : Russian Federation (95% accuracy)

Host Name  : RU-MOW-ANX-R009.teamviewer.com

Another one is this

Quote
Details of 217.146.8.70

IP Address : 217.146.8.70

Location   : Serbia (95% accuracy)

Host Name  : RS-BEG-ANX-R003.teamviewer.com

Do you have installed teamviewer in one of your PC while you scanning these IPs?

Try to remove it and scan it again let's see if it will remove this 2 IPs.

NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2058
Merit: 1392


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
May 17, 2019, 06:09:17 PM
Last edit: May 17, 2019, 06:25:34 PM by NotFuzzyWarm
 #6

@OP, is this a new miner directly bought from Bitmain or was it bought used (and from whom)?
If bought used then this is a prime example why it must be said to ALWAYS reset/reflash ANY used miner because the the world is full of assholes looking to steal from anyone they can...

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
the_test
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 17, 2019, 06:26:13 PM
 #7

@OP, is this a new miner directly bought from Bitmain or was it bought used (and from who)?
If bought used then this is a prime example why it must be said to ALWAYS reset/reflash ANY used miner because the the world is full of assholes looking to steal from anyone they can...

It was sold like it was new. This one was the only different both visually (different fan on the back) and batch number.
I will flash it. So far it's working as it is supposed to.
BitMaxz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680
Merit: 1309


Beware on fake ledger nano, trezor and electrum.


View Profile WWW
May 17, 2019, 08:41:48 PM
Merited by frodocooper (1)
 #8

It was sold like it was new. This one was the only different both visually (different fan on the back) and batch number.
I will flash it. So far it's working as it is supposed to.

Beware on 2019 firmware just want to let you know that it may disable your SSH access if you flash it with 2019 firmware so make sure to flash it lower than 2019 firmware.

Artemis3
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 723


★777Coin.com★ Fun BTC Casino!


View Profile WWW
May 17, 2019, 11:01:42 PM
Last edit: May 18, 2019, 02:09:35 AM by frodocooper
Merited by DarkStar_ (4), frodocooper (1)
 #9

Beware on 2019 firmware just want to let you know that it may disable your SSH access if you flash it with 2019 firmware so make sure to flash it lower than 2019 firmware.

This is not a "may"; it is widely confirmed. Only use firmware up to 2018, such as December 2018 or earlier.

Or switch to Braiins OS, the open source firmware replacement. you won't regret it.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!