Bitcoin Forum
April 26, 2024, 09:17:12 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: script to get only first block from all blk*.dat files  (Read 138 times)
aitsam (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 25, 2019, 02:46:45 PM
 #1

Sorry if that question is already asked and answered earlier, but I couldn't find it in this forum.

I am testing bitcoin data by using different filters. Now I want to write a script which will only consider the first block in blk*.dat file. I am confused about where to start.
Your help will be highly appreciated.
Thank you
1714123032
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714123032

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714123032
Reply with quote  #2

1714123032
Report to moderator
"Bitcoin: the cutting edge of begging technology." -- Giraffe.BTC
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1714123032
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714123032

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714123032
Reply with quote  #2

1714123032
Report to moderator
1714123032
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714123032

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714123032
Reply with quote  #2

1714123032
Report to moderator
aitsam (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 26, 2019, 09:20:14 AM
 #2

I don't know the technical details, but for starters :
1. Bitcoin Core use LevelDB
2. blk*.dat have fixed maximum size, so you might only get partial data of the "first" block in a blk*.dat file
3. Bitcore Core use obfuscation key on LevelDB, see https://bitcoin.stackexchange.com/a/50902 for detailed info

P.S. this sounds like XY problem, what are you trying to accomplish by get only first block from all blk*.dat files

````````````````````````````````````
I am testing some filters and it turns out that at a specific block the code get stuck, I want to find that block and run test on it separately.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!