Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 12:12:57 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: 5970 on the way, would like recommendations (first timer)  (Read 2273 times)
btc_artist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


Bitcoin!


View Profile WWW
December 06, 2011, 07:51:02 PM
 #1

I've got a 5970 on the way.  I'm planning to put it in a computer I already have running Ubuntu 11.10.  What are your recommendations for:

- Overclocking
- What miner to use
- What pool to use
- Any other tweaks to the miner software to get more MH/s

This will be my first attempt at GPU mining. I'm approaching it as a hobby, and just want to see how many bitcoins I can get out of it.

Thanks.

BTC: 1CDCLDBHbAzHyYUkk1wYHPYmrtDZNhk8zf
LTC: LMS7SqZJnqzxo76iDSEua33WCyYZdjaQoE
1481026377
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481026377

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481026377
Reply with quote  #2

1481026377
Report to moderator
1481026377
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481026377

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481026377
Reply with quote  #2

1481026377
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481026377
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481026377

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481026377
Reply with quote  #2

1481026377
Report to moderator
1481026377
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481026377

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481026377
Reply with quote  #2

1481026377
Report to moderator
1481026377
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481026377

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481026377
Reply with quote  #2

1481026377
Report to moderator
CleverMiner
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 66



View Profile
December 07, 2011, 12:36:15 AM
 #2

What you brought is basically a GPU.

Is it your first card or do you think 5970 are different to the point on requiring a special pool ?

Edit : Sorry missed "first timer"  (you have 650 post, about time)

This card is very noisy when overcloked, if you are not to have it around I suggest you to use BAMT on a USB as a the minner.

For a pool I suggest  ars technica pool, nmcbit, abcpool (haven't used)
btc_artist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


Bitcoin!


View Profile WWW
December 07, 2011, 04:51:26 AM
 #3

Thanks for the response CleverMiner.  It's only been a month or two since I found out about Bitcoin, and I'm finally jumping into mining to give it a shot.

This card is very noisy when overcloked, if you are not to have it around I suggest you to use BAMT on a USB as a the minner.
Noise (and heat) are not a problem, as this will be in my basement shop.  I'm not sure what BAMT is?  I am considering either cgminer or phoenix, as these are the two miners  I have heard the most about.

For a pool I suggest  ars technica pool, nmcbit, abcpool (haven't used)
I'm not sure Ars Technica is a good choice. In the thread on that pool, it seems to be on its last leg.   For a pool, I think I want merged mining with NMC and a pool that pays well.  I don't understand the different payout schemes the different pools use; I have not spent any effort looking into that.  What recommendation might you have on that point?

Is it also true that running linux from a live CD (or a live CD on a USB stick) end up being faster?  Please explain.

BTC: 1CDCLDBHbAzHyYUkk1wYHPYmrtDZNhk8zf
LTC: LMS7SqZJnqzxo76iDSEua33WCyYZdjaQoE
CleverMiner
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 66



View Profile
December 07, 2011, 05:43:50 AM
 #4

For a pool, I think I want merged mining with NMC and a pool that pays well.  I don't understand the different payout schemes the different pools use; I have not spent any effort looking into that.  What recommendation might you have on that point?

Is it also true that running linux from a live CD (or a live CD on a USB stick) end up being faster?  Please explain.

I'm a hopper so can't answer the pool question very well,  It is very easy to change pool, so pick one and research later.

BAMT is a debian on USB with everything ready for mining.   simply edit a txt file at boot or SSH using root:changeme
btc_artist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


Bitcoin!


View Profile WWW
December 07, 2011, 02:53:44 PM
 #5

BAMT is a debian on USB with everything ready for mining.   simply edit a txt file at boot or SSH using root:changeme
Do you have a link handy?

BTC: 1CDCLDBHbAzHyYUkk1wYHPYmrtDZNhk8zf
LTC: LMS7SqZJnqzxo76iDSEua33WCyYZdjaQoE
grubles
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 181


mistaken for gribble since 2011


View Profile
December 07, 2011, 03:01:12 PM
 #6

I recommend buying 5 more 5970s from me  Grin

BM-NBi5PcH8BBqDVp7WSJe2pNgqEVvTjd6T
btc_artist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


Bitcoin!


View Profile WWW
December 07, 2011, 03:07:47 PM
 #7

I recommend buying 5 more 5970s from me  Grin
My first order of business is getting this one set up and mining. Once I have more knowledge on this subject, I might be interested. Smiley

BTC: 1CDCLDBHbAzHyYUkk1wYHPYmrtDZNhk8zf
LTC: LMS7SqZJnqzxo76iDSEua33WCyYZdjaQoE
Transisto
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile WWW
December 09, 2011, 05:30:38 PM
 #8

BAMT is a debian on USB with everything ready for mining.   simply edit a txt file at boot or SSH using root:changeme
Do you have a link handy?
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28967.0
btc_artist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


Bitcoin!


View Profile WWW
December 09, 2011, 05:43:06 PM
 #9

Thanks Transisto.  That looks very useful.

I have another question.  Are there any special requirements in terms of a power supply for running the 5970?

BTC: 1CDCLDBHbAzHyYUkk1wYHPYmrtDZNhk8zf
LTC: LMS7SqZJnqzxo76iDSEua33WCyYZdjaQoE
Transisto
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile WWW
December 13, 2011, 07:10:08 AM
 #10

Thanks Transisto.  That looks very useful.

I have another question.  Are there any special requirements in terms of a power supply for running the 5970?
2.8 amp AC for a system with a single card.

So a good 300w could do. (highly suggest 400w)
btc_artist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


Bitcoin!


View Profile WWW
December 13, 2011, 11:53:46 AM
 #11

Thanks Transisto.  That looks very useful.

I have another question.  Are there any special requirements in terms of a power supply for running the 5970?
2.8 amp AC for a system with a single card.

So a good 300w could do. (highly suggest 400w)
The system I'm putting this in has a 300w power supply. I have no idea if it's "good" or not, the brand on it is "Microstar".  As for amps, it has different ratings depending on the voltage. Here's the table on the side of it, which doesn't make a lot of sense to me:

Volts+3.3v+5v+12v12v
Amps
Peak Amps
16A
18A
25A
27A
14A
16A
0.5A
0.5A

If I decide to test the 5970 using this power supply, how can I tell if it's not supplying enough power? Will the PS and/or GPU get hotter than normal?  Can I risk damaging the GPU by using this power supply?

BTC: 1CDCLDBHbAzHyYUkk1wYHPYmrtDZNhk8zf
LTC: LMS7SqZJnqzxo76iDSEua33WCyYZdjaQoE
Transisto
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile WWW
December 13, 2011, 06:02:42 PM
 #12

The system I'm putting this in has a 300w power supply. I have no idea if it's "good" or not, the brand on it is "Microstar".  As for amps, it has different ratings depending on the voltage. Here's the table on the side of it, which doesn't make a lot of sense to me:
Volts+3.3v+5v+12v12v
Amps
Peak Amps
16A
18A
25A
27A
14A
16A
0.5A
0.5A
If I decide to test the 5970 using this power supply, how can I tell if it's not supplying enough power? Will the PS and/or GPU get hotter than normal?  Can I risk damaging the GPU by using this power supply?

WHAT ?
Your OLD 300w PSU can merely provide 160w of 12v (if lucky).

Very few 300W PSU are good, in the sense that they allow 300w on the 12v.  Go for 400w and 500w if you want effciency.
btc_artist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


Bitcoin!


View Profile WWW
December 13, 2011, 06:09:21 PM
 #13

The system I'm putting this in has a 300w power supply. I have no idea if it's "good" or not, the brand on it is "Microstar".  As for amps, it has different ratings depending on the voltage. Here's the table on the side of it, which doesn't make a lot of sense to me:
Volts+3.3v+5v+12v12v
Amps
Peak Amps
16A
18A
25A
27A
14A
16A
0.5A
0.5A
If I decide to test the 5970 using this power supply, how can I tell if it's not supplying enough power? Will the PS and/or GPU get hotter than normal?  Can I risk damaging the GPU by using this power supply?

WHAT ?
Your OLD 300w PSU can merely provide 160w of 12v (if lucky).

Very few 300W PSU are good, in the sense that they allow 300w on the 12v.  Go for 400w and 500w if you want effciency.
Thanks for the reply.  I will buy a good 500+w PSU to run the card.

Is it problematic to plug it in with this power supply just to give it a test run?  I'm anxious to give it a try, even if I have to clock it down or throttle it due to the poor PSU (until I can get a better one).

BTC: 1CDCLDBHbAzHyYUkk1wYHPYmrtDZNhk8zf
LTC: LMS7SqZJnqzxo76iDSEua33WCyYZdjaQoE
cicada
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
December 13, 2011, 06:36:45 PM
 #14

Is it problematic to plug it in with this power supply just to give it a test run?  I'm anxious to give it a try, even if I have to clock it down or throttle it due to the poor PSU (until I can get a better one).

I would highly recommend against it.  That PSU can't provide half the power a 5970 wants, and that's not mentioning the other cmponents that want 12V power, namely your CPU.

Symptoms would range from mild to catastrophic..  mild would be it doesn't turn on, or does but is very unstable.  Catastrophic would be the PSU failing and taking out your PC and your new 5970 with it.

I would recommend going with something like this PSU at least:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139028

Team Epic!

All your bitcoin are belong to 19mScWkZxACv215AN1wosNNQ54pCQi3iB7
btc_artist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


Bitcoin!


View Profile WWW
December 13, 2011, 07:25:15 PM
 #15

Thanks for the input and the link.  I'll wait until I can get a power supply.  I just looked up the 5970 on AMD's site and it says it wants at least a 650w power supply: http://www.amd.com/us/products/desktop/graphics/ati-radeon-hd-5000/hd-5970/Pages/ati-radeon-hd-5970-overview.aspx#3
Quote
650 Watt or greater power supply one 75W 6-pin and one 150W 8-pin PCI Express® power connectors recommended (850 Watt with two 75W 6-pin and two 150W 8-pin connectors for ATI CrossFireX™ technology in dual mode)
Are the "75W 6-pin" and "150W 8-pin PCI Express" power connectors are fairly standard on PSUs, or do I have to specifically look for those?

BTC: 1CDCLDBHbAzHyYUkk1wYHPYmrtDZNhk8zf
LTC: LMS7SqZJnqzxo76iDSEua33WCyYZdjaQoE
Transisto
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile WWW
December 13, 2011, 07:32:09 PM
 #16

Thanks for the input and the link.  I'll wait until I can get a power supply.  I just looked up the 5970 on AMD's site and it says it wants at least a 650w power supply: http://www.amd.com/us/products/desktop/graphics/ati-radeon-hd-5000/hd-5970/Pages/ati-radeon-hd-5970-overview.aspx#3
Quote
650 Watt or greater power supply one 75W 6-pin and one 150W 8-pin PCI Express® power connectors recommended (850 Watt with two 75W 6-pin and two 150W 8-pin connectors for ATI CrossFireX™ technology in dual mode)
Are the "75W 6-pin" and "150W 8-pin PCI Express" power connectors are fairly standard on PSUs, or do I have to specifically look for those?
They give one or two with every card, except the 5970.

You would be very unlucky if your PSU didn't have enough , It's always written in the PSU's details,
Mousepotato
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


Seal Cub Clubbing Club


View Profile
December 13, 2011, 07:37:23 PM
 #17

Thanks Transisto.  That looks very useful.

I have another question.  Are there any special requirements in terms of a power supply for running the 5970?
FWIW I'm running a single 5970 @ 905/200/1.149v and getting about 824-828 MH/s out of it.  This is with an AMD Athlon II 255 @ 3.5GHz (overclocked for gaming).  According to my Kill-O-Watt meter, I'm drawing about 460-480W at the wall with this setup, so gauge your PSU needs accordingly.  I have a Corsair AX1200 so no worries here, and I'd highly recommend this unit to accommodate for future growth.  If not, then maybe an AX850.

Mousepotato
btc_artist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


Bitcoin!


View Profile WWW
December 13, 2011, 08:01:22 PM
 #18

Sorry for the noob questions, but the 5970 has to connectors on it, a 6-pin and an 8-pin.  I have to connect both of these, correct?


BTC: 1CDCLDBHbAzHyYUkk1wYHPYmrtDZNhk8zf
LTC: LMS7SqZJnqzxo76iDSEua33WCyYZdjaQoE
Eveofwar
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
December 13, 2011, 08:07:16 PM
 #19

Sorry for the noob questions, but the 5970 has to connectors on it, a 6-pin and an 8-pin.  I have to connect both of these, correct?

[image]

Yup, your PSU should have PCI-e cables with 6 pins naturally, but maybe an adapter to attach 2 more pins with one plug.  Need to have the 8pin in there.
cicada
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
December 13, 2011, 08:10:27 PM
 #20

The PSU specs (esp on newegg) will show you 'pci-e connector:  6+2pin ' - that's usable in either a 6pin or 8pin socket (the +2)

If this PC of yours only has one PCI-e slot, or you're absolutely certain you won't be adding any more cards to it, that 600W I linked will work solidly for you.

That is assuming you don't also have 20+ hard-drives, 10 fans and a bunch of flashy lights Wink

[edit] Also, avoid using adapters if at all possible.  My general rule of thumb these days is if your PSU doesn't have enough native PCI-e connectors to support all your cards, you should look at a bigger PSU.

That's not exactly a cost-effective suggestion, but you'll quickly learn what you can and can't connect if you start to expand.

Team Epic!

All your bitcoin are belong to 19mScWkZxACv215AN1wosNNQ54pCQi3iB7
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!