Bitcoin Forum
March 01, 2021, 11:02:33 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Testnet block time in the future?!  (Read 110 times)
jnano
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 291
Merit: 62


View Profile
August 18, 2019, 01:01:42 PM
Last edit: August 18, 2019, 01:21:08 PM by jnano
 #1

I thought blocks don't store a timestamp, but the time of testnet block 1,575,038 appears to be 19 minutes in the future:
https://blockstream.info/testnet/block/000000008ec4318ee2e3dc84424a68252ed0b4552bb2ff8a309fbf28f6fb3a85
https://testnet.smartbit.com.au/block/000000008ec4318ee2e3dc84424a68252ed0b4552bb2ff8a309fbf28f6fb3a85

Also Core shows it similarly.

What's going on here?
1614596553
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1614596553

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1614596553
Reply with quote  #2

1614596553
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1614596553
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1614596553

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1614596553
Reply with quote  #2

1614596553
Report to moderator
1614596553
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1614596553

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1614596553
Reply with quote  #2

1614596553
Report to moderator
1614596553
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1614596553

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1614596553
Reply with quote  #2

1614596553
Report to moderator
Rath_
aka BitCryptex
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1232
Merit: 1766


Write @Rath or quote my post to notify me


View Profile WWW
August 18, 2019, 01:12:08 PM
 #2

Attacks on Bitcoin testnet happen quite often due to small amount of miners interested in mining worthless testnet coins. Also, there is...

A piece of code which is intended to allow a difficulty 1 block is none has been found in 20 minutes also enables a person to "warp" forward and mine multiple in a row. If this is exploited over the difficulty adjustment, the entire chain difficulty is reset to difficulty 1

achow101
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2422
Merit: 3643


Just writing some code


View Profile WWW
August 18, 2019, 03:48:01 PM
Merited by hugeblack (1)
 #3

Blocks have a timestamp. Since not all computer clocks will be synchronized to exactly the same time (if that were the case, then the blockchain would not be needed), the timestamp reported by a block's header can be ahead of or behind the previous block's timestamp. There is some leeway to the timestamp.

jnano
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 291
Merit: 62


View Profile
August 18, 2019, 04:59:18 PM
 #4

20 minutes into the future is rather major. What's the use of the timestamp if it can't be relied upon?

I briefly searched the mainnet. A few recent blocks with bad times correlate with empty blocks for some reason: 542,094, 566,083, 567,902.

In the old days there was an early block that's 1 hour late: 6,844.


ETFbitcoin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792
Merit: 2676


NotYourKeys.org - Not Your Keys, Not Your Bitcoin


View Profile
August 18, 2019, 05:07:47 PM
Merited by HeRetiK (1)
 #5

20 minutes into the future is rather major. What's the use of the timestamp if it can't be relied upon?

I understand what you meant, but we're talking about P2P network where such accuracy can't be guaranteed and doesn't mean it can't be relied at all.

On a side note, according to https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Block_timestamp, block time which accepted are

A timestamp is accepted as valid if it is greater than the median timestamp of previous 11 blocks, and less than the network-adjusted time + 2 hours. "Network-adjusted time" is the median of the timestamps returned by all nodes connected to you. As a result block timestamps are not exactly accurate, and they do not need to be. Block times are accurate only to within an hour or two.

undeadbitcoiner
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770
Merit: 262


Undeadbitcoiner Will not DIE until 1BTC=50K


View Profile WWW
August 18, 2019, 05:09:02 PM
 #6

By the way anyone has Idea where i can mine Testnet? As i know Ckpool is no more mining testnet. Any information regarding this will be helpful.
I have a project where i am needing 10 ti 17 Btc so was thinking about mining with my miners which i am using to mine bitcoin but didn't see any working pool.
Please if you have knowledge on that or anywhere i can get 10 to 17 tBTC i would love to hear that.

jnano
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 291
Merit: 62


View Profile
August 18, 2019, 05:11:47 PM
Last edit: August 18, 2019, 09:02:16 PM by jnano
 #7

Maybe you can mine by yourself?
Perhaps there's a chance when the difficulty resets, after no block was found for 20 mins.
ETFbitcoin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792
Merit: 2676


NotYourKeys.org - Not Your Keys, Not Your Bitcoin


View Profile
August 18, 2019, 05:16:42 PM
 #8

By the way anyone has Idea where i can mine Testnet? As i know Ckpool is no more mining testnet. Any information regarding this will be helpful.
I have a project where i am needing 10 ti 17 Btc so was thinking about mining with my miners which i am using to mine bitcoin but didn't see any working pool.
Please if you have knowledge on that or anywhere i can get 10 to 17 tBTC i would love to hear that.

If your project doesn't involve mining, you could contact this user (studio_mining) for some tBTC.

There are few tBTC faucet website, but most of them either ran out of coins or no longer maintained.

undeadbitcoiner
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770
Merit: 262


Undeadbitcoiner Will not DIE until 1BTC=50K


View Profile WWW
August 18, 2019, 05:25:44 PM
 #9

By the way anyone has Idea where i can mine Testnet? As i know Ckpool is no more mining testnet. Any information regarding this will be helpful.
I have a project where i am needing 10 ti 17 Btc so was thinking about mining with my miners which i am using to mine bitcoin but didn't see any working pool.
Please if you have knowledge on that or anywhere i can get 10 to 17 tBTC i would love to hear that.

If your project doesn't involve mining, you could contact this user (studio_mining) for some tBTC.

There are few tBTC faucet website, but most of them either ran out of coins or no longer maintained.
Thank you for the info.
No my project doesn't require mining (It does in some projects but I can use that while mining Bitcoin)
Was in need of tBTC so i was thinking if there is no other way i can use my miners for sometime so i can get atleast 17 tBRC for the project and be back to Bitcoin mining.
I will contact if i can get some.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!