Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 04:15:50 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: AMD Stream SDK 2.6 (Catalyst 11.12/12.1) - Get your performance back! (Phoenix)  (Read 14004 times)
d3m0n1q_733rz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile WWW
February 10, 2012, 01:58:57 PM
 #21

*Cough*Diapolo VECTORS8 GOFFSET=false*cough*
Play around with the worksize.

Funroll_Loops, the theoretically quicker breakfast cereal!
Check out http://www.facebook.com/JupiterICT for all of your computing needs.  If you need it, we can get it.  We have solutions for your computing conundrums.  BTC accepted!  12HWUSguWXRCQKfkPeJygVR1ex5wbg3hAq
1481213750
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481213750

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481213750
Reply with quote  #2

1481213750
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481213750
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481213750

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481213750
Reply with quote  #2

1481213750
Report to moderator
1481213750
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481213750

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481213750
Reply with quote  #2

1481213750
Report to moderator
DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
February 10, 2012, 02:14:01 PM
 #22

Will the CPU bug be gone with reversing to 2.1? How do I do that when I'm on 2.6 already? Heard all over the board going back isn't easy AT ALL.

Thx!

Actually Quite easy.. Let me know if you want help with it.

Except his problem isn't the SDK. There are two known CPU bugs, the first is SDK side and exists in 2.2 and 2.3 only. 2.1, 2.4, 2.5, and 2.6 do not exhibit it, and 2.2 and 2.3 exhibit it on any driver version; the other bug is in driver and exists in 11.7 through 11.11* and exhibit it with any SDK including both 2.1 and 2.6.

* Depends on the user, some had it fixed in 11.9 and 11.10. There are no known instances of this bug in 12.1 and up.

deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470



View Profile WWW
February 10, 2012, 07:06:04 PM
 #23

I finally got a 5870 to mess around with, and, yeah, the "best" memory setting on that is diff than the 5830.  

At 1000/395, it gets 440mhash, at 1000/310, 448mhash, etc.

1/3rd core speed is considered the rule. So, in your case, 1000/333.

Not a good rule. I did a SI shit ton of benchmarking every 10MHz (and 5MHz around the peak) on SDK 2.5 (worksize 256). On a 5770 at 950MHz, the performance peak was at 295MHz RAM; at 800MHz it was around 260MHz. On a 5830 at 1050MHz peak performance was obtained at 375MHz-390MHz RAM; at 800MHz, it was still around 360MHz. There is probably a better formula that involves number of stream processors and memory bus width vs worksize and vector size, but benchmarking your particular configuration is ideal.

Of course this topic is about SDK 2.6, where any memory clock other than ~1000Mhz will hurt your hashrate.

Joshwaa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 489



View Profile
February 10, 2012, 07:23:51 PM
 #24

I finally got a 5870 to mess around with, and, yeah, the "best" memory setting on that is diff than the 5830.  

At 1000/395, it gets 440mhash, at 1000/310, 448mhash, etc.

1/3rd core speed is considered the rule. So, in your case, 1000/333.

Not a good rule. I did a SI shit ton of benchmarking every 10MHz (and 5MHz around the peak) on SDK 2.5 (worksize 256). On a 5770 at 950MHz, the performance peak was at 295MHz RAM; at 800MHz it was around 260MHz. On a 5830 at 1050MHz peak performance was obtained at 375MHz-390MHz RAM; at 800MHz, it was still around 360MHz. There is probably a better formula that involves number of stream processors and memory bus width vs worksize and vector size, but benchmarking your particular configuration is ideal.

Of course this topic is about SDK 2.6, where any memory clock other than ~1000Mhz will hurt your hashrate.

Except for on a 7970. It helped!

Like what I said : 1JosHWaA2GywdZo9pmGLNJ5XSt8j7nzNiF
Don't like what I said : 1FuckU1u89U9nBKQu4rCHz16uF4RhpSTV
Don't Like BFL's Project Management : 1FuckbFLZpmWLuyHyFJw1RGkWm3yRM1L5D
DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
February 10, 2012, 10:31:33 PM
 #25

I finally got a 5870 to mess around with, and, yeah, the "best" memory setting on that is diff than the 5830.  

At 1000/395, it gets 440mhash, at 1000/310, 448mhash, etc.

1/3rd core speed is considered the rule. So, in your case, 1000/333.

Not a good rule. I did a SI shit ton of benchmarking every 10MHz (and 5MHz around the peak) on SDK 2.5 (worksize 256). On a 5770 at 950MHz, the performance peak was at 295MHz RAM; at 800MHz it was around 260MHz. On a 5830 at 1050MHz peak performance was obtained at 375MHz-390MHz RAM; at 800MHz, it was still around 360MHz. There is probably a better formula that involves number of stream processors and memory bus width vs worksize and vector size, but benchmarking your particular configuration is ideal.

Of course this topic is about SDK 2.6, where any memory clock other than ~1000Mhz will hurt your hashrate.

Memory speed is largely voodoo magic. Every "best" speed I've seen that doesn't fit the 1/3rd rule (such as on 1200mhz mem) 57xx/58xx) seems to still be between 1/3rd /1200*1000 (1000mhz core == 278mhz) and 1/3rd /1000*1200 (== 400 mhz), your lower and higher settings seem to be within that margin.

DrG
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456



View Profile
February 10, 2012, 11:08:49 PM
 #26

Is there a good app that let's me see the SDK version installed? I installed 11.12 drivers on a new build (using hardware that I know hashes higher - ie my 6870s are only getting 270MH even with DiabloMiner) and then uninstalled everything and reinstalled 11.7 drivers but I don't think it cleaned out the 2.6 SDK properly.

DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
February 10, 2012, 11:11:33 PM
 #27

Is there a good app that let's me see the SDK version installed? I installed 11.12 drivers on a new build (using hardware that I know hashes higher - ie my 6870s are only getting 270MH even with DiabloMiner) and then uninstalled everything and reinstalled 11.7 drivers but I don't think it cleaned out the 2.6 SDK properly.

DM says what your SDK is on startup. If it says AMD-APP (851.4), you're on SDK 2.6.

d3m0n1q_733rz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile WWW
February 11, 2012, 01:24:00 AM
 #28

I find it funny how everyone sort of ignored me there.  If you're going to test the kernels, test them to the fullest extent of their capabilities.  I would like to see how they measure up completely.  Which means include VECTORS8 with the GOFFSET=false

Funroll_Loops, the theoretically quicker breakfast cereal!
Check out http://www.facebook.com/JupiterICT for all of your computing needs.  If you need it, we can get it.  We have solutions for your computing conundrums.  BTC accepted!  12HWUSguWXRCQKfkPeJygVR1ex5wbg3hAq
zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile WWW
February 14, 2012, 08:44:11 AM
 #29

I find it funny how everyone sort of ignored me there.  If you're going to test the kernels, test them to the fullest extent of their capabilities.  I would like to see how they measure up completely.  Which means include VECTORS8 with the GOFFSET=false
Slower, on all worksizes

(ed: well, cpu was faster)

Dacentec, best deals for US dedicated servers. They regularly restock $20-$25 Opterons with 8-16GB RAM & 2x1-2TB HDD's (ofc, usually lots of other good stuff to choose from).  I did a Serverbear benchmark of one of my $20/mo Opteron (June last year), it's here.  Have had about a half dozen different servers with Dacentec, & none have failed to sustain at least 40MB/s (burst higher). My favorite is a 12-month rent-to-own ZT Systems 2XL5520 16GB 2x2TB SATA for $40/month (got lucky with the 'off-brand', haven't seen a RTO 2xL5520 for under $50/mo since -- at least for monthly contracts).  wholesaleinternet.com has some ancient 2-core intel CPUs @ $10/mo sometimes (I got an Intel Core 2 6300 @ 1.86GHz, with a 250GB HDD with 46000 hours on it, LOL. $20 @ Dacentec is much better, if you can grab one). joesdatacenter.com (same location as Wholesale Internet) also occasionally has specials (or if you don't want to wait, it has an AMD Opteron 170 @ $16/mo).
d3m0n1q_733rz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile WWW
February 14, 2012, 01:28:23 PM
 #30

I find it funny how everyone sort of ignored me there.  If you're going to test the kernels, test them to the fullest extent of their capabilities.  I would like to see how they measure up completely.  Which means include VECTORS8 with the GOFFSET=false
Slower, on all worksizes

(ed: well, cpu was faster)
Hmm, I do know that VLIW is faster with VECTORS8.  I would have thought that GCN could handle it.  I wonder why it decreased like that.  Hmm... Huh

Funroll_Loops, the theoretically quicker breakfast cereal!
Check out http://www.facebook.com/JupiterICT for all of your computing needs.  If you need it, we can get it.  We have solutions for your computing conundrums.  BTC accepted!  12HWUSguWXRCQKfkPeJygVR1ex5wbg3hAq
stoppots
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 271


View Profile
March 02, 2012, 05:43:52 PM
 #31

Is there a good app that let's me see the SDK version installed? I installed 11.12 drivers on a new build (using hardware that I know hashes higher - ie my 6870s are only getting 270MH even with DiabloMiner) and then uninstalled everything and reinstalled 11.7 drivers but I don't think it cleaned out the 2.6 SDK properly.

GPU Caps Viewer does a good job of providing plenty of information on wat ATI Stream/APP SDK's are installed on your system and allows you to sellect each GPU/CPU individually and displays a read out of wat the openCL/GL software is doing.

Seen it also allow you to select between either ATI Stream or APP SDK within the app when I had both installed at one time. Have not yet see it offered for linux systems but I suspect something similiar will soon surface.

Here is a link to the latest version.

http://www.geeks3d.com/20120202/gpu-caps-viewer-1-15-0-opengl-opencl-cuda-graphics-card-utility/
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!