Bitcoin Forum
September 25, 2020, 01:28:36 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.20.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: 8 GPU limit linuxcoin  (Read 4524 times)
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1007


Gerald Davis


View Profile
November 08, 2011, 11:49:20 PM
 #21


Nice reference.  I was completely wrong (it happens sometimes) looks like max draw is limited by slot size although the same physical connector is used.  So yeah likely a board w/ mostly 1x connectors is not expecting 100W+ draw from the slots.
1600997316
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1600997316

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1600997316
Reply with quote  #2

1600997316
Report to moderator
1600997316
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1600997316

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1600997316
Reply with quote  #2

1600997316
Report to moderator
AWARD-WINNING
CASINO
CRYPTO EXCLUSIVE
CLUBHOUSE
1500+
GAMES
2 MIN
CASH-OUTS
24/7
SUPPORT
100s OF
FREE SPINS
PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1600997316
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1600997316

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1600997316
Reply with quote  #2

1600997316
Report to moderator
1600997316
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1600997316

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1600997316
Reply with quote  #2

1600997316
Report to moderator
1600997316
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1600997316

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1600997316
Reply with quote  #2

1600997316
Report to moderator
likuidxd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 500


View Profile
November 09, 2011, 12:02:16 AM
 #22

Shit happens, I was wrong too.

I wouldn't trust the GD70 or GD80 boards to take that kind of abuse. The Big Bang and Supercomputer though may be able to handle it as they were built for closer to the abusive application that we miners use them for. You pay a hefty price for them though. I can speak in high regard for the Big Bang personally, mine runs 8 gpus with all slots populated and it doesn't seem to phase it.

DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1007


Gerald Davis


View Profile
November 09, 2011, 02:49:56 PM
 #23

Both Windows and Linux are limited to 8 cores on 64bit and 4 cores on 32bit.

Is this right? I can use more than 4 gpus in windows 7 64 bit?Huh  This would be awesome

Yes.  I have run both 4x5970 and 3x5970 in Windows 7 x64.
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1007


Gerald Davis


View Profile
November 09, 2011, 03:02:26 PM
 #24

Very awesome, Thank you for your quick reply.

I do not know why I was under the impression I could only run 4.

Peace

One of the more recent driver changes enabled 8 GPU.  I can't remember which one but using most recent driver will give you >4.
Chefnet
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 500


View Profile
November 09, 2011, 03:04:00 PM
 #25

I run several 5850systems with 4-7 of them on one Board without problems under win7 x64 (Home Premium and Proffessional)
Catalyst 11.4 - 11.10rc

likuidxd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 500


View Profile
November 10, 2011, 01:03:41 AM
 #26

I run several 5850systems with 4-7 of them on one Board without problems under win7 x64 (Home Premium and Proffessional)
Catalyst 11.4 - 11.10rc

I'd stay away from installing CCC by all means possible. When going beyond 4 gpus there is a problem that AMD is not attending to with CCC resulting in BSOD. Install drivers but stay away from CCC.

jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1876
Merit: 1000


View Profile
November 10, 2011, 02:38:13 AM
 #27

I run several 5850systems with 4-7 of them on one Board without problems under win7 x64 (Home Premium and Proffessional)
Catalyst 11.4 - 11.10rc

I'd stay away from installing CCC by all means possible. When going beyond 4 gpus there is a problem that AMD is not attending to with CCC resulting in BSOD. Install drivers but stay away from CCC.

May I ask how you know the BSOD is attributed to the CCC.  I also install the CCC express install, I have 5 6950's running full tilt on win764 cgminer. and ltc'ing with the other 3 cores.

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
cicada
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100


View Profile
November 10, 2011, 03:44:35 PM
 #28

The 32bit claim is false. I eventually got 5 GPUs working on 32-bit 11.04 Ubuntu Linux, without any hacking of the ATI drivers or APP SDK.

That's correct, didn't catch that before.  Both the 32bit and 64bit drivers should support at least 8 GPUs currently.

The driver's interface with the OS layer may use 32bit or 64bit addressing depending on the OS, but the binary bits of the driver are likely identical otherwise.  The newer Radeon HDs actually use a 256bit address space to address it's own memory, internally - the exchange with the OS is all serial communication (PCI is serial), so addressing the GPU components from the OS level is just about sending the right hardware address + commands.  

It could easily be a 16bit OS and address an infinite number of GPUs, as long as the driver handles interfacing that with the OS properly.

Team Epic!

All your bitcoin are belong to 19mScWkZxACv215AN1wosNNQ54pCQi3iB7
imsaguy
General failure and former
VIP
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 500

Don't send me a pm unless you gpg encrypt it.


View Profile WWW
November 10, 2011, 05:33:24 PM
 #29

The 32bit claim is false. I eventually got 5 GPUs working on 32-bit 11.04 Ubuntu Linux, without any hacking of the ATI drivers or APP SDK.

That's correct, didn't catch that before.  Both the 32bit and 64bit drivers should support at least 8 GPUs currently.

The driver's interface with the OS layer may use 32bit or 64bit addressing depending on the OS, but the binary bits of the driver are likely identical otherwise.  The newer Radeon HDs actually use a 256bit address space to address it's own memory, internally - the exchange with the OS is all serial communication (PCI is serial), so addressing the GPU components from the OS level is just about sending the right hardware address + commands.  

It could easily be a 16bit OS and address an infinite number of GPUs, as long as the driver handles interfacing that with the OS properly.

Awesome.  Diablo3d was the one that gave me my info, but I could have understood it wrong.  Good to know.

Coming Soon!™ © imsaguy 2011-2013, All rights reserved.

EIEIO:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=60117.0

Shades Minoco Collection Thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=65989
Payment Address: http://btc.to/5r6
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!