Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2019, 07:54:24 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.19.0.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 [184] 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Armory - Discussion Thread  (Read 520955 times)
Corelianer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 309
Merit: 100



View Profile
May 17, 2014, 10:54:03 AM
 #3661

Exchange rates

It would be very good if we could have the Exchange rates in Armory.

So that I can see my walled displaying in my local currency.
I always have to convert my assets twice from BTC->USD->CHF. And then back CHF-->USD-> BTC.

That would really increase the user-friendlyness.
1576050864
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1576050864

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1576050864
Reply with quote  #2

1576050864
Report to moderator
1576050864
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1576050864

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1576050864
Reply with quote  #2

1576050864
Report to moderator
Best ratesfor crypto
EXCHANGE
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1576050864
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1576050864

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1576050864
Reply with quote  #2

1576050864
Report to moderator
RoadStress
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862
Merit: 1002


View Profile
May 18, 2014, 01:51:32 PM
 #3662

My armory/bitcoin setup is really using a lot of disk space (more than 40GB at the moment). Does armory use a copy of the complete blockchain ?

I would like to store the blockchain on a network drive. I was able to do it for bitcoin core by adding the -datadir option. Can we do the same for armory but keep the wallets local ?

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Armory\ArmoryQt.exe" --satoshi-datadir=F:\Bitcoin --dbdir=F:\Armory

I'm using --datadir instead of --dbdir. Datadir has database+wallet while dbdir only has the database, but the wallets are in the default folder?

I thought you wanted to keep the wallet files

I just wanted to be sure that I understand both command arguments and it seems that I was right. I want a custom location for the wallet files so that's why I'm using datadir.

H/w Hosting Directory & Reputation - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622998.0
segeln
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602
Merit: 500


View Profile
May 18, 2014, 03:54:09 PM
 #3663

Exchange rates

It would be very good if we could have the Exchange rates in Armory.

So that I can see my walled displaying in my local currency.
I always have to convert my assets twice from BTC->USD->CHF. And then back CHF-->USD-> BTC.

That would really increase the user-friendlyness.
+1
same wish
milkshoe
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 19, 2014, 03:44:20 PM
 #3664

3) Is the torrent blockchain downloader included in all new armory versions (linux, windows, mac os)? I am not sure if it works on Mac OS. I started Armory, than bitcoin-qt. As far I can tell it does download the blockchain only with bitcoin-qt.

Yes, the torrent code doesn't work under OS X. I'll see if something can be worked out. The torrents really do speed things up.

1) Thank you very much! I really need this under OS X :/ Do I have to wait for the next version or will there be a work around?

2) Is it equally safe to use qr codes instead of typing the transaction signing data with my keyboard into the offline computer? Are there any good linux qr code generators that can create codes from a file?
doug_armory
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 255
Merit: 250

Senior Developer - Armory


View Profile WWW
May 19, 2014, 06:28:56 PM
 #3665

3) Is the torrent blockchain downloader included in all new armory versions (linux, windows, mac os)? I am not sure if it works on Mac OS. I started Armory, than bitcoin-qt. As far I can tell it does download the blockchain only with bitcoin-qt.

Yes, the torrent code doesn't work under OS X. I'll see if something can be worked out. The torrents really do speed things up.

1) Thank you very much! I really need this under OS X :/ Do I have to wait for the next version or will there be a work around?

2) Is it equally safe to use qr codes instead of typing the transaction signing data with my keyboard into the offline computer? Are there any good linux qr code generators that can create codes from a file?

1)I'm not exactly sure of the plans for this at the moment. If nothing else, I believe the core devs have a plan to speed up downloads in a future version of BC Core, hopefully sometime this fall. In the meantime, I'll see what I can do to speed this up. You can also, if you wish, do a bit of manual work and download a bootstrap torrent. Directions can be found here. It's better than nothing, especially since the latest file is missing only about a month's worth of blocks.

2)I'm sure it's safe. I really don't use QR codes on my desktop, though, so I can't help. Sorry!

Senior Developer -  Armory Technologies, Inc.
Ente
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2126
Merit: 1001



View Profile
May 21, 2014, 07:44:48 AM
Last edit: May 21, 2014, 08:35:48 AM by Ente
 #3666

Good morning!

Quote
I had Armory segfault problems, it works now after a 'git pull'.
Now it says one of my wallets are corrupt, but the "repair tool" is grayed out here. Suggestions?
It is still scanning the tx history for another 15 mins, so I can't say if the balance is as I expect.

Now, after a restart(?), the wallet fix tool opens.
Somewhere it says that you don't have to enter the passphrase for wallet fixing, but then it fails to run the fix tool.
When entering the passphrase, it works, until it hangs at "18 of 107 address entries". After that, I have to forcibly end Armory.

Is this of any interest? Or shall I just grab a backup and forget about this?

Ente
QuantumQrack
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 340
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 22, 2014, 02:44:46 AM
 #3667

Is there a way to require a password on Armory start?  What if somebody gains access to my computer, opens Armory, and can see all my transactions and also the notes that I have entered to go along with those transactions?
SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2450
Merit: 1043


Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
May 22, 2014, 01:41:58 PM
 #3668

Is there a way to require a password on Armory start?  What if somebody gains access to my computer, opens Armory, and can see all my transactions and also the notes that I have entered to go along with those transactions?

I dont know a way directly but you might use a truecrypt file container. It has plausible deniability too. Make sure to backup the file container, for example to external harddiscs. And you might have lie the file container in google drive dir on your pc. That way your wallet is backed up in he cloud too in case you lose pc and backups.

Please ALWAYS contact me through bitcointalk pm before sending someone coins.
Ente
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2126
Merit: 1001



View Profile
May 22, 2014, 01:52:08 PM
 #3669

Is there a way to require a password on Armory start?  What if somebody gains access to my computer, opens Armory, and can see all my transactions and also the notes that I have entered to go along with those transactions?

I dont know a way directly but you might use a truecrypt file container. It has plausible deniability too. Make sure to backup the file container, for example to external harddiscs. And you might have lie the file container in google drive dir on your pc. That way your wallet is backed up in he cloud too in case you lose pc and backups.

I like your thinking, Sebastian!
Create a tiny 10mb container file, and have an almost empty wallet as a decoy in the "outer" part, and the real wallet in the "inner" part! This helps against a rubberhose-attack in most cases.
And yes, those will come eventually.

Ente
SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2450
Merit: 1043


Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
May 22, 2014, 02:23:29 PM
Last edit: May 22, 2014, 03:10:40 PM by SebastianJu
 #3670

Is there a way to require a password on Armory start?  What if somebody gains access to my computer, opens Armory, and can see all my transactions and also the notes that I have entered to go along with those transactions?

I dont know a way directly but you might use a truecrypt file container. It has plausible deniability too. Make sure to backup the file container, for example to external harddiscs. And you might have lie the file container in google drive dir on your pc. That way your wallet is backed up in he cloud too in case you lose pc and backups.

I like your thinking, Sebastian!
Create a tiny 10mb container file, and have an almost empty wallet as a decoy in the "outer" part, and the real wallet in the "inner" part! This helps against a rubberhose-attack in most cases.
And yes, those will come eventually.

Ente

Though the decoy wallet should be used ocassionally and contain something to make it valid for viewers. And of course you dont forget the password you should give in the case of threats. Best thing would be to use the decoy wallet as your real wallet for everyday things but the hidden wallet for the bigger savings. That would look most natural i guess. Theoretically...

But its important to not lose the passwords... worst case would be you lose your memory and you dont know you have bitcoins and whats the passwords.

And yes... bitcoin in itself serves a threat to its owners. Having your money at the bank is somewhat safer than having it protected by a password only. Bank robbers get a couple thousands if lucky. But bitcoiners can lose everything with a single password stolen, threatened out or forgotten. Not to speak about having no backups. So its wise to think about every possibility...

Edit: Of course armory and bitcoinqt needs to be portable. Otherwise important data is on drive c somewhere... Im trying to find out to how to do it with the flags at startup. bitcoinqt is already portable... now armory is left.

Please ALWAYS contact me through bitcointalk pm before sending someone coins.
cp1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 500


Stop using branwallets


View Profile
May 22, 2014, 04:07:13 PM
 #3671

Is there a way to require a password on Armory start?  What if somebody gains access to my computer, opens Armory, and can see all my transactions and also the notes that I have entered to go along with those transactions?

You can require a password to login to your computer (and encrypt your home directory if you want)

Guide to armory offline install on USB key:  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=241730.0
SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2450
Merit: 1043


Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
May 22, 2014, 06:30:58 PM
 #3672

I dont get armory to work with my portable bitcoin-qt. When i have bitcoin-qt running and start armory then armory wants me to close bitcoin-qt. But when i click the button to close it nothing happens except that bitcoin-qt is closed. When i restart armory then it remains offline even though the log claims that it understood datadir and satoshi-datadir correctly. It shows up at satoshiHome and datadir vars for example.

When im in the settings then its checked to let armory start bitcoin-qt. I didnt fill the dir-fields but the lower one shows the correct default dir and i see that armory stores its data in the correct dir too.

So it looks like it works... only it remains offline and asks me to download bitcoin-qt from bitcoin.org.

Should bitcoin-home dir be a different dir than the dir where the bitcoin-qt.exe is located? I tried the subdir AppData but without success.

Another question... is armory using bitcoin-qt for every network related transfer? I mean i can setup the use of the tor-network in bitcoin-qt, but i didnt find a way to do the same in armory.

Last question... is the use of bitcoin-qt resulting in traces? I mean when i use a copy of bitcoin-qt to run armory, are there traces of transactions, addresses and more in bitcoin-qt logs or something or is that independently?

Thanks!

Please ALWAYS contact me through bitcointalk pm before sending someone coins.
SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2450
Merit: 1043


Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
May 22, 2014, 11:03:15 PM
 #3673

Maybe i should explain a bit better. I run bitcoin-qt portable with the following link:

"L:\something\BQT\bitcoin-qt.exe" -datadir="L:\something\BQT\AppData" -server

It works fine and puts all data into the dir AppData so that it runs portable on its own.

I start electrum with:

L:\something\Armory\ArmoryQt.exe --satoshi-datadir="L:\something\BQT" --datadir="L:\something\Armory\Datadir"

Armory stores its data correctly into the subdir Datadir but armory is always only offline. Regardless if i have bitcoin-qt started from the start or not. Is it because my bitcoinqt is portable? So that armory is searching in the wrong place for the blocks and more?

I want to have both wallets completely independent. Ideally no traces leaving on the remaining harddiscs. I already deleted traces in user... and deinstalled armory and bitcoinqt after copying the dirs. Like i said, bitcoinqt runs portable fine, armory seems to run portable too, only that it is offline only.

Please ALWAYS contact me through bitcointalk pm before sending someone coins.
flipperfish
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 251


Dolphie Selfie


View Profile
May 23, 2014, 10:18:17 AM
 #3674

Should bitcoin-home dir be a different dir than the dir where the bitcoin-qt.exe is located? I tried the subdir AppData but without success.

I think it should be the dir, where "bitcoind.exe" is located. Armory seems to be using that instead of the full Qt-Client.
SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2450
Merit: 1043


Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
May 23, 2014, 10:40:45 PM
 #3675

Should bitcoin-home dir be a different dir than the dir where the bitcoin-qt.exe is located? I tried the subdir AppData but without success.

I think it should be the dir, where "bitcoind.exe" is located. Armory seems to be using that instead of the full Qt-Client.

I tried it but its still offline. bitcoind.exe is under daemon subdir. Didnt look like it changes anything.

Please ALWAYS contact me through bitcointalk pm before sending someone coins.
CircusPeanut
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 123
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 23, 2014, 11:14:13 PM
 #3676

L:\something\Armory\ArmoryQt.exe --satoshi-datadir="L:\something\BQT" --datadir="L:\something\Armory\Datadir"

Try
L:\something\Armory\ArmoryQt.exe --satoshi-datadir="L:\something\BQT\AppData" --datadir="L:\something\Armory\Datadir"
SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2450
Merit: 1043


Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
May 23, 2014, 11:48:42 PM
 #3677

L:\something\Armory\ArmoryQt.exe --satoshi-datadir="L:\something\BQT" --datadir="L:\something\Armory\Datadir"

Try
L:\something\Armory\ArmoryQt.exe --satoshi-datadir="L:\something\BQT\AppData" --datadir="L:\something\Armory\Datadir"

I already tried AppData and daemon but it didnt change anything it seems. When i check the log then the first ERRORs i see are here:
Code:
2014-05-22 20:02 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:2252 - loadWalletsAndSettings
2014-05-22 20:02 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:2310 - Loading wallets...
2014-05-22 20:02 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:2359 - Number of wallets read in: 0
2014-05-22 20:02 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:1794 - Setting up networking...
2014-05-22 20:02 (ERROR) -- ArmoryQt.py:1837 - Error checking for internet connection
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "ArmoryQt.py", line 1835, in setupNetworking
  File "urllib2.pyc", line 127, in urlopen
  File "urllib2.pyc", line 404, in open
  File "urllib2.pyc", line 422, in _open
  File "urllib2.pyc", line 382, in _call_chain
  File "urllib2.pyc", line 1214, in http_open
  File "urllib2.pyc", line 1187, in do_open
  File "httplib.pyc", line 1045, in getresponse
  File "httplib.pyc", line 409, in begin
  File "httplib.pyc", line 373, in _read_status
BadStatusLine: ''
2014-05-22 20:02 (ERROR) -- ArmoryQt.py:1838 - Run --skip-online-check if you think this is an error
2014-05-22 20:02 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:1846 - Internet connection is Available: False
2014-05-22 20:02 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:1847 - Bitcoin-Qt/bitcoind is Available: 0
2014-05-22 20:02 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:1848 - The first blk*.dat was Available: False
2014-05-22 20:02 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:1849 - Online mode currently possible:   False
2014-05-22 20:02 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:1968 - startBitcoindIfNecessary
2014-05-22 20:02 (WARNING) -- ArmoryQt.py:1970 - Not online, will not start bitcoind
2014-05-22 20:02 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:1106 - setupUriRegistration
2014-05-22 20:02 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:1225 - URL-register action: AskUser
2014-05-22 20:02 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:587 - Usermode: Expert
2014-05-22 20:02 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:1373 - Changing usermode:
2014-05-22 20:02 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:1374 -    From: Expert
2014-05-22 20:02 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:1382 -      To: Expert
2014-05-22 20:02 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:5417 - Dashboard switched to auto-OfflineNoSatoshiNoInternet
2014-05-22 20:02 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:4986 - Switching Armory state text to Mgmt:Auto, State:OfflineNoSatoshiNoInternet
2014-05-22 20:02 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:4928 - Switching Armory functional mode to "Offline"
2014-05-22 20:02 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:6456 - Another Armory instance just tried to open.
2014-05-22 20:02 (ERROR) -- announcefetch.pyc:162 - Loop was busy for more than one second
2014-05-22 20:02 (ERROR) -- announcefetch.pyc:162 - Loop was busy for more than one second
2014-05-22 20:02 (ERROR) -- announcefetch.pyc:162 - Loop was busy for more than one second
2014-05-22 20:02 (WARNING) -- ArmoryQt.py:1504 - No Armory links in the downloads list
2014-05-22 20:02 (WARNING) -- ArmoryQt.py:1564 - No Satoshi links in the downloads list
2014-05-22 20:02 (ERROR) -- announcefetch.pyc:268 - Unspecified error downloading URL

And so on.

The above log is when i add AppData. When i dont add a subdir then it seems this log line looks more correct:
Code:
2014-05-22 20:17 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:1847 - Bitcoin-Qt/bitcoind is Available: 8333

Its not zero like it is with the subdirs. So it found the installation.

I dont have a bitcoin.conf too and i updated bitcoin-qt and bitcoind to the newest available version.

Can it be that armory needs to be told the position of bitcoin-qt and then it tries to find bitcoin and the blockchain? But it cant find the blockchain when its not stored on C:. So maybe the .blk-file-dir has to be specified specially. I found a path named User home-directory in the logfile that points to the user-roaming-dir on drive c:. Maybe armory is searching there for the blk-files only. Though i wouldnt know how to change it since the dir lying in Roaming would be named Bitcoin.

But i cant believe that no one made armory completely portable yet. That has to be something that would have been requeste way way earlier in the development i guess.

I searched the sourcecode here for more flags: https://raw.githubusercontent.com/etotheipi/BitcoinArmory/rrld_planB/armoryengine.py

but there is nothing that looks like a flag for the settingsdir. And when i tried --bitcoind-path as flag armory even crashed instantly as a process and didnt load at all.

Maybe i need to try my luck with the support. I sent in a logfile now.

Please ALWAYS contact me through bitcointalk pm before sending someone coins.
flipperfish
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 251


Dolphie Selfie


View Profile
May 24, 2014, 11:31:17 AM
 #3678


Code:
2014-05-22 20:02 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:1794 - Setting up networking...
2014-05-22 20:02 (ERROR) -- ArmoryQt.py:1837 - Error checking for internet connection
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "ArmoryQt.py", line 1835, in setupNetworking
  File "urllib2.pyc", line 127, in urlopen
  File "urllib2.pyc", line 404, in open
  File "urllib2.pyc", line 422, in _open
  File "urllib2.pyc", line 382, in _call_chain
  File "urllib2.pyc", line 1214, in http_open
  File "urllib2.pyc", line 1187, in do_open
  File "httplib.pyc", line 1045, in getresponse
  File "httplib.pyc", line 409, in begin
  File "httplib.pyc", line 373, in _read_status
BadStatusLine: ''
2014-05-22 20:02 (ERROR) -- ArmoryQt.py:1838 - Run --skip-online-check if you think this is an error
2014-05-22 20:02 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:1846 - Internet connection is Available: False
2014-05-22 20:02 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:1847 - Bitcoin-Qt/bitcoind is Available: 0
2014-05-22 20:02 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:1848 - The first blk*.dat was Available: False
2014-05-22 20:02 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:1849 - Online mode currently possible:   False
2014-05-22 20:02 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:1968 - startBitcoindIfNecessary
2014-05-22 20:02 (WARNING) -- ArmoryQt.py:1970 - Not online, will not start bitcoind

Maybe this is obvious, but did you try what the log-file suggests? It seems armory can't detect if your system is connected to the interent for some reason and thus won't start bitcoind.
SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2450
Merit: 1043


Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
May 24, 2014, 02:39:02 PM
 #3679


Code:
2014-05-22 20:02 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:1794 - Setting up networking...
2014-05-22 20:02 (ERROR) -- ArmoryQt.py:1837 - Error checking for internet connection
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "ArmoryQt.py", line 1835, in setupNetworking
  File "urllib2.pyc", line 127, in urlopen
  File "urllib2.pyc", line 404, in open
  File "urllib2.pyc", line 422, in _open
  File "urllib2.pyc", line 382, in _call_chain
  File "urllib2.pyc", line 1214, in http_open
  File "urllib2.pyc", line 1187, in do_open
  File "httplib.pyc", line 1045, in getresponse
  File "httplib.pyc", line 409, in begin
  File "httplib.pyc", line 373, in _read_status
BadStatusLine: ''
2014-05-22 20:02 (ERROR) -- ArmoryQt.py:1838 - Run --skip-online-check if you think this is an error
2014-05-22 20:02 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:1846 - Internet connection is Available: False
2014-05-22 20:02 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:1847 - Bitcoin-Qt/bitcoind is Available: 0
2014-05-22 20:02 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:1848 - The first blk*.dat was Available: False
2014-05-22 20:02 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:1849 - Online mode currently possible:   False
2014-05-22 20:02 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:1968 - startBitcoindIfNecessary
2014-05-22 20:02 (WARNING) -- ArmoryQt.py:1970 - Not online, will not start bitcoind

Maybe this is obvious, but did you try what the log-file suggests? It seems armory can't detect if your system is connected to the interent for some reason and thus won't start bitcoind.

I tried that but then it only says "Cannot find Bitcoin Installation" instead of Offline. Though the logfile claims that bitcoin-Qt is available with the value 8333. Maybe a port? But the no internet check flag doesnt change it in the good direction.

Please ALWAYS contact me through bitcointalk pm before sending someone coins.
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1005


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
May 24, 2014, 05:13:38 PM
 #3680


Code:
2014-05-22 20:02 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:1794 - Setting up networking...
2014-05-22 20:02 (ERROR) -- ArmoryQt.py:1837 - Error checking for internet connection
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "ArmoryQt.py", line 1835, in setupNetworking
  File "urllib2.pyc", line 127, in urlopen
  File "urllib2.pyc", line 404, in open
  File "urllib2.pyc", line 422, in _open
  File "urllib2.pyc", line 382, in _call_chain
  File "urllib2.pyc", line 1214, in http_open
  File "urllib2.pyc", line 1187, in do_open
  File "httplib.pyc", line 1045, in getresponse
  File "httplib.pyc", line 409, in begin
  File "httplib.pyc", line 373, in _read_status
BadStatusLine: ''
2014-05-22 20:02 (ERROR) -- ArmoryQt.py:1838 - Run --skip-online-check if you think this is an error
2014-05-22 20:02 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:1846 - Internet connection is Available: False
2014-05-22 20:02 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:1847 - Bitcoin-Qt/bitcoind is Available: 0
2014-05-22 20:02 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:1848 - The first blk*.dat was Available: False
2014-05-22 20:02 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:1849 - Online mode currently possible:   False
2014-05-22 20:02 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:1968 - startBitcoindIfNecessary
2014-05-22 20:02 (WARNING) -- ArmoryQt.py:1970 - Not online, will not start bitcoind

Maybe this is obvious, but did you try what the log-file suggests? It seems armory can't detect if your system is connected to the interent for some reason and thus won't start bitcoind.

I tried that but then it only says "Cannot find Bitcoin Installation" instead of Offline. Though the logfile claims that bitcoin-Qt is available with the value 8333. Maybe a port? But the no internet check flag doesnt change it in the good direction.

Your log file suggests you are failing every condition for geting online.  Though, perhaps failing the first condition is causing the others to fail, too. 

  • Run with --skip-online-check or check the box in the settings to disable online checks
  • For now, change the settings to run Bitcoin Core yourself (first checkbox in the settings dialog).  Close Armory, run Core (Bitcoin-Qt or bitcoind), when it's done synchronizing, start Armory
  • Make sure you have set --satoshi-datadir to the directory containing "blocks" and "wallet.dat"... default is C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin
  • Do you use a custom bitcoin.conf file?  That can screw up things, like limiting connections, changing ports.  If not, ignore this line.

Once that is working, and if you switch back to having Armory run Bitcoin Core, make sure the settings point to the base directory where it is installed... default is C:\Program Files\Bitcoin

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
Pages: « 1 ... 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 [184] 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!