Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 03:58:26 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 [230] 231 232 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Armory - Discussion Thread  (Read 482274 times)
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330

Armory Developer


View Profile
August 16, 2015, 11:31:12 PM
 #4581

Possibly some bad blocks. Try to sync the testnet chain, see if you get the same symptoms.

btcarmory.com
1481299106
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481299106

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481299106
Reply with quote  #2

1481299106
Report to moderator
1481299106
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481299106

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481299106
Reply with quote  #2

1481299106
Report to moderator
1481299106
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481299106

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481299106
Reply with quote  #2

1481299106
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481299106
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481299106

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481299106
Reply with quote  #2

1481299106
Report to moderator
1481299106
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481299106

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481299106
Reply with quote  #2

1481299106
Report to moderator
1481299106
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481299106

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481299106
Reply with quote  #2

1481299106
Report to moderator
koeppelmann
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
August 18, 2015, 09:07:51 PM
 #4582

It is thread 5:

Code:
Thread 5 Crashed:
0   _CppBlockUtils.so              0x0000000104e3a3c6 StoredHeadHgtList::unserializeDBValue(BinaryRefReader&) + 470
1   _CppBlockUtils.so              0x0000000104e3a694 StoredHeadHgtList::unserializeDBValue(BinaryDataRef) + 52
2   _CppBlockUtils.so              0x0000000104e157b3 LMDBBlockDatabase::getStoredHeadHgtList(StoredHeadHgtList&, unsigned int) + 179
3   _CppBlockUtils.so              0x0000000104e1494e LMDBBlockDatabase::putBareHeader(StoredHeader&, bool) + 302
4   _CppBlockUtils.so              0x0000000104e94e25 Blockchain::putNewBareHeaders(LMDBBlockDatabase*) + 309
5   _CppBlockUtils.so              0x0000000104e4e131 BlockDataManager_LevelDB::loadDiskState(std::__1::function<void (BDMPhase, double, unsigned int, unsigned int)> const&, bool) + 2945
6   _CppBlockUtils.so              0x0000000104ea5af2 BlockDataManagerThread::run() + 578
7   _CppBlockUtils.so              0x0000000104ea57f9 BlockDataManagerThread::thrun(void*) + 9
8   libsystem_pthread.dylib        0x00007fff91c5305a _pthread_body + 131
9   libsystem_pthread.dylib        0x00007fff91c52fd7 _pthread_start + 176
10  libsystem_pthread.dylib        0x00007fff91c503ed thread_start + 13

Ah ha. That is definitely Armory code.

So any tipps what I can do? Currently I simply can't access the funds in my Armory wallet?
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330

Armory Developer


View Profile
August 18, 2015, 10:39:38 PM
 #4583

Build ffreeze and try that instead.

btcarmory.com
Moria843
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 384


Found Lost beach - quiet now


View Profile
August 22, 2015, 09:22:05 PM
 #4584

I've been playing around with a "Hive" wallet on my iPhone for small change. They don't allow you to see the private key. Is there a way I can monitor, or add a watch-only wallet to my other Armory wallets using only the public keys from the Hive wallet?

Hot time, summer in the city, back of my mine getting hot & gritty!!!
Ente
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1834



View Profile
August 24, 2015, 01:12:19 PM
 #4585

This comes up regularly, to add a public key/adress to your Armory wallet.
Currently it is not possible, because this would be an attack vector, where the user believes he received a payment, but in fact only sees a payment on an adress he doesn't control.
The next suggestion was to clearly highlight those adresses, but as of now, nothing like that is possible.

I, for one, would like that feature as well. I would create a watching-only wallet with interesting external adresses.
Oh, wait, the name "watch-only wallet" is already occupied for something similar, but completely different in Armory.. See the problems?

Ente
Moria843
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 384


Found Lost beach - quiet now


View Profile
August 24, 2015, 04:45:41 PM
 #4586

Thanks for the explanation. Using my public addresses, I also use bitWallet on my iPhone to monitor the Armory wallets on my hot and cold computers. I never loaded any private keys to bitWallet so I can't spend the coins from bitWallet (except for those in a small spending wallet).

I like bitWallet for mobile monitoring because you can set it up to alert you for transactions. I always thought this was safe since even if my phone or bitWallet were compromised, only the small spending account would be at risk.

Now I'm wondering if this is safe to do, or am I missing something?

Hot time, summer in the city, back of my mine getting hot & gritty!!!
Ente
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1834



View Profile
August 25, 2015, 10:20:22 AM
 #4587

Technically it's safe, as there are no privkeys on your phone.
The attack vectors are, as so often, targeting the user. Tricking him to believe something was paid which wasn't (with somehow having the attackers watch-adresses added), or simply checking out the users watch-adresses-balance, and forcing him to give up the coins.
This will eventually be a problem, I suppose. That attackers find out the balance of someone, and simply use force to overcome any smart technical obstacle.
Oh, by the way, sadly, I own no bitcoins. At all.

Ente
visdude
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 670


View Profile
August 30, 2015, 09:41:55 PM
 #4588

I've been exploring and trying to set up my Windows-based online Armory (watch only) wallets in a Linux machine.

So far, Bitcoin Core was a breeze; setting up a different location for the blockchain database other than the default one is made easy as it is now an option during installation. I just copied the up-to-date Windows Bitcoin data over to the Linux location and didn't have to go through the complicated workaround outlined on the Armory support site (I did it for the my Windows Bitcoin Core and Armory installations). I was hoping that Armory would also have such option and allow me to just manually point it to the location of the Bitcoin data folder, wherever that might be.  Unfortunately, it doesn't. With the ever-increasing size of the Armory database along with the Bitcoin core blockchain data and thereby hogging precious SSD space exclusively reserved for system/app files, I thought this would already be an option in Armory (it already is in Bitcoin Core).

I hope that such an option would be incorporated in the next release. In the meantime, can anybody please advice me on a workaround so that I'll be able to define a different location for the Armory database/wallet files in the Linux machine with the intention of using my current Windows Armory database/wallet files with it (parallel setup)?

I am not very well-versed in Linux let alone its file system/structure...and Bash (not yet anyway). But as is obvious, I'm really trying to learn it as my trust in Windows is slowly but surely eroding day by day. Therefore, it is best to assume (for my sake) that I am completely a Linux virgin.

Lastly, my offline Armory is, of course, Windows-based (hopefully will someday be Linux). I assume that I could still use it to sign transactions generated by a Linux-based Armory, right?

Thanks in advance and apologies for the long tale.

Carlton Banks
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470



View Profile
August 30, 2015, 09:49:57 PM
 #4589

Right click the Armory executable, find the tab (or whatever it is on Windows these days) where the target command line statement is. It should say something like "Armory.exe".

Append the argument "--satoshi-datadir=<your bitcoin core directory location here>" to the command. Should work.

Vires in numeris
opentoe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190

Personal text my ass....


View Profile WWW
August 30, 2015, 10:38:25 PM
 #4590

Right click the Armory executable, find the tab (or whatever it is on Windows these days) where the target command line statement is. It should say something like "Armory.exe".

Append the argument "--satoshi-datadir=<your bitcoin core directory location here>" to the command. Should work.


The Armory settings confused me a little, but you also need to add start up switches. Read this thread for some help.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1146925.0


Need help with your Newznab usenet indexer? http://www.newznabforums.com
visdude
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 670


View Profile
August 30, 2015, 10:44:47 PM
 #4591

Right click the Armory executable, find the tab (or whatever it is on Windows these days) where the target command line statement is. It should say something like "Armory.exe".

Append the argument "--satoshi-datadir=<your bitcoin core directory location here>" to the command. Should work.
Thanks for the quick reply.

That's what I did in the Windows installations as outlined in the workaround on the Armory support page and they have been working flawlessly ever since. The following are my Windows shortcut parameters for both executables:

Code:
"C:\Program Files\Bitcoin\bitcoin-qt.exe" -datadir="D:\Bitcoin"

Code:
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Armory\ArmoryQt.exe" --skip-announce-check --satoshi-datadir="D:\Bitcoin" --datadir="D:\Armory"

As I alluded earlier, I have no clue as to where I'd put the Armory shortcut parameter in the Linux system (I already got Bitcoin Core running with an alternative database location/directory as it was an option during the Linux Bitcoin Core installation).

Carlton Banks
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470



View Profile
August 30, 2015, 10:54:00 PM
 #4592

Ah, with Linux, do this:

  • Open bash/command line in your distro.
  • sudo vi /usr/share/applications/bitcoin-qt.desktop
(or whatever the bitcoin labelled file is named, check using command: ls -l /usr/share/applications/ )
  • Press i to begin editing (INSERT will appear at the bottom of the terminal window)
  • Add the "--datadir=" line to the executable command
  • Press i again
  • Type :wq then press return

You can check that the changes were written to the file properly by repeating step 2

Vires in numeris
visdude
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 670


View Profile
August 30, 2015, 11:32:46 PM
 #4593

Ah, with Linux, do this:

  • Open bash/command line in your distro.
  • sudo vi /usr/share/applications/bitcoin-qt.desktop
(or whatever the bitcoin labelled file is named, check using command: ls -l /usr/share/applications/ )
  • Press i to begin editing (INSERT will appear at the bottom of the terminal window)
  • Add the "--datadir=" line to the executable command
  • Press i again
  • Type :wq then press return

You can check that the changes were written to the file properly by repeating step 2

But I already got Bitcoin Core running in the Linux machine with its ".bitcoin" data folder in a different drive/directory than the default one (defined through an option during installation which Armory doesn't afford).

I guess the crux of the matter of my inquiry is how do I tell Armory in the Linux machine to put/establish its ".armory" data folder in a different drive/directory than the default one as well. As a Linux noob, I haven't the foggiest. Is there a simple way for something that seems to be simple itself? Sorry for not being very clear about it initially.


Carlton Banks
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470



View Profile
August 30, 2015, 11:44:38 PM
 #4594

I guess the crux of the matter of my inquiry is how do I tell Armory in the Linux machine to put/establish its ".armory" data folder in a different drive/directory than the default one as well. As a Linux noob, I haven't the foggiest. Is there a simple way for something that seems to be simple itself? Sorry for not being very clear about it initially.

Armory settings in the application. Two text boxes at the top of the layout, the lower one is where you specify Armory's folder.

Vires in numeris
visdude
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 670


View Profile
August 31, 2015, 12:18:37 AM
 #4595

I guess the crux of the matter of my inquiry is how do I tell Armory in the Linux machine to put/establish its ".armory" data folder in a different drive/directory than the default one as well. As a Linux noob, I haven't the foggiest. Is there a simple way for something that seems to be simple itself? Sorry for not being very clear about it initially.

Armory settings in the application. Two text boxes at the top of the layout, the lower one is where you specify Armory's folder.

Thanks for the tip. However, the text boxes are meant to define "Bitcoin Install Dir" (program) and "Bitcoin Home Dir" (data) which are handy in defining the respective non-default Bitcoin Core directories so that Armory is able to locate them and sync with Bitcore Core properly.

What I really need is to be able to establish or define the Linux Armory database folder (".armory") in a different drive with a lot more space instead of the default, limited-space system SSD. How do I go about doing that?

Carlton Banks
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470



View Profile
August 31, 2015, 12:24:12 AM
 #4596

I guess the crux of the matter of my inquiry is how do I tell Armory in the Linux machine to put/establish its ".armory" data folder in a different drive/directory than the default one as well. As a Linux noob, I haven't the foggiest. Is there a simple way for something that seems to be simple itself? Sorry for not being very clear about it initially.

Armory settings in the application. Two text boxes at the top of the layout, the lower one is where you specify Armory's folder.

Thanks for the tip. However, the text boxes are meant to define "Bitcoin Install Dir" (program) and "Bitcoin Home Dir" (data) which are handy in defining the respective non-default Bitcoin Core directories so that Armory is able to locate them and sync with Bitcore Core properly.

What I really need is to be able to establish or define the Linux Armory database folder (".armory") in a different drive with a lot more space instead of the default, limited-space system SSD. How do I go about doing that?

Sorry, we're possibly both as inattentive as each other.

The same method I described a few posts back for the /usr/share/applications/bitcoin-qt.desktop file. Substitute bitcoin-qt.desktop with armory.desktop, add the line --datadir=<armory home folder on your system> to the Executable line in that file.

Don't try to use the file explorer to select the file and open it in a text editor, this typically won't work. You are forced to use the command line to make it work; don't worry it's goo for you (in the same way as eating your greens  Wink)

Vires in numeris
visdude
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 670


View Profile
August 31, 2015, 08:27:14 AM
 #4597

Ah, with Linux, do this:

  • Open bash/command line in your distro.
  • sudo vi /usr/share/applications/bitcoin-qt.desktop
(or whatever the bitcoin labelled file is named, check using command: ls -l /usr/share/applications/ )
  • Press i to begin editing (INSERT will appear at the bottom of the terminal window)
  • Add the "--datadir=" line to the executable command
  • Press i again
  • Type :wq then press return

You can check that the changes were written to the file properly by repeating step 2

"sudo vi /usr/share/applications/armory.desktop" got me this:

Code:
Name=Armory
GenericName=Bitcoin Client
Comment=Full-featured Bitcoin wallet management application
Categories=Qt;Network;
Exec=/usr/bin/armory %u
Icon=armoryicon
StartupNotify=false
Terminal=false
MimeType=x-scheme-handler/bitcoin

...but "i" seem to not do anything. "INSERT" did not appear at the bottom of the terminal window and when I attempted to press "i" a few more times and also other keys, it started to do some weird stuff to it (deleting characters, adding new lines, etc.). Not knowing what to do next, I just closed the terminal.

Each time I do "sudo vi /usr/share/applications/armory.desktop" again, I now get this:

Code:
E325: ATTENTION
Found a swap file by the name "/usr/share/applications/.armory.desktop.swp"
          owned by: root   dated: Sun Aug 30 21:15:21 2015
         file name: /usr/share/applications/armory.desktop
          modified: YES
         user name: root   host name: <computername>
        process ID: 4054
While opening file "/usr/share/applications/armory.desktop"
             dated: Sun Aug 30 22:05:17 2015
      NEWER than swap file!

(1) Another program may be editing the same file.  If this is the case,
    be careful not to end up with two different instances of the same
    file when making changes.  Quit, or continue with caution.
(2) An edit session for this file crashed.
    If this is the case, use ":recover" or "vim -r /usr/share/applications/armor
y.desktop"
    to recover the changes (see ":help recovery").
    If you did this already, delete the swap file "/usr/share/applications/.armo
ry.desktop.swp"
    to avoid this message.
"/usr/share/applications/armory.desktop" 10 lines, 232 characters
Press ENTER or type command to continue

I have no clue how to proceed from here.

Assuming that I get "i" (INSERT) to eventually work, which (Executable) line do I add the "--datadir=<alternate armory home folder path>" to?
Carlton Banks
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470



View Profile
August 31, 2015, 09:14:44 AM
 #4598

visdude, you must have pressed a different key before trying to press i. vi is difficult like that.

Pressing Esc is your saviour. If pressing i does not work, press Esc once or twice, then try i.

The swap file stuff is a result of closing the terminal without quitting vi. To quit vi, press Esc once or twice first (to get it in the correct mode). Then type :q! and press Return. The text :q! will appear on the bottom line of your terminal console as you type it out (before you hit Return)

The line you need to append is:

Exec=/usr/bin/armory %u

Change it to:

Exec=/usr/bin/armory --datadir=<Armory home folder of choice> %u


You can specify the Bitcoin data folder by adding --satoshi-datadir= also.

Vires in numeris
visdude
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 670


View Profile
August 31, 2015, 09:42:42 AM
 #4599


Carlton Banks, do I press i at the swap file warning display where it says "Press ENTER or type command to continue" at bottom or should I hit Esc a couple of times first then i ?

Carlton Banks
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470



View Profile
August 31, 2015, 09:52:16 AM
 #4600


Carlton Banks, do I press i at the swap file warning display where it says "Press ENTER or type command to continue" at bottom or should I hit Esc a couple of times first then i ?



To get rid of that warning, you need to restart your computer. There is a way of releasing it from swap using the command line, but I only did it once when I was learning to use vi. Just reboot for now.

Edit: the warning tells you what to do (as well as what's going on). If it doesn't disappear, allow me to quote from the warning:  "If you did this already, delete the swap file "/usr/share/applications/.armo
ry.desktop.swp" "

so that would be: sudo rm /usr/share/applications/.armory.desktop.swp

Vires in numeris
Pages: « 1 ... 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 [230] 231 232 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!