Bitcoin Forum
January 24, 2021, 09:59:38 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: S17 Pro-50 high temp in Turbo  (Read 148 times)
PopoJeff
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 168


View Profile
September 21, 2019, 08:40:43 PM
Last edit: September 21, 2019, 09:48:47 PM by PopoJeff
 #1

Have a Pro-50, runs just peachy in normal mode. Highest chip temp around 80 normally.

Started cooling off up here in the northeast, ambient 50F degrees overnight. So I decided to test out turbo mode.
Threw it into turbo, was running just fine overnight and this morning, highest chip temp 86, maybe 88. Ambient in the garage was about 55-60F

3pm, we hit 80F degrees outside, guessing garage about 75F.  Miner chip temp jacks to 105 and shuts down.

Guessing I should just stop pressing my luck and leave it in normal.

Home garage miner:  (5) S17+ 73th
1611482378
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1611482378

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1611482378
Reply with quote  #2

1611482378
Report to moderator
1611482378
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1611482378

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1611482378
Reply with quote  #2

1611482378
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1611482378
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1611482378

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1611482378
Reply with quote  #2

1611482378
Report to moderator
1611482378
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1611482378

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1611482378
Reply with quote  #2

1611482378
Report to moderator
1611482378
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1611482378

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1611482378
Reply with quote  #2

1611482378
Report to moderator
bobzombie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 7


View Profile
September 21, 2019, 09:15:41 PM
Last edit: September 23, 2019, 09:26:43 AM by frodocooper
 #2

For s17Pro , it can goes up to 95'c

After 95'c probably it will hang or crash or restart or it's hash rate will goes down to zero
And for sure the life time of the miner will reduce.

Just don't let it go over 95'c

If it goes over 98'c , it will fry
I had one new s17pro which passed over 105'c (i don't know why) and it's dead now , burnt.
BitMaxz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2044
Merit: 1569


Now it looks normal but I still afraid to go outsi


View Profile WWW
September 21, 2019, 09:30:02 PM
 #3

This is new miner is not the same as old Bitmain miner which can reach 135 Chips, max temp.
Like the above said if you stay running the miner at full speed(Turbo mode) it will end up damage your hashboard. The high temp can be reduced the life span of the miner unless if you are running it in a cold place.

If your garage hit 55 degrees it is too hot not good to run the miner at turbo mode.

Check this list of "Miner normal operating temperature range"

PopoJeff
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 168


View Profile
September 21, 2019, 09:49:57 PM
 #4

This is new miner is not the same as old Bitmain miner which can reach 135 Chips, max temp.
Like the above said if you stay running the miner at full speed(Turbo mode) it will end up damage your hashboard. The high temp can be reduced the life span of the miner unless if you are running it in a cold place.

If your garage hit 55 degrees it is too hot not good to run the miner at turbo mode.

Check this list of "Miner normal operating temperature range"

Sorry. Forgot international viewers were here as well.  Ambient temps were listed in Fahrenheit.  OP edited to reflect

Home garage miner:  (5) S17+ 73th
mikeywith
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 3429


be constructive or S.T.F.U


View Profile
September 21, 2019, 11:58:55 PM
 #5

Ambient temperature is not everything, but the fact that you running your miner in a 12 degree Celsius and a chip on that miner gets to 86 Celsius it only means that you have poor cooling , it's either the miner's fan run on very low rpm , or you are just not getting rid of the hot air fast enough.

For starters, set the fans at high rpm , 90% is good if noise is not an issue, also please tell us more about the cooling , where does the hot air that get's blown out the miner goes to? how clean is the miner's heatsinks ? if your garage is full of dust and the miner manages to take all that inside but never exhaust it, then even running the miner in 0 ambient can't make it run cool enough.

PopoJeff
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 168


View Profile
September 22, 2019, 12:12:20 AM
 #6

Ambient temperature is not everything, but the fact that you running your miner in a 12 degree Celsius and a chip on that miner gets to 86 Celsius it only means that you have poor cooling , it's either the miner's fan run on very low rpm , or you are just not getting rid of the hot air fast enough.

For starters, set the fans at high rpm , 90% is good if noise is not an issue, also please tell us more about the cooling , where does the hot air that get's blown out the miner goes to? how clean is the miner's heatsinks ? if your garage is full of dust and the miner manages to take all that inside but never exhaust it, then even running the miner in 0 ambient can't make it run cool enough.

Good point.  I bought the unit used, and I should probably give it a thorough cleaning just in case. I have an exhaust shroud on the back to a 6" duct, which vents directly outside.  I could adjust its location to make the duct run shorter with less bends.

Home garage miner:  (5) S17+ 73th
Artemis3
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896
Merit: 1038


upgrade PERFORMANCE


View Profile WWW
September 24, 2019, 06:41:23 PM
Last edit: September 25, 2019, 11:04:00 AM by frodocooper
 #7

Lol 6" is barely acceptable for a single S9, and the S17 is basically twice that... I think you need to move about 500 CFM, perhaps you need a second duct unless you can do it with some inline fan. And of course, fresh air needs to be able to get in...

██████
███████
███████
████████
BRAIINS OS+|AUTOTUNING
MINING FIRMWARE
|
Increase hashrate on your Bitcoin ASICs,
improve efficiency as much as 25%, and
get 0% pool fees on Slush Pool
TheYankeesWin!
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 463
Merit: 296


View Profile
September 24, 2019, 06:45:51 PM
Last edit: September 25, 2019, 11:04:19 AM by frodocooper
 #8

Yeah  he needs at least an 8 inch duct

I have some good 10 inch fans  and they do 550 cfm.

I  do not know of a six fan that will do 500 cfm.  So A six  duct will not work correctly.
PopoJeff
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 168


View Profile
September 25, 2019, 08:31:51 PM
 #9

Thanks for the input.  I'll look into re-engineering my exhaust systems

Home garage miner:  (5) S17+ 73th
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!