Bitcoin Forum
May 26, 2017, 05:43:35 AM *
News: If the forum does not load normally for you, please send me a traceroute.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Building a multi GPU system  (Read 10756 times)
allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2156



View Profile
April 15, 2011, 01:24:37 AM
 #21

Hmm, interesting. I did run across that AMD thread when I ran into a similar problem with my 5970. The system blue screened while I was trying to load a youtube video from within facebook. At the time I was running 11.2. What I did was run driver cleaner and install 11.3 after and update flash, turn off gpu acceleration - so far no crashes. Not sure if it was 11.3 that fixed it or what, but I do think this problem can happen with 5970 too. Has anyone else had this with the 5970 or am I the only one? (win 7 64)

I was using a 5970 until I got this 6990 on Monday, and I upgraded my drivers every month, through 11.3, on Win 7 64.  No crashes.  The only problem I had (which started long ago) was that with GPU acceleration turned on in Flash, the image on my second monitor would jump up momentarily when a video started (actually not the entire image; there would be a black bar about 1/4 of the way up the screen about 50 pixels tall, and the image above that bar would jump up and back down).  Other people had the same problem.  I simply turned off GPU acceleration months ago and forgot about it.  Smiley

Edit: The 6990 does not have that problem, which is nice.

I see. So the crash was most likely caused by something else and not necessarily related to this issue the 6990s are having. I was messing around with the mem clock and fan speed very frequently before the system blue screened. I had the fan locked at 60% and I kept on lowering and raising and lowering the mem clock - trying to find if lowering mem clock affected hashing performance and if there is a "sweet spot" .

But anyways, I hope AMD comes out with a fix, and most of all I hope it's not something that is hardware related.

1495777415
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1495777415

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1495777415
Reply with quote  #2

1495777415
Report to moderator
1495777415
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1495777415

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1495777415
Reply with quote  #2

1495777415
Report to moderator
There are several different types of Bitcoin clients. EWallets are like banks -- a central organization has complete control over your money. You shouldn't put much money in EWallets.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1495777415
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1495777415

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1495777415
Reply with quote  #2

1495777415
Report to moderator
1495777415
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1495777415

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1495777415
Reply with quote  #2

1495777415
Report to moderator
mrb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232


View Profile WWW
April 15, 2011, 03:58:57 AM
 #22

No, you need to modify the one that comes with the PC.  Follow this guide: http://www.overclock.net/folding-home-guides-tutorials/384733-30-second-dummy-plug.html

30s? Why so complex? The 5-second VGA Dummy Plug !
mrb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232


View Profile WWW
April 15, 2011, 04:00:51 AM
 #23

The 6990 is not supported under Linux yet, even with the 11.4b hotfix.
Probably will be fairly soon; all other 6900 series cards are.

Not true. I mine happily with multiple 6990s with the catalyst 11.411.3 driver on Linux.
To my surprise, even the older 11.311.2 works, if you write the xorg.conf manually.

That said I do use a custom CAL miner, as opposed to OpenCL, so perhaps the problems preventing you guys from using the 6990 only affect OpenCL miners.


Edited to fix catalyst version numbers.
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
April 15, 2011, 04:19:34 AM
 #24

The 6990 is not supported under Linux yet, even with the 11.4b hotfix.
Probably will be fairly soon; all other 6900 series cards are.

Not true. I mine happily with multiple 6990s with the catalyst 11.4 driver on Linux.
To my surprise, even the older 11.3 works, if you write the xorg.conf manually.

That said I do use a custom CAL miner, as opposed to OpenCL, so perhaps the problems preventing you guys from using the 6990 only affect OpenCL miners.

Would love a copy of that, but at that price I don't think I'd ever break even with the cost of 6990s and the insane cost of electricity in California.  At least not without a six figure investment in hardware capacity.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
FoS
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
April 15, 2011, 11:56:23 AM
 #25

I could plug both cards(5850 & 5770) and now they work perfectly with dummy plug, thank you TenthReality.
It's better mining than have a card useless.

http://deepbit.net/userbar/4d98638257b0b80c0f010000_8a6c263e0c.png (http://deepbit.net)
1CakT3GhGNwQFexv95DdoYgJmiB4JH3Wpq
Syke
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268


View Profile
April 15, 2011, 05:21:51 PM
 #26

Not true. I mine happily with multiple 6990s with the catalyst 11.4 driver on Linux.
To my surprise, even the older 11.3 works, if you write the xorg.conf manually.

That said I do use a custom CAL miner, as opposed to OpenCL, so perhaps the problems preventing you guys from using the 6990 only affect OpenCL miners.
What catalyst 11.4 Linux driver?

Buy & Hold
mrb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232


View Profile WWW
April 15, 2011, 05:26:06 PM
 #27

What catalyst 11.4 Linux driver?

Oops I meant 11.3. And it works with 11.2 if you write the xorg.conf manually.


Single HD6990 mining with CAL 1.4.1332 (Catalyst 11.3) on Linux
mrjones
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
April 15, 2011, 06:21:16 PM
 #28

What catalyst 11.4 Linux driver?

There is this one, right?

1AVpan1kfmpgWP3XvqRYMt5sFoxgqAoRru
foxmulder
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile
April 16, 2011, 09:28:26 PM
 #29

The 11.4b linux driver seems not ready for prime time yet, i only get 250-301(averaging ~220) mhps per gpu on 6990, my setting is -v -f 0 -w 128.

Please  donate me : 1Cxa2JZ1CE4DUSLtg3j7xaNBNiqjbjQtcG

Die hard x-files fans should use bitcoin, like mulder's says "Bitcoin is out there!".
Syke
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268


View Profile
April 16, 2011, 11:37:26 PM
 #30

The 11.4b linux driver seems not ready for prime time yet, i only get 250-301(averaging ~220) mhps per gpu on 6990, my setting is -v -f 0 -w 128.
Yes, very disappointing. I get about 275 per gpu with both 11.3 and 11.4b on my 6990s using DiabloMiner, all stock clocks/etc. I hoping for something more like 350.

Buy & Hold
mrb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232


View Profile WWW
April 17, 2011, 03:57:57 AM
 #31

Have you guys tried poclbm? So far, the best performance numbers I have heard about on the 6990 (with bios switch at position 2 = 830MHz) are:

o 683 Mhash/s using hdminer
o 550 Mhash/s using DiabloMiner (reported by Syke)
o ? Mhash/s using poclbm
bitcoin_ent
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
April 17, 2011, 02:30:56 PM
 #32

Has anyone tried the Foxconn A7DA-S motherboard?  http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813186168

It supports two pci-e cards and has an onboard Radeon HD3300.  Just curious if anyone has setup a dual card mining rig using this motherboard plus utilizing the onboard gpu.

LMGTFY
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644



View Profile
April 17, 2011, 02:34:42 PM
 #33

Has anyone tried the Foxconn A7DA-S motherboard?  http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813186168

It supports two pci-e cards and has an onboard Radeon HD3300.  Just curious if anyone has setup a dual card mining rig using this motherboard plus utilizing the onboard gpu.
I don't think the 3300 could be used for GPU mining - 3XXX's don't support OpenCL.

This space intentionally left blank.
bitcoin_ent
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
April 17, 2011, 02:38:54 PM
 #34

All Radeon HD 3xxx models support DirectX 10.1 and OpenGL 3.3[10]
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_AMD_graphics_processing_units

LMGTFY
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644



View Profile
April 17, 2011, 02:41:10 PM
 #35

All Radeon HD 3xxx models support DirectX 10.1 and OpenGL 3.3[10]
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_AMD_graphics_processing_units

OpenGL != OpenCL :-)

This space intentionally left blank.
bitcoin_ent
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
April 17, 2011, 02:41:46 PM
 #36

sorry ... my bad

Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!