Bitcoin Forum
January 20, 2021, 11:31:01 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Antminer S17 pro fixed Frequency and Voltage default firmware  (Read 600 times)
mikeywith
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 3414


be constructive or S.T.F.U


View Profile
May 09, 2020, 10:15:39 PM
Last edit: May 10, 2020, 12:43:42 AM by frodocooper
Merited by philipma1957 (5), BitMaxz (2), thierry4wd (2), s265925 (2)
 #1

I accidentally discovered that there are two hidden options in the S17 pro version, which are Voltage and Frequency.

To enable those, you need to inspect the "Miner Configuration page" and look for these lines:

Code:
div class="cbi-value" id="cbi-bmminer-default-voltage" style="display:none

Code:
div class="cbi-value" id="cbi-bmminer-default-freq" style="display:none

All you need to do is remove the :none.



The hidden features will appear like so:



Available voltage values:

Code:
17.00V
17.10V
17.20V
17.30V
17.40V
17.50V
17.60V
17.70V
17.80V
17.90V
18.00V
18.10V
18.20V
18.30V
18.40V
18.50V
18.60V
18.70V
18.80V
18.90V
19.00V
19.10V
19.20V
19.30V
19.40V
19.50V    
19.60V
19.70V
19.80V
19.90V
20.00V

Available Frequency values
 
Code:
225
250
275
300
325
350
375
400
425
450
475
500
525
550
575
600
625
650
675
700
725
750
775
800

This will give you more abilities to play with your gear without having to use custom firmware, keep in mind that changing these values might cause harm to your miner if done wrong, don't change these settings unless you know what you are doing.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1611142261
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1611142261

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1611142261
Reply with quote  #2

1611142261
Report to moderator
1611142261
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1611142261

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1611142261
Reply with quote  #2

1611142261
Report to moderator
1611142261
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1611142261

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1611142261
Reply with quote  #2

1611142261
Report to moderator
taserz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 736
Merit: 288


Mining since 2011


View Profile
May 09, 2020, 10:59:43 PM
 #2

Shhh Mikey don't tell people about this xD

Yeah seriously though watch your settings fellas don't cook your machines. Also you can flash an S17 to run S17 Pro firmware Smiley

SSH Unlock & Signature Check Removal Tool Antminer S17/T17/S15 No Installation!
Firmware for S17 and T17! Overclock, Underclock, AutoTuning. Asic.to The MOON Increased hashrate, improved power efficiency 30w/TH up to 85th/s!!
Mining bitcoin since 2011 • Best nerd decision of my life • 1E5bZiPAh7Yt1VqNUyk7y9r48zpbGNTEUA
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2912
Merit: 2980



View Profile
May 10, 2020, 02:13:13 PM
Last edit: May 11, 2020, 12:22:34 AM by frodocooper
 #3

I get the hidden menu to show but it does not seem to allow the settings.

I chose. 17.20 and 550 hit save and apply and it seemed to vanish

I did next s17pro

I choose 17.30 and 550 hit save and apply and it seems to vanish

in both cases none reappears on the inspect section.

I have nov 2019 firmware is that the issue?

Those do not stick
I used a s17pro with aug firmware
I used a s17pro with nov firmware
in both cases I can pick values but when saved they vanish what am I missing


I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
mikeywith
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 3414


be constructive or S.T.F.U


View Profile
May 10, 2020, 09:29:35 PM
 #4

Phill do you get this in the kernel log?

Code:
2020-05-10 21:20:48 frequency.c:761:inc_freq_with_fixed_step: chain = 1, freq_start = 535, freq_end = 550, freq_step = 5, is_higher_voltage = true
2020-05-10 21:20:50 frequency.c:761:inc_freq_with_fixed_step: chain = 0, freq_start = 550, freq_end = 550, freq_step = 5, is_higher_voltage = true
2020-05-10 21:20:50 frequency.c:761:inc_freq_with_fixed_step: chain = 1, freq_start = 550, freq_end = 550, freq_step = 5, is_higher_voltage = true
2020-05-10 21:20:50 frequency.c:580:inc_asic_diff_freq_by_steps: chain = 2, start = 535, freq_step = 5


I don't think the miner sets exact figures, it rather sets the MAX, you see in the kernel log it says "start with 535 and end with 550", I did save 550 in the frequency field, and it still shows in the setting when I go back to check it.

Keep in mind that I am using 'Wed Dec 25 09:47:07 CST 2019' firmware which is the latest firmware'.

Can you check the kernel log to see if yours shows start-end frequency?

taserz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 736
Merit: 288


Mining since 2011


View Profile
May 10, 2020, 11:40:22 PM
 #5

Chipless going to be mad you just showed how his s17 fixed firmware thing works lol

Love you Chip I just got to meme when I can I am a derp

SSH Unlock & Signature Check Removal Tool Antminer S17/T17/S15 No Installation!
Firmware for S17 and T17! Overclock, Underclock, AutoTuning. Asic.to The MOON Increased hashrate, improved power efficiency 30w/TH up to 85th/s!!
Mining bitcoin since 2011 • Best nerd decision of my life • 1E5bZiPAh7Yt1VqNUyk7y9r48zpbGNTEUA
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2912
Merit: 2980



View Profile
May 11, 2020, 12:08:25 AM
 #6

I am thinking either I am doing something wrong or that it does not work with the older firmware.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
mikeywith
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 3414


be constructive or S.T.F.U


View Profile
May 11, 2020, 01:10:55 AM
 #7

I am thinking either I am doing something wrong or that it does not work with the older firmware.

What could you be doing wrong? I don't think you can do something wrong even if you intend it, you simply choose one voltage value, one frequency value and then hit save, so my guess is that August and November firmware don't save the settings.

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2912
Merit: 2980



View Profile
May 11, 2020, 02:03:05 AM
Last edit: May 12, 2020, 02:36:53 AM by frodocooper
 #8

okay i loaded dec 25 date.

i will post back.



it does not work I must be doing something wrong.

What to you leave work mode on when you set it up

Normal?

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
mikeywith
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 3414


be constructive or S.T.F.U


View Profile
May 11, 2020, 04:54:17 AM
 #9

What to you leave work mode on when you set it up

Normal work mode, can you send me the kernel logs? and by the way, after flashing the Dec firmware, does it save the settings? I mean when you close the webpage and then go back to unlock the hidden features, do you see the voltage and frequency you saved or it shows null values?

on a side note, I don't use fixed voltage and frequency, I just tested it after you mentioned it didn't work for you, but it worked for me.

thierry4wd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 325
Merit: 254



View Profile
May 12, 2020, 03:08:53 PM
Last edit: May 13, 2020, 12:01:49 AM by frodocooper
 #10

Great Wink is now not a secret ...

My mod for S9 and T9+ is same methode but i modify one file to... so ... CONFIRMED not need modify the bmminer for tune this Wink

Kano ? where are you ? lol

PS : i have tested on my T17 but not working Wink (but i have my own moded firmware lol).
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2912
Merit: 2980



View Profile
May 14, 2020, 02:47:12 AM
Last edit: May 14, 2020, 11:54:47 PM by frodocooper
 #11

I got this to work on my sick t17+.  It would always drop one board and run at 43th vs 64 th

I got it to use lower volts and the same frequency.

it is doing 17.3 volts and 715 freq.

if it holds it is a huge improvement. as it would over heat at 18.3 volts and 715 frequencies which auto tune would do.

so i gain 20-21 th and the gear is really efficient. I will monitor this overnight.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
mikeywith
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 3414


be constructive or S.T.F.U


View Profile
May 19, 2020, 12:39:19 AM
Last edit: May 19, 2020, 02:09:19 AM by frodocooper
 #12

I got this to work on my sick t17+.  It would always drop one board and run at 43th vs 64 th

I got it to use lower volts and the same frequency.

Would you please post the kernel log? were you able to actually save those settings even after a reboot or do they disappear like what happened with the S17 pro? the miner status page would show the frequency but it doesn't show the voltage, so to make sure the voltage setting was also saved and applied the kernel log would be the best place to get that piece of information.

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2912
Merit: 2980



View Profile
May 19, 2020, 02:14:55 AM
Last edit: May 19, 2020, 04:02:32 AM by frodocooper
 #13

here it is with 17.3 volts vs 18.3 volts



did your page inspect trick just with  the voltage
tried all of these
17.00
17.10
17.20
17.30
17.40
17.50


I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Biffa
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2436
Merit: 1150



View Profile
May 19, 2020, 04:27:19 PM
 #14

Did it stick after reboot?

Also any power readings?

Mine @ pools that pay Tx fees & don't mine empty blocks :: kanopool :: ckpool ::
Should bitmain create LPM for all models?
:: Dalcore's Crypto Mining H/W Hosting Directory & Reputation ::
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2912
Merit: 2980



View Profile
May 19, 2020, 04:54:04 PM
Last edit: May 19, 2020, 07:00:35 PM by philipma1957
 #15

Did it stick after reboot?

Also any power readings?

the gear was doing 2 boards

the gear now does 3 boards

but  the machine does 30 minute checks endlessly eventually it loses the volts and they go back to 18.3 the board over heats and it drops to 2 boards.

you then need to inspect again set low volts and see if it sticks  in the 17.0 to 17.5 range.

too bad it reports back every 30 minutes as that seems to cause the low volt setting to drop out


Code:
2020-05-19 16:56:42 driver-btm-api.c:704:set_timeout: freq 760 final timeout=96
2020-05-19 16:56:42 power_api.c:346:set_to_working_voltage_by_steps: Set to voltage raw 1730, step by step.
2020-05-19 16:57:00 power_api.c:120:check_voltage_multi: retry time: 0
2020-05-19 16:57:01 power_api.c:56:_get_avg_voltage: an6 raw = 2.529032, factor = 1.011613
2020-05-19 16:57:01 power_api.c:60:_get_avg_voltage: chain 0, an0 = 17.352041, an2 17.230867, an6 2.500000.
2020-05-19 16:57:02 power_api.c:56:_get_avg_voltage: an6 raw = 2.522581, factor = 1.009032
2020-05-19 16:57:02 power_api.c:60:_get_avg_voltage: chain 1, an0 = 17.299233, an2 17.396420, an6 2.500000.
2020-05-19 16:57:03 power_api.c:56:_get_avg_voltage: an6 raw = 2.532258, factor = 1.012903
2020-05-19 16:57:03 power_api.c:60:_get_avg_voltage: chain 2, an0 = 17.233122, an2 17.233122, an6 2.500000.
2020-05-19 16:57:03 power_api.c:85:_get_avg_voltage: average_voltage = 17.286803
2020-05-19 16:57:03 power_api.c:106:check_voltage: target_vol = 17.30, actural_vol = 17.29, check voltage passed.
2020-05-19 16:57:05 power_api.c:56:_get_avg_voltage: an6 raw = 2.529032, factor = 1.011613
2020-05-19 16:57:05 power_api.c:60:_get_avg_voltage: chain 0, an0 = 17.327806, an2 17.206633, an6 2.500000.
2020-05-19 16:57:06 power_api.c:56:_get_avg_voltage: an6 raw = 2.522581, factor = 1.009032
2020-05-19 16:57:06 power_api.c:60:_get_avg_voltage: chain 1, an0 = 17.323530, an2 17.420716, an6 2.500000.
2020-05-19 16:57:08 power_api.c:56:_get_avg_voltage: an6 raw = 2.529032, factor = 1.011613
2020-05-19 16:57:08 power_api.c:60:_get_avg_voltage: chain 2, an0 = 17.230867, an2 17.230867, an6 2.500000.
2020-05-19 16:57:08 power_api.c:85:_get_avg_voltage: average_voltage = 17.286072
2020-05-19 16:57:08 power_api.c:106:check_voltage: target_vol = 17.30, actural_vol = 17.29, check voltage passed.
2020-05-19 16:57:08 thread.c:1176:create_check_system_status_thread: create thread
2020-05-19 16:57:08 driver-btm-api.c:2719:bitmain_soc_init: Init done!
2020-05-19 16:57:08 driver-btm-api.c:216:set_miner_status: STATUS_INIT
2020-05-19 16:57:12 driver-btm-api.c:216:set_miner_status: STATUS_OKAY
2020-05-19 16:57:13 frequency.c:306:get_sale_hash_rate_GH: g_sale_hash_rate = 64000
2020-05-19 16:57:17 driver-btm-api.c:1500:dhash_chip_send_job: Version num 4.
2020-05-19 16:57:17 driver-btm-api.c:1647:dhash_chip_send_job: stime.tv_sec 1589907437, block_ntime 1589907428


it just worked at 17.3 when I did a software reboot.

it will come back and test in 30 minutes over and over again.  It will fail eventually and they I have to do a soft ware reboot.

at this 17.3 setting it does under 48 watts a th.

if they had proper firmware and allowed voltage and freq setting this machine would work at 17.30 volts and freq 710 perfectly.

I wish I could sue them over the lack of proper firmware.  as they are robbing all of us miners big bucks $$

Once you see how  braiins + is your hatred of bitmain should raise a few levels.  This is an example of deliberate corporate theft on bitmans behalf.

And if they want to offer the better firmware and charge 1% fine but to not have it is fucked up.

Code:
2020-05-19 16:57:17 driver-btm-api.c:1500:dhash_chip_send_job: Version num 4.
2020-05-19 16:57:17 driver-btm-api.c:1647:dhash_chip_send_job: stime.tv_sec 1589907437, block_ntime 1589907428
2020-05-19 17:27:18 thread.c:252:calc_hashrate_avg: avg rate is 64744.74 in 30 mins
2020-05-19 17:27:18 temperature.c:529:temp_statistics_show:   pcb temp 37~54  chip temp 59~81
2020-05-19 17:57:19 thread.c:252:calc_hashrate_avg: avg rate is 64431.26 in 30 mins
2020-05-19 17:57:19 temperature.c:529:temp_statistics_show:   pcb temp 37~55  chip temp 59~82
2020-05-19 18:27:21 thread.c:252:calc_hashrate_avg: avg rate is 64427.96 in 30 mins
2020-05-19 18:27:21 temperature.c:529:temp_statistics_show:   pcb temp 36~55  chip temp 59~81

so it will check every 30 minutes and fail sooner or later.  it will re set the power at 18.3 then the middle board will get too warm and drop out.

I have to manually reboot via gui it will go to 17.3 volts work for 2 or 3 or 4 even 8 hours  checking every ½ hour till it fails setting volts at 18.3 overheating middle board and dropping to 2.

well better then 2 boards at 18.3 volts all the

3 boards at 17.3 volts some of the time
and 2 boards at 18.3 volts some of the time.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
mikeywith
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 3414


be constructive or S.T.F.U


View Profile
May 20, 2020, 01:14:49 AM
 #16


So this means the settings do get saved, but unfortunately for your particular case it doesn't stick for longer than 30 mins, did I get this right? you should consider vnish firmware (asic.to / awesome miner), those auto-tune every chip individually which is even better than tunning the whole chain, because in the end, the board that drops constantly could be doing so because of a single bad chip, what the firmware will do is tune that chip alone at a very low frequency and leave the rest of the chips at a higher frequency, that 2% fees might be justifiable in your situation.

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2912
Merit: 2980



View Profile
May 20, 2020, 01:17:46 AM
Last edit: May 20, 2020, 01:18:23 AM by frodocooper
 #17

no it can stick for 30 or 60 or 90 or 120 or 150 or 180 minutes or longer it does a check every 30 minutes and eventually drops out.  and sets power to 18.3 vs 17.3 volts which over heats the center board

2020-05-19 16:57:08.c:1176:create_check_system_status_thread: create thread

Code:


2020-05-19 16:57:08 driver-btm-api.c:2719:bitmain_soc_init: Init done!
2020-05-19 16:57:08 driver-btm-api.c:216:set_miner_status: STATUS_INIT
2020-05-19 16:57:12 driver-btm-api.c:216:set_miner_status: STATUS_OKAY
2020-05-19 16:57:13 frequency.c:306:get_sale_hash_rate_GH: g_sale_hash_rate = 64000
2020-05-19 16:57:17 driver-btm-api.c:1500:dhash_chip_send_job: Version num 4.
2020-05-19 16:57:17 driver-btm-api.c:1647:dhash_chip_send_job: stime.tv_sec 1589907437, block_ntime 1589907428
2020-05-19 17:27:18 thread.c:252:calc_hashrate_avg: avg rate is 64744.74 in 30 mins
2020-05-19 17:27:18 temperature.c:529:temp_statistics_show:   pcb temp 37~54  chip temp 59~81
2020-05-19 17:57:19 thread.c:252:calc_hashrate_avg: avg rate is 64431.26 in 30 mins
2020-05-19 17:57:19 temperature.c:529:temp_statistics_show:   pcb temp 37~55  chip temp 59~82
2020-05-19 18:27:21 thread.c:252:calc_hashrate_avg: avg rate is 64427.96 in 30 mins
2020-05-19 18:27:21 temperature.c:529:temp_statistics_show:   pcb temp 36~55  chip temp 59~81
2020-05-19 18:57:22 thread.c:252:calc_hashrate_avg: avg rate is 64295.80 in 30 mins
2020-05-19 18:57:22 temperature.c:529:temp_statistics_show:   pcb temp 37~55  chip temp 59~81
2020-05-19 19:27:24 thread.c:252:calc_hashrate_avg: avg rate is 64689.36 in 30 mins
2020-05-19 19:27:24 temperature.c:529:temp_statistics_show:   pcb temp 37~55  chip temp 59~82
2020-05-19 19:57:26 thread.c:252:calc_hashrate_avg: avg rate is 64597.07 in 30 mins
2020-05-19 19:57:26 temperature.c:529:temp_statistics_show:   pcb temp 38~56  chip temp 61~83
2020-05-19 20:27:27 thread.c:252:calc_hashrate_avg: avg rate is 64500.82 in 30 mins
2020-05-19 20:27:27 temperature.c:529:temp_statistics_show:   pcb temp 38~56  chip temp 61~83
2020-05-19 20:57:29 thread.c:252:calc_hashrate_avg: avg rate is 64454.21 in 30 mins
2020-05-19 20:57:29 temperature.c:529:temp_statistics_show:   pcb temp 36~54  chip temp 58~81
2020-05-19 21:27:30 thread.c:252:calc_hashrate_avg: avg rate is 64679.60 in 30 mins
2020-05-19 21:27:30 temperature.c:529:temp_statistics_show:   pcb temp 37~56  chip temp 60~83
2020-05-19 21:57:32 thread.c:252:calc_hashrate_avg: avg rate is 64279.61 in 30 mins
2020-05-19 21:57:32 temperature.c:529:temp_statistics_show:   pcb temp 36~55  chip temp 60~82
2020-05-19 22:27:33 thread.c:252:calc_hashrate_avg: avg rate is 64366.58 in 30 mins
2020-05-19 22:27:33 temperature.c:529:temp_statistics_show:   pcb temp 36~54  chip temp 58~81
2020-05-19 22:57:35 thread.c:252:calc_hashrate_avg: avg rate is 64725.97 in 30 mins
2020-05-19 22:57:35 temperature.c:529:temp_statistics_show:   pcb temp 35~54  chip temp 58~80
2020-05-19 23:27:36 thread.c:252:calc_hashrate_avg: avg rate is 64839.44 in 30 mins
2020-05-19 23:27:36 temperature.c:529:temp_statistics_show:   pcb temp 36~54  chip temp 58~80
2020-05-19 23:57:38 thread.c:252:calc_hashrate_avg: avg rate is 64704.00 in 30 mins
2020-05-19 23:57:38 temperature.c:529:temp_statistics_show:   pcb temp 35~53  chip temp 57~79
2020-05-20 00:27:40 thread.c:252:calc_hashrate_avg: avg rate is 64641.03 in 30 mins
2020-05-20 00:27:40 temperature.c:529:temp_statistics_show:   pcb temp 35~53  chip temp 57~80
2020-05-20 00:57:41 thread.c:252:calc_hashrate_avg: avg rate is 64725.36 in 30 mins
2020-05-20 00:57:41 temperature.c:529:temp_statistics_show:   pcb temp 33~52  chip temp 56~77


I passed 16  straight 30 minute checks and I am still at 17.3 volts and 64 th

If I do awesome miner I think I need to burn a sd card and be with the machine.  Next time I go to Clifton I will consider it.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
mikeywith
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 3414


be constructive or S.T.F.U


View Profile
May 20, 2020, 03:25:05 AM
Last edit: May 20, 2020, 11:57:10 PM by frodocooper
 #18

Ok, it's clear now, so it has a possibility of happening in a minimum of 30 mins and a maximum of infinity, perhaps you could set the fans at max or 90% to avoid overheating the middle chain at 18.3 volts?

Also if you are using awesomeminer monitoring software, you could use the functions of the "rules" to reboot the miner when the middle chain drops, something like this.


bobzombie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 7


View Profile
May 24, 2020, 11:22:01 AM
Last edit: May 24, 2020, 11:49:53 PM by frodocooper
Merited by frodocooper (3)
 #19

I am thinking either I am doing something wrong or that it does not work with the older firmware.

This trick is not working on normal firmwares of S17. you have to be on "Fixed-freq" firmware.

Code:
2020-05-23 16:15:52 driver-btm-soc.c:3368:init_freq_mode: This is fix-freq version
2020-05-23 16:15:52 driver-btm-soc.c:3967:bitmain_soc_init: S17
2020-05-23 16:15:52 driver-btm-soc.c:3968:bitmain_soc_init: opt_multi_version=1
2020-05-23 16:15:52 driver-btm-soc.c:3969:bitmain_soc_init: opt_bitmain_ab=1
2020-05-23 16:15:52 driver-btm-soc.c:3970:bitmain_soc_init: opt_bitmain_economic_mode=false
mikeywith
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 3414


be constructive or S.T.F.U


View Profile
May 24, 2020, 09:41:09 PM
Last edit: May 24, 2020, 11:50:50 PM by frodocooper
 #20

That is a good observation, do the frequency and voltage settings appear by default on the fixed-frequency firmware or you have to unlock them using the same method?

Would be nice to get a list of all 17 series mining gears that have a fixed-frequency firmware available by bitmain, also where to find them because they don't seem to be available on bitmain's website.

Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!