Bitcoin Forum
June 19, 2018, 10:22:15 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Raspberry Pi $25 PC - Could we run GPUs/FPGAs on this?  (Read 14699 times)
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1004


Gerald Davis


View Profile
February 29, 2012, 04:33:39 PM
 #61

Where do you guys get 6970 gets 683 GFLOPS. 

6970 has 2.7 TFLOPS of floating point computational power and a 7970 is ~3.8 TFLOPS.
There are several different types of Bitcoin clients. Header-only clients like MultiBit trust that the majority of mining power is honest for the purposes of enforcing network rules such as the 21 million BTC limit. Full clients do not trust miners in this way.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile
March 01, 2012, 12:20:39 AM
 #62

Where do you guys get 6970 gets 683 GFLOPS. 

6970 has 2.7 TFLOPS of floating point computational power and a 7970 is ~3.8 TFLOPS.

WOW. Did not realize the difference between a 5870 and 7970 was that big.

Now that you look at the TFLOPS and MHash/s it really does look like the 7970 is almost 1.7 times faster than a 5870 due to the much better overclocking ability of 28nm GPUs.
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1004


Gerald Davis


View Profile
March 01, 2012, 03:50:47 AM
 #63

Where do you guys get 6970 gets 683 GFLOPS. 

6970 has 2.7 TFLOPS of floating point computational power and a 7970 is ~3.8 TFLOPS.


WOW. Did not realize the difference between a 5870 and 7970 was that big.

Now that you look at the TFLOPS and MHash/s it really does look like the 7970 is almost 1.7 times faster than a 5870 due to the much better overclocking ability of 28nm GPUs.

Yeah AMD integer performance took a nose dive with the new architecture.  The 7970 simply puts up respectable numbers by brute force.
Global BTC
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 519
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
March 02, 2012, 07:18:33 PM
 #64

I see you need the model B, $35 to get ethernet.

Not really. You can get a USB ethernet adapter for less than $4, or a USB wifi adapter for $8.
USB Ethernet $3.57
Wireless-N USB $7.96

Dropping the extra $10 to get it built in might give you higher quality components though.

DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1004


Gerald Davis


View Profile
March 02, 2012, 07:24:06 PM
 #65

I see you need the model B, $35 to get ethernet.

Not really. You can get a USB ethernet adapter for less than $4, or a USB wifi adapter for $8.

You got drivers to support that on the ARM platform?
Global BTC
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 519
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
March 02, 2012, 07:34:15 PM
 #66

Good point. I'm not saying it's impossible, but it's probably not worth the hassle to save $6.

pieppiep
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 697
Merit: 500


View Profile
March 02, 2012, 07:42:15 PM
 #67

Type B has 2 usb ports, type A only one.
The dubble usb port count is also worth something Smiley

.BitDice.               ▄▄███▄▄
           ▄▄██▀▀ ▄ ▀▀██▄▄
      ▄▄█ ▀▀  ▄▄█████▄▄  ▀▀ █▄▄
  ▄▄██▀▀     ▀▀ █████ ▀▀     ▀▀██▄▄
██▀▀ ▄▄██▀      ▀███▀      ▀██▄▄ ▀▀██
██  ████▄▄       ███       ▄▄████  ██
██  █▀▀████▄▄  ▄█████▄  ▄▄████▀▀█  ██
██  ▀     ▀▀▀███████████▀▀▀     ▀  ██
             ███████████
██  ▄     ▄▄▄███████████▄▄▄     ▄  ██
██  █▄▄████▀▀  ▀█████▀  ▀▀████▄▄█  ██
██  ████▀▀       ███       ▀▀████  ██
██▄▄ ▀▀██▄      ▄███▄      ▄██▀▀ ▄▄██
  ▀▀██▄▄     ▄▄ █████ ▄▄     ▄▄██▀▀
      ▀▀█ ▄▄  ▀▀█████▀▀  ▄▄ █▀▀
           ▀▀██▄▄ ▀ ▄▄██▀▀
               ▀▀███▀▀
        ▄▄███████▄▄
     ▄███████████████▄
    ████▀▀       ▀▀████
   ████▀           ▀████
   ████             ████
   ████ ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄ ████
▄█████████████████████████▄
██████████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██████████
████                   ████
████                   ████
████                   ████
████                   ████
████                   ████
████▄                 ▄████
████████▄▄▄     ▄▄▄████████
  ▀▀▀█████████████████▀▀▀
        ▀▀▀█████▀▀▀
▄▄████████████████████████████████▄▄
██████████████████████████████████████
█████                            █████
█████                            █████
█████                            █████
█████                            █████
█████                     ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
█████                   ▄█▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀█▄
█████                   ██          ██
█████                   ██          ██
█████                   ██          ██
██████████████████▀▀███ ██          ██
 ████████████████▄  ▄██ ██          ██
   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀ ██          ██
             ██████████ ██          ██
           ▄███████████ ██████▀▀██████
          █████████████  ▀████▄▄████▀
[/]
Gabi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1008


If you want to walk on water, get out of the boat


View Profile
March 03, 2012, 08:47:54 PM
 #68

Where do you guys get 6970 gets 683 GFLOPS. 

6970 has 2.7 TFLOPS of floating point computational power and a 7970 is ~3.8 TFLOPS.
It's the double precision compute power

6970
2.7 TFLOPs Single Precision compute power
683 GFLOPs Double Precision compute power

BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 1000


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
March 04, 2012, 02:04:56 AM
 #69

Where do you guys get 6970 gets 683 GFLOPS. 

6970 has 2.7 TFLOPS of floating point computational power and a 7970 is ~3.8 TFLOPS.
It's the double precision compute power

6970
2.7 TFLOPs Single Precision compute power
683 GFLOPs Double Precision compute power
It's my understanding that Bitcoin doesn't use floating point anyway - only integer. So unless the gpu architecture is the same any comparison is likely apples to oranges.

aaa801
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 95
Merit: 10



View Profile
March 04, 2012, 09:11:06 AM
 #70

Ok, ima get one of these, but i dont have a fgpa to hook it upto for testing,  :/

LTC: LUUikznZrvDb65ZCNQUNCiTaCB4CWGYRSZ
BTC: 1325TrScK8jkiPuMEMxNf1VXHHfnR1QtgN
RoloTonyBrownTown
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 250



View Profile
March 04, 2012, 09:34:11 AM
 #71

Ok, ima get one of these, but i dont have a fgpa to hook it upto for testing,  :/

That's OK, I do Smiley   By the time you get your Pi delivered you may as well (it'll be a little while yet).

shivansps
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 501


Crypto into the masses


View Profile
May 05, 2012, 06:13:27 AM
 #72

So if we are looking for trouble why not use a OpenWRT supporting router with USB port to run the FPGAs? haha...

P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1176
Merit: 1000


View Profile
May 05, 2012, 10:20:42 AM
 #73

So if we are looking for trouble why not use a OpenWRT supporting router with USB port to run the FPGAs? haha...


Done Smiley
Timbo925
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 352
Merit: 250



View Profile
May 05, 2012, 11:33:52 AM
 #74

If you don't want to wait to try it. I'm selling my freshly arrived pi here: https://bitmit.net/en/trade/i/2481-raspberry-pi-model-b/description

Graphic Designer for hire (Ads/Logos/Banners...)   0.25 BTC  --> https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=78924.msg878727#msg878727
BTC address: 1TimbojaydbZs1x5ptPVovsb9rATH3JSU
Garr255
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938
Merit: 1000


What's a GPU?


View Profile
May 05, 2012, 05:50:06 PM
 #75

I have experience running large amounts of FPGAs on what might be called an underpowered machine. I wouldn't plan on hosting more than five boards with this, but that is a very rough estimate.

“First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they fight you, then you win.”  -- Mahatma Gandhi

Average time between signing on to bitcointalk: Two weeks. Please don't expect responses any faster than that!
film2240
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1000


Freelance videographer


View Profile WWW
May 05, 2012, 06:00:21 PM
 #76

I'd love to know how to setup an FPGA with the raspberry pi so I can finally get a really cheap and low energy PC for getwork tasks while delegating the actual mining to the FPGA.I'd like a clear walkthrough with pics if someone has managed as well as which OS they used on the Raspberry Pi.


[This signature is available for rent.BTC/ETH/LTC or £50 equivalent a month]
[This signature is available for rent.BTC/ETH/LTC or £50 equivalent a month]
[This signature is available for rent.BTC/ETH/LTC or £50 equivalent a month]
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!