Bitcoin Forum
May 06, 2024, 05:52:55 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Issue signing transactions with QR code  (Read 182 times)
leeroyspenken (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 02, 2018, 07:59:21 PM
 #1

Hi everyone, I am trying to use a webcam to sign a transaction using QR codes and I ran into an issue. After reading the first QR code with webcam and signing the transaction on my cold storage device (bootable usb with tails), I displayed the new QR code up so I could load it on to watch-only address and broadcast it.

My watch-only address is currently being ran on Electrum 3.0.6 with Windows 10 and it appears the zbar reader is not installed for me. When I go and try to load from QR code it says "Cannot start QR scanner; zbar not available".

Is there a way I can use zbar on windows 10 or do I need to get another bootable USB with an OS that supports it?

1714974775
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714974775

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714974775
Reply with quote  #2

1714974775
Report to moderator
1714974775
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714974775

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714974775
Reply with quote  #2

1714974775
Report to moderator
I HATE TABLES I HATE TABLES I HA(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻ TABLES I HATE TABLES I HATE TABLES
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1714974775
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714974775

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714974775
Reply with quote  #2

1714974775
Report to moderator
leeroyspenken (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 02, 2018, 08:22:23 PM
 #2

1 last thing i want to add, if I use a site like https://webqr.com/ is it safe for me to just get the text file from the signed QR code then load from text in my watch-only address on electrum and broadcast?
pooya87
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3444
Merit: 10549



View Profile
March 03, 2018, 04:03:09 AM
 #3

i have never used zbar so i am not sure but according to the readme on their repository https://github.com/ZBar/ZBar/blob/master/README.windows#L72-L76 it shouldn't be a problem to install it on any windows.

1 last thing i want to add, if I use a site like https://webqr.com/ is it safe for me to just get the text file from the signed QR code then load from text in my watch-only address on electrum and broadcast?

as long as the only thing you are giving that website is your transaction hex (signed or unsigned) you are fine because there are no sensitive information in it and you are broadcasting it anyways.
and that tool can not change it or give you a wrong result (for example in case of a bug read the QR wrong) and put you in any kind of trouble because if anything is wrong in a transaction it will become invalid since you have signed it.

.
.BLACKJACK ♠ FUN.
█████████
██████████████
████████████
█████████████████
████████████████▄▄
░█████████████▀░▀▀
██████████████████
░██████████████
████████████████
░██████████████
████████████
███████████████░██
██████████
CRYPTO CASINO &
SPORTS BETTING
▄▄███████▄▄
▄███████████████▄
███████████████████
█████████████████████
███████████████████████
█████████████████████████
█████████████████████████
█████████████████████████
███████████████████████
█████████████████████
███████████████████
▀███████████████▀
█████████
.
Ayanamirs
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 137
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 03, 2018, 11:33:28 AM
 #4

Try with Linux.
HCP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2086
Merit: 4316

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
March 04, 2018, 12:58:30 AM
Last edit: March 04, 2018, 01:41:05 AM by HCP
 #5

My watch-only address is currently being ran on Electrum 3.0.6 with Windows 10 and it appears the zbar reader is not installed for me. When I go and try to load from QR code it says "Cannot start QR scanner; zbar not available".
Did you not see the following note on the Electrum download page? Huh
Note: The QR code scanner is not supported in Windows binaries



Is there a way I can use zbar on windows 10 or do I need to get another bootable USB with an OS that supports it?
zbar is available for download and install, but it doesn't seem to be compatible with Python:
Quote
>>> libzbar = ctypes.cdll.LoadLibrary('libzbar-0.dll')
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "<stdin>", line 1, in <module>
  File "C:\Program Files\Python36\lib\ctypes\__init__.py", line 422, in LoadLibrary
    return self._dlltype(name)
  File "C:\Program Files\Python36\lib\ctypes\__init__.py", line 344, in __init__
    self._handle = _dlopen(self._name, mode)
OSError: [WinError 193] %1 is not a valid Win32 application
...even though you can run zbar just fine from the commandline?!?? Huh Apparently, this is usually indicative of the .dll being compiled for 32bit architecture... and Python being 64bit...  Undecided


As for your alternative idea... the QR code should load up fine using a QR Code scanner (like webqr.com)... However, the data in the QR Code is stored as a Base43 encoded string... that is to say, it looks something like:
Code:
E:W-P131.RRM+R91DWWMGE0EQRXD:+879DLKFM.S2C9T/XZP:ZV8RV-*/H*X93O44A+1HS-J1F6:D266RS.Z8O9AYSJ*278CCUQ2H4Z6YWM9CTH66YH6MXFSJ3H7-YBASEABDYWOYGW5K.X0CG4QP6BKDUTWE.1B9MBWT68*B4EGKSWPLPQ2N2/8FW1WCC4:J3/:O7$0+N20QGS*OBXE9:RIQ8U/.MYC.75G*S$6DHA*YEVM3/$VRMT3$/1TNN:.XTN1.Z7:1JZWWTQ7$PG7EOZ:T8O-*PMNUOKN0NBT/CT*.JRU69PYTUI3MQK3-VL.4LCUCM2++YS:

Decoding this to raw hex is not exactly a simple task... by stepping through the Electrum Python code (and a bit of trial and error)... It is possible to get this to convert to:
Code:
0100000001e90bbe1976e7056eca27ea7a280948c17be71cd6f9936c16d4a7afddcb1ac31f010000006b483045022100c4afaa26eecb143927815969f5b409647d7fcbc24f5456f69f80e0ca631a6fa802200f537578611a9d14fb13e37f962a161c6a24ec5a356d26a0db4659d0fc2b77480121028087725567ce3b2395d019b430d9948dd7a91508a32d69d649cc4c1f67cd50b3ffffffff0218b39d00000000001976a91400a99b3e32116afa227b180c26dd03a0fcd7dce588ac319e0a00000000001976a914bcb55f0e60f9859de8a6467f9fcab69745028bf688ac00000000


Honestly, if you're set on using QR codes, for now you'll most likely need to use another OS.

█████████████████████████
████▐██▄█████████████████
████▐██████▄▄▄███████████
████▐████▄█████▄▄████████
████▐█████▀▀▀▀▀███▄██████
████▐███▀████████████████
████▐█████████▄█████▌████
████▐██▌█████▀██████▌████
████▐██████████▀████▌████
█████▀███▄█████▄███▀█████
███████▀█████████▀███████
██████████▀███▀██████████
█████████████████████████
.
BC.GAME
▄▄░░░▄▀▀▄████████
▄▄▄
██████████████
█████░░▄▄▄▄████████
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██▄██████▄▄▄▄████
▄███▄█▄▄██████████▄████▄████
███████████████████████████▀███
▀████▄██▄██▄░░░░▄████████████
▀▀▀█████▄▄▄███████████▀██
███████████████████▀██
███████████████████▄██
▄███████████████████▄██
█████████████████████▀██
██████████████████████▄
.
..CASINO....SPORTS....RACING..
█░░░░░░█░░░░░░█
▀███▀░░▀███▀░░▀███▀
▀░▀░░░░▀░▀░░░░▀░▀
░░░░░░░░░░░░
▀██████████
░░░░░███░░░░
░░█░░░███▄█░░░
░░██▌░░███░▀░░██▌
░█░██░░███░░░█░██
░█▀▀▀█▌░███░░█▀▀▀█▌
▄█▄░░░██▄███▄█▄░░▄██▄
▄███▄
░░░░▀██▄▀


▄▄████▄▄
▄███▀▀███▄
██████████
▀███▄░▄██▀
▄▄████▄▄░▀█▀▄██▀▄▄████▄▄
▄███▀▀▀████▄▄██▀▄███▀▀███▄
███████▄▄▀▀████▄▄▀▀███████
▀███▄▄███▀░░░▀▀████▄▄▄███▀
▀▀████▀▀████████▀▀████▀▀
Saint-loup
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2604
Merit: 2353



View Profile
September 16, 2020, 06:32:15 AM
Last edit: September 16, 2020, 07:37:16 AM by Saint-loup
 #6

Hello it seems that a dev has just committed a solution yesterday.

But he's now looking for someone able to test the fix.

https://github.com/spesmilo/electrum/issues/6018

It would be good if someone who can reproduce this crash could test with master now.

██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
... LIVECASINO.io    Play Live Games with up to 20% cashback!...██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!