Bitcoin Forum
June 22, 2021, 03:21:04 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Unable to download full blockchain through bitcoin core  (Read 142 times)
kalostrian
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 10, 2021, 05:20:48 PM
 #1

Hello everybody . I need some help  Grin

I'm running bitcoin core 20.1. It says it runs qt 5.9.8

I'm trying to download blockchain as a full node in order to make transactions with my wallet.

I tried to do it in my 4TB HDD
I tried also in my 500GB SSD

Always get stucked at some point saying there are invalid blocks:

Code:
2021-01-10T16:53:16Z ERROR: AcceptBlockHeader: block 000000000000000004510cf2b6dba8d3aa80bd1601ee6d1cc7c7bff67c8c0c9d is marked invalid
2021-01-10T16:53:16Z Disconnecting and discouraging peer 34.93.222.205:8333!

Internet says is a hardware problem but i doubt. Many people has the some problem. I have also checked RAM memory and tried in both drives.

What options do I have to see my coins? I just have the wallet.

Also. If I download blockchain (til 2019)  from here: https://getbitcoinblockchain.com/
and run my client like this: "C:\Program Files\Bitcoin\bitcoin-qt.exe" -datadir=C:\Users\user\blockchain -dbcache=8000

Seems not to work. It downloads/check again everything

Thanks in advance.
1624375264
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1624375264

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1624375264
Reply with quote  #2

1624375264
Report to moderator
1624375264
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1624375264

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1624375264
Reply with quote  #2

1624375264
Report to moderator
1624375264
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1624375264

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1624375264
Reply with quote  #2

1624375264
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1624375264
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1624375264

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1624375264
Reply with quote  #2

1624375264
Report to moderator
1624375264
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1624375264

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1624375264
Reply with quote  #2

1624375264
Report to moderator
1624375264
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1624375264

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1624375264
Reply with quote  #2

1624375264
Report to moderator
ranochigo
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2380
Merit: 2231

@ me if you need my response


View Profile
January 10, 2021, 05:27:24 PM
 #2

Try going to Window>Console and type in this:

Code:
reconsiderblock 000000000000000004510cf2b6dba8d3aa80bd1601ee6d1cc7c7bff67c8c0c9d

The warning usually occurs when a block is marked invalid by user inputs. I could be wrong in this case but it would definitely be worth a try.

It worked for another user that I helped previously but I was unable to diagnose the problem. Regardless, could you go further into your debug.log and see if there's anything that states marking this specific block invalid?

kalostrian
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 10, 2021, 05:47:04 PM
 #3

Thanks for the answer. How I do that?
I go to bitcoin folder and run
Code:
bitcoin-qt.exe reconsiderblock 000000000000000004510cf2b6dba8d3aa80bd1601ee6d1cc7c7bff67c8c0c9d

Shows no message but runs client normally...
Also the same error in the same block appears in debug.log
ranochigo
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2380
Merit: 2231

@ me if you need my response


View Profile
January 10, 2021, 05:51:47 PM
 #4

Thanks for the answer. How I do that?
I go to bitcoin folder and run
Code:
bitcoin-qt.exe reconsiderblock 000000000000000004510cf2b6dba8d3aa80bd1601ee6d1cc7c7bff67c8c0c9d

Shows no message but runs client normally...
Also the same error in the same block appears in debug.log
You have to do it in the client. Click the Window Tab and you should see an option called Console.

kalostrian
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 10, 2021, 05:56:52 PM
 #5

Thanks for help. I did through client console:

Code:
17:53:58

Executing command using "" wallet

17:53:58

invalidateblock 000000000000000004510cf2b6dba8d3aa80bd1601ee6d1cc7c7bff67c8c0c9d

17:53:58

null

17:54:14

reconsiderblock 000000000000000004510cf2b6dba8d3aa80bd1601ee6d1cc7c7bff67c8c0c9d

17:54:14

null

Didn't seem to help. Error persist
Any idea?  Smiley
HCP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722
Merit: 3614

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
January 11, 2021, 06:16:29 AM
 #6

Have you tried shutting down and then restarting Bitcoin Core using the -reindex option since you used reconsiderblock? Huh

That should hopefully help Bitcoin Core find and remove any corrupted blocks stored on the disk...

kalostrian
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 13, 2021, 05:25:22 PM
 #7

Problem is that reindex takes as long as original downloading. It checks again all blocks with CPU
ETFbitcoin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1904
Merit: 2821


NotYourKeys.org - Not Your Keys, Not Your Bitcoin


View Profile
January 14, 2021, 11:11:43 AM
 #8

What options do I have to see my coins? I just have the wallet.

If you just want to see/access your coins and don't plan to run a full node, you can get private key of youru Bitcoin address and import/sweep it into lightweight wallet (such as Electrum).

1. Download Electrum at https://electrum.org
2. Verify downloaded Electrum (optional, but recommended. See https://bitcoinelectrum.com/how-to-verify-your-electrum-download/)
3. Install and Open Electrum
4. On Bitcoin Core, run this command (on Windows > Console)

Code:
dumpwallet "C:\path\to\dumped\key"

5. Open the dumped file with notepad
6. Import or sweep the private key. See https://bitcoinelectrum.com/sweeping-your-private-keys-into-electrum/ & https://bitcoinelectrum.com/importing-your-private-keys-into-electrum/

crippercrispy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 14, 2021, 01:49:43 PM
 #9

I'm having issues trying to download the blockchain. I have no idea what im looking at in the debug file. Should i sent a copy of it?
posi
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512
Merit: 553


Happy b'day son. Got you 🚲 as promised


View Profile
January 14, 2021, 04:33:54 PM
 #10

I'm trying to download blockchain as a full node in order to make transactions with my wallet.
According to the above statement you posted, you dont need to download the Bitcoin core full node since the purpose  of you using the wallet is to make transaction and I will advise you to follow the directions provided here to save your time, internet and stress.
HCP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722
Merit: 3614

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
January 14, 2021, 09:24:11 PM
 #11

I'm having issues trying to download the blockchain. I have no idea what im looking at in the debug file. Should i sent a copy of it?
Yes, post the contents of your debug.log file to pastebin.com, then click the "create new paste" button... it'll generate a unique URL for you which you can copy/paste here.

That way, you won't have issues with the max post length here Wink

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!