Bitcoin Forum
February 23, 2020, 04:29:55 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.19.0.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: [Electrum 3.3.8] Not connected to network on multi signature wallet  (Read 95 times)
estrox
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 1


View Profile
January 22, 2020, 03:51:34 AM
 #1

Hello. My electrum wallet cannot connect to network / sync with the blocks around this 1 year.
I read older / similar posts and try to solve it but still happen the problem.

[Environment]
・Windows 10
・Electrum 3.3.8
・Multi signature wallet (2 signatures needed in 4 wallets)

[Tried things to solve it]
・Change setting on servers from automatically to manually (Choose some of servers manually) -> not sync.
・Delete "blockchain_headers" file and restart electrum -> not sync.
・Restore the wallet with the seed as standard wallet -> not sync and my addresses are changed.
・Restore the wallet with the seed and 3 xpub keys as multi signature wallet -> not sync and my addresses are changed.
・Uninstall Electrum and re-install latest one-> not sync.
・Uninstall Electrum and using stand alone one -> not sync.

So, what should I do next...?
Please advise me, thank you.
1582432195
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1582432195

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1582432195
Reply with quote  #2

1582432195
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1582432195
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1582432195

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1582432195
Reply with quote  #2

1582432195
Report to moderator
1582432195
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1582432195

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1582432195
Reply with quote  #2

1582432195
Report to moderator
1582432195
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1582432195

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1582432195
Reply with quote  #2

1582432195
Report to moderator
nc50lc
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 868
Merit: 1003


Self-proclaimed Genius ㊙️


View Profile WWW
January 22, 2020, 04:30:06 AM
 #2

・Delete "blockchain_headers" file and restart electrum -> not sync.
・Restore the wallet with the seed as standard wallet -> not sync and my addresses are changed.
・Restore the wallet with the seed and 3 xpub keys as multi signature wallet -> not sync and my addresses are changed.
These aren't necessary, in fact #1 will even make it seem disconnected until you've re-downloaded the headers.

Try to disable your firewall and/or AV temporary to see if its blocking your connection.

If disabling the firewall worked, create an exception for Electrum, then enable your firewall.
If disabling the AV worked, create an exception as well.

HCP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 2264

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
January 22, 2020, 04:43:47 AM
 #3

When you say it won't "sync"... what exactly is happening? Huh

Are you getting "green dot"?



"red dot"?



or "blue arrows"?



Do you see a message in the bottom left saying "Synchronizing"?

estrox
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 1


View Profile
January 22, 2020, 07:59:47 AM
 #4

These aren't necessary, in fact #1 will even make it seem disconnected until you've re-downloaded the headers.
Try to disable your firewall and/or AV temporary to see if its blocking your connection.
If disabling the firewall worked, create an exception for Electrum, then enable your firewall.
If disabling the AV worked, create an exception as well.

Thank you for your advice!
I disabled firewall but it still not connected... however, I added exception just in case.
ETFbitcoin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918
Merit: 2208

Use SegWit and enjoy lower fees.


View Profile WWW
January 22, 2020, 08:09:12 AM
 #5

There's small possibility your ISP block port used by Electrum server. Have you tried using proxy, Tor or VPN to connect to Electrum server?

estrox
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 1


View Profile
January 22, 2020, 08:15:11 AM
 #6

When you say it won't "sync"... what exactly is happening? Huh

Do you see a message in the bottom left saying "Synchronizing"?

Ah sorry and thank you for pointing out it.
I used to use Electrum in Japanese so the word was ambiguous. I changed it to English.

My status is,
"red dot". In addition, in the bottom left saying "Not connected".
estrox
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 1


View Profile
January 22, 2020, 08:36:32 AM
 #7

There's small possibility your ISP block port used by Electrum server. Have you tried using proxy, Tor or VPN to connect to Electrum server?

Ah Yes! I've tried using proxy on Electrum(Tools -> Network -> Proxy) to resolve the connection problem.
In the case, how should I do?
Pmalek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1256



View Profile
January 22, 2020, 08:55:48 AM
 #8

Read this to understand how to use Electrum through Tor.
https://electrum.readthedocs.io/en/latest/tor.html

There are two ways to do it. Scroll towards the end for instructions on how to do it for your Windows OS.

███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
████████▀▀▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▀▀████████
██████▀▄██▀▀▄▄ ████▄▀██████
█████ ███ ████ ▀▀████ █████
████ █████ ███▀▀▀▄████ ████
████ ███▀▀▀▄▄▄████████ ████
████ ██▄▄▀▀███████▀▄▄█ ████
█████ █████ █▀██▀▄███ █████
██████▄▀███▀▄█▀▄███▀▄██████
████████▄▄▀▀▀ ▀▀▀▄▄████████
██████████▀▄███████████████
██████████████████████████
.
.FORTUNEJACK   JOIN INVINCIBLE JACKMATE AND WIN......10 BTC........
█████████████████████████
█████████████████████████
██████▀▀▀       ▀▀▀██████
█████  ▄▄▄█████▄▄▄  █████
█████  █████ █████  █████
█████  ██▄     ▄██  █████
█████  ████   ████  █████
█████▄  ██▄▄█▄▄██  ▄█████
██████▄  ███████  ▄██████
███████▄   ▀▀▀   ▄███████
██████████▄▄ ▄▄██████████
█████████████████████████
█████████████████████████
.
..
estrox
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 1


View Profile
January 22, 2020, 05:11:31 PM
 #9

Read this to understand how to use Electrum through Tor.
https://electrum.readthedocs.io/en/latest/tor.html

There are two ways to do it. Scroll towards the end for instructions on how to do it for your Windows OS.

Thank you for your advice. I tried to use Electrum through Tor with below command according to the url:
' "C:\Program Files (x86)\Electrum\electrum-3.3.8.exe" -1 -s electrums3lojbuj.onion:50001:t -p socks5:localhost:9050 '

However, the problem still happen. Bottom left message says "Not connected(proxy enabled)" and still turn on Red dot on the right corner.

in the similar old topic, I saw someone advised that exporting private keys into Coinomi wallet... Should I try it if it not have risks?
HCP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 2264

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
January 22, 2020, 06:09:40 PM
 #10

Thank you for your advice. I tried to use Electrum through Tor with below command according to the url:
' "C:\Program Files (x86)\Electrum\electrum-3.3.8.exe" -1 -s electrums3lojbuj.onion:50001:t -p socks5:localhost:9050 '

However, the problem still happen. Bottom left message says "Not connected(proxy enabled)" and still turn on Red dot on the right corner.
Do you actually have Tor installed and running? It is not built into Windows, you need to download and run Tor from here: https://www.torproject.org/download/


Quote
in the similar old topic, I saw someone advised that exporting private keys into Coinomi wallet... Should I try it if it not have risks?
Exporting private keys has many risks. I would not advise that you do this at this time. Your best option is to figure out why Electrum is unable to connect to the network and rectify the problem.

BitMaxz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708
Merit: 1339


Beware on fake ledger nano, trezor and electrum.


View Profile WWW
January 22, 2020, 09:11:57 PM
Merited by hugeblack (2)
 #11

Have you tried to add DNS it might be because of your ISP or the DNS that blocking your Electrum from syncing?
Try to add DNS from your PC(ipv4 settings) put 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4
Then test it again.

If you have an android phone you can try to test Electrum on your phone. If it still blocked from syncing the issue is under your network/ISP not the wallet itself.


in the similar old topic, I saw someone advised that exporting private keys into Coinomi wallet... Should I try it if it not have risks?
If you are going to use Coinomi wallet for desktop it will not be safe.
Like the above said much better to solve this issue rather than exporting it to Coinomi wallet but if you still want to export your seed to other wallets I recommend you to use the Electrum mobile instead.

ETFbitcoin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918
Merit: 2208

Use SegWit and enjoy lower fees.


View Profile WWW
January 23, 2020, 08:59:01 AM
 #12

Thank you for your advice. I tried to use Electrum through Tor with below command according to the url:
' "C:\Program Files (x86)\Electrum\electrum-3.3.8.exe" -1 -s electrums3lojbuj.onion:50001:t -p socks5:localhost:9050 '

However, the problem still happen. Bottom left message says "Not connected(proxy enabled)" and still turn on Red dot on the right corner.
Do you actually have Tor installed and running? It is not built into Windows, you need to download and run Tor from here: https://www.torproject.org/download/

Additionally, default SOCKS5 port opened by Tor Browser is 9150, not 9050, so your command should be

Code:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Electrum\electrum-3.3.8.exe" -1 -s electrums3lojbuj.onion:50001:t -p socks5:localhost:9150

estrox
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 1


View Profile
January 23, 2020, 04:09:01 PM
Merited by hugeblack (1)
 #13

Have you tried to add DNS it might be because of your ISP or the DNS that blocking your Electrum from syncing?
Try to add DNS from your PC(ipv4 settings) put 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4
Then test it again.

If you have an android phone you can try to test Electrum on your phone. If it still blocked from syncing the issue is under your network/ISP not the wallet itself.


in the similar old topic, I saw someone advised that exporting private keys into Coinomi wallet... Should I try it if it not have risks?
If you are going to use Coinomi wallet for desktop it will not be safe.
Like the above said much better to solve this issue rather than exporting it to Coinomi wallet but if you still want to export your seed to other wallets I recommend you to use the Electrum mobile instead.

Thank you so much, using Google public DNS (8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4) solved the problem!
My ISP or DNS may be blocked....but now, My wallet works correctly.
I appreciate your and others kindness!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!