Bitcoin Forum
September 22, 2017, 04:39:52 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Is there a port to MPI or Xgrid ?  (Read 3487 times)
wb3
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


^Check Out^ Isle 3


View Profile
March 03, 2011, 04:05:52 PM
 #1

Just curious if there is a parallel processing port to a popular format. Xgrid would be awesome for me.

I would also be curious if anyone is running a decked out Mac Pro 12 core cpu and GPU's  Huh

Net Worth = 0.10    Hah, "Net" worth Smiley
1506055193
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506055193

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506055193
Reply with quote  #2

1506055193
Report to moderator
1506055193
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506055193

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506055193
Reply with quote  #2

1506055193
Report to moderator
1506055193
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506055193

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506055193
Reply with quote  #2

1506055193
Report to moderator
          ▄█████▄
        ▄█████████▄
      ▄████▀   ▀████▄
    ▄████▀   ▄ ▄█▀████▄
  ▄████▀   ▄███▀   ▀████▄
▄████▀   ▄███▀   ▄   ▀████▄
█████   ███▀   ▄███   █████
▀████▄   ▀██▄▄███▀   ▄████▀
  ▀████▄   ▀███▀   ▄████▀
    ▀████▄       ▄████▀
      ▀████▄   ▄████▀
        ▀███  ████▀
          ▀█▄███▀
.
|
.
|
          ▄█████▄
        ▄█████████▄
      ▄████▀   ▀████▄
    ▄████▀   ▄ ▄█▀████▄
  ▄████▀   ▄███▀   ▀████▄
▄████▀   ▄███▀   ▄   ▀████▄
█████   ███▀   ▄███   █████
▀████▄   ▀██▄▄███▀   ▄████▀
  ▀████▄   ▀███▀   ▄████▀
    ▀████▄       ▄████▀
      ▀████▄   ▄████▀
        ▀███  ████▀
          ▀█▄███▀
unthy
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1506055193
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506055193

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506055193
Reply with quote  #2

1506055193
Report to moderator
niooron
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 190


View Profile
March 03, 2011, 04:35:42 PM
 #2

Why use those libraries? If you have a miner doing 1000 khash/sec, its the same as 10 instances doing only 100 khash/sec. The threads don't share any data.

14dxwuQwkQiLbZjJFfciZ26xSGdRU5mKEp
wb3
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


^Check Out^ Isle 3


View Profile
March 04, 2011, 02:54:54 AM
 #3

This might sound weird, but being slower won't matter as much as me having control over cycles through the grid. That way I can bump up the bitcoin.app when I am not running other apps and slow them down or eliminate them all together through the Controller.  So when I use the Xgrid for transcoding, I can keep the app running but slow the heck out of it.

Net Worth = 0.10    Hah, "Net" worth Smiley
ZenKen
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


(Data) Mining Cluster


View Profile
April 01, 2011, 05:12:45 AM
 #4

wb3,

You can regulate the resources that Bitcoin uses by adjusting the priority of its threads with nice. Mac OS X, after all, is POSIX compliant, so why not use the features provided by the standard?

Here's a quick guide on using nice:
Using nice to control CPU usage and process priority


 - ZenKen
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!