Bitcoin Forum
February 23, 2020, 05:44:09 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.19.0.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: About electrum Wallet, same SEED, diferent transactions :/ [SOLVED: GAP LIMIT]  (Read 96 times)
canihojr
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 2


View Profile
January 22, 2020, 12:17:33 PM
Last edit: January 22, 2020, 12:44:18 PM by canihojr
Merited by ETFbitcoin (1), o_e_l_e_o (1)
 #1

hi everyone!

i have somes questions about electrum wallet...

Case StepByStep:
1- i did a new wallet, seed ex:"1234567890" if i go to another computer, make a wallet, say already have seed, add the same seed ex:"1234567890", then in theory both are the same, im right?
2- if i do transfers using the GUI of electrum, both wallets are sync, and both can see both transactions...
3- if i go to console, and ask about "getunusedaddress" he give me the next address without use. I do operation and both are the same....

Now come the thing i dont understand.
3A- if all the addresses from the first wallet are used, they give me a new address, but if i transfer to this address, the wallet where i get the address see the transactions, but the wallet we imported before no..... how can that happens??
3B- i tryed the same with the command "createnewaddress" and same case as before........ any idea??
4- if i import the public key just to watch, same case....

Basicly i need one wallet sync on both computer... before its works, so i dont knows whats happens now :// maybe last version of electrum wallet? (3.3.8 ) Linux
1582436649
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1582436649

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1582436649
Reply with quote  #2

1582436649
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
TryNinja
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288
Merit: 1825



View Profile
January 22, 2020, 12:21:45 PM
 #2

1- i did a new wallet, seed ex:"1234567890" if i go to another computer, make a wallet, say already have seed, add the same seed ex:"1234567890", then in theory both are the same, im right?
If you restore a wallet from its seed, it will be the same. Just keep in mind what is the seed since they look like a group of words and not a sequence of numbers/characters.

Quote
2- if i do transfers using the GUI of electrum, both wallets are sync, and both can see both transactions...
3- if i go to console, and ask about "getunusedaddress" he give me the next address without use. I do operation and both are the same....
Yes. Both are 1:1 the same.

Quote
Now come the thing i dont understand.
3A- if all the addresses from the first wallet are used, they give me a new address, but if i transfer to this address, the wallet where i get the address see the transactions, but the wallet we imported before no..... how can that happens??
3B- i tryed the same with the command "createnewaddress" and same case as before........ any idea??
4- if i import the public key just to watch, same case....

Basicly i need one wallet sync on both computer... before its works, so i dont knows whats happens now :// maybe last version of electrum wallet? (3.3.8 ) Linux
It doesn’t matter. Just go to the “Addresses” tab (View -> Show Addresses) and pick an unused address. In all cases, reusing an address is possible. New addresses are given for privacy purposes but you can use them as many times as you want.

canihojr
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 2


View Profile
January 22, 2020, 12:33:04 PM
 #3

well that was what i was thinking, but looks like dont work like that... i found on electrum documentation this explain exacly whats happens, and i checked and its true, all that new addresses are with the background RED, that ones are what dont works in the other wallet :/

Quote
How can I pre-generate new addresses?
Electrum will generate new addresses as you use them, until it hits the gap limit.

If you need to pre-generate more addresses, you can do so by typing wallet.create_new_address(False) in the console. This command will generate one new address. Note that the address will be shown with a red background in the address tab to indicate that it is beyond the gap limit. The red color will remain until the gap is filled.

WARNING: Addresses beyond the gap limit will not automatically be recovered from the seed. To recover them will require either increasing the client’s gap limit or generating new addresses until the used addresses are found.

If you wish to generate more than one address, you can use a “for” loop. For example, if you wanted to generate 50 addresses, you could do this:


REF: https://electrum.readthedocs.io/en/latest/faq.html#gap-limit
TryNinja
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288
Merit: 1825



View Profile
January 22, 2020, 12:38:32 PM
Merited by hugeblack (2), ETFbitcoin (1), HeRetiK (1), o_e_l_e_o (1), fillippone (1)
 #4

Oh, sorry. It looks like I misunderstood your question. Looks like your issue is that your first address reaches the addresses gap limit (the initial ones were used already) and generated more, but when you recover a wallet from the seed, this info isn’t stored anywhere so it could not be searching for transactions in addresses “far away” from the initial ones.

Try increasing the address gap limit on the wallet which txs aren’t showing up.

Run on console:
Code:
wallet.change_gap_limit(100)

Or a higher number.

canihojr
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 2


View Profile
January 22, 2020, 12:43:58 PM
 #5

woohooo! that exactly!!! you are my hero!

then, now, i can generate all the addresses on the first wallet as i need without to be scary to loose someone, in the worst case, i limit the gap to 100000 and everything should appears like now, i guess Cheesy
Abdussamad
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2380
Merit: 1255



View Profile
January 23, 2020, 10:39:04 AM
 #6

Electrum can't handle wallets with that many addresses. Use the receive tab to get new addresses. By default you have 20 unused addresses. Is that not enough? More will be created automatically as you start receiving funds to the existing ones.
DroomieChikito
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854
Merit: 825


View Profile
January 23, 2020, 12:33:54 PM
 #7

..and everything should appears like now, i guess Cheesy
WARNING: Addresses beyond the gap limit will not automatically be recovered from the seed. To recover them will require either increasing the client’s gap limit or generating new addresses until the used addresses are found.

You have to export private key [to avoid when something happens] and save it.





I am not sure are safe or not, it's your choice, dwyor



HCP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 2264

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
January 23, 2020, 06:50:33 PM
 #8

No, they don't need to export private keys... That's terrible advice. Undecided

Exporting private keys is very risky and should not be done unless you have a VERY good reason to!

As long as OP has their seed, they'll be able to recover their wallet and ALL the private keys/addresses.

It's just that if you are using addresses out past the normal gap limit, they won't be automatically shown after restoring. You'll need to change the gap limit manually or generate addresses until you find the one(s) missing.

TryNinja
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288
Merit: 1825



View Profile
January 23, 2020, 08:40:26 PM
 #9

WARNING: Addresses beyond the gap limit will not automatically be recovered from the seed. To recover them will require either increasing the client’s gap limit or generating new addresses until the used addresses are found.

You have to export private key [to avoid when something happens] and save it.
The seed holds all his private-keys beyond the gap limit. He doesn’t need to export anything because all the article you quoted says is that the keys aren’t generated automatically. However, they can be generated (“manually”) without any issues.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!