Bitcoin Forum
February 24, 2020, 09:32:50 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.19.0.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: removing the chain to start again  (Read 92 times)
js123
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 1


View Profile
February 07, 2020, 11:23:46 PM
Merited by o_e_l_e_o (1)
 #1

I had a problem downloading the chain. I uninstalled bitcoin core and the wallet from documents. When I reinstall bitcoin core it remembers the chain. how can I uninstall everything so I can start again. Regards Jeremy
1582536770
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1582536770

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1582536770
Reply with quote  #2

1582536770
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1582536770
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1582536770

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1582536770
Reply with quote  #2

1582536770
Report to moderator
jackg
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652
Merit: 1555


https://bit.ly/387FXHi ← lightning theory


View Profile
February 07, 2020, 11:27:23 PM
Merited by OgNasty (1), o_e_l_e_o (1)
 #2

I'd sugges if it just randomly stopped syncing:
Go to your %appdata%/local or %appdata%/roaming folder on Windows and look for bitcoin
or on Linux go to /.bitcoin.

Look in the blocks folder and rename the last block to anything (put dot bak at the end if you don't know what to call it).

And start up bitcoin core and it'll do another sync reindexing the rest of the blocks.


Otherwise, just rename the chaundtate and blocks folder and start core.

js123
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 1


View Profile
February 08, 2020, 12:14:16 AM
 #3

Thank you for your help that worked. regards Jeremy
jackg
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652
Merit: 1555


https://bit.ly/387FXHi ← lightning theory


View Profile
February 08, 2020, 12:39:35 AM
 #4

Let us know if you get stuck when it syncs back up again, it shouldn't but it might do.



In addition to what I said previously, if you have antivirus running make sure it ignores that folder otherwise it may become corrupted (some idiots decided to put harmless code in the chain that AV mistakes for something harmful).

js123
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 1


View Profile
February 10, 2020, 01:18:10 AM
 #5

Thank you for your help. As predicted the chain has got stuck again. I am getting a message saying "Error: A fetal internal error occurred see debug.log for details." I click ok and the programme crashes. Regards Jeremy
ranochigo
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1932
Merit: 1270

Back online:)


View Profile WWW
February 10, 2020, 01:30:55 AM
 #6

Thank you for your help. As predicted the chain has got stuck again. I am getting a message saying "Error: A fetal internal error occurred see debug.log for details." I click ok and the programme crashes. Regards Jeremy
Your debug.log should be in the same folder as your blockchain data. Open the debug.log with notepad and paste the last few lines of data here. Could you include more detail like what OS you're using?

js123
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 1


View Profile
February 10, 2020, 01:44:31 AM
 #7

I am using Windows 10

The debug made reference to a chainstate file being corrupt, I deleted it and newer I now have to start again. Next time I will seek instructions rather than being heavey handed.

Regards

Jeremy
nc50lc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 868
Merit: 1010


Self-proclaimed Genius ㊙️


View Profile WWW
February 10, 2020, 02:01:39 AM
 #8

How do you usually shutdown Bitcoin-Qt?
Shutting down the PC while Core is running will corrupt the currently used datadir files.

If that corruption issue happens frequently, you may also consider scanning the disk for possible bad sectors.

js123
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 1


View Profile
February 15, 2020, 12:21:32 AM
 #9

I normally press the x in the top right corner
js123
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 1


View Profile
February 15, 2020, 12:41:59 AM
 #10

The chain seems corrupted again the end of the debug.log says

2020-02-15T00:16:59Z tor: Thread interrupt
2020-02-15T00:16:59Z Shutdown: In progress...
2020-02-15T00:16:59Z torcontrol thread exit
2020-02-15T00:16:59Z addcon thread exit
2020-02-15T00:16:59Z net thread exit
2020-02-15T00:16:59Z msghand thread exit
2020-02-15T00:16:59Z UpdateTip: new best=00000000000000000138f8a86210210b2826712b2d4c951a2c7cfaee814eaca9 height=333023 version=0x00000002 log2_work=81.663513 tx=53237147 date='2014-12-05T17:41:27Z' progress=0.105383 cache=155.7MiB(1152560txo)
2020-02-15T00:16:59Z Imported mempool transactions from disk: 0 succeeded, 0 failed, 0 expired, 0 already there
2020-02-15T00:17:01Z opencon thread exit
2020-02-15T00:17:01Z scheduler thread interrupt
2020-02-15T00:17:05Z [default wallet] Releasing wallet
2020-02-15T00:17:05Z Shutdown: done

Can you help please?
nc50lc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 868
Merit: 1010


Self-proclaimed Genius ㊙️


View Profile WWW
February 15, 2020, 02:41:05 AM
 #11

The chain seems corrupted again the end of the debug.log says
The lines that you posted don't contain the actual issue, it's all about core's shutdown procedure.
Include a few lines above the ones you've posted.

I normally press the x in the top right corner
Hmm, so you have been shutting it down normally.
You should now consider scanning the PC for possible hardware issues.

Find a tool to test the HDD for bad sectors or faulty sAta cables or it could also be your RAM.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!