Bitcoin Forum
November 21, 2019, 09:04:38 PM *
News: 10th anniversary art contest
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How to wire your s17's and t17's diy  (Read 89 times)
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2660
Merit: 1977



View Profile
November 07, 2019, 05:23:23 AM
Last edit: November 07, 2019, 10:28:15 AM by frodocooper
Merited by frodocooper (3), Steamtyme (2)
 #1

Okay we ordered quite a few of them.  About 12 s17's or t17s

I purchased

1 of these
https://www.ebay.com/itm/LOT-of-10-Hubbell-2P3W-30A-250V-Twist-Locking-Male-Plug-NEMA-L6-30P-Black/143330076211?

1 of these
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Lot-of-15-NEW-C19-to-C20-8FT-Extension-Power-Cable-Cords-37-1806-01/233344451774?

10 of these
https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=35118

I built 10 sets.

14 awg will handle  15amps or  12 x 240 = 2880 watts

A set for one machine was about

l6-30p       =     3.00
c19 to c20 =     3.50   and   5 extra pieces
2x c13 to c20 = 4.50

total                  11.00  add a little for tax and shipping

10 x 12 = 120 for 10  s17's or t17's

note do not use this for:
s17e
t17e
s17+
t17+

but should be fine for s17 and t17 as they draw less power.

I also built some adapters for this

https://smartpowersystems.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/02/AVRPlusUsersGuide1.pdf

I used l6-30p  and 6-20r with a 1 foot piece of 12awg power wire.

I got 6 smartpower units  at fairly good price(200 each) they will cover 1 s17 each.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
1574370278
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1574370278

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1574370278
Reply with quote  #2

1574370278
Report to moderator
1574370278
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1574370278

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1574370278
Reply with quote  #2

1574370278
Report to moderator
The Bitcoin Forum is turning 10 years old! Join the community in sharing and exploring the notable posts made over the years.
1574370278
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1574370278

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1574370278
Reply with quote  #2

1574370278
Report to moderator
1574370278
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1574370278

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1574370278
Reply with quote  #2

1574370278
Report to moderator
mikeywith
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602
Merit: 1566


be constructive or S.T.F.U


View Profile
November 07, 2019, 08:11:03 PM
Last edit: November 07, 2019, 08:56:16 PM by mikeywith
 #2

note do not use this for:
s17e
t17e
s17+
t17+

but should be fine for s17 and t17 as they draw less power.

why not tho ? below is the power consumption for each model

s17+ > 2920w
S17e > 2880w
t17e  > 2915w
t17+ > 3200w


The only model  that might not be suitable for this set-up is the t17+ , in fact 3200w is only 13.3amp on 240v but I wouldn't do that , also what I don't understand is the use of the "Splitter", you are kind of causing unnecessary bottleneck here.

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2660
Merit: 1977



View Profile
November 08, 2019, 04:23:52 AM
Last edit: November 08, 2019, 11:27:30 AM by frodocooper
 #3

price is low and the clifton  setup has 30amp circuits lots of them.

running two s17s on a 30amp circuit will pop breaker.
so we only run one.
i do not have to change the l6-30r. i put the l6-30p to c19 to the splitter cost is only 12 bucks a miner.

as i have lots of spare l6-30r to fill.  we will need to put in some 20 amp circuits.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Steamtyme
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 840
Merit: 1478


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nT5HPhO - Newb Vid


View Profile WWW
November 08, 2019, 01:12:31 PM
 #4

Love the DIY Phil keep it up. Just for clarity sake it might be nice to toss in a picture of a completed unit. I was trying to sort out what's what following the links and, obviously not running these it took me a few minutes to figure it out. Could you not overcome the warning for higher power machines by stepping up to a higher gauge power cord and/or splitter as needed?

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2660
Merit: 1977



View Profile
November 08, 2019, 01:40:37 PM
Last edit: November 09, 2019, 03:01:47 AM by frodocooper
 #5

yes  except I won't buy the 3000 watts units.   I wanted to do this as cheaply and safe as possible.

Also my goal is to be s17 pro and nothing else (won't happen but it is a nice goal).

I will photo the build.

fully assembled about 9 feet long



three pieces about 12 usd total



attached to an l6-30r circuit



ready to test the next s17pro due soon



These wires are 15amp rated so 12 amps 24/7/365

I have  a solid 237-243 volts in my garage which is :

 3300/237 = 13.924 amps
 3200/237 = 13.502 amps
 3100/237 = 13.080 amps
 3000/237 = 12.658 amps
 2900/237 = 12.236 amps  

I could run anything under 2900 watts and be okay with this wire setup in my garage.

however in clifton

2900/217 = 13.364 amps
2800/217 = 12.903 amps
2700/217 = 12.442 amps

I need to be under 2700 watts.

And we still have the occasional low voltage  valley of 187-190 volts.  Yet to get a good response from power company on this issue.

However  almost all the gear can deal with this  for as much as a 30 minute drop in voltage.

once I factor  190 volts

I get

 2400/190 = 12.63 amps
 2300/190 = 12.105 amps

makes the s17 pros more attractive as they can ride out the low voltages without melting the wires.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!