Bitcoin Forum
June 21, 2024, 03:55:59 AM *
News: Voting for pizza day contest
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Asic.to Firmware 17Series • Optimized efficiency/Performance •  (Read 8429 times)
favebook
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 604
Merit: 416


View Profile
June 06, 2020, 01:37:16 AM
Last edit: June 06, 2020, 03:21:04 AM by frodocooper
Merited by frodocooper (3), mikeywith (2)
 #241

Not that it will happen in near future ($100k target) but humor me here, shouldn't your "first on the list" be Bitmain?
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4522
Merit: 1846


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 06, 2020, 02:28:35 AM
Last edit: June 06, 2020, 03:20:04 AM by frodocooper
 #242

Not that it will happen in near future ($100k target) but humor me here, shouldn't your "first on the list" be Bitmain?

Luckily, due to the existence of free will (and the reason I have already given) I get to choose and not someone else decide for me.

Pool: https://kano.is - low 0.5% fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
The ONLY active original developer of cgminer. Original master git: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer
taserz (OP)
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 800
Merit: 293


Created AutoTune to saved the planet! ~USA


View Profile
June 06, 2020, 04:43:47 AM
Last edit: June 06, 2020, 02:33:46 PM by taserz
 #243

Well you just better hope that BTC never makes it to $100k
If it does, then I'll probably go to the trouble of getting a bunch of lawyers involved.
I know quite a few lawyers and judges, and one of them is also an IP (Intellectual Property) lawyer.

You'd be first on my list, and asicseer would be second.
Both due to the way you treat the license and make up fake excuses about why you think you can ignore it.

If btc hits 100k no one will give a shit. Also please tell me how your lawyer and judge (since apparently you know corrupt judges now) is going to attack someone in Russia wrongly and in bad faith? Please tell me how your going to have your USA mafia kidnap someone to your land of not free.

I am first on the list? Go look at asicseer's partners it looks likey they are actually making money off it. Maybe you should ask them since you want to take money from people since that seems to be your motive?

Real talk though if btc hits 100k. Mind you I have been in btc since before you probably even heard of it xD and this was my second account on here for the record. I will just buy a damn island maybe a few... $100k is a long ways away. HODL GANG bruh

xaxaxa

Autotune Firmware for S19 and S19j! Overclock, Underclock, AutoTuning. Asic.to The MOON Increased hashrate, improved power efficiency 30w/TH up to 85th/s!!Mining bitcoin since 2011 • Best nerd decision of my life
mikeywith
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268
Merit: 6424


be constructive or S.T.F.U


View Profile
July 12, 2020, 02:45:01 PM
Merited by favebook (2)
 #244

Not that it will happen in near future ($100k target) but humor me here, shouldn't your "first on the list" be Bitmain?

He can't go after Bitmain, because he allows their gears which violate the cgminer license on his pool, and he directly or indirectly makes a lot (probably most) of his profit from those mining gears.

Real talk though if btc hits 100k. Mind you I have been in btc since before you probably even heard of it

We all agree on Kano's terrible behavior and personality but I have to disagree to this, Kano has been in the game from the get-go, if not for his behavior and perhaps weak hands in Hodling BTC - he would have been so rich to the point where he wouldn't bother running a mining pool, with that being said we have to give credit where credit is due, Kano is probably in the top 5 of best pool developers. if only his attitude was half as good as his skills.

█▀▀▀











█▄▄▄
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
e
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
█████████████
████████████▄███
██▐███████▄█████▀
█████████▄████▀
███▐████▄███▀
████▐██████▀
█████▀█████
███████████▄
████████████▄
██▄█████▀█████▄
▄█████████▀█████▀
███████████▀██▀
████▀█████████
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
c.h.
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
▀▀▀█











▄▄▄█
▄██████▄▄▄
█████████████▄▄
███████████████
███████████████
███████████████
███████████████
███░░█████████
███▌▐█████████
█████████████
███████████▀
██████████▀
████████▀
▀██▀▀
taserz (OP)
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 800
Merit: 293


Created AutoTune to saved the planet! ~USA


View Profile
July 13, 2020, 02:26:42 AM
Last edit: July 14, 2020, 02:44:06 AM by frodocooper
 #245

I mean f2pool, viabtc, slush, poolin, binance must I go on

Also, look when I joined this forum Smiley I lurked a while before signing up Wink I just like the tech aspect of mining.

Autotune Firmware for S19 and S19j! Overclock, Underclock, AutoTuning. Asic.to The MOON Increased hashrate, improved power efficiency 30w/TH up to 85th/s!!Mining bitcoin since 2011 • Best nerd decision of my life
favebook
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 604
Merit: 416


View Profile
July 13, 2020, 01:50:18 PM
Last edit: July 14, 2020, 02:44:45 AM by frodocooper
 #246

You joined 8 days before him. Odd...

Imagine this conspiracy theory: Kano is actually Taserz and he is doing this as publicity stunt  Shocked Shocked

JK, but yeah, you guys joined almost exactly 2 years after bitcointalk was launched.
danieleither
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 206
Merit: 407


View Profile
July 14, 2020, 01:56:36 AM
 #247

Forgive me if these are stupid questions but:

1) After installing this firmware, if you're not happy with it, is it possible to flash the miner back to original Bitmain firmware?
2) If you did the above and had to return the unit back to Bitmain for repair, could they tell that you've been running aftermarket firmware on the device?
mikeywith
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268
Merit: 6424


be constructive or S.T.F.U


View Profile
July 14, 2020, 03:03:48 AM
Merited by danieleither (2)
 #248

1) After installing this firmware, if you're not happy with it, is it possible to flash the miner back to original Bitmain firmware?

Yes, but you have trust the firmware maker on that, taserz can lock you in forever if he wants to, he could probably even disable the SDcard boot with some signature/security stuff and then you will be stuck with the firmware forever unless you buy a new control board, but taserz won't do such a thing, he is a nice lad and highly trusted.

Quote
2) If you did the above and had to return the unit back to Bitmain for repair, could they tell that you've been running aftermarket firmware on the device?

If we all agree that COULD and WOULD mean two different things then "could they" is probably yes, it's technically possible for them to know if they have implemented the right method to record firmware updates but I doubt they have any of that, now the "would they" part is a  no, I have heard from a few people whom I trust very much that they returned their miners to bitmain after having used a custom firmware and bitmain served them without an issue ( obviously after having flashed back the firmware), but there is no guarantee that it will work for everyone so that will be at your own risk, and honestly you shouldn't send the gear back if you flash a custom firmware.

If I were to run a custom firmware and toast my gear, I would most certainly not send it back to bitmain because that is plain dishonesty and stealing, it's like putting olive oil in your brand new car's engine and once the engine goes bad you send it back to the dealer falsely claiming it's not your fault, of course, Asic.to isn't like olive oil in your car engine, in fact you could very well underclock it and bitmain would be happy with that since it reduces the chances of you sending the gear back, but since they don't allow you to do so, it's nothing but cheating if you do it.

█▀▀▀











█▄▄▄
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
e
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
█████████████
████████████▄███
██▐███████▄█████▀
█████████▄████▀
███▐████▄███▀
████▐██████▀
█████▀█████
███████████▄
████████████▄
██▄█████▀█████▄
▄█████████▀█████▀
███████████▀██▀
████▀█████████
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
c.h.
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
▀▀▀█











▄▄▄█
▄██████▄▄▄
█████████████▄▄
███████████████
███████████████
███████████████
███████████████
███░░█████████
███▌▐█████████
█████████████
███████████▀
██████████▀
████████▀
▀██▀▀
danieleither
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 206
Merit: 407


View Profile
July 14, 2020, 03:53:30 PM
Last edit: July 15, 2020, 12:36:43 AM by frodocooper
 #249

It's actually the underclocking and using less power option that appeals to me. I have 18 x new S19 Pro on order from Bitmain, but only enough power available for 15. I was planning to sell on some of my older gear, but having read this about custom firmware, I was thinking perhaps to underclock some of my older T17+ units which have had a hard life to free up some power rather than selling them on. That being said, I do also have 12 x new T17+ units (in a different installation).

I've now installed this firmware on 2 of my old (non-warrantied) T17+ units to do some testing. Will post some results shortly Smiley
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4158
Merit: 8049


'The right to privacy matters'


View Profile WWW
July 14, 2020, 03:58:05 PM
Last edit: July 15, 2020, 12:38:32 AM by frodocooper
 #250

[...]

Last I heard kano lives in the land down under. Not the USA.

▄▄███████▄▄
▄██████████████▄
▄██████████████████▄
▄████▀▀▀▀███▀▀▀▀█████▄
▄█████████████▄█▀████▄
███████████▄███████████
██████████▄█▀███████████
██████████▀████████████
▀█████▄█▀█████████████▀
▀████▄▄▄▄███▄▄▄▄████▀
▀██████████████████▀
▀███████████████▀
▀▀███████▀▀
.
 MΞTAWIN  THE FIRST WEB3 CASINO   
.
.. PLAY NOW ..
mikeywith
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268
Merit: 6424


be constructive or S.T.F.U


View Profile
July 14, 2020, 07:27:39 PM
Last edit: July 15, 2020, 12:39:11 AM by frodocooper
 #251

It's actually the underclocking and using less power option that appeals to me.

Honestly, this is the only rational way of treating these fragile gears, except for the S17 pro probably all other gears are already clocked very near what they can handle, and with the terrible solder paste on all of them every single degree of temp matters, so what we know?

1- Running the 17 series on default settings has about 30% failure/RMA rate
2- Overclocking them will with a doubt set you above 30% failure rate, so maybe 50%?
3- Underclocking them will obviously get you a much lower rate than 30%

So if one doesn't want to go with the third option, you would at least not go with the second one, as phill mentioned before, in order for these gears to remain profitable, they need to remain functional in the first place.

█▀▀▀











█▄▄▄
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
e
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
█████████████
████████████▄███
██▐███████▄█████▀
█████████▄████▀
███▐████▄███▀
████▐██████▀
█████▀█████
███████████▄
████████████▄
██▄█████▀█████▄
▄█████████▀█████▀
███████████▀██▀
████▀█████████
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
c.h.
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
▀▀▀█











▄▄▄█
▄██████▄▄▄
█████████████▄▄
███████████████
███████████████
███████████████
███████████████
███░░█████████
███▌▐█████████
█████████████
███████████▀
██████████▀
████████▀
▀██▀▀
danieleither
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 206
Merit: 407


View Profile
July 16, 2020, 04:42:48 PM
 #252

What is the process to revert to Bitmain firmware? I have tried to do this using the standard 'web' method but it doesn't work. It appears to upload the firmware but when the device reboots, it's still the Asic.to firmware. This doesn't appear to be documented in the manual or on the website...
favebook
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 604
Merit: 416


View Profile
July 16, 2020, 09:51:51 PM
 #253

What is the process to revert to Bitmain firmware? I have tried to do this using the standard 'web' method but it doesn't work. It appears to upload the firmware but when the device reboots, it's still the Asic.to firmware. This doesn't appear to be documented in the manual or on the website...

Afaik, you can just use sdcard with original firmware. Not really sure if that is the only option. I cannot remember if I used normal "upgrade" via web or sdcard when I was flashing back my S17 PRO to original after it broke (it broke on original, vnish's firmware helped me use it for couple of months with 2 hashboards but then I decided to RMA it as it was broken before I even touched anything).
danieleither
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 206
Merit: 407


View Profile
July 16, 2020, 09:58:21 PM
Last edit: July 18, 2020, 12:46:42 AM by frodocooper
 #254

Is that simply a case of putting the original firmware on an SD card (as available from the Bitmain download page) or is a specific SD card version required?
favebook
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 604
Merit: 416


View Profile
July 17, 2020, 12:52:09 AM
Last edit: July 18, 2020, 12:47:06 AM by frodocooper
 #255

Not really sure that can be done, there is however a few of sd card images around web which Bitmain sent officially to someone for purposes of troubleshooting. Try to find it or just join Vnish group on Telegram, Taserz is active there every day, unlike here.
mikeywith
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268
Merit: 6424


be constructive or S.T.F.U


View Profile
July 17, 2020, 12:53:37 AM
 #256

What is the process to revert to Bitmain firmware? I have tried to do this using the standard 'web' method but it doesn't work. It appears to upload the firmware but when the device reboots, it's still the Asic.to firmware. This doesn't appear to be documented in the manual or on the website...

Did you try to press CTRL+F5 after flashing the new firmware? in most cases, the flash is successful using only the web update method but the browser's cache needs to be refreshed.

Also would you explain the reason/s for leaving Asic.to? what problems did you face? what did you dislike about it?

█▀▀▀











█▄▄▄
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
e
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
█████████████
████████████▄███
██▐███████▄█████▀
█████████▄████▀
███▐████▄███▀
████▐██████▀
█████▀█████
███████████▄
████████████▄
██▄█████▀█████▄
▄█████████▀█████▀
███████████▀██▀
████▀█████████
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
c.h.
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
▀▀▀█











▄▄▄█
▄██████▄▄▄
█████████████▄▄
███████████████
███████████████
███████████████
███████████████
███░░█████████
███▌▐█████████
█████████████
███████████▀
██████████▀
████████▀
▀██▀▀
danieleither
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 206
Merit: 407


View Profile
July 17, 2020, 04:53:20 AM
Merited by frodocooper (3), favebook (1)
 #257

Did you try to press CTRL+F5 after flashing the new firmware? in most cases, the flash is successful using only the web update method but the browser's cache needs to be refreshed.

Also would you explain the reason/s for leaving Asic.to? what problems did you face? what did you dislike about it?

I did indeed - it's definitely still Asic.to firmware.

I tried this on 2 different units, one overclocked and one underclocked. These are T17+ 58 TH/s, around 11 months old.

In both cases, the performance at the pool is significantly less than the performance reported from the miner GUI. To be fair, I used the 24 hours measurements from pool with the miner GUI showing > 24hr elapsed hashing.

On the overclocked machine: GUI showing consistent 67 TH/s - pool reporting around 58 TH/s (24 hour period)
On the underclocked machine: GUI showing consistent 34 TH/s - pool reporting around 28 TH/s (24 hour period)

Pool is F2Pool. I wondered perhaps it's a pool thing, however I have 10 x S9 (14TH/S) overclocked with Asicseer firmware and they are spot-on (GUI reports 16.8 TH/s, Pool reports same).

So my conclusion, the miners work better with Bitmain firmware. I have no use for this at the moment. The only use I can think is perhaps if the miner is faulty and this custom firmware can be used to make it more stable, something like that...
mikeywith
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268
Merit: 6424


be constructive or S.T.F.U


View Profile
July 17, 2020, 01:43:14 PM
 #258


I sent tasers a message on telegram, he will respond to your post soon (hopefully) he probably has an answer on how to go back to the original firmware, the difference in hash rate is huge to say the least, it is strange that you are the first to mention it, let us see what tas has to say on this matter.

█▀▀▀











█▄▄▄
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
e
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
█████████████
████████████▄███
██▐███████▄█████▀
█████████▄████▀
███▐████▄███▀
████▐██████▀
█████▀█████
███████████▄
████████████▄
██▄█████▀█████▄
▄█████████▀█████▀
███████████▀██▀
████▀█████████
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
c.h.
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
▀▀▀█











▄▄▄█
▄██████▄▄▄
█████████████▄▄
███████████████
███████████████
███████████████
███████████████
███░░█████████
███▌▐█████████
█████████████
███████████▀
██████████▀
████████▀
▀██▀▀
favebook
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 604
Merit: 416


View Profile
July 17, 2020, 02:53:47 PM
Last edit: July 18, 2020, 12:49:40 AM by frodocooper
 #259

I already informed taserz about this problem long ago, but it wasn't that noticable for me. Fee is 3% and danieleither is losing almost 14% of his hashrate (if he is saying truth as I do not see any pictures).

My difference is closer to 5-7% instead of 3% but that is only if I OC. As soon as I downclock, it's closer to 4-5% (which is still higher than 3%) but it's nowhere near the 14% that danieleither is saying.
danieleither
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 206
Merit: 407


View Profile
July 17, 2020, 04:29:17 PM
 #260

I already informed taserz about this problem long ago, but it wasn't that noticable for me. Fee is 3% and danieleither is losing almost 14% of his hashrate (if he is saying truth as I do not see any pictures).

My difference is closer to 5-7% instead of 3% but that is only if I OC. As soon as I downclock, it's closer to 4-5% (which is still higher than 3%) but it's nowhere near the 14% that danieleither is saying.

I've no reason to lie about it. Which pool were you testing with?

Perhaps the difference varies with different settings, but there IS a difference and it's significant, which gives me trust issues. If the hashrate reported is inaccurate, how can I trust that the power consumption is accurate, or reported chip temperatures etc.

I'm not saying I'd never use this firmware, but for the 2 x units I tested on (which are perfectly healthy, albeit 9 months old) - I think stock firmware is best for now.

I may use this in future for underclocking, but I won't trust the figures in the GUI.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!