Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 04:26:48 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Building a multi GPU system  (Read 10388 times)
allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988



View Profile
April 15, 2011, 01:24:37 AM
 #21

Hmm, interesting. I did run across that AMD thread when I ran into a similar problem with my 5970. The system blue screened while I was trying to load a youtube video from within facebook. At the time I was running 11.2. What I did was run driver cleaner and install 11.3 after and update flash, turn off gpu acceleration - so far no crashes. Not sure if it was 11.3 that fixed it or what, but I do think this problem can happen with 5970 too. Has anyone else had this with the 5970 or am I the only one? (win 7 64)

I was using a 5970 until I got this 6990 on Monday, and I upgraded my drivers every month, through 11.3, on Win 7 64.  No crashes.  The only problem I had (which started long ago) was that with GPU acceleration turned on in Flash, the image on my second monitor would jump up momentarily when a video started (actually not the entire image; there would be a black bar about 1/4 of the way up the screen about 50 pixels tall, and the image above that bar would jump up and back down).  Other people had the same problem.  I simply turned off GPU acceleration months ago and forgot about it.  Smiley

Edit: The 6990 does not have that problem, which is nice.

I see. So the crash was most likely caused by something else and not necessarily related to this issue the 6990s are having. I was messing around with the mem clock and fan speed very frequently before the system blue screened. I had the fan locked at 60% and I kept on lowering and raising and lowering the mem clock - trying to find if lowering mem clock affected hashing performance and if there is a "sweet spot" .

But anyways, I hope AMD comes out with a fix, and most of all I hope it's not something that is hardware related.

1480868808
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480868808

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480868808
Reply with quote  #2

1480868808
Report to moderator
1480868808
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480868808

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480868808
Reply with quote  #2

1480868808
Report to moderator
1480868808
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480868808

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480868808
Reply with quote  #2

1480868808
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
mrb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106


View Profile WWW
April 15, 2011, 03:58:57 AM
 #22

No, you need to modify the one that comes with the PC.  Follow this guide: http://www.overclock.net/folding-home-guides-tutorials/384733-30-second-dummy-plug.html

30s? Why so complex? The 5-second VGA Dummy Plug !
mrb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106


View Profile WWW
April 15, 2011, 04:00:51 AM
 #23

The 6990 is not supported under Linux yet, even with the 11.4b hotfix.
Probably will be fairly soon; all other 6900 series cards are.

Not true. I mine happily with multiple 6990s with the catalyst 11.411.3 driver on Linux.
To my surprise, even the older 11.311.2 works, if you write the xorg.conf manually.

That said I do use a custom CAL miner, as opposed to OpenCL, so perhaps the problems preventing you guys from using the 6990 only affect OpenCL miners.


Edited to fix catalyst version numbers.
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
April 15, 2011, 04:19:34 AM
 #24

The 6990 is not supported under Linux yet, even with the 11.4b hotfix.
Probably will be fairly soon; all other 6900 series cards are.

Not true. I mine happily with multiple 6990s with the catalyst 11.4 driver on Linux.
To my surprise, even the older 11.3 works, if you write the xorg.conf manually.

That said I do use a custom CAL miner, as opposed to OpenCL, so perhaps the problems preventing you guys from using the 6990 only affect OpenCL miners.

Would love a copy of that, but at that price I don't think I'd ever break even with the cost of 6990s and the insane cost of electricity in California.  At least not without a six figure investment in hardware capacity.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
FoS
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
April 15, 2011, 11:56:23 AM
 #25

I could plug both cards(5850 & 5770) and now they work perfectly with dummy plug, thank you TenthReality.
It's better mining than have a card useless.

http://deepbit.net/userbar/4d98638257b0b80c0f010000_8a6c263e0c.png (http://deepbit.net)
1CakT3GhGNwQFexv95DdoYgJmiB4JH3Wpq
Syke
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2086


View Profile
April 15, 2011, 05:21:51 PM
 #26

Not true. I mine happily with multiple 6990s with the catalyst 11.4 driver on Linux.
To my surprise, even the older 11.3 works, if you write the xorg.conf manually.

That said I do use a custom CAL miner, as opposed to OpenCL, so perhaps the problems preventing you guys from using the 6990 only affect OpenCL miners.
What catalyst 11.4 Linux driver?

Buy & Hold
mrb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106


View Profile WWW
April 15, 2011, 05:26:06 PM
 #27

What catalyst 11.4 Linux driver?

Oops I meant 11.3. And it works with 11.2 if you write the xorg.conf manually.


Single HD6990 mining with CAL 1.4.1332 (Catalyst 11.3) on Linux
mrjones
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
April 15, 2011, 06:21:16 PM
 #28

What catalyst 11.4 Linux driver?

There is this one, right?

1AVpan1kfmpgWP3XvqRYMt5sFoxgqAoRru
foxmulder
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile
April 16, 2011, 09:28:26 PM
 #29

The 11.4b linux driver seems not ready for prime time yet, i only get 250-301(averaging ~220) mhps per gpu on 6990, my setting is -v -f 0 -w 128.

Please  donate me : 1Cxa2JZ1CE4DUSLtg3j7xaNBNiqjbjQtcG

Die hard x-files fans should use bitcoin, like mulder's says "Bitcoin is out there!".
Syke
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2086


View Profile
April 16, 2011, 11:37:26 PM
 #30

The 11.4b linux driver seems not ready for prime time yet, i only get 250-301(averaging ~220) mhps per gpu on 6990, my setting is -v -f 0 -w 128.
Yes, very disappointing. I get about 275 per gpu with both 11.3 and 11.4b on my 6990s using DiabloMiner, all stock clocks/etc. I hoping for something more like 350.

Buy & Hold
mrb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106


View Profile WWW
April 17, 2011, 03:57:57 AM
 #31

Have you guys tried poclbm? So far, the best performance numbers I have heard about on the 6990 (with bios switch at position 2 = 830MHz) are:

o 683 Mhash/s using hdminer
o 550 Mhash/s using DiabloMiner (reported by Syke)
o ? Mhash/s using poclbm
bitcoin_ent
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
April 17, 2011, 02:30:56 PM
 #32

Has anyone tried the Foxconn A7DA-S motherboard?  http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813186168

It supports two pci-e cards and has an onboard Radeon HD3300.  Just curious if anyone has setup a dual card mining rig using this motherboard plus utilizing the onboard gpu.

LMGTFY
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644



View Profile
April 17, 2011, 02:34:42 PM
 #33

Has anyone tried the Foxconn A7DA-S motherboard?  http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813186168

It supports two pci-e cards and has an onboard Radeon HD3300.  Just curious if anyone has setup a dual card mining rig using this motherboard plus utilizing the onboard gpu.
I don't think the 3300 could be used for GPU mining - 3XXX's don't support OpenCL.

This space intentionally left blank.
bitcoin_ent
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
April 17, 2011, 02:38:54 PM
 #34

All Radeon HD 3xxx models support DirectX 10.1 and OpenGL 3.3[10]
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_AMD_graphics_processing_units

LMGTFY
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644



View Profile
April 17, 2011, 02:41:10 PM
 #35

All Radeon HD 3xxx models support DirectX 10.1 and OpenGL 3.3[10]
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_AMD_graphics_processing_units

OpenGL != OpenCL :-)

This space intentionally left blank.
bitcoin_ent
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
April 17, 2011, 02:41:46 PM
 #36

sorry ... my bad

Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!