Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 02:31:52 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Is there something wrong with Tradehill?  (Read 3883 times)
incraft3817
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 81


View Profile
December 12, 2011, 08:01:41 PM
 #1

I deposited btc into my account with over 9 confirmation and it's not showing up, usually it shows up after 6 confirmation. I made another account and there is no deposit btc address? uhhh wtf? So we can't deposit and withdraw btc into tradehill now?
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481164312
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481164312

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481164312
Reply with quote  #2

1481164312
Report to moderator
1481164312
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481164312

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481164312
Reply with quote  #2

1481164312
Report to moderator
1481164312
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481164312

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481164312
Reply with quote  #2

1481164312
Report to moderator
Yankee (BitInstant)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


Charlie 'Van Bitcoin' Shrem


View Profile WWW
December 12, 2011, 09:39:29 PM
 #2

I deposited btc into my account with over 9 confirmation and it's not showing up, usually it shows up after 6 confirmation. I made another account and there is no deposit btc address? uhhh wtf? So we can't deposit and withdraw btc into tradehill now?

Give it an hour or two. Ill find out more now and update

Bitcoin pioneer. An apostle of Satoshi Nakamoto. A crusader for a new, better, tech-driven society. A dreamer.

More about me: http://CharlieShrem.com
RaggedMonk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308



View Profile
December 12, 2011, 10:05:48 PM
 #3

Is BitInstant down?  http://www.downforeveryoneorjustme.com/http://www.bitinstant.com/

If your service has an outage, does that prevent BTC deposits to tradehill? What about withdrawals?
Yankee (BitInstant)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


Charlie 'Van Bitcoin' Shrem


View Profile WWW
December 12, 2011, 10:14:59 PM
 #4

Is BitInstant down?  http://www.downforeveryoneorjustme.com/http://www.bitinstant.com/

If your service has an outage, does that prevent BTC deposits to tradehill? What about withdrawals?

Hey, no our site is working fine.

We have nothing to do with TradeHill's outages, the way it effects us currently is if someone tries to make a deposit into TradeHill at the moment it will be delayed by a few minutes as TradeHill's automated transfer system seems to be down.

Im speaking with Jered and Adam now, and they are all working to get this sorted ASAP. They will make a forum post soon!



Bitcoin pioneer. An apostle of Satoshi Nakamoto. A crusader for a new, better, tech-driven society. A dreamer.

More about me: http://CharlieShrem.com
incraft3817
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 81


View Profile
December 12, 2011, 10:37:37 PM
 #5

Sounds good. I hope you guys get this fixed and keep up the good work.
RaggedMonk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308



View Profile
December 12, 2011, 10:53:42 PM
 #6

Similar thread here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=54380.0

bitinstant.com is still down for me and http://www.downforeveryoneorjustme.com/http://www.bitinstant.com/ .  I don't have any firewall or content blocking. 
Adam S (TradeHill)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20



View Profile
December 12, 2011, 11:01:36 PM
 #7

Hi All,

We're experiencing an issue with BTC deposits and the API.

We're looking into it now and hope to an answer plus a fix to the problem ASAP.

Thanks again,

Adam

TradeHill - One of the largest Bitcoin exchanges.

tradehill.com
tradehillblog.com
bitcoin.com
facebook.com/tradehill
twitter.com/tradehill
Yankee (BitInstant)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


Charlie 'Van Bitcoin' Shrem


View Profile WWW
December 12, 2011, 11:05:37 PM
 #8

Similar thread here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=54380.0

bitinstant.com is still down for me and http://www.downforeveryoneorjustme.com/http://www.bitinstant.com/ .  I don't have any firewall or content blocking.  

I just tried it on different IP's.

Anyone else having this problem ?

EDIT: Looks like Port 80 was closed for a few hours after we applied some patches. The API an SSL ports were still up. Its all fixed now. Thanks for pointing it out!

Bitcoin pioneer. An apostle of Satoshi Nakamoto. A crusader for a new, better, tech-driven society. A dreamer.

More about me: http://CharlieShrem.com
EuSouBitcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 463


View Profile
December 12, 2011, 11:16:11 PM
 #9

I sent BTC to my TradeHill acount about 23 hours ago. The BTC have not yet been credited to my account.
RaggedMonk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308



View Profile
December 13, 2011, 12:09:22 AM
 #10

EDIT: Looks like Port 80 was closed for a few hours after we applied some patches. The API an SSL ports were still up. Its all fixed now. Thanks for pointing it out!
It's working for me now, as well as through DFEOJM.  Glad to help  Cheesy
zooko
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
December 13, 2011, 12:43:12 PM
 #11

Could you please tell me what happened? A post to your blog about what went wrong would go a long way to reassuring me that you're still engaged in maintaining the service.

Regards,

Zooko
unsquidly
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50


View Profile
December 13, 2011, 02:16:12 PM
 #12

I am not seeing any problems at all with my TradeHill account
c0ffer
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602


Gems:Crypto


View Profile WWW
December 13, 2011, 03:01:51 PM
 #13

Everything has not been fixed, I deposited yesterday and still no coins in my account, not even pending.

According to blockexplorer they were received without a problem, but there is no sign of them in my account.


CryptoCurrency for Gemstones ... Website | Main Thread  -  c0c0 Trading on YoBit
Littleshop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316



View Profile WWW
December 13, 2011, 09:55:26 PM
 #14

Everything has not been fixed, I deposited yesterday and still no coins in my account, not even pending.

According to blockexplorer they were received without a problem, but there is no sign of them in my account.



Same problem here.  Deposit made and not in my account.  No response to multiple emails to Tradehill over the past two business days. 

portron
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106


View Profile
December 13, 2011, 10:42:55 PM
 #15

Here too...

I sent two emails to the email support... including the blockexplorer showing a successful deposit... i really hope this gets resolved soon; so far no response from tradehill.
c0ffer
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602


Gems:Crypto


View Profile WWW
December 14, 2011, 12:12:50 AM
 #16

Hi All,

It's working now and everything has been fixed.

If you still have any issues, please send an email to info@tradehill.com and we'll sort it out for you.

Regards,
Adam


This does not appear to be the case at all.

I have also received no response to my email inquiry and my coins are still not in my account.



CryptoCurrency for Gemstones ... Website | Main Thread  -  c0c0 Trading on YoBit
Adam S (TradeHill)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20



View Profile
December 14, 2011, 01:28:17 AM
 #17

Hi All,

Excuse me! When I said fixed, I meant the root cause of the issue has been fixed; mainly, an issue in the BTC deposit crediting function. All new BTC deposits are processing fine since this morning. However, we’ll need to review the depository status of some accounts that made deposits before this morning going back about 24-36 hours.

Of course, this caused a rush of emails. We’re working through the backlog tonight. As you can see, your bitcoins are at the addresses in BE so it’ll only be an issue of us reviewing and crediting accounts that sent coins during the malfunction.

We kindly ask for you to lend us patience as we are working through this diligently tonight.

Regards,
Adam

TradeHill - One of the largest Bitcoin exchanges.

tradehill.com
tradehillblog.com
bitcoin.com
facebook.com/tradehill
twitter.com/tradehill
zooko
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
December 14, 2011, 04:47:14 AM
 #18

There appears to still be a technical issue. When I click on Instant Buy, enter an amount, and click "Get Quote", it pops up an alert (with a delightfully scary red pattern) that says "Socket not connected

Sorry, our notification socket isn't connected yet. Try again in a few seconds!".

I've tried half-a-dozen times over the course of ten or so minutes -- always the same result.

Regards,

Zooko
c0ffer
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602


Gems:Crypto


View Profile WWW
December 14, 2011, 05:27:03 PM
 #19

Still nothing in my account and no response to my email.

 Huh


CryptoCurrency for Gemstones ... Website | Main Thread  -  c0c0 Trading on YoBit
EuSouBitcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 463


View Profile
December 14, 2011, 05:57:24 PM
 #20

I look in BlockExplorer and I see where my deposit was RECEIVED by my TradeHill bitcoin address. TradeHill then says new deposits are being processed properly now and they are working to fix the errant deposits. OK. I wait awhile. And I look in BlockExplorer again and I see something that concerns me. The total BTC that I deposited to my TradeHill bitcoin address has now been split into 2 amounts and SENT to 2 other addresses. I did not authorized these transfers. Can anybody think of a legitimate reason for me to see this in blockexplorer? I'm a bit worried.

65 Hours after I sent my BTC to be deposited into my TradeHill account, still nothing there. An update from TradeHill would be nice. Worried and waiting.
Pages: [1] 2 3 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!