Bitcoin Forum
May 08, 2024, 02:49:50 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Installation of Electrum Failed on Ubuntu 20.04 LTS  (Read 91 times)
Generation (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 21, 2021, 06:20:36 PM
 #1

I just went through the steps of installing Electrum from electrum.org (see "Installation from Python sources" at https://electrum.org/#download). Everything seemed to go smoothly until I got to the last line:

Code:
python3 -m pip install --user Electrum-4.1.5.tar.gz

After I entered this command I got the following messages as part of the response in Terminal:

Code:
WARNING: The script helpdev is installed in '/home/USERNAME/.local/bin' which is not on PATH.
Consider adding this directory to PATH or, if you prefer to suppress this warning, use --no-warn-script-location.
WARNING: The script qdarkstyle is installed in '/home/USERNAME/.local/bin' which is not on PATH.
Consider adding this directory to PATH or, if you prefer to suppress this warning, use --no-warn-script-location.
WARNING: The script qr is installed in '/home/USERNAME/.local/bin' which is not on PATH.
Consider adding this directory to PATH or, if you prefer to suppress this warning, use --now-warn-script-location.

(Note: I changed my username to "USERNAME" for the purposes of this forum.) The text for these messages was orange, rather than white, so I take it that means these messages were important (I'm a noob). There was more text, but that's everything that was orange. I did not notice any other orange text when I scrolled through all the text in Terminal. After these warning messages, it returned, "Successfully installed Electrum-4.1.5," etc.

I did enter every line -- sequentially -- listed under "Installation from Python sources," so I'm not sure why this installation failed. Electrum even seemed to load and work when I entered the two lines for "Run without installing."

Note that when I say the installation failed, I mean the application doesn't seem to exist in my computer's list of applications.

Help is much appreciated.
1715136590
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715136590

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715136590
Reply with quote  #2

1715136590
Report to moderator
1715136590
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715136590

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715136590
Reply with quote  #2

1715136590
Report to moderator
1715136590
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715136590

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715136590
Reply with quote  #2

1715136590
Report to moderator
Be very wary of relying on JavaScript for security on crypto sites. The site can change the JavaScript at any time unless you take unusual precautions, and browsers are not generally known for their airtight security.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1715136590
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715136590

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715136590
Reply with quote  #2

1715136590
Report to moderator
1715136590
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715136590

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715136590
Reply with quote  #2

1715136590
Report to moderator
NotATether
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596
Merit: 6730


bitcoincleanup.com / bitmixlist.org


View Profile WWW
July 21, 2021, 06:55:41 PM
Merited by ABCbits (1)
 #2

All the files have actually been installed, but the Electrum program and its supporting binaries aren't on your path.

I advise you *not* to add ~/.local/bin to your path for security reasons (allows any program to make a malicious shell script impersonating a real, not-installed, program).

User installation won't display Electrum in the launcher menu unless you make a .desktop file of it like this in ~/.local/share/applications or install Electrum system-wide, or just use the AppImage.

.
.BLACKJACK ♠ FUN.
█████████
██████████████
████████████
█████████████████
████████████████▄▄
░█████████████▀░▀▀
██████████████████
░██████████████
████████████████
░██████████████
████████████
███████████████░██
██████████
CRYPTO CASINO &
SPORTS BETTING
▄▄███████▄▄
▄███████████████▄
███████████████████
█████████████████████
███████████████████████
█████████████████████████
█████████████████████████
█████████████████████████
███████████████████████
█████████████████████
███████████████████
▀███████████████▀
█████████
.
Generation (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 21, 2021, 10:08:13 PM
 #3

All the files have actually been installed, but the Electrum program and its supporting binaries aren't on your path.

I advise you *not* to add ~/.local/bin to your path for security reasons (allows any program to make a malicious shell script impersonating a real, not-installed, program).

User installation won't display Electrum in the launcher menu unless you make a .desktop file of it like this in ~/.local/share/applications or install Electrum system-wide, or just use the AppImage.

Hi, sorry for taking so long to respond, but I got your message right away and went to work.

So, to start Electrum, it's probably easiest to just run the following command in Terminal, correct?

Code:
electrum

After I got your message, I remembered seeing that one could do that at a site called LinuxBabe, but I thought it also said Electrum should load from the app launcher, which is why I thought it didn't install properly.

It also sounds like you are advising me not to do anything with regard to the error messages, correct?

Anyway, I am now the proud owner of my first bitcoin. Thanks for helping me get there!
Abdussamad
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3612
Merit: 1564



View Profile
July 22, 2021, 01:08:10 AM
Merited by NeuroticFish (3), ABCbits (1)
 #4

you should do a system wide installation if you want fancy things like shortcuts:

Code:
sudo pip3 install /path/to/tarball.tar.gz

alternatively just manually create a shortcut to ~/.local/bin/electrum in your launcher menus/desktop.

ranochigo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2968
Merit: 4168



View Profile
July 22, 2021, 03:32:00 AM
 #5

So, to start Electrum, it's probably easiest to just run the following command in Terminal, correct?

Code:
electrum
Correct. It won't be installed in the app launcher unless you create a shortcut yourself.

If for some reason the command doesn't work, restarting your computer will have the PATHs take effect.

.
.HUGE.
▄██████████▄▄
▄█████████████████▄
▄█████████████████████▄
▄███████████████████████▄
▄█████████████████████████▄
███████▌██▌▐██▐██▐████▄███
████▐██▐████▌██▌██▌██▌██
█████▀███▀███▀▐██▐██▐█████

▀█████████████████████████▀

▀███████████████████████▀

▀█████████████████████▀

▀█████████████████▀

▀██████████▀▀
█▀▀▀▀











█▄▄▄▄
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
.
CASINSPORTSBOOK
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
▀▀▀▀█











▄▄▄▄█
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!