Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 12:39:39 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: 100% CPU bug Windows finally solved (Multi GPU) with catalyst 11.12  (Read 9290 times)
disclaimer201
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316


View Profile
December 16, 2011, 07:49:22 PM
 #21

Didn't notice any performance loss while the cpu bug went away completely. All lower end cards though.

1480725579
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480725579

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480725579
Reply with quote  #2

1480725579
Report to moderator
1480725579
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480725579

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480725579
Reply with quote  #2

1480725579
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
jwzguy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868



View Profile
December 16, 2011, 08:00:55 PM
 #22

I can answer my own question now. The video card driver gives a minimal improvement over 11.6: at lower aggression settings, phoenix gets about 1 mhash more, but about the same at max settings.

The OpenCL version 2.6 included in the 11.12 package will completely hose your system for a 10%+ loss, you'll then need to uninstall the OpenCL installation or use the "uninstall all ATI software" option, and also find and delete C:\Windows\System32\amdocl64.dll, C:\Windows\System32\amdoclcl64.dll, C:\Windows\System32\OpenCL.dll, and reinstall the old OpenCL to get your performance back.

I can't test multi-GPU CPU usage though, so try to install the new driver only (through device manager, for each video card, after extracting the driver components, on Windows) and rebooting.

All I had to do was copy the 6 dlls mentioned in the other thread from 2.5 on top of the 2.6 ones. That fixed the performance drop and CPU usage went back to 100%. A lot less hassle.

19wXnWTeGuraN9g5UsMAi119sWzDCQcr7S
Bitcoin Logo shirts!
pooler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
December 17, 2011, 01:02:06 AM
 #23

What about Linux ?

I can confirm ATI drivers version 11.12 solve the problem under Linux, too. The CPU usage of phoenix went down to 1%.
Now I can mine both Bitcoin and Litecoin in the same rig... Yippee!

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
Mousepotato
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


Seal Cub Clubbing Club


View Profile
December 17, 2011, 05:21:43 AM
 #24

All I had to do was copy the 6 dlls mentioned in the other thread from 2.5 on top of the 2.6 ones. That fixed the performance drop and CPU usage went back to 100%. A lot less hassle.

Link to other thread plz?

Mousepotato
tiberiandusk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 580


The North Remembers


View Profile WWW
December 17, 2011, 05:46:04 AM
 #25

CPU usage for me went from 100% to around 60% or 70%. It bounces around. On my single card machine my reported hashrate went down 20mhs but my pool is saying it is the same as before based on submitted shares.

Bitcoin Auction House http://www.BitBid.net BTC - 1EwfBVC6BwA6YeqcYZmm3htwykK3MStW6N | LTC - LdBpJJHj4WSAsUqaTbwyJQFiG1tVjo4Uys Don't get Goxed.
Sannyasi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 455



View Profile WWW
December 17, 2011, 06:18:43 AM
 #26

i've posted this in a couple other threads- i run a 5870 and 5770 with a slight loss in hashing power usin GUIminer but the CPU bug is gone for me

1DxP5iL6hN5Gd3cwmDz9uFSntW8ALBQaGK

http://gamerkeys.net/common/home.htm <- the best place to get games!

my portfoio: http://windowsofamind.com
Tullphan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
December 17, 2011, 07:01:37 AM
 #27

Another satisfied customer. Bug is gone with marginal performance loss.
jwzguy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868



View Profile
December 17, 2011, 03:04:06 PM
 #28

All I had to do was copy the 6 dlls mentioned in the other thread from 2.5 on top of the 2.6 ones. That fixed the performance drop and CPU usage went back to 100%. A lot less hassle.

Link to other thread plz?

Scroll to post 11.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=54693.0

19wXnWTeGuraN9g5UsMAi119sWzDCQcr7S
Bitcoin Logo shirts!
rotrott
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47



View Profile
December 22, 2011, 12:30:42 AM
 #29

CPU problem solved for me.  I'm running debian.
Grinder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1269


View Profile
December 28, 2011, 12:27:30 AM
 #30

I can hardly believe it, it actually works! 2x 6950, GUIMiner, W7 64bit. 1-2% CPU usage, no noticable loss in performance.
disclaimer201
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316


View Profile
December 30, 2011, 01:53:20 AM
 #31

I can hardly believe it, it actually works! 2x 6950, GUIMiner, W7 64bit. 1-2% CPU usage, no noticable loss in performance.

Could any of you please tell me if you got it to work on a mainboard with an integrated gpu? I got rid of the cpu bug only on my non-onboard gpu rigs. I do use the internal graphics to run windows, in order to not lower the hash rate while working. Cheers!

Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
December 30, 2011, 02:06:35 AM
 #32

Still seem to have the problem on one Win7x64 machine, but not on another.  WTH

If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
December 30, 2011, 02:34:40 AM
 #33

Still seem to have the problem on one Win7x64 machine, but not on another.  WTH

downgrade to 2.1. no cpu bug, no performance loss either Cheesy

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
disclaimer201
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316


View Profile
December 30, 2011, 04:21:31 AM
 #34

Still seem to have the problem on one Win7x64 machine, but not on another.  WTH

downgrade to 2.1. no cpu bug, no performance loss either Cheesy

I believe there were performance improvements with the newer sdks, so downgrading to 2.1 would mean quite a loss in performance, or wouldn't it?

Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
December 30, 2011, 04:25:55 AM
 #35

No, I've not heard of any performance improvements. 

But downgrading isn't a option, as the one having the problem is is my primary gaming rig.

If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
portron
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106


View Profile
January 03, 2012, 05:47:49 PM
 #36

Upgraded to 11.12 on one of my rigs... 2x6950 went from 740mhash to 680mhash...  but the CPU bug is gone.  Not sure if the tradeoff is worth it on this box.
Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
January 03, 2012, 06:05:26 PM
 #37

Well, even though I upgraded my gaming rig, it seems the driver update didn't take.  I re-did it and the CPU bug does indeed seem to be gone on 11.12.  Hoo-ray!

If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!