Bitcoin Forum
September 21, 2021, 09:35:16 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: can I flash S9 Hiveon to Braiinos?  (Read 232 times)
gadgetsrepair
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 23, 2021, 02:37:31 PM
Last edit: January 23, 2021, 10:06:43 PM by frodocooper
 #1

I bought S9 that has Hiveon software on it, since I mine on slushpool, i changed the jumpers, flashed a 16 GB SD card with the SD firmware, however the router doesnt pick up the S9.

tried resetting it, different cable, still not recognized.

thanks for help.
1632260116
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1632260116

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1632260116
Reply with quote  #2

1632260116
Report to moderator
1632260116
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1632260116

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1632260116
Reply with quote  #2

1632260116
Report to moderator
1632260116
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1632260116

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1632260116
Reply with quote  #2

1632260116
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1632260116
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1632260116

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1632260116
Reply with quote  #2

1632260116
Report to moderator
1632260116
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1632260116

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1632260116
Reply with quote  #2

1632260116
Report to moderator
1632260116
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1632260116

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1632260116
Reply with quote  #2

1632260116
Report to moderator
BitMaxz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282
Merit: 1777


Lock down again :(


View Profile
January 24, 2021, 11:20:57 AM
 #2

What exact SD card firmware did you flash?

Did you flash it directly with Braiins OS SD image?

Try other SD cards sometimes fake SD card can cause corrupted data so the image you flash on the SD card might be corrupted. Format the SD card first and flash it again and test if it will work if not replace the SD card.

mikeywith
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 3791


be constructive or S.T.F.U


View Profile
January 26, 2021, 02:19:41 AM
 #3

I bought S9 that has Hiveon software on it, since I mine on slushpool, i changed the jumpers, flashed a 16 GB SD card with the SD firmware, however the router doesnt pick up the S9.

Let's hope you did not brick the control board, where did you download files which you used on the SDcard to perform the flash? did the 2 LEDs flash a couple of times when you did the flash? also do remember to change the jumpers to their original location or else the miner won't work unless you have a Bootable firmware on the SDcard which I doubt.

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3150
Merit: 3632



View Profile
January 26, 2021, 03:14:47 AM
Last edit: January 27, 2021, 10:29:09 PM by frodocooper
Merited by mikeywith (1)
 #4

braiins boots

op have you ever made a braiins sd card?

you need to extract the image then flash to the card.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Artemis3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106
Merit: 1110


Improve EFFICIENCY


View Profile WWW
January 27, 2021, 03:22:12 PM
Last edit: January 27, 2021, 10:29:36 PM by frodocooper
Merited by BitMaxz (1)
 #5

If this is Braiins OS one very common mistake newbies make is assuming that booting the sd card "flashes" the firmware. No, it doesn't, if you remove the card without logging to the miner and using the flash to NAND option, its never flashes. The point is you can use it from sd without ever flashing it to the miner for testing purposes or if the NAND is damaged. Works the same except no self-updates.

The other common mistake is, believe it or not, not clearing the browser cache or trying a different browser. The likes of Chrome are annoyingly persistent with their now stale cache data from the earlier firmware.

Also, very often the ip address changes, and you have to find it again, either from your router or using a tool such as Angry IP or nmap. No, Bitmain scanning tool doesn't work.

Bitmain recommends using less than 16gb micro sd cards. This roughly tell us they are not using sdxc capable chips and can read sdhc at best. But in my experience, it is best to stick to plain old sd, which means under 2gb. Often 4gb, 8gb or such work, but its best to go as small as you can, and sometimes just changing the brand of sd makes the difference. You can thank Bitmain (or Xilinx?) for that, they don't use laptop quality microsd "tf" reading.

If it doesn't boot no big deal, flash another sd card and try again.

PS: You have to flash the .img file into the micro sd card using a tool like Balena Etcher, Rufus or dd.

██████
███████
███████
████████
BRAIINS OS+|AUTOTUNING
MINING FIRMWARE
|
Increase hashrate on your Bitcoin ASICs,
improve efficiency as much as 25%, and
get 0% pool fees on Slush Pool
taserz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 749
Merit: 288


Original AutoTune Firmware Developer!


View Profile
January 28, 2021, 09:49:17 PM
 #6

Just bewarned flashing to get off braiins requires like 2 hours to read all the support information to realize they disabled SD flashing off to other firmware.

Autotune Firmware for S17 and T17! Overclock, Underclock, AutoTuning. Asic.to The MOON Increased hashrate, improved power efficiency 30w/TH up to 85th/s!!
Mining bitcoin since 2011 • Best nerd decision of my life • 1E5bZiPAh7Yt1VqNUyk7y9r48zpbGNTEUA
Artemis3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106
Merit: 1110


Improve EFFICIENCY


View Profile WWW
February 02, 2021, 01:40:28 AM
 #7

Just bewarned flashing to get off braiins requires like 2 hours to read all the support information to realize they disabled SD flashing off to other firmware.

This is obviously false. Certain someone doesn't like people using proper firmware which doesn't infringe the gpl, or corrupt hashboard eeproms because they can't be bothered to write their own code.

If you can't read a couple of lines or ask a simple question in the group you spend all day lurking, go use the sd image from Bitmain. Too bad, you'll need to read there how to use it.

██████
███████
███████
████████
BRAIINS OS+|AUTOTUNING
MINING FIRMWARE
|
Increase hashrate on your Bitcoin ASICs,
improve efficiency as much as 25%, and
get 0% pool fees on Slush Pool
mikeywith
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 3791


be constructive or S.T.F.U


View Profile
February 02, 2021, 02:35:36 AM
Last edit: February 02, 2021, 10:26:38 PM by frodocooper
 #8

Two hours is indeed an extreme exaggeration on teaser's side, I'd say 3-5 mins if you are a bit tech-savvy, and maybe 10-20 mins if you are a complete noob, but given that you pay 0 fees to use the original version of BraiinOS, I don't think it's something to be complaining about, however, even if with the + version (which has fees) uninstalling braiins takes the same amount of steps, I know it's just a bunch of cmd lines and a few text replacements, but one would expect to be able to migrate using no tool but the web-broswer, drag and drop their desired firmware and off they go.

I wonder if they are planning on making the uninstallation of the firmware a lot simpler to the average Joe? don't get me wrong, I do think Braiins is a great firmware regardless of what the others might say, but not everyone is comfortable with downloading a tool and using CMD just to get rid of a fee-based firmware, so maybe a bit of work should be done on the + version, the free version, however, is good enough the way it is. Just my two chips.

Artemis3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106
Merit: 1110


Improve EFFICIENCY


View Profile WWW
February 02, 2021, 03:41:36 PM
Last edit: February 02, 2021, 04:08:56 PM by Artemis3
 #9

To clarify, you do not need to use the bos-toolbox to uninstall it. There is no locking whatsoever (or signature checks to lock you in). Obviously, Braiins OS is not modded firmware so you just can't directly use the file to flash from the miner's web ui like you would to upgrade factory firmware because its incompatible. You CAN use the sd card recovery method from Bitmain OR the bos-toolbox to go back to factory firmware just fine, then flash/upgrade that from the miner ui to whatever using Bitmain's upgrade files from their support section.



Also mikeywith messing with the firmware of your miner is not something "the average joe" should be doing in the first place. Its not difficult but not something a computer illiterate should be messing with, kinda like rooting your phone, you could just brick it. Consider that to install it you would have also used the same command line tool or sd card in the first place, so at this point you are already beyond this.

Only few S9s with firmware from 2018 or earlier (unlocked ssh) can be directly upgraded "easily" from the miner web ui, and those are becoming rare. Just don't expect that exact same path to go back. The dev fee is clearly shown in the Braiins web site so you are already agreeing before download (its 2% for S9s, 2.5% the others). The efficiency increase greatly offsets this small fee, but the choice is yours, Also subtract slushpool's 2% fee when you use Braiins OS+ with it.

If you use the sd card you can test it without installing it. Don't like it? take out the sd card, done. There is no need to ever install it the nand can keep the factory firmware untouched. Which other firmware lets you test it this way? All of them write to the nand, but with Braiins OS this is completely optional. Also when other firmware messes your nand (or eeprom data), guess which one can work right away? You guess it, the only one that is not a mod of someone else's work.

This gratuitous bashing of Braiins OS from a competitor clearly shows something is being done right.

██████
███████
███████
████████
BRAIINS OS+|AUTOTUNING
MINING FIRMWARE
|
Increase hashrate on your Bitcoin ASICs,
improve efficiency as much as 25%, and
get 0% pool fees on Slush Pool
mikeywith
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 3791


be constructive or S.T.F.U


View Profile
February 02, 2021, 09:00:18 PM
Last edit: February 02, 2021, 10:27:43 PM by frodocooper
 #10

... messing with the firmware of your miner is not something "the average joe" should be doing in the first place. Its not difficult but not something a computer illiterate should be messing with, kinda like rooting your phone, you could just brick it. Consider that to install it you would have also used the same command line tool or sd card in the first place, so at this point you are already beyond this.

I have to disagree, I can trust my guy who takes care of the farm to be able to copy-paste a few files and paste it into an SDcard, but I would certainly not trust him with playing with command line, he sure as hell would say he can't do it, maybe because you have been doing this long enough and that is your comfort zone, it's hard for you to distinguish the difference between a simple Sdcard flash vs downloading a special tool, replacing some texts and then opening a scary black window, but if you ask average joe they will tell you it's indeed a whole different level.

That brings me to your second point which I can't tell if I agree or disagree with,  the average joe should be able to do whatever they want with their mining gear, I highly doubt the process of dealing with BraiinOS was made "hard" to protect newbies from themselves, so I can't comfortably take this excuse as a "feature", installing and uninstalling BraiinOS is not simple enough, that is a fact, a simple google search will show you that people do have troubles when dealing with it, and it's frustrating that the devs went to extreme levels of writing their own code from scratch (they probably are the only once who did so) and failed to make a user-friendly firmware, which shouldn't take a fraction of the efforts invested in the making of the firmware itself.

This gratuitous bashing of Braiins OS from a competitor clearly shows something is being done right.

Ya I wouldn't expect competitors to praise Braiins OS, but BraiinOS should improve and eliminate the cons their firmware has when that is done, it will be a lot harder for anyone to bash it.

A few minutes back, I was replying to this post:

It is a Dragonmint T1
I have tried the reset button but same thing happens when trying the pool update.
Unfortunately I am a windows/gui guy and the BrainsOS flashing thing is going to be agonizing for me.
It's the 21st century.  Why are we still doing this command line crap?

See this an example of someone who does want to use BraiinOS but he doesn't seem like he can, he will probably find his way because he has no other options, but if someone else made a more user-friendly firmware for T1, I am willing to bet that guy would never be looking at BraiinOS in the first place, so maybe by making things a bit easier for everyone - BraiinOS will have a bigger share in the custom firmware market.

Please don't take my words as bashing the firmware, I do think BraiinOS is one of the best firmware out there, I love the open-source concept of the original firmware, the reviews I have seen so far about the + version are all good, and un/installation of it is kind of poor and needs improvements.

Since we are slightly going off-topic here, this will be my last piece. Good luck everyone.

taserz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 749
Merit: 288


Original AutoTune Firmware Developer!


View Profile
February 08, 2021, 08:02:16 PM
Last edit: February 09, 2021, 10:51:04 PM by frodocooper
 #11

This is obviously false. Certain someone doesn't like people using proper firmware which doesn't infringe the gpl, or corrupt hashboard eeproms because they can't be bothered to write their own code.

If you can't read a couple of lines or ask a simple question in the group you spend all day lurking, go use the sd image from Bitmain. Too bad, you'll need to read there how to use it.

We don't write to eeproms so good try on that. We wrote the first autotuning firmware you guys then decided to copy us and copy each of our features.. So let's not start a pissing match you will surely lose.

Also, it is not false I had a client that struggled to get off of brains and ended up frying some T17's in the process. You don't see me airing this or other things out now do you. Also, it's not reading two lines you need to download some massive toolbox and then can flash. Why make it difficult to flashback to factory or another firmware why force users to use your tools in by doing so make it difficult to remove. I get at least 2 questions a day how to uninstall brains that I now have a canned response I copy paste.

Slander is not a cool way to represent your company. You should try to make your company not look bad and makeup lies and insults. I am offended and my feelings are hurt and you are misleading many of your and soon to be our customers if you keep this up.

Two hours is indeed an extreme exaggeration on teaser's side, I'd say 3-5 mins if you are a bit tech-savvy, and maybe 10-20 mins if you are a complete noob, but given that you pay 0 fees to use the original version of BraiinOS, I don't think it's something to be complaining about, however, even if with the + version (which has fees) uninstalling braiins takes the same amount of steps, I know it's just a bunch of cmd lines and a few text replacements, but one would expect to be able to migrate using no tool but the web-broswer, drag and drop their desired firmware and off they go.

I wonder if they are planning on making the uninstallation of the firmware a lot simpler to the average Joe? don't get me wrong, I do think Braiins is a great firmware regardless of what the others might say, but not everyone is comfortable with downloading a tool and using CMD just to get rid of a fee-based firmware, so maybe a bit of work should be done on the + version, the free version, however, is good enough the way it is. Just my two chips.

If they cry it's for security it's not difficult to check for bitmain's signature and our signature for flashing off.

If you use the sd card you can test it without installing it. Don't like it? take out the sd card, done. There is no need to ever install it the nand can keep the factory firmware untouched. Which other firmware lets you test it this way? All of them write to the nand, but with Braiins OS this is completely optional. Also when other firmware messes your nand (or eeprom data), guess which one can work right away? You guess it, the only one that is not a mod of someone else's work.

This gratuitous bashing of Braiins OS from a competitor clearly shows something is being done right.

That is how our firmware was loaded via SD prior to version 2. We made it flash to and because everyone ended up keeping it. Also we don't write to the eeprom that's hive/msk. Talk to Edward about this if your confused I even clarified this to him. Hence corrupt eeprom they flashed some shit firmware when the PIC can do it all. Also a mod would use the eprom. A full driver rewrite what we do and what you guys copied to get our features doesn't utilize the eeprom. The thing about bashing us is your in the wrong for stealing someone else's work and rewriting it to be your own. Think about that.

I have to disagree, I can trust my guy who takes care of the farm to be able to copy-paste a few files and paste it into an SDcard, but I would certainly not trust him with playing with command line, he sure as hell would say he can't do it, maybe because you have been doing this long enough and that is your comfort zone, it's hard for you to distinguish the difference between a simple Sdcard flash vs downloading a special tool, replacing some texts and then opening a scary black window, but if you ask average joe they will tell you it's indeed a whole different level.

That brings me to your second point which I can't tell if I agree or disagree with,  the average joe should be able to do whatever they want with their mining gear, I highly doubt the process of dealing with BraiinOS was made "hard" to protect newbies from themselves, so I can't comfortably take this excuse as a "feature", installing and uninstalling BraiinOS is not simple enough, that is a fact, a simple google search will show you that people do have troubles when dealing with it, and it's frustrating that the devs went to extreme levels of writing their own code from scratch (they probably are the only once who did so) and failed to make a user-friendly firmware, which shouldn't take a fraction of the efforts invested in the making of the firmware itself.

People just assume everyone here is a fat neckbeard with cheeto crusted fingers that sits on Linux all day. Like no crypto is accepting of all people not just die hard nerds. Also people are dumb and cmd prompt is scary!!!!

Autotune Firmware for S17 and T17! Overclock, Underclock, AutoTuning. Asic.to The MOON Increased hashrate, improved power efficiency 30w/TH up to 85th/s!!
Mining bitcoin since 2011 • Best nerd decision of my life • 1E5bZiPAh7Yt1VqNUyk7y9r48zpbGNTEUA
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!