Bitcoin Forum
May 06, 2024, 02:47:11 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]

Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: A Blockchain that merges mining forks and could be more power-efficient?  (Read 72 times)
oren8 (OP)

Activity: 1
Merit: 0

View Profile
October 09, 2019, 02:54:17 PM

Also published here: https://bitcoin.stackexchange.com/questions/90913/a-blockchain-that-merges-mining-forks-and-could-be-more-power-efficient

I'm new to blockchain technology so I'm sorry if I'm using wrong terminology. This is not a Bitcoin question, but a general blockchain question.

Imagine a theoretical blockchain that uses gradual proof-of-work - instead of finding a single nonce that gives a hash smaller than the target, you have to find 10 nonces that give hashes that are smaller than target * 10.

If you discovered 9/10 good nonces, you will try to find the last nonce even if some other miner has already published a complete block. This kind of blockchain will encourage arbitrary mining forks - where two miners publish a mined block with the same previous-block-hash (i.e. the same index in the chain), which looks like:

Code:
B1  ←-  B2  ←-  B3  ←-  B4
                ↑
                +-----  B4'

The way current blockchains (that I know of) solve this problem is by letting the miners pick which of the forks to continue, and because only the longest blockchain is the "true blockchain", all the miners will eventually work on a single fork, and all the work that was done on the other forks will go in vain.

Now imagine that each block could have contain more than 1 previous-block-hash. For example, a new miner could try mining a block like:

Code:
B1  ←-  B2  ←-  B3  ←-  B4  ←-  B5
                ↑               |
                +-----  B4' ←---+