Bitcoin Forum
June 17, 2019, 08:10:04 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 ... 86 »
  Print  
Author Topic: GridSeed 5-chip USB miner voltage mod  (Read 156669 times)
gamefixer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 427
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 25, 2014, 12:18:03 PM
 #261

pics are not showing up.  Smiley

EDIT: Uh... yeah they are. Never mind.
1560802204
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1560802204

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1560802204
Reply with quote  #2

1560802204
Report to moderator
1560802204
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1560802204

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1560802204
Reply with quote  #2

1560802204
Report to moderator
1560802204
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1560802204

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1560802204
Reply with quote  #2

1560802204
Report to moderator
Try The Brand New Ethereum Game
50 Last Players Also Win The Bank
Works On Any iOS/Android Device With Standard Browser
Join Us On Telegram To Get Notified When You Can Win
COLOR PIXELS
AND WIN
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1560802204
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1560802204

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1560802204
Reply with quote  #2

1560802204
Report to moderator
Jemison
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 25, 2014, 01:42:37 PM
 #262

Hi,
as you know Wolfey has done fantastic job on modding his GDs.

He is using 0.125W 38k resistor.
I can buy this resistor locally http://www.maplin.co.uk/p/metal-film-06w-39k-ohm-resistor-m39k

This one is 0.6W 39k and I'm not sure if difference in W makes any difference . 0.125W and 0.6W.

Can I use 0.6W instead of 0.125W ?

Thank you very much for your help Smiley

Thanks for your kind words.
As I stated in my PM's back to you, .6W 39K should be fine.
The main purpose of the wattage spec of 1/8W resistor is that the physical size is not too big to fit and the wires on the resistor are not too big to fit over and solder to the solder points on the pcb.
De-solder the 36K and replace it with the 38/39K resistor. You can solder it across the two solder points put there for the resistor / capacitor network. They left the capacitor out during manufacturing so there are two extra points one can use to solder the resistor wire across them.

Simply solder the new resistor in place like I did in the attached pics.

Here are the pics of my handy work. Please excuse the left over resin (black stuff) around the resistor connections. I didn't have any pcb cleaner on hand at the time, but the resin won't hurt a thing as it is completely non-conductive. Just looks a little bit messy  Cheesy
All mods  - Resistor - Jumpers - Pencil trace - 5V Fan connections
http://i.imgur.com/l7XM4hc.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/S1XEaUU.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/uTknHx5.jpg 5V fan connections - http://i.imgur.com/yhuGpmS.jpg
Red wire (+) intentionally connected to the tiny fuse (FB25) as it's easier to solder to than any other point.
Fan start-up current is 140mA for 1.2sec then levels out to 78mA constant.
Tin your wire (if it isn't already) before you solder to the fuse terminal so as to keep from accidentally de-soldering the chip from the pcb. This way, it only takes a second to solder the wire to the terminal.

If this helps you, please feel free to show your appreciation by sending some coin. Wink
Not mandatory but, very appreciated! Wink

Make these modifications at your own risk!

Peace!
Wolfey2014

Thanks Wolfey - this is helpful.
HashFire
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 25, 2014, 02:04:51 PM
 #263

Hi,
as you know Wolfey has done fantastic job on modding his GDs.

He is using 0.125W 38k resistor.
I can buy this resistor locally http://www.maplin.co.uk/p/metal-film-06w-39k-ohm-resistor-m39k

This one is 0.6W 39k and I'm not sure if difference in W makes any difference . 0.125W and 0.6W.

Can I use 0.6W instead of 0.125W ?

Thank you very much for your help Smiley

Thanks for your kind words.
As I stated in my PM's back to you, .6W 39K should be fine.
The main purpose of the wattage spec of 1/8W resistor is that the physical size is not too big to fit and the wires on the resistor are not too big to fit over and solder to the solder points on the pcb.
De-solder the 36K and replace it with the 38/39K resistor. You can solder it across the two solder points put there for the resistor / capacitor network. They left the capacitor out during manufacturing so there are two extra points one can use to solder the resistor wire across them.

Simply solder the new resistor in place like I did in the attached pics.

Here are the pics of my handy work. Please excuse the left over resin (black stuff) around the resistor connections. I didn't have any pcb cleaner on hand at the time, but the resin won't hurt a thing as it is completely non-conductive. Just looks a little bit messy  Cheesy
All mods  - Resistor - Jumpers - Pencil trace - 5V Fan connections
http://i.imgur.com/l7XM4hc.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/S1XEaUU.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/uTknHx5.jpg 5V fan connections - http://i.imgur.com/yhuGpmS.jpg
Red wire (+) intentionally connected to the tiny fuse (FB25) as it's easier to solder to than any other point.
Fan start-up current is 140mA for 1.2sec then levels out to 78mA constant.
Tin your wire (if it isn't already) before you solder to the fuse terminal so as to keep from accidentally de-soldering the chip from the pcb. This way, it only takes a second to solder the wire to the terminal.

If this helps you, please feel free to show your appreciation by sending some coin. Wink
Not mandatory but, very appreciated! Wink
BTC = 13y5XhVuKGrRipbvYdcrvYDsx69rBPUbwR
LTC = LR6U7jB2Fb4pJYogbergqQHZgBRQ5UAqBG

Make these modifications at your own risk!

Peace!
Wolfey2014

Pea Ess, if you want me to make these modifications for you, PM me and we'll discuss it.
I am certainly qualified to do it, without bricking your pod of course! Wink

Thanks for the photos.  How safely can we mix and match these mods?  Right now I don't have an iron tip fine enough to do the soldering mods.  I either need to modify something or order something.  I am interested in the pencil mod and the fan mod tonight though.  Would this be safe? 
wolfey2014
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
March 25, 2014, 02:23:54 PM
 #264

"Thanks for the photos.  How safely can we mix and match these mods?  Right now I don't have an iron tip fine enough to do the soldering mods.  I either need to modify something or order something.  I am interested in the pencil mod and the fan mod tonight though.  Would this be safe? "

No, I don't believe the pencil mod will do any good without the other 3 mods.
Pencil mod is to adjust PLL voltage which needs to be corrected due to the offset caused by the two solder jumpers and the resistor is a timing adjustment to smooth out clock transitions at higher frequencies I believe.

You can make the 5V fan mod any time but remember, it's recommended for Scrypt only operation.
It has not been tested in SHA or SHA / Scrypt mining mode!

As usual, do these mods at your own risk!

Wolfey2014

I Modify Miners Professionally! PM me for details!
nemercry
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 339
Merit: 250

Vice versa is not a meal.


View Profile
March 25, 2014, 04:21:32 PM
 #265

@Wolfey2014: Can you post a proof of your cgminer running for over 24hours ?

Would be happy to see that! As for now it looks like you did some real good work here Smiley.

Regards
wolfey2014
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
March 25, 2014, 05:12:31 PM
Last edit: March 25, 2014, 10:36:15 PM by wolfey2014
 #266

@Wolfey2014: Can you post a proof of your cgminer running for over 24hours ?

Would be happy to see that! As for now it looks like you did some real good work here Smiley.

Regards
Thanks for your complement! Wink

I'm running cpuminer.
What kind of proof can I provide?
I can tell you that both modified miners have been running rock steady over 39 hours so far.
No errors except for a couple when first started for some reason.
Other than that, I have not seen any errors.

Wolfey2014

I Modify Miners Professionally! PM me for details!
puffmais
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 399
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 25, 2014, 05:58:24 PM
 #267

Thanks at all for giving out this nice mod.

my GS is running now at 1000mhz without hw errors  Smiley
ZiG
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 25, 2014, 07:21:43 PM
 #268


I'm very pleased with their stable performance at 1000MHz!
Running it solo, I'm seeing nearly 600KH's out of it at the pool. Wink
NICE!

So, what's next? How do we squeeze more performance out of them? Any ideas?
I'm game!

Peace!
Wolfey2014



Dayum! Your getting 600k out of ONE of them? Real nice!

Good job, Wolfey...

Where are all the pictures...of 600 KH...post some ...please... Wink
pbj sammich
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 272
Merit: 250


Fighting Liquid with Liquid


View Profile
March 25, 2014, 08:40:15 PM
 #269


I can tell you that both modified miners have been running rock steady over 39 hours so far.
No errors except for a couple when first started for some reason.
Other than that, I have not seen any errors.

Wolfey2014

Seriously nice job Wolfey2014!
MrSmiley826
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 25, 2014, 08:43:11 PM
 #270

Where are you located Wolfey?  I'd be interested in your services, would you consider a bulk discount... I have 20 units.

Thanks.
Jemison
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 25, 2014, 08:48:10 PM
 #271


I can tell you that both modified miners have been running rock steady over 39 hours so far.
No errors except for a couple when first started for some reason.
Other than that, I have not seen any errors.

Wolfey2014

Seriously nice job Wolfey2014!

I found a community workshop that has both equipment and expertise.  Now I just need to find resistors.  Might be able to get at least one done in the next couple of days ^^
ZiG
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 25, 2014, 08:57:40 PM
 #272


I can tell you that both modified miners have been running rock steady over 39 hours so far.
No errors except for a couple when first started for some reason.
Other than that, I have not seen any errors.

Wolfey2014

Seriously nice job Wolfey2014!

I found a community workshop that has both equipment and expertise.  Now I just need to find resistors.  Might be able to get at least one done in the next couple of days ^^

Where...?...US...?
Reggie0
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 107
Merit: 13


View Profile
March 25, 2014, 08:58:39 PM
 #273

Red wire (+) intentionally connected to the tiny fuse (FB25) as it's easier to solder to than any other point.

FB25 is a Ferride Bead, which is a high frequency filter.
Jemison
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 25, 2014, 09:00:14 PM
 #274


I can tell you that both modified miners have been running rock steady over 39 hours so far.
No errors except for a couple when first started for some reason.
Other than that, I have not seen any errors.

Wolfey2014

Seriously nice job Wolfey2014!

I found a community workshop that has both equipment and expertise.  Now I just need to find resistors.  Might be able to get at least one done in the next couple of days ^^

Where...?...US...?

No, it's in Montreal - but this is the site where I found the workshop - maybe your location has one: http://hackerspaces.org/wiki/Hackerspaces
Jemison
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 25, 2014, 09:11:15 PM
 #275

"Thanks for the photos.  How safely can we mix and match these mods?  Right now I don't have an iron tip fine enough to do the soldering mods.  I either need to modify something or order something.  I am interested in the pencil mod and the fan mod tonight though.  Would this be safe? "

No, I don't believe the pencil mod will do any good without the other 3 mods.
Pencil mod is to adjust PLL voltage which needs to be corrected due to the offset caused by the two solder jumpers and the resistor is a timing adjustment to smooth out clock transitions at higher frequencies I believe.

You can make the 5V fan mod any time but remember, it's recommended for Scrypt only operation.
It has not been tested in SHA or SHA / Scrypt mining mode!

As usual, do these mods at your own risk!

Wolfey2014


Wolfey,

Somewhere in this thread is mention of a cgminer version that allows you to set the voltage.  I realize you're using cpuminer, but do you think all 4 mods are required if we used the voltage mod cgminer?  Value your opinion.

wolfey2014
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
March 25, 2014, 10:12:04 PM
 #276

Where are you located Wolfey?  I'd be interested in your services, would you consider a bulk discount... I have 20 units.

Thanks.

Sure!
Please PM me your info and requirements and we'll get you started +$ benefiting $+ from
my mods Wink

Thank you my friend!  Grin

Wolfey2014











I Modify Miners Professionally! PM me for details!
SUGO
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 100
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 25, 2014, 10:16:06 PM
 #277

A question a little OT:  why in cgminer i can raise clock only by 50mhz step? if i try like 10mhz GS start at 600Mhz...
wolfey2014
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
March 25, 2014, 10:28:14 PM
 #278

"Thanks for the photos.  How safely can we mix and match these mods?  Right now I don't have an iron tip fine enough to do the soldering mods.  I either need to modify something or order something.  I am interested in the pencil mod and the fan mod tonight though.  Would this be safe? "

No, I don't believe the pencil mod will do any good without the other 3 mods.
Pencil mod is to adjust PLL voltage which needs to be corrected due to the offset caused by the two solder jumpers and the resistor is a timing adjustment to smooth out clock transitions at higher frequencies I believe.

You can make the 5V fan mod any time but remember, it's recommended for Scrypt only operation.
It has not been tested in SHA or SHA / Scrypt mining mode!

As usual, do these mods at your own risk!

Wolfey2014


Wolfey,

Somewhere in this thread is mention of a cgminer version that allows you to set the voltage.  I realize you're using cpuminer, but do you think all 4 mods are required if we used the voltage mod cgminer?  Value your opinion.


Thank you!

You ask a GOOD question.

Well, from what I understand - the current mods bypass having to soft set the PLL and Core Voltages.
Personally, I can't say one way or the other if soft adjustment is beneficial or not. I have heard 'rumored' that soft fine adjustment of 1000MHz  up to 1048MHz stable is possible.

I'm going to have to convert over to one of the other programs to be able to read client side hash rates.
I just don't like all the tweaking that is still going on over the course of cg and bfg during it's 'use as it evolves' phase. I am not interested, at this stage of their evolution, in becoming an unwilling guinea pig Wink
I'm happy with cpuminer and what the pool's report in spite of their second by second inaccuracy. A bit of an understanding of odds, how they are avaraged out and common sense helps me figure out what the 'not so rough' improvement figure is for a given pod's clean hash rate.

Some sites like litecoinpool give a 24 hour average speed and that's close enough for me.
Besides and 'primarily' it only really counts what performance stats one sees pool side as that directly correlates to how much moolah it's gonna make you Wink - the end product, the result, the win! $$$$ Wink

I guess I'm gonna have to learn one or the other 'unless there is a better alternative' because I could give a hoot what else the program does. All I want it to do is show me an accurate local hashrate as a separate program from the rest of it. And it MUST not be memory hungry like cpuminer 'isn't!' Thank you very much GridSeed!  Wink
It would be cool if not great if GC would take back up updating / tweaking their very good and very stable program! It lives!  Grin
IMO, cpuminer is very optimized and user friendly compared to the others IMO.
If the others were less complex and learning curve intensive, I'd of bothered to test them too by now.
Lots of other people like/love them though. So, to each their own.

Peace!
Wolfey2014


I Modify Miners Professionally! PM me for details!
wolfey2014
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
March 25, 2014, 10:31:06 PM
 #279


I can tell you that both modified miners have been running rock steady over 39 hours so far.
No errors except for a couple when first started for some reason.
Other than that, I have not seen any errors.

Wolfey2014

Seriously nice job Wolfey2014!

Thank you very much! Wink

Please feel free to PM me if you want me to modify your miners.

Wolfey2014

I Modify Miners Professionally! PM me for details!
jamieb81
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250



View Profile
March 25, 2014, 10:33:14 PM
 #280

Bounty for someone making up a new CPU miner with actual hashrate and hell why not an Win GUI that would regroup all open cpuminer instances and where you could manage them from the GUI. let's dream a bit :p
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 ... 86 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!