Bitcoin Forum
May 25, 2018, 05:16:13 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 5x 5830's possible?  (Read 803 times)
shata
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 397
Merit: 250


TokenUnion-Get Rewarded for Holding Crypto


View Profile
January 01, 2012, 02:30:12 PM
 #1

Im looking at msi board that could handle 5x5830 via pcie extenders, Would gui miner see all of them? Also Is 1kw PC power n cooling enough for this?


▄████████████████████████████▄
██████████████████████████████
███████                ██████
███████                ██████
███████▄▄▄▄▄▄    ▄▄▄▄▄▄███████
███████▀▀▀▀██    ██▀▀▀▀███████
███████    ██    ██    ███████
███████    ██    ██    ███████
███████    ██    ██    ███████
███████    ██    ██    ███████
███████    ██    ██    ███████
███████    ▀██▄▄██▀    ███████
███████▄     ▀▀▀▀     ▄███████
████████▄            ▄████████
██████████▄▄      ▄▄██████████
██████████████████████████████
▀████████████████████████████▀
.
TokenUnion










Reinventing Savings via Cryptoeconomically
Incentivized Holding

    ████▄▄▄
   ██  ▀▀▀████▄▄▄
   ██        ▀▀▀███▄
  ██     ▄██▄     ██
  ██     ▀██▀     ██
 ██   ███▄▄▄     ██
 ██     ▀▀▀███   ██
██   ███▄▄▄     ██
██     ▀▀▀███   ██
▀███▄▄▄        ██
   ▀▀▀████▄▄▄  ██
         ▀▀▀████
WP
■  Telegram     ■  Github
            ■  Reddit     ■  Twitter
1527268573
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527268573

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527268573
Reply with quote  #2

1527268573
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1527268573
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527268573

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527268573
Reply with quote  #2

1527268573
Report to moderator
SaintFlow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 250


The first is by definition not flawed.


View Profile
January 01, 2012, 02:39:35 PM
 #2

I have hear 2 running on 416 watts

given that there is also a amd x2 200 cpu , mobo with active onboard and a laptop hdd in the mix your 1k watt might just be enough.

I am not a powersupply expert and I am not shure if it is wise to run a powersupply longterm on near full capacity.

don't let me make you question your assumptions
cablepair
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854
Merit: 1000


These days, i am Crazy.


View Profile WWW
January 01, 2012, 03:11:09 PM
 #3

yes of course, windows 7 64 bit or linux will run 5 cards with no problem , as long as you have enough power

you will need at least 1000 watt power supply (or very close to it) MUST BE CERTIFIED 80 BRONZE OR BETTER!

if you are trying to run 5 cards to not waste your time and money on a PSU that is not certified to be at least 80% efficient, you will never get those cards hashing

hope I could help
shata
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 397
Merit: 250


TokenUnion-Get Rewarded for Holding Crypto


View Profile
January 01, 2012, 03:16:40 PM
 #4

Ya I have pc power and cooling 1kw, peaks 1.1kw. So ya thanks for response much appreciated.


▄████████████████████████████▄
██████████████████████████████
███████                ██████
███████                ██████
███████▄▄▄▄▄▄    ▄▄▄▄▄▄███████
███████▀▀▀▀██    ██▀▀▀▀███████
███████    ██    ██    ███████
███████    ██    ██    ███████
███████    ██    ██    ███████
███████    ██    ██    ███████
███████    ██    ██    ███████
███████    ▀██▄▄██▀    ███████
███████▄     ▀▀▀▀     ▄███████
████████▄            ▄████████
██████████▄▄      ▄▄██████████
██████████████████████████████
▀████████████████████████████▀
.
TokenUnion










Reinventing Savings via Cryptoeconomically
Incentivized Holding

    ████▄▄▄
   ██  ▀▀▀████▄▄▄
   ██        ▀▀▀███▄
  ██     ▄██▄     ██
  ██     ▀██▀     ██
 ██   ███▄▄▄     ██
 ██     ▀▀▀███   ██
██   ███▄▄▄     ██
██     ▀▀▀███   ██
▀███▄▄▄        ██
   ▀▀▀████▄▄▄  ██
         ▀▀▀████
WP
■  Telegram     ■  Github
            ■  Reddit     ■  Twitter
bitlane
Internet detective
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 250


I heart thebaron


View Profile
January 03, 2012, 07:26:43 PM
 #5

I currently run 5x Sapphire 5830 Extreme on a Gigabyte X58A-UD3R/Xeon E5506 under Windows 7 x64, without any problems, although I run 2 smaller 80plus PSUs that total nearly 1300W (Corsair 850w for motherboard + 3 cards + Corsair 430w for 2 remaining cards, both 80plus).

The 1,000W power supply should be enough (at stock voltages), as I have another machine that runs 4 of these cards using an 850W 80plus Corsair without any problems and a small overclock (930mhz CPU/300Mhz Mem at stock voltages)....bit if you are going to overclock with voltage increases, you might want to get a 1200W for the 5 card machine.

Hope that helps.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!