Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 06:06:11 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Raspberry Pi $25 PC - Could we run GPUs/FPGAs on this?  (Read 13875 times)
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
February 29, 2012, 04:33:39 PM
 #61

Where do you guys get 6970 gets 683 GFLOPS. 

6970 has 2.7 TFLOPS of floating point computational power and a 7970 is ~3.8 TFLOPS.
1481047571
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481047571

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481047571
Reply with quote  #2

1481047571
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481047571
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481047571

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481047571
Reply with quote  #2

1481047571
Report to moderator
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
March 01, 2012, 12:20:39 AM
 #62

Where do you guys get 6970 gets 683 GFLOPS. 

6970 has 2.7 TFLOPS of floating point computational power and a 7970 is ~3.8 TFLOPS.

WOW. Did not realize the difference between a 5870 and 7970 was that big.

Now that you look at the TFLOPS and MHash/s it really does look like the 7970 is almost 1.7 times faster than a 5870 due to the much better overclocking ability of 28nm GPUs.
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
March 01, 2012, 03:50:47 AM
 #63

Where do you guys get 6970 gets 683 GFLOPS. 

6970 has 2.7 TFLOPS of floating point computational power and a 7970 is ~3.8 TFLOPS.


WOW. Did not realize the difference between a 5870 and 7970 was that big.

Now that you look at the TFLOPS and MHash/s it really does look like the 7970 is almost 1.7 times faster than a 5870 due to the much better overclocking ability of 28nm GPUs.

Yeah AMD integer performance took a nose dive with the new architecture.  The 7970 simply puts up respectable numbers by brute force.
Global BTC
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 529



View Profile WWW
March 02, 2012, 07:18:33 PM
 #64

I see you need the model B, $35 to get ethernet.

Not really. You can get a USB ethernet adapter for less than $4, or a USB wifi adapter for $8.
USB Ethernet $3.57
Wireless-N USB $7.96

Dropping the extra $10 to get it built in might give you higher quality components though.

DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
March 02, 2012, 07:24:06 PM
 #65

I see you need the model B, $35 to get ethernet.

Not really. You can get a USB ethernet adapter for less than $4, or a USB wifi adapter for $8.

You got drivers to support that on the ARM platform?
Global BTC
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 529



View Profile WWW
March 02, 2012, 07:34:15 PM
 #66

Good point. I'm not saying it's impossible, but it's probably not worth the hassle to save $6.

pieppiep
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 402



View Profile
March 02, 2012, 07:42:15 PM
 #67

Type B has 2 usb ports, type A only one.
The dubble usb port count is also worth something Smiley
Gabi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


View Profile
March 03, 2012, 08:47:54 PM
 #68

Where do you guys get 6970 gets 683 GFLOPS. 

6970 has 2.7 TFLOPS of floating point computational power and a 7970 is ~3.8 TFLOPS.
It's the double precision compute power

6970
2.7 TFLOPs Single Precision compute power
683 GFLOPs Double Precision compute power
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
March 04, 2012, 02:04:56 AM
 #69

Where do you guys get 6970 gets 683 GFLOPS. 

6970 has 2.7 TFLOPS of floating point computational power and a 7970 is ~3.8 TFLOPS.
It's the double precision compute power

6970
2.7 TFLOPs Single Precision compute power
683 GFLOPs Double Precision compute power
It's my understanding that Bitcoin doesn't use floating point anyway - only integer. So unless the gpu architecture is the same any comparison is likely apples to oranges.

aaa801
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 95



View Profile
March 04, 2012, 09:11:06 AM
 #70

Ok, ima get one of these, but i dont have a fgpa to hook it upto for testing,  :/

LTC: LUUikznZrvDb65ZCNQUNCiTaCB4CWGYRSZ
BTC: 1325TrScK8jkiPuMEMxNf1VXHHfnR1QtgN
RoloTonyBrownTown
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350



View Profile
March 04, 2012, 09:34:11 AM
 #71

Ok, ima get one of these, but i dont have a fgpa to hook it upto for testing,  :/

That's OK, I do Smiley   By the time you get your Pi delivered you may as well (it'll be a little while yet).

shivansps
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 346


View Profile
May 05, 2012, 06:13:27 AM
 #72

So if we are looking for trouble why not use a OpenWRT supporting router with USB port to run the FPGAs? haha...

1NEvmZTwLhqBgr3h7LwZap1sEHsyf3QFuv
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
May 05, 2012, 10:20:42 AM
 #73

So if we are looking for trouble why not use a OpenWRT supporting router with USB port to run the FPGAs? haha...


Done Smiley
Timbo925
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 352



View Profile
May 05, 2012, 11:33:52 AM
 #74

If you don't want to wait to try it. I'm selling my freshly arrived pi here: https://bitmit.net/en/trade/i/2481-raspberry-pi-model-b/description

Graphic Designer for hire (Ads/Logos/Banners...)   0.25 BTC  --> https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=78924.msg878727#msg878727
BTC address: 1TimbojaydbZs1x5ptPVovsb9rATH3JSU
Garr255
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952


What's a GPU?


View Profile
May 05, 2012, 05:50:06 PM
 #75

I have experience running large amounts of FPGAs on what might be called an underpowered machine. I wouldn't plan on hosting more than five boards with this, but that is a very rough estimate.

“First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they fight you, then you win.”  -- Mahatma Gandhi

Average time between signing on to bitcointalk: Two weeks. Please don't expect responses any faster than that!
film2240
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 994


Professional filmmaker/Freelance videographer


View Profile WWW
May 05, 2012, 06:00:21 PM
 #76

I'd love to know how to setup an FPGA with the raspberry pi so I can finally get a really cheap and low energy PC for getwork tasks while delegating the actual mining to the FPGA.I'd like a clear walkthrough with pics if someone has managed as well as which OS they used on the Raspberry Pi.


[This signature is available for rent]
[This signature is available for rent]
[This signature is available for rent]
[This signature is available for rent]
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!