Bitcoin Forum
December 18, 2017, 10:41:39 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: p2pool on free AWS tier?  (Read 1127 times)
AmDD
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1002



View Profile
June 13, 2014, 01:17:52 AM
 #1

Has anyone tried setting up p2pool on Amazons AWS free tier? I have been trying but cant get it to work right. I think the problem is that it doesnt have enough RAM but I cant find any specifics as to how much is required. Any thoughts?

BTC tip jar: 18EKpbrcXxbpzAZv3T58ccGcVis7W7JR9w
LTC tip jar: Lgp8ERykAgx6Q8NdMqpi5vnVoUMD2hYn2a
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513636899
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513636899

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513636899
Reply with quote  #2

1513636899
Report to moderator
1513636899
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513636899

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513636899
Reply with quote  #2

1513636899
Report to moderator
norgan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308

Decentralize your hashing - p2pool - Norgz Pool


View Profile WWW
June 13, 2014, 04:55:03 AM
 #2

Has anyone tried setting up p2pool on Amazons AWS free tier? I have been trying but cant get it to work right. I think the problem is that it doesnt have enough RAM but I cant find any specifics as to how much is required. Any thoughts?

yeah I have this also but not even going to try with such a small machine. Remember those machines are shared and have limits on files and memory outside of the raw mb limit.

Miner, tech geek, operator of NorgzPool - Sydney Australia P2Pool Node creator of p2pool fancy front end

Tips: 1NorganBbymShTN2MMpfGzRYJF8mcPeXjv Exchange BTC locally in Australia or Donate to p2pool miners
Majixagi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
June 13, 2014, 05:29:23 AM
 #3

bitcoind will crash constantly even if it is the only thing running on it. It just doesn't fit on the t1.micro instance.

has not sold out
AmDD
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1002



View Profile
June 13, 2014, 11:18:52 AM
 #4

I figured so. Any idea what the lowest tier it will run on is?

BTC tip jar: 18EKpbrcXxbpzAZv3T58ccGcVis7W7JR9w
LTC tip jar: Lgp8ERykAgx6Q8NdMqpi5vnVoUMD2hYn2a
Majixagi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
June 13, 2014, 02:32:33 PM
 #5

I would check out digitalocean.com or linode.com at their $20/month tier. They will run bitcoind just fine and the bandwidth usage costs are lower than aws for a full node.

has not sold out
Harley997
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266


View Profile
June 15, 2014, 09:52:05 PM
 #6

Has anyone tried setting up p2pool on Amazons AWS free tier? I have been trying but cant get it to work right. I think the problem is that it doesnt have enough RAM but I cant find any specifics as to how much is required. Any thoughts?

yeah I have this also but not even going to try with such a small machine. Remember those machines are shared and have limits on files and memory outside of the raw mb limit.

Your other problem is that it will generate next to nothing. You will likely never even make .00001 ($0.006) BTC off of the free tier of AWS

▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
PRIMEDICE
The Premier Bitcoin Gambling Experience @PrimeDice
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
DeeBo
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52


View Profile
June 16, 2014, 12:35:01 AM
 #7

Has anyone tried setting up p2pool on Amazons AWS free tier? I have been trying but cant get it to work right. I think the problem is that it doesnt have enough RAM but I cant find any specifics as to how much is required. Any thoughts?

yeah I have this also but not even going to try with such a small machine. Remember those machines are shared and have limits on files and memory outside of the raw mb limit.

Your other problem is that it will generate next to nothing. You will likely never even make .00001 ($0.006) BTC off of the free tier of AWS

He's just talking about setting up the node on AWS, not actually mining with it.  On topic, I would try just adding a swap partition (AWS doesn't give you one by default.)  It'll run slower but it may be good enough.  I'm showing 660MB RAM usage on my Linux box with bitcoin-qt.  I imagine bitcoind would use less.  The micro instance only comes with 616MB RAM so you will see some swapping but I'd say give yourself 1 - 2 GB of swap and see how it runs.  If it performs poorly you can always upgrade.  The m1.small instance comes with 1.7GB RAM which should be enough depending on how lightweight your OS is.
GaryL
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
June 16, 2014, 02:04:55 AM
 #8

No sense re-use p2pool because too bleak earnings
norgan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308

Decentralize your hashing - p2pool - Norgz Pool


View Profile WWW
June 16, 2014, 03:47:17 AM
 #9

No sense re-use p2pool because too bleak earnings

not really on topic and not really a accurate nor qualified statement.

Miner, tech geek, operator of NorgzPool - Sydney Australia P2Pool Node creator of p2pool fancy front end

Tips: 1NorganBbymShTN2MMpfGzRYJF8mcPeXjv Exchange BTC locally in Australia or Donate to p2pool miners
AmDD
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1002



View Profile
June 16, 2014, 04:40:37 PM
 #10

Im not planning on mining with it, just running the pool there.

Thanks for the suggestions, I ended up going with digitalocean and it seems to be running alright there.

BTC tip jar: 18EKpbrcXxbpzAZv3T58ccGcVis7W7JR9w
LTC tip jar: Lgp8ERykAgx6Q8NdMqpi5vnVoUMD2hYn2a
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!