Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 04:31:04 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 [213] 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Armory - Discussion Thread  (Read 481700 times)
Deth
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 533



View Profile
October 14, 2014, 04:27:03 PM
 #4241

Hi! Is it possible to run a "server" instance of Armory which does synchronisation with bitcoin core and whole network, and connect to it remotely via multiple "client-side" instances of Amory? So I can download and sync blockchain once for all other machines, for example? Thanks and sorry if there is an answer already somewhere Smiley

1480869064
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480869064

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480869064
Reply with quote  #2

1480869064
Report to moderator
1480869064
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480869064

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480869064
Reply with quote  #2

1480869064
Report to moderator
1480869064
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480869064

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480869064
Reply with quote  #2

1480869064
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Adrian-x
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330



View Profile
October 14, 2014, 11:20:05 PM
 #4242

feature request:
> once I double click on a wallet, I get the "Wallet Properties" window.
   (It displays all my addresses)

at the top of this window are 3 check boxes;  1) Hide Empty 2) Hide Change 3) Hide Unused.

The one I want to use is missing 4) Hide Used I would like to see empty but unused addresses but hide the empty used addresses. and make that dealt.

thanks,

Thank me in Bits 12MwnzxtprG2mHm3rKdgi7NmJKCypsMMQw
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316

Armory Developer


View Profile
October 15, 2014, 06:40:14 AM
 #4243

Hi! Is it possible to run a "server" instance of Armory which does synchronisation with bitcoin core and whole network, and connect to it remotely via multiple "client-side" instances of Amory? So I can download and sync blockchain once for all other machines, for example? Thanks and sorry if there is an answer already somewhere Smiley

That would be the equivalent to a supernode/litenode paradigm. Supernode is on its way, litenode... well we have a road map but no one working on it yet.

btcarmory.com
Deth
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 533



View Profile
October 15, 2014, 11:40:43 AM
 #4244

Hi! Is it possible to run a "server" instance of Armory which does synchronisation with bitcoin core and whole network, and connect to it remotely via multiple "client-side" instances of Amory? So I can download and sync blockchain once for all other machines, for example? Thanks and sorry if there is an answer already somewhere Smiley

That would be the equivalent to a supernode/litenode paradigm. Supernode is on its way, litenode... well we have a road map but no one working on it yet.
Could you be more specific, please? Smiley Where can I read about it?

goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316

Armory Developer


View Profile
October 15, 2014, 12:45:50 PM
 #4245

Hi! Is it possible to run a "server" instance of Armory which does synchronisation with bitcoin core and whole network, and connect to it remotely via multiple "client-side" instances of Amory? So I can download and sync blockchain once for all other machines, for example? Thanks and sorry if there is an answer already somewhere Smiley

That would be the equivalent to a supernode/litenode paradigm. Supernode is on its way, litenode... well we have a road map but no one working on it yet.
Could you be more specific, please? Smiley Where can I read about it?

There isn't much to read about it, really. You are asking for a server instance of Armory (aka supernode, tracks all addresses in the blockchain) and a client instance (aka litenode, has no block data, and fetches wallet history from a server instance). That's the plan for the future iterations. Supernode is well on its way, as for litenode, we gonna make a robust supernode release before thinking about that one.

btcarmory.com
justusranvier
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400



View Profile WWW
October 15, 2014, 12:52:41 PM
 #4246

Hi! Is it possible to run a "server" instance of Armory which does synchronisation with bitcoin core and whole network, and connect to it remotely via multiple "client-side" instances of Amory? So I can download and sync blockchain once for all other machines, for example? Thanks and sorry if there is an answer already somewhere Smiley
btcd has that architecture and is supports the Armory wallet format, but their GUI is currently... minimalistic.
Winterfrost
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 149


GPG 0FC76C1241E39BF6


View Profile
October 16, 2014, 03:31:04 AM
 #4247


The one I want to use is missing 4) Hide Used I would like to see empty but unused addresses but hide the empty used addresses. and make that dealt.


I've actually been wanting this feature too. I would find it immensely useful and it fits with not reusing addresses paradigm.

1winteru2GkEyqLGK95WVCHwBBpGRJXW1
Rogue Star
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 88


View Profile
October 16, 2014, 06:00:15 AM
 #4248


The one I want to use is missing 4) Hide Used I would like to see empty but unused addresses but hide the empty used addresses. and make that dealt.


I've actually been wanting this feature too. I would find it immensely useful and it fits with not reusing addresses paradigm.
Thirded, I was looking for just this feature just yesterday and was somewhat surprised it wasn't there for the reason mentioned above.

you can donate to me for whatever reason at: 18xbnjDDXxgcvRzv5k2vmrKQHWDjYsBDCf
Kluge
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Michael, send me some coins before I hitman you


View Profile
October 16, 2014, 07:45:52 AM
 #4249

What is the progress on the Android client Trace suggested (or reinforced)? Could someone outline its exact purpose and planned features?

(might be worth posting answer here, instead)

Don't mix your coins someone said isn't legal
Adrian-x
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330



View Profile
October 16, 2014, 03:55:08 PM
 #4250

Quote from: Rogue Star link=topic=56424.msg9219326#msg9219326 da[b
[/b]te=1413439215]

The one I want to use is missing 4) Hide Used I would like to see empty but unused addresses but hide the empty used addresses. and make that dealt.


I've actually been wanting this feature too. I would find it immensely useful and it fits with not reusing addresses paradigm.
Thirded, I was looking for just this feature just yesterday and was somewhat surprised it wasn't there for the reason mentioned above.
It's probably missing because of how we use language.
The check boxes there have a direct opposite while the one I would like is more complicated to communicate.
 On second thought it should be: hide used address with a 0 balance.

Thank me in Bits 12MwnzxtprG2mHm3rKdgi7NmJKCypsMMQw
Rampion
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


View Profile
October 20, 2014, 11:34:51 AM
 #4251

Has the latest version (0.92.3) been tested on Yosemite (OSX 10.10)?

sbrzol
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 562


View Profile
October 20, 2014, 12:06:54 PM
 #4252

Last week i tried to use bitcoin qt ( i can see my balance and all transactions ),  but my passphrase did not work there, later i realized (after opened the bicoin.conf file : rpcuser=generated_by_armory) that i installed armory

i did not use Armory more than 4 months , i opened it yesterday but there is no any wallet
where can i find my wallet?   how can i restore it?  
i know my armory passphrase (same as bitcoin qt), but there is no .wallet  file (Appdata/roaming/armory) on my computer to open and recover

or is it possible to recover my wallet  from wallat.dat (bitcoin qt ) and armory passphrase?  

or perhaps i never made any wallet with armory , in the log file i cannot see such (creating) item but i can see  

always 0 :  ArmoryQt.py:2359 - Number of wallets read in: 0

2014-06-26 13:23 (INFO) -- ArmoryUtils.pyc:524 - Executing popen: [u'icacls', u'C:\\Users\\xyz\\AppData\\Roaming\\Bitcoin\\bitcoin.conf', u'/inheritance:r', u'/grant:r', u'xzy:F']  

(it is possible that earlier i used 32bit qt, an now 64 bit, and the database location bitcoinqt and armory changed many times , no enough space on C)

or why does not work my passphrase in bitcoin-qt, if i never created any wallet with armory?  

so how can i get back the access to my wallet ?
pitiflin
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 223


View Profile
October 20, 2014, 03:51:30 PM
 #4253

Hi there,

I'm running the lasts versions of bitcoin-qt and Armory

I want to run Armory through TOR but how can I do it? I know this matter has ben already explained before, but I can't find the pages.

I see that the new version includes an option for TOR.

And second questions, is it secure?

I've had bad experiences with blockchain + TOR and coinbase + TOR losing small amounts with both wallets.

I've read that visiting clearnet sites with TOR isn't a good idea, that's why I ask if Armory + TOR is secure.

I store 90% of my BTC in a cold wallet in Armory, and I don't want to lose them...

Any help would be much appreciated, as I said, I store all the funds in Armory and I'm quite paranoid about security.

Best regards
picobit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 547


Decor in numeris


View Profile
October 20, 2014, 04:41:33 PM
 #4254

Last week i tried to use bitcoin qt ( i can see my balance and all transactions ),  but my passphrase did not work there, later i realized (after opened the bicoin.conf file : rpcuser=generated_by_armory) that i installed armory

Armory does not touch the password for the Bitcoin-QT wallet (doing so would be extremely bad behaviour!).  It *does* touch the bitcoin-qt file, but only to set up communication between the two clients.  I think it does set up a password for that communication, but it is totally separate from your bitcoin wallet password.

It indeed looks like from the log file that you never created an Armory wallet.  Your bitcoins must then be in the Bitcoin-QT wallet.  The most likely explanation is that you used another passphase for Bitcoin-QT than the one you are trying now.  Do you have an unencrypted backup or a paper backup of the Bitcoin Qt keys?  Without such a backup, there is no other way to recover than remembering the correct passphase.
doug_armory
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 255

Senior Developer - Armory


View Profile WWW
October 20, 2014, 07:24:09 PM
 #4255

Has the latest version (0.92.3) been tested on Yosemite (OSX 10.10)?

I haven't tried the version Alan posted. It should work, though. The code has been specifically patched to handle Yosemite. I haven't seen any Yosemite-specific issues come up during testing. That being said, if anybody comes across any issues, please file a ticket.

Thanks!

Senior Developer -  Armory Technologies, Inc.
sbrzol
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 562


View Profile
October 20, 2014, 08:22:53 PM
 #4256

Last week i tried to use bitcoin qt ( i can see my balance and all transactions ),  but my passphrase did not work there, later i realized (after opened the bicoin.conf file : rpcuser=generated_by_armory) that i installed armory

Armory does not touch the password for the Bitcoin-QT wallet (doing so would be extremely bad behaviour!).  It *does* touch the bitcoin-qt file, but only to set up communication between the two clients.  I think it does set up a password for that communication, but it is totally separate from your bitcoin wallet password.

It indeed looks like from the log file that you never created an Armory wallet.  Your bitcoins must then be in the Bitcoin-QT wallet.  The most likely explanation is that you used another passphase for Bitcoin-QT than the one you are trying now.  Do you have an unencrypted backup or a paper backup of the Bitcoin Qt keys?  Without such a backup, there is no other way to recover than remembering the correct passphase.



in the bicoin.conf  file i can see these :

rpcuser=generated_by_armory

rpcpassword=43 long string

so this means nothing ?  

is it possible that i have never created any wallet in armory but after i installed armory some way i attached my bitcoin qt wallet to armory and it showed up in armory as a wallet and i set a password/passphase for it (that probably created those entries in bicoin.conf file)  and so now i cannot use old passphase in the bitcoin qt wallet beacuse armory take control over bitcoin qt ( not allowing transactions from bitcoin qt)

(if i create a wallet in armory and i can see my whole btc balance in armory in this wallet , can i see my whole balance in bitcoin qt too or will it be empty ? )

bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
October 20, 2014, 08:51:13 PM
 #4257

Armory does not take over your Bitcoin wallet, they always stay separately you can't even import your coins until you send to yourself manually

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
Adrian-x
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330



View Profile
October 20, 2014, 09:53:53 PM
 #4258


in the bicoin.conf  file i can see these :

rpcuser=generated_by_armory

rpcpassword=43 long string

(1)so this means nothing ?  

is it possible that i have never created any wallet in armory but after i installed armory some way i attached my bitcoin qt wallet to armory and it showed up in armory as a wallet and i set a password/passphase for it (that probably created those entries in bicoin.conf file)  and so now i cannot use old passphase in the bitcoin qt wallet beacuse armory take control over bitcoin qt ( not allowing transactions from bitcoin qt)

(2)(if i create a wallet in armory and i can see my whole btc balance in armory in this wallet , can i see my whole balance in bitcoin qt too or will it be empty ? )


1)Yip it's not relevant the only time I've used rpcuser and rpcpassword was solo mining log ago. What I understand now is you want a strong password to prevent hacking your core node. So one is usually auto generated.

Armory uses Bitcoind not Bitcoin-QT - "d" is a command line version you can only run one or the other at a time because they share the downloaded blockchain.

I'd search your computer for a wallet.dat file. If you're trying to recover lost coins.

2) I think in an early version of Bitcoin QT one may have had an option to import private keys, this hasn't been the case for me ever since I started using armory about 2.5 years ago.

The Bitcoin-QT now called Bitcoin-Core wallet format is not compatible with the armory format. You can't see your Core balance in Armory or the other way around.

A wallet file just stores private keys if you know what you're doing you can export and import private keys into any wallet.
If you're not sure what your doing you can import public keys (watch only wallets) as you don't have the private key you can't control the coins.

Exporting and importing private keys requires some understand and security, these options are generally not available in standard configurations (consumer protection by technicality)

Thank me in Bits 12MwnzxtprG2mHm3rKdgi7NmJKCypsMMQw
pitiflin
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 223


View Profile
October 20, 2014, 10:17:14 PM
 #4259

Hi there,

I'm running the lasts versions of bitcoin-qt and Armory

I want to run Armory through TOR but how can I do it? I know this matter has ben already explained before, but I can't find the pages.

I see that the new version includes an option for TOR.

And second questions, is it secure?

I've had bad experiences with blockchain + TOR and coinbase + TOR losing small amounts with both wallets.

I've read that visiting clearnet sites with TOR isn't a good idea, that's why I ask if Armory + TOR is secure.

I store 90% of my BTC in a cold wallet in Armory, and I don't want to lose them...

Any help would be much appreciated, as I said, I store all the funds in Armory and I'm quite paranoid about security.

Best regards

I'm putting the message again just for more visibility...
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
October 20, 2014, 10:25:28 PM
 #4260

Hi there,

I'm running the lasts versions of bitcoin-qt and Armory

I want to run Armory through TOR but how can I do it? I know this matter has ben already explained before, but I can't find the pages.

I see that the new version includes an option for TOR.

And second questions, is it secure?

I've had bad experiences with blockchain + TOR and coinbase + TOR losing small amounts with both wallets.

I've read that visiting clearnet sites with TOR isn't a good idea, that's why I ask if Armory + TOR is secure.

I store 90% of my BTC in a cold wallet in Armory, and I don't want to lose them...

Any help would be much appreciated, as I said, I store all the funds in Armory and I'm quite paranoid about security.

Best regards

I'm putting the message again just for more visibility...

I dont think armory tor helps.. Your transactions will still send through bitcoind

Look into torrifying bitcoin

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
Pages: « 1 ... 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 [213] 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!