Bitcoin Forum
January 19, 2017, 04:36:00 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.2  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 [208] 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Armory - Discussion Thread  (Read 486392 times)
CHAOSiTEC
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile
September 18, 2014, 05:09:23 PM
 #4141

so im assuming that after trezor support is included in armory, its going to be easy to implement other hardware wallets, since the ground work has been done, am i correct?

Not necessarily. There are 4 steps to integrating a hardware wallet:

1) Implement the standard. That's a one time cost, but there's no knowing which BIPs future hardware wallets will require.
2) Communication layer. With Trezor that part is overly simple (for us, we use Python on the front end), but again, no guarantee other wallets will go down that path.
3) UI integration. A portion of the Trezor code can be recycled for new wallets, but maybe not as large as we hope.
4) Unit tests. Depending on how many features the hardware wallet supports and its API, this can take its sweet time.

The good side is that we will most likely release support for these devices in the form of plugins, so it won't have to wait for a major release.

Nice, since ive been using armory for.. well ages, lol, and i have just recieved my HW.1 hardwarewallet (btcchip.com) and they use python, so that should make it easy to implement, since its python based pluginish :-p (electrum has support for it in dev version)

btc: 3M2GmgnRKW41R3i6pfmjTUMnkuz85TcvNM | Join xbt.social for live trading advice / discussion
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1484800560
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1484800560

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1484800560
Reply with quote  #2

1484800560
Report to moderator
1484800560
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1484800560

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1484800560
Reply with quote  #2

1484800560
Report to moderator
1484800560
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1484800560

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1484800560
Reply with quote  #2

1484800560
Report to moderator
Ente
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1890



View Profile
September 19, 2014, 07:40:49 AM
 #4142

The good side is that we will most likely release support for these devices in the form of plugins, so it won't have to wait for a major release.

Plugins is my #1 wish functionality by now! :-)

Ente
Newar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


https://gliph.me/hUF


View Profile
September 22, 2014, 08:41:23 AM
 #4143


I'm probably missing something... How can I change a label (comment) of an address after it has been created? I don't see any way in the Wallet Properties (right click, double click etc.)

OTC rating | GPG keyid 1DC91318EE785FDE | Gliph: lightning bicycle tree music | Mycelium, a swift & secure Bitcoin client for Android | LocalBitcoins
CHAOSiTEC
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile
September 22, 2014, 09:35:56 AM
 #4144


I'm probably missing something... How can I change a label (comment) of an address after it has been created? I don't see any way in the Wallet Properties (right click, double click etc.)

Addresses -> View Address Book

;-)

btc: 3M2GmgnRKW41R3i6pfmjTUMnkuz85TcvNM | Join xbt.social for live trading advice / discussion
TimS
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 247


View Profile WWW
September 22, 2014, 10:25:38 PM
 #4145


I'm probably missing something... How can I change a label (comment) of an address after it has been created? I don't see any way in the Wallet Properties (right click, double click etc.)
I think that every comment can be changed if you double click the comment itself (not just its line, but the comment cell).
Newar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


https://gliph.me/hUF


View Profile
September 23, 2014, 05:07:50 AM
 #4146

I think that every comment can be changed if you double click the comment itself (not just its line, but the comment cell).[/quote]

That will only change the comment for that particular tx.

Comments in the transaction view are created from the comment you give it when generating the address. I was looking for a way to change that "permanent" comment. CHAOSiTEC's hint worked fine.


OTC rating | GPG keyid 1DC91318EE785FDE | Gliph: lightning bicycle tree music | Mycelium, a swift & secure Bitcoin client for Android | LocalBitcoins
pitiflin
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 223


View Profile
September 26, 2014, 07:09:00 PM
 #4147

I'm using Armory 0.90-beta

Should I update my version?

I have all my BTC in Armory and I'm afraid to update Undecided
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
September 26, 2014, 07:19:39 PM
 #4148

I'm using Armory 0.90-beta

Should I update my version?

I have all my BTC in Armory and I'm afraid to update Undecided

We do recommend you update anything before 0.91.  And 0.92.1 is a solid release.

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
pitiflin
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 223


View Profile
September 26, 2014, 07:45:00 PM
 #4149

I'm using Armory 0.90-beta

Should I update my version?

I have all my BTC in Armory and I'm afraid to update Undecided

We do recommend you update anything before 0.91.  And 0.92.1 is a solid release.

Ok, so I just download & install the 0.92.1 version and all my wallets will show up again? Do I have to do anything else besides download & install?

EDIT: I also have an offline wallet on an offline computer, should I update that version as well?
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
September 26, 2014, 11:36:27 PM
 #4150

I'm using Armory 0.90-beta

Should I update my version?

I have all my BTC in Armory and I'm afraid to update Undecided

We do recommend you update anything before 0.91.  And 0.92.1 is a solid release.

Ok, so I just download & install the 0.92.1 version and all my wallets will show up again? Do I have to do anything else besides download & install?

EDIT: I also have an offline wallet on an offline computer, should I update that version as well?

You can update your online computer without touching the offline computer if you install 0.91.2 online. 

However, all the offline transaction formats changed to accommodate multisig with 0.92+, so if you upgrade your online computer to that, you'll have to do the same offline.

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
September 26, 2014, 11:48:16 PM
 #4151

No need to be afraid, we are here

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
pitiflin
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 223


View Profile
September 27, 2014, 12:30:25 AM
 #4152

I'm using Armory 0.90-beta

Should I update my version?

I have all my BTC in Armory and I'm afraid to update Undecided

We do recommend you update anything before 0.91.  And 0.92.1 is a solid release.

Ok, so I just download & install the 0.92.1 version and all my wallets will show up again? Do I have to do anything else besides download & install?

EDIT: I also have an offline wallet on an offline computer, should I update that version as well?

You can update your online computer without touching the offline computer if you install 0.91.2 online. 

However, all the offline transaction formats changed to accommodate multisig with 0.92+, so if you upgrade your online computer to that, you'll have to do the same offline.

Alright, I don't have to uninstall the old versión right? Just download the new one and install both on the online and offline computer. Am I right?
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
September 27, 2014, 12:44:06 AM
 #4153

Yes and your online one will authenticate the download

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
Sc@rF@c3
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33


View Profile
September 29, 2014, 12:17:09 AM
 #4154

Hi there,

Are there any plans to add a Multi-wallet function?
By this I mean adding cold storage for the popular coins, BTC, LTE, DOGE etc.

Maybe a coin type plugin system?
I anticipate that blockchain files could be large for the watch only client, therefore I suggest install the wallets one requires.
I am guessing that the codes will be similar for all wallets, so this is why I am suggesting this.

Thank you for the great product.

If you found my posts helpful...
Tips: 13GiJUzw7oG9XnKCyt9n4zYGTsaQUAwpb9
segeln
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


View Profile
September 30, 2014, 05:33:36 PM
 #4155


You can update your online computer without touching the offline computer if you install 0.91.2 online. 

However, all the offline transaction formats changed to accommodate multisig with 0.92+, so if you upgrade your online computer to that, you'll have to do the same offline.
but,in case I do not want to use multisig,,do I have to update the offline Computer?
segeln
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


View Profile
September 30, 2014, 05:40:02 PM
 #4156


You can update your online computer without touching the offline computer if you install 0.91.2 online. 

is 0.91.2 typo?
should it not be 0.92 + ??
flipperfish
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 312


Dolphie Selfie


View Profile
September 30, 2014, 08:10:27 PM
 #4157


You can update your online computer without touching the offline computer if you install 0.91.2 online. 

is 0.91.2 typo?
should it not be 0.92 + ??

v0.91.2 is the last version, that supports the old format for offline signing (the .unsigned.tx and .signed.tx files). Newer versions create unsigned transactions in a new format. If the offline computer is not updated to a version newer (or equal) than 0.92, it does not understand the new format.
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764



View Profile
September 30, 2014, 08:19:48 PM
 #4158

when will 0.92.2 be out of testing?
globe-biz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63


View Profile
October 01, 2014, 07:21:33 AM
 #4159

Hello, I am here tonight to see if you can help with a thought I have. I want to download Armory but I have worries that it will require me to download the blockchain again. I remember the 60 hours I spent waiting to download blockchain before with the qt client I think  it is called.

My question is this:

If I download the Armory wallet and synch it, will it take more than...20 minutes?
Electrum looks good because it does not require a full download of the blockchain

Thank you
SimonBelmond
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 177



View Profile
October 01, 2014, 11:21:47 AM
 #4160

Hello, I am here tonight to see if you can help with a thought I have. I want to download Armory but I have worries that it will require me to download the blockchain again. I remember the 60 hours I spent waiting to download blockchain before with the qt client I think  it is called.

My question is this:

If I download the Armory wallet and synch it, will it take more than...20 minutes?
Electrum looks good because it does not require a full download of the blockchain

Thank you

If you already have a Bitcoin core installtion, Armory will go on top of it. For me armory takes about 5 min untill the DB is built and the wallet is online once the Blockchain has finished catching up. So yes it does require a full blckchain downlad, but you can use the one you have already.
Pages: « 1 ... 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 [208] 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!