Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 08:12:08 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 [155] 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 ... 232 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Armory - Discussion Thread  (Read 482143 times)
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
January 02, 2014, 08:47:15 AM
 #3081

No, it's the 
Code:
armory_0.90-beta_winAll
   
from this link:  https://bitcoinarmory.com/download/

I'm downloading from a chromebook, if that matters

How do you get it from the chromebook to the hp?

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
1481184728
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481184728

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481184728
Reply with quote  #2

1481184728
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
bitclock
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71



View Profile
January 02, 2014, 03:52:11 PM
 #3082

New USB drive, is that good? I'm trying to create an offline armory

Let's color the MOON: Y9SZ5rdJ4xNUyLrn2ThCo8myPCkgLb2KVu
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
January 02, 2014, 04:24:01 PM
 #3083

New USB drive, is that good? I'm trying to create an offline armory

Sure, fully format it

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
Flanagan
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78


View Profile
January 02, 2014, 04:31:49 PM
 #3084

In Armory, a given wallet can create different paper backups (I mean, each paper backup has different set of 32  characters x two rows of character codes.) This is right ?

I ask this because after creating a first paper wallet, a few days later I wanted another copy but when creating another paper wallet for the same wallet, different codes came out.

Learn to listen, listen to learn.
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
January 02, 2014, 04:34:27 PM
 #3085

In Armory, a given wallet can create different paper backups (I mean, each paper backup has different set of 16 characters x two rows of character codes.) This is right ?

I ask this because after creating a first paper wallet, a few days later I wanted another copy but when creating another paper wallet for the same wallet, different codes came out.

No it should be the same afaik
The seed shouldn't change

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
Flanagan
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78


View Profile
January 02, 2014, 04:40:46 PM
 #3086

In Armory, a given wallet can create different paper backups (I mean, each paper backup has different set of 16 characters x two rows of character codes.) This is right ?

I ask this because after creating a first paper wallet, a few days later I wanted another copy but when creating another paper wallet for the same wallet, different codes came out.

No it should be the same afaik
The seed shouldn't change

Tks for the reply.
Yikes, I would swear that i did a test and a different paper backup came up. I will re-test and report here, thanks.

Learn to listen, listen to learn.
cp1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


Stop using branwallets


View Profile
January 02, 2014, 05:36:22 PM
 #3087

In Armory, a given wallet can create different paper backups (I mean, each paper backup has different set of 32  characters x two rows of character codes.) This is right ?

I ask this because after creating a first paper wallet, a few days later I wanted another copy but when creating another paper wallet for the same wallet, different codes came out.

Use the test backup feature to make sure it works.

Guide to armory offline install on USB key:  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=241730.0
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
January 02, 2014, 06:57:15 PM
 #3088

On a related note, changing the name of the development branch makes keeping our ebuilds up to date particularly difficult. This kind of branching and tagging model would help us, and is probably a good idea in general: http://nvie.com/posts/a-successful-git-branching-model/

Now that we have a team, we just agreed to start naming the dev branches after the version they will become.  Hence "0.91-dev" will eventually be 0.91-beta, and then we'll start 0.92-dev, etc.  I know we had been inconsistent before and that's why we just decided on this. 

However, I really like that link you sent.  As he says, there's nothing groundbreaking, it's just a nice, consistent way to get everyone to cooperate and work the same git styles.  We'll definitely discuss adopting that or something very close to it.

The "--no-ff" flag is a good tip too.  I was wondering how to t avoid that information loss. 

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
justusranvier
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400



View Profile WWW
January 02, 2014, 07:46:27 PM
 #3089

In any case, the 0.91 database changes look good.

Although the initial sync subjectively seemed a lot slower than the 0.90 version, it meant I could close the program in the middle and it would pick up again in the same spot without losing progress.

So far Armory recovers perfectly from an unclean shutdown (via kill -9).
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
January 02, 2014, 08:02:49 PM
 #3090

In any case, the 0.91 database changes look good.

Although the initial sync subjectively seemed a lot slower than the 0.90 version, it meant I could close the program in the middle and it would pick up again in the same spot without losing progress.

So far Armory recovers perfectly from an unclean shutdown (via kill -9).

The "synchronizing with network" (bitcoin-qt/bitcoind), and "Building databases" really won't be any faster.  It's the "Scanning Blockchain" step that should be faster.  It's almost double speed on Ubuntu/Linux.  However, we've been having some Windows SNAFUs, so I'm not sure yet what's going on with Windows...

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
Flanagan
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78


View Profile
January 03, 2014, 04:36:06 PM
 #3091

In Armory, a given wallet can create different paper backups (I mean, each paper backup has different set of 16 characters x two rows of character codes.) This is right ?

I ask this because after creating a first paper wallet, a few days later I wanted another copy but when creating another paper wallet for the same wallet, different codes came out.

No it should be the same afaik
The seed shouldn't change

Tks for the reply.
Yikes, I would swear that i did a test and a different paper backup came up. I will re-test and report here, thanks.

Thanks for all the replies.
I re-tested again and the reason I am getting to different paper backups for the same wallet is that in the first one I checked the thing for secure printing and the second not, which explains why I am getting different codes for each of the two paper backups. All OK I presume, thanks.

Learn to listen, listen to learn.
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
January 03, 2014, 04:44:25 PM
 #3092

At least you test your backups before hand, everyone should.

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764



View Profile
January 03, 2014, 04:56:28 PM
 #3093

In Armory, a given wallet can create different paper backups (I mean, each paper backup has different set of 16 characters x two rows of character codes.) This is right ?

I ask this because after creating a first paper wallet, a few days later I wanted another copy but when creating another paper wallet for the same wallet, different codes came out.

No it should be the same afaik
The seed shouldn't change

Tks for the reply.
Yikes, I would swear that i did a test and a different paper backup came up. I will re-test and report here, thanks.

Thanks for all the replies.
I re-tested again and the reason I am getting to different paper backups for the same wallet is that in the first one I checked the thing for secure printing and the second not, which explains why I am getting different codes for each of the two paper backups. All OK I presume, thanks.


i've not run into that.  what is secure printing?
cp1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


Stop using branwallets


View Profile
January 03, 2014, 05:21:15 PM
 #3094

i've not run into that.  what is secure printing?

If you print on a modern printer with a hard drive, it will save a copy of everything you print that can later be stolen when the printer is sold.  So secure print gives you a code to hand write on the page you print out -- both are needed to unlock the wallet.

Guide to armory offline install on USB key:  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=241730.0
winnetou
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 361


View Profile
January 04, 2014, 07:56:19 AM
 #3095

Is it possible to somehow get a list of 1,000 pre-generated addresses of an Armory wallet?
I know I can use the "Backup Individual Keys" function and then click "Include Unused" but this will give only about 100 pre-generated addresses.
Is there a way to extend this to a 1,000 addresses?

I believe you can pass the --keypool=## option to Armory, but I've not tested if that will increase the amount when you print a backup.

I thought armorys wallet is deterministic and you only need to backup it once - no matter how many new addresses you generate afterwards. Isn't it like that?

Is the new backup center of 0.9 already safe to use?

@etotheipi, can you please put the download url, signed hashes in the opening post of this thread to let us not only rely on the website?
gweedo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


Java, PHP, HTML/CSS Programmer for Hire!


View Profile WWW
January 04, 2014, 08:06:51 AM
 #3096

I thought armorys wallet is deterministic and you only need to backup it once - no matter how many new addresses you generate afterwards. Isn't it like that?

Correct it is deterministic, but a keypool is pre-generated addresses that can be used. It saves time, and has nothing to do with backup unless you change that number, then you may miss addresses when you restore, but changing that value will return those addresses.

Want to earn 2500 SATOSHIS per hour? Come Chat and Chill in https://goseemybits.com/lobby
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
January 04, 2014, 08:09:58 AM
 #3097

I thought armorys wallet is deterministic and you only need to backup it once - no matter how many new addresses you generate afterwards. Isn't it like that?

Correct it is deterministic, but a keypool is pre-generated addresses that can be used. It saves time, and has nothing to do with backup unless you change that number, then you may miss addresses when you restore, but changing that value will return those addresses.

If you used more and restore, it won't think to generate them YET. It CAN, you just tell it to.

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
winnetou
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 361


View Profile
January 04, 2014, 08:20:50 AM
 #3098

I thought armorys wallet is deterministic and you only need to backup it once - no matter how many new addresses you generate afterwards. Isn't it like that?

Correct it is deterministic, but a keypool is pre-generated addresses that can be used. It saves time, and has nothing to do with backup unless you change that number, then you may miss addresses when you restore, but changing that value will return those addresses.

If you used more and restore, it won't think to generate them YET. It CAN, you just tell it to.

Okay. For example: I create a new wallet with the default setting of e.g. 100 pre generated addresses. After this I am doing a backup. Now I am changing the pre generate number to 200 and get 100 new addresses. When I am reimporting my backup I will only have 100 addresses in my wallet but now I can change this number again and will have all my 200 addresses back in my wallet. Is this correct?
gweedo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


Java, PHP, HTML/CSS Programmer for Hire!


View Profile WWW
January 04, 2014, 08:26:41 AM
 #3099

I thought armorys wallet is deterministic and you only need to backup it once - no matter how many new addresses you generate afterwards. Isn't it like that?

Correct it is deterministic, but a keypool is pre-generated addresses that can be used. It saves time, and has nothing to do with backup unless you change that number, then you may miss addresses when you restore, but changing that value will return those addresses.

If you used more and restore, it won't think to generate them YET. It CAN, you just tell it to.

Okay. For example: I create a new wallet with the default setting of e.g. 100 pre generated addresses. After this I am doing a backup. Now I am changing the pre generate number to 200 and get 100 new addresses. When I am reimporting my backup I will only have 100 addresses in my wallet but now I can change this number again and will have all my 200 addresses back in my wallet. Is this correct?

Correct.

Want to earn 2500 SATOSHIS per hour? Come Chat and Chill in https://goseemybits.com/lobby
winnetou
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 361


View Profile
January 04, 2014, 09:03:02 AM
 #3100

Thank you gweedo

btw: Is it normal that I get different IPs for ping bitcoinarmory.com on two different internet connections? (maybe because of cloud hosting !?) Okay i just did "dig bitcoinarmory.com" and indeed these are the two ips I am getting.

cf-ssl27047-protected.bitcoinarmory.com. 133 IN   A 108.162.200.154
cf-ssl27047-protected.bitcoinarmory.com. 133 IN   A 141.101.127.153
Pages: « 1 ... 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 [155] 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 ... 232 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!