Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 10:34:42 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Uses of waste mining heat?  (Read 5853 times)
mrich8
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45


View Profile
December 06, 2011, 07:30:02 AM
 #21

I am in Texas so we have electric heat here anyway in apartments. With miners I do not have to run central heater at all (also electric), only central fan to keep air circulating. So during winter I can run the miners 24/7 at current prices. When it gets hot again and the price does not go up, I will have to stop the miners because of air conditioning cost.
1481150082
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481150082

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481150082
Reply with quote  #2

1481150082
Report to moderator
1481150082
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481150082

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481150082
Reply with quote  #2

1481150082
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481150082
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481150082

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481150082
Reply with quote  #2

1481150082
Report to moderator
johnyj
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1806


Beyond Imagination


View Profile
December 08, 2011, 09:11:44 AM
 #22

While collect the heat using water is a good idea, the huge cost and labor of mounting water block for each card simply make it impractical

Defrosting food is the simplest way to use the hot air, since I put the rig outside, if there is a way to re-pipe those hot air back into the house, that will be perfect, but I'm afraid that also involves quite a bit of construction

FreeMoney
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


Strength in numbers


View Profile WWW
December 08, 2011, 09:31:44 AM
 #23

Eventually we can heat the whole globe! Oh, wait..

Play Bitcoin Poker at sealswithclubs.eu. We're active and open to everyone.
deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470



View Profile WWW
December 20, 2011, 03:11:29 PM
 #24

I am in Texas so we have electric heat here anyway in apartments. With miners I do not have to run central heater at all (also electric), only central fan to keep air circulating. So during winter I can run the miners 24/7 at current prices. When it gets hot again and the price does not go up, I will have to stop the miners because of air conditioning cost.

If you have the space (or you make a box for your miners), you can just pump the heat outside. I have a small room with a window, I closed the room and put a box fan in the window during the summer. Even so, replacing a 1500W space heater with one that also makes Bitcoins is certainly a benefit in the winter!

Brunic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 633



View Profile
December 20, 2011, 06:36:12 PM
 #25

Last week, we've moved our stuff in the basement (big basement!) of somebody who needed the heat for the winter (we are in Canada). It's been 1 week, and we didn't started the heater once with a temperature between 0 and -10 Celsius outside.

And usually, that house pays around 3500$ for heating in a year.

Right now, I really believe it is possible to reduce of the heating cost down to 0$. I'm curious to know how it will be if we get temperatures of -30 Celsius, I hope we have a mild winter  Grin
tonto
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 670


BubblesBit.com


View Profile WWW
December 22, 2011, 05:15:59 PM
 #26

I've been debating setting up some tubing with a heat exchanger (sealed) to provide heating to my aquarium, since I need to heat it anyways.  I just haven't got around to it.  Plus I don't know how hot it will get (55 gallons), so I'll need to do some testing first so I don't come home one day to fish soup!
 
If it works, then I'd keep the regular heater on to provide backup in the event that my GPUs stop mining.

.
.......
.......
.......
.......
.......
.......
..........
.....
.....
.....
.....
.....
.
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
December 22, 2011, 05:23:56 PM
 #27

I've been debating setting up some tubing with a heat exchanger (sealed) to provide heating to my aquarium, since I need to heat it anyways.  I just haven't got around to it.  Plus I don't know how hot it will get (55 gallons), so I'll need to do some testing first so I don't come home one day to fish soup!
 
If it works, then I'd keep the regular heater on to provide backup in the event that my GPUs stop mining.

If you have a water cooling system you could use a thermostatic valve to divert the hot water to either aquarium or a radiator.

One way to get an idea of how much heat your aquarium needs is to plug it into a kill-a-watt.  My guess is that an aquarium doesn't lose that much heat.  Likely the output of your rig is vastly oversized compared to the needs of the aquarium.  Now 500 gallon, or a backyard swimming pool that might be more like it.
mc_lovin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


www.bitcointrading.com


View Profile WWW
December 26, 2011, 05:31:10 AM
 #28

Living in Canada, let's just say that it's nice to have the computers warm the house up a bit Smiley

tonto
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 670


BubblesBit.com


View Profile WWW
December 29, 2011, 04:15:05 PM
 #29

I've been debating setting up some tubing with a heat exchanger (sealed) to provide heating to my aquarium, since I need to heat it anyways.  I just haven't got around to it.  Plus I don't know how hot it will get (55 gallons), so I'll need to do some testing first so I don't come home one day to fish soup!
 
If it works, then I'd keep the regular heater on to provide backup in the event that my GPUs stop mining.

If you have a water cooling system you could use a thermostatic valve to divert the hot water to either aquarium or a radiator.

One way to get an idea of how much heat your aquarium needs is to plug it into a kill-a-watt.  My guess is that an aquarium doesn't lose that much heat.  Likely the output of your rig is vastly oversized compared to the needs of the aquarium.  Now 500 gallon, or a backyard swimming pool that might be more like it.

My rig is only 2 5770.
It's my gaming rig, so by the time the fluid got from my rig to the aquarium (one room over) there would be heat loss out of the tubing.
 
It was just a silly idea I had, but if the aquarium was in my same room, I'd look into it more seriously, but might give an idea to someone else reading. Smiley

.
.......
.......
.......
.......
.......
.......
..........
.....
.....
.....
.....
.....
.
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!