Bitcoin Forum
July 27, 2021, 01:43:10 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: What to do with old Antminer S9  (Read 285 times)
lieutfunaki
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 2


View Profile
February 27, 2020, 02:03:01 PM
 #1

I've got two 13.5th S9's. I'm giving up on bitcoin mining, it's been 3 months since I cracked anything. Any advice what to mine with them? Any Altcoins worth the squeeze? Noob to non-btc asics. Appreciate the advice.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1627350190
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1627350190

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1627350190
Reply with quote  #2

1627350190
Report to moderator
1627350190
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1627350190

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1627350190
Reply with quote  #2

1627350190
Report to moderator
1627350190
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1627350190

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1627350190
Reply with quote  #2

1627350190
Report to moderator
sxemini
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 895
Merit: 18


View Profile
February 27, 2020, 02:08:22 PM
Merited by nc50lc (1)
 #2

I've got two 13.5th S9's. I'm giving up on bitcoin mining, it's been 3 months since I cracked anything. Any advice what to mine with them? Any Altcoins worth the squeeze? Noob to non-btc asics. Appreciate the advice.
What? What do you mean with "3 months since I cracked anything." I don´t understand this sentence.

You can mine bitcoin with it and this is the best option.

Donations ETH/ETC/TOKENS 0x3586fE59934c1Af2eE40d8376D1d1AF3BbA61708
Binance Bonus -> https://www.binance.com/de/register?ref=XTP9URDX
Phemex 200$ for free -> https://phemex.com/web/user/register?referralCode=DKJHM
MoparMiningLLC
aka Stryfe
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 1050
Merit: 947


EIN: 82-3893490


View Profile WWW
February 27, 2020, 02:09:16 PM
 #3

you could put them in lpm and put them on a bitcoin pps pool - might still make a few bucks

or put them to mining freecash - quite a few pools out there.

Mine BTC @ kano.is Need some thing 3d printed? Need something laser cut? go here: moparmining.com
Offering escrow services https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5154480 leave me a message on Discord: https://discord.gg/7NaRKtb Telegram: @MoparMiningLLC
Get your own Ballet Wallet here! BalletCrypto.com use coupon code "MoparMiningLLC" for 5% off
efudd
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 51


View Profile
February 27, 2020, 04:13:24 PM
Merited by nc50lc (1)
 #4

Sell them as home heaters with a built in lottery: If it mines a block, win! Otherwise, heat!

-j

hustleman
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 142
Merit: 6


View Profile
February 28, 2020, 05:21:53 AM
 #5

sell them on ebay... someone will buy them
nc50lc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386
Merit: 1970


Self-proclaimed Genius ㊙️


View Profile
February 28, 2020, 07:52:35 AM
 #6

Sell them as home heaters with a built in lottery: If it mines a block, win! Otherwise, heat!
Not as efficient as the regular heater but I agree with the lottery part. (IK it's a joke)
Anyways, he might have been using it for solo mining due to his "since cracked anything" statement.

Appreciate the advice.
Why don't you join a pool then?

OasisDre
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 41


View Profile
February 28, 2020, 09:24:01 AM
 #7

I've got two 13.5th S9's. I'm giving up on bitcoin mining, it's been 3 months since I cracked anything. Any advice what to mine with them? Any Altcoins worth the squeeze? Noob to non-btc asics. Appreciate the advice.
Antminer s9 is not so profitable any more unlike in 2017, I think the best thing to do is to sell and use the money to buy bitcoin and keep till halving is over, there is possibility that Bitcoin will reach a new ATH after it's halving

▬▬▬▬▬▬▌   Vulcan Forged    ▐▬▬▬▬▬▬
▬▬▬▬▬▬▌    Telegram   ▌    Discord      ▌     Twitter      ▐▬▬▬▬▬▬
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬   DISCOVER   ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
adaseb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2730
Merit: 1331



View Profile
February 29, 2020, 05:17:31 AM
 #8

Plugging in the numbers to What to Mine it seems that the S9 on $0.10kwh power loses about $0.70 a day. Its pretty crazy how unprofitable this miner has gotten since it was released.

Like the other poster said, sell it on eBay or Craiglist and you will be surprised but somebody will actually buy it. Even if you put in the ad "You won't make a profit with this" you will have buyers. I had this issue in the past with many old ancient miners and eventually all of them sold.

However keep in mind that, I sold them for like $50, I wasn't asking any large sums. The people had free power somehow and they were new to mining and wanted to try it out as a hobby.





.
.




░██████████████████░
████████████████████
█████████▀░░░███████
█████████░░▄████████
███████▀▀░░▀▀███████
███████▄▄░░▄▄███████
█████████░░█████████

█████████░░█████████

█████████▄▄█████████

████████████████████

░██████████████████░
░██████████████████░
████████████████████
████████████▀▀▀█▀███
███░▀█████▀░░░░░▀███
███▌░░░▀▀▀░░░░░░████
████▄░░░░░░░░░░░████
█████▀░░░░░░░░░█████

██████▄░░░░░▄▄██████

█████▄▄▄▄███████████

████████████████████

░██████████████████░
░██████████████████░
████████████████████
████████████████████
███████████▀▀░░▐████
███████▀▀░░░░░█████
████▀░░░▄█▀░░░▐█████
█████▄▄█▀░░░░░██████

███████▌▄▄▄▐██████

████████████████████

████████████████████

░██████████████████░
Doranile432
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 22


View Profile
February 29, 2020, 08:25:59 AM
 #9

Still good if you have free electricity, if you don't have free electricity your profit won't be much, you can also find new sha256 coins to mine, with that high hashrate of S9 you will quickly get your hands on many new coins
dhemasm
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344
Merit: 134



View Profile
March 01, 2020, 12:25:32 AM
 #10

I'm not really sure is there any profitable coin that can be mined with S9 so far, I mean it's have around 1400w power consumption, You need cheap electricity cost/kwh, Let's say with around 0.04 you can still get some small profit beside that it's also no counting internet fee, etc. It's different story if you have free electricity or really low electiry cost, Anyway what is electricity cost in your country?

MoparMiningLLC
aka Stryfe
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 1050
Merit: 947


EIN: 82-3893490


View Profile WWW
March 01, 2020, 03:04:54 AM
 #11

I'm not really sure is there any profitable coin that can be mined with S9 so far, I mean it's have around 1400w power consumption, You need cheap electricity cost/kwh, Let's say with around 0.04 you can still get some small profit beside that it's also no counting internet fee, etc. It's different story if you have free electricity or really low electiry cost, Anyway what is electricity cost in your country?

my S9's are still profitable but barely. each one is making me about 58 cents a day mining bitcoin. they are running at 16.7 to 16.8 TH/s and using 1460 watts. my electric is 5 cents per kwh as for internet, I run them off my house internet which has more than enough bandwidth.

Mine BTC @ kano.is Need some thing 3d printed? Need something laser cut? go here: moparmining.com
Offering escrow services https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5154480 leave me a message on Discord: https://discord.gg/7NaRKtb Telegram: @MoparMiningLLC
Get your own Ballet Wallet here! BalletCrypto.com use coupon code "MoparMiningLLC" for 5% off
dhemasm
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344
Merit: 134



View Profile
March 01, 2020, 12:20:44 PM
Last edit: March 01, 2020, 03:12:16 PM by dhemasm
 #12

my S9's are still profitable but barely. each one is making me about 58 cents a day mining bitcoin. they are running at 16.7 to 16.8 TH/s and using 1460 watts. my electric is 5 cents per kwh as for internet, I run them off my house internet which has more than enough bandwidth.
Hmm, that was good hashrate i though it come out from factory with 14th/s?. I have free electricity access in my place but still afraid since some discussion say ASIC was really sensitive especially on unstable internet and the temperature, Can i ask how long you already mine with that? I planning to buy that since it's really cheap right now in my country (Around $150-$300, S9 + Psu + Lan cable), But still doing some research.

MoparMiningLLC
aka Stryfe
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 1050
Merit: 947


EIN: 82-3893490


View Profile WWW
March 01, 2020, 07:04:14 PM
 #13

my S9's are still profitable but barely. each one is making me about 58 cents a day mining bitcoin. they are running at 16.7 to 16.8 TH/s and using 1460 watts. my electric is 5 cents per kwh as for internet, I run them off my house internet which has more than enough bandwidth.
Hmm, that was good hashrate i though it come out from factory with 14th/s?. I have free electricity access in my place but still afraid since some discussion say ASIC was really sensitive especially on unstable internet and the temperature, Can i ask how long you already mine with that? I planning to buy that since it's really cheap right now in my country (Around $150-$300, S9 + Psu + Lan cable), But still doing some research.

I have been running S9's since end of 2017 - I will be retiring my last 2 S9's as soon as I buy miners to fill their slot on the shelf. I run all my miners on wifi - I have a range extender in my building that links to the house wifi and then I have a switch plugged into the range extender and then ethernet cables to the miners - latency is around 2 ms so not bad at all. the temps sometimes get high in the summer but they all vent directly to outside so the hot air is only from the sun beating down on the building. I use a 24" intake fan to blow air into the building and an ac unit to cool the building with a dehumidifier to pull out any moisture.

oh as for the hash rate, that is due to in the firmware from bitmain, there is an option to increase the hash rate by .5 th increments, i am running them at +2 th

Mine BTC @ kano.is Need some thing 3d printed? Need something laser cut? go here: moparmining.com
Offering escrow services https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5154480 leave me a message on Discord: https://discord.gg/7NaRKtb Telegram: @MoparMiningLLC
Get your own Ballet Wallet here! BalletCrypto.com use coupon code "MoparMiningLLC" for 5% off
dhemasm
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344
Merit: 134



View Profile
March 01, 2020, 09:01:47 PM
 #14

I have been running S9's since end of 2017 - I will be retiring my last 2 S9's as soon as I buy miners to fill their slot on the shelf. I run all my miners on wifi - I have a range extender in my building that links to the house wifi and then I have a switch plugged into the range extender and then ethernet cables to the miners - latency is around 2 ms so not bad at all. the temps sometimes get high in the summer but they all vent directly to outside so the hot air is only from the sun beating down on the building. I use a 24" intake fan to blow air into the building and an ac unit to cool the building with a dehumidifier to pull out any moisture.

oh as for the hash rate, that is due to in the firmware from bitmain, there is an option to increase the hash rate by .5 th increments, i am running them at +2 th
Whoa so it's around 3 years around until now and really new information for me, I though it must using Lan cable since some people say it's more stable, So basically it's still good option to buy this ASIC I suppose, after hearing it can run very long, I will survey the place first for airflow problems before I buy it Thanks for the information!

MoparMiningLLC
aka Stryfe
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 1050
Merit: 947


EIN: 82-3893490


View Profile WWW
March 01, 2020, 10:44:11 PM
 #15

I have been running S9's since end of 2017 - I will be retiring my last 2 S9's as soon as I buy miners to fill their slot on the shelf. I run all my miners on wifi - I have a range extender in my building that links to the house wifi and then I have a switch plugged into the range extender and then ethernet cables to the miners - latency is around 2 ms so not bad at all. the temps sometimes get high in the summer but they all vent directly to outside so the hot air is only from the sun beating down on the building. I use a 24" intake fan to blow air into the building and an ac unit to cool the building with a dehumidifier to pull out any moisture.

oh as for the hash rate, that is due to in the firmware from bitmain, there is an option to increase the hash rate by .5 th increments, i am running them at +2 th
Whoa so it's around 3 years around until now and really new information for me, I though it must using Lan cable since some people say it's more stable, So basically it's still good option to buy this ASIC I suppose, after hearing it can run very long, I will survey the place first for airflow problems before I buy it Thanks for the information!

airflow is the most important factor - and temp/humidity is second. at least that is my opinion.

Mine BTC @ kano.is Need some thing 3d printed? Need something laser cut? go here: moparmining.com
Offering escrow services https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5154480 leave me a message on Discord: https://discord.gg/7NaRKtb Telegram: @MoparMiningLLC
Get your own Ballet Wallet here! BalletCrypto.com use coupon code "MoparMiningLLC" for 5% off
Akiiiil
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 03, 2020, 09:05:11 AM
 #16

Just sell them...and buy the latest one
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!