Bitcoin Forum
January 16, 2019, 02:49:36 AM *
News: The copper membership price will increase by about 300% around Friday.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 972 973 974 975 976 977 978 979 980 981 982 983 984 985 986 987 988 989 990 991 992 993 994 995 996 997 998 999 1000 1001 1002 1003 1004 1005 1006 1007 1008 1009 1010 1011 1012 1013 1014 1015 1016 1017 1018 1019 1020 1021 [1022] 1023 1024 1025 1026 1027 1028 1029 1030 1031 1032 1033 1034 1035 1036 1037 1038 1039 1040 1041 1042 1043 1044 1045 1046 1047 1048 1049 1050 1051 1052 1053 1054 1055 1056 1057 1058 1059 1060 1061 1062 1063 1064 1065 1066 1067 1068 1069 1070 1071 1072 ... 2029 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [XMR] Monero - A secure, private, untraceable cryptocurrency  (Read 4530054 times)
jailee
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
February 24, 2015, 06:01:37 PM
 #20421

I just recently decided to jump on the Monero train. I went to the website and registered for the forums. Registration was successful but when I try to log in I recieve an error message that says "oops, your acct is not active"....what does that mean? And also I downloaded the wallet and decided to run a node. Im not sure though if Im doing it right. Is your wallet supposed to look like just command lines? It is so much different than say Megacoin or Vericoin wallet. My nodes still say they are syncing at 308 days behind, all in yellow.
 What sucks is you cannot highlight and copy/paste your wallet address from the command prompts in the wallet. Is this really the wallet or the command box that runs my wallet and I dont have it correct? Also I put in the command to start mining. Is this still feasable or am i wasting my time? It says "mining started with one threads, good luck!" and below that it says " miner thread started
  • "....

OK I got the forums taken care of...didnt know I had to wait for an email confirmation. But the rest I still dont know...

Are you talking about simplewallet or bitmonerod?
Of course you can copy/paste the address in simplewallet, if you use windows you have to enable it in the cmd window settings.

Why don't you just use one of the GUIs or mymonero.com Smiley?

I was quick to react and downloaded the simplewallet, but I also want to run a node. I guess I can just use mymonero.com and not worry about it. I have created an acct there just now. Where do I download the GUI and is it worth trying to mine from your laptop?
PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1547606976
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547606976

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547606976
Reply with quote  #2

1547606976
Report to moderator
1547606976
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547606976

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547606976
Reply with quote  #2

1547606976
Report to moderator
smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002
Merit: 1065



View Profile
February 24, 2015, 06:05:34 PM
 #20422

I just recently decided to jump on the Monero train. I went to the website and registered for the forums. Registration was successful but when I try to log in I recieve an error message that says "oops, your acct is not active"....what does that mean? And also I downloaded the wallet and decided to run a node. Im not sure though if Im doing it right. Is your wallet supposed to look like just command lines? It is so much different than say Megacoin or Vericoin wallet. My nodes still say they are syncing at 308 days behind, all in yellow.
 What sucks is you cannot highlight and copy/paste your wallet address from the command prompts in the wallet. Is this really the wallet or the command box that runs my wallet and I dont have it correct? Also I put in the command to start mining. Is this still feasable or am i wasting my time? It says "mining started with one threads, good luck!" and below that it says " miner thread started
  • "....

OK I got the forums taken care of...didnt know I had to wait for an email confirmation. But the rest I still dont know...

Are you talking about simplewallet or bitmonerod?
Of course you can copy/paste the address in simplewallet, if you use windows you have to enable it in the cmd window settings.

Why don't you just use one of the GUIs or mymonero.com Smiley?

I was quick to react and downloaded the simplewallet, but I also want to run a node. I guess I can just use mymonero.com and not worry about it. I have created an acct there just now. Where do I download the GUI and is it worth trying to mine from your laptop?

You can try lightWallet if you want a GUI and a full node. There is a convenient torrent with pre-synced blockchain here:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=583449.msg10559092#msg10559092

You will need a minimum of 4 GB of RAM and 6-8 GB is better. If you don't have that you can't run a node yet, but the upcoming DB version will fix that.

GingerAle
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1176
Merit: 1004


View Profile WWW
February 24, 2015, 06:08:01 PM
 #20423

So I listened to the podcast and they mentioned that in the future minimum mixin will be changed to 4.
Was just wondering if there is going to be a even higher mixin option available by then?
So you can choose what mixin you want. I was thinking in the future the option might be 4, 5 or 6.


AFAIK, higher mixins are available now! I've never tried anything over 3, but I remember seeing someone say they used like 99 or something crazy. Your fees will be outta this world though.

This minimum is being set in the future, thats all.

< Track your bitcoins! > < Track them again! > <<< [url=https://www.reddit.com/r/Bitcoin/comments/1qomqt/what_a_landmark_legal_case_from_mid1700s_scotland/] What is fungibility? >>> 46P88uZ4edEgsk7iKQUGu2FUDYcdHm2HtLFiGLp1inG4e4f9PTb4mbHWYWFZGYUeQidJ8hFym2WUmWc p34X8HHmFS2LXJkf <<< Free subdomains at moneroworld.com!! >>> <<< If you don't want to run your own node, point your wallet to node.moneroworld.com, and get connected to a random node! @@@@ FUCK ALL THE PROFITEERS! PROOF OF WORK OR ITS A SCAM !!! @@@@
papa_lazzarou
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 650
Merit: 500


moneroblocks.info


View Profile
February 24, 2015, 06:10:23 PM
 #20424

I was quick to react and downloaded the simplewallet, but I also want to run a node. I guess I can just use mymonero.com and not worry about it. I have created an acct there just now. Where do I download the GUI and is it worth trying to mine from your laptop?


If you want to run a node you should download the blockchain from the OP. It will not be synced up to today but it will be much faster. The GUI list is also on the OP.

As for mining it depends on your objective. You must be really lucky to strike a block (it really depends on your hashrate but i'm assuming it isn't much high), so it's not profitable. OTOH you'll be contributing for monero's network decentralized security.


|| Monero Blocks - The Monero Block Explorerdonate.moneroblocks.info ||
GingerAle
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1176
Merit: 1004


View Profile WWW
February 24, 2015, 06:12:10 PM
 #20425

I was quick to react and downloaded the simplewallet, but I also want to run a node. I guess I can just use mymonero.com and not worry about it. I have created an acct there just now. Where do I download the GUI and is it worth trying to mine from your laptop?


If you want to run a node you should download the blockchain from the OP. It will not be synced up to today but it will be much faster. The GUI list is also on the OP.

As for mining it depends on your objective. You must be really lucky to strike a block (it really depends on your hashrate but i'm assuming it isn't much high), so it's not profitable. OTOH you'll be contributing for monero's network decentralized security.



Also, Jailee, if you're truly new to this, "OP" means original post, which you can get to by clicking on the "1" on the far left of the post page list. When I first started in bitcointalk, I had no idea that this is how forums were utilized. The OP sort of becomes the repository for the rest of the thread.

< Track your bitcoins! > < Track them again! > <<< [url=https://www.reddit.com/r/Bitcoin/comments/1qomqt/what_a_landmark_legal_case_from_mid1700s_scotland/] What is fungibility? >>> 46P88uZ4edEgsk7iKQUGu2FUDYcdHm2HtLFiGLp1inG4e4f9PTb4mbHWYWFZGYUeQidJ8hFym2WUmWc p34X8HHmFS2LXJkf <<< Free subdomains at moneroworld.com!! >>> <<< If you don't want to run your own node, point your wallet to node.moneroworld.com, and get connected to a random node! @@@@ FUCK ALL THE PROFITEERS! PROOF OF WORK OR ITS A SCAM !!! @@@@
smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002
Merit: 1065



View Profile
February 24, 2015, 06:14:44 PM
 #20426

I was quick to react and downloaded the simplewallet, but I also want to run a node. I guess I can just use mymonero.com and not worry about it. I have created an acct there just now. Where do I download the GUI and is it worth trying to mine from your laptop?


If you want to run a node you should download the blockchain from the OP. It will not be synced up to today but it will be much faster. The GUI list is also on the OP.

As for mining it depends on your objective. You must be really lucky to strike a block (it really depends on your hashrate but i'm assuming it isn't much high), so it's not profitable. OTOH you'll be contributing for monero's network decentralized security.

Every block is found by someone, but yes you need to be lucky.

Pool mining is an option, but probably a worse option for a small miner who will then get tiny payouts from the pool. Considering the effect of transaction fees it may be better to be patient, support the network, and hope for a bit of luck.

On average, with sufficient patience and average luck, it will be profitable if your CPU is efficient and your electricity rates are low.
jailee
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
February 24, 2015, 06:25:04 PM
 #20427

I was quick to react and downloaded the simplewallet, but I also want to run a node. I guess I can just use mymonero.com and not worry about it. I have created an acct there just now. Where do I download the GUI and is it worth trying to mine from your laptop?


If you want to run a node you should download the blockchain from the OP. It will not be synced up to today but it will be much faster. The GUI list is also on the OP.

As for mining it depends on your objective. You must be really lucky to strike a block (it really depends on your hashrate but i'm assuming it isn't much high), so it's not profitable. OTOH you'll be contributing for monero's network decentralized security.



Also, Jailee, if you're truly new to this, "OP" means original post, which you can get to by clicking on the "1" on the far left of the post page list. When I first started in bitcointalk, I had no idea that this is how forums were utilized. The OP sort of becomes the repository for the rest of the thread.

Thank you Gingerale,
 I am pretty new to this in as far as doing anything with anything with cryptocurrency other than Bitcoin. I was there when bitcoin made its debute and missed out because I was ignorant to the whole scene. Since 2013 though I have been active in the community as far as buying and spending and market analysis and such. As far as profit and investment though, this is my first venture. I am trying to make smart decisions and I believe Monero is one of those smart decisions. Thank you for all your help.
 If I run bitmonered.exe am I running a node when it syncs? I want to help support this community any way I can and that, for now, seems the best support I can offer.
papa_lazzarou
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 650
Merit: 500


moneroblocks.info


View Profile
February 24, 2015, 06:30:07 PM
 #20428

Every block is found by someone, but yes you need to be lucky.

Pool mining is an option, but probably a worse option for a small miner who will then get tiny payouts from the pool. Considering the effect of transaction fees it may be better to be patient, support the network, and hope for a bit of luck.

On average, with sufficient patience and average luck, it will be profitable if your CPU is efficient and your electricity rates are low.


I was just trying to point out that he will probably not get short term results. Assuming he has 250H/s it would take him 45 days on average to find a block, or is my math wrong?

|| Monero Blocks - The Monero Block Explorerdonate.moneroblocks.info ||
smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002
Merit: 1065



View Profile
February 24, 2015, 06:33:51 PM
 #20429

Every block is found by someone, but yes you need to be lucky.

Pool mining is an option, but probably a worse option for a small miner who will then get tiny payouts from the pool. Considering the effect of transaction fees it may be better to be patient, support the network, and hope for a bit of luck.

On average, with sufficient patience and average luck, it will be profitable if your CPU is efficient and your electricity rates are low.


I was just trying to point out that he will probably not get short term results. Assuming he has 250H/s it would take him 45 days on average to find a block, or is my math wrong?

No, your math is probably right, and 250 H/s is probably high for a laptop. Maybe a better word than mining (which suggest perhaps a steady stream of useful minerals) to describe the process is prospecting or wildcatting.

papa_lazzarou
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 650
Merit: 500


moneroblocks.info


View Profile
February 24, 2015, 06:34:24 PM
 #20430


Thank you Gingerale,
 I am pretty new to this in as far as doing anything with anything with cryptocurrency other than Bitcoin. I was there when bitcoin made its debute and missed out because I was ignorant to the whole scene. Since 2013 though I have been active in the community as far as buying and spending and market analysis and such. As far as profit and investment though, this is my first venture. I am trying to make smart decisions and I believe Monero is one of those smart decisions. Thank you for all your help.
 If I run bitmonered.exe am I running a node when it syncs? I want to help support this community any way I can and that, for now, seems the best support I can offer.

Just running bitmonerod will make you a node in that you'll be keeping a copy of the blockchain and will help propagate new blocks to other nodes. However, only if you mine with your node will you be helping secure the network against the dangers of centralized hashrate.

|| Monero Blocks - The Monero Block Explorerdonate.moneroblocks.info ||
smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002
Merit: 1065



View Profile
February 24, 2015, 06:36:25 PM
 #20431

If I run bitmonered.exe am I running a node when it syncs? I want to help support this community any way I can and that, for now, seems the best support I can offer.

Yes that is right, and if you type start_mining in the wallet you will be solo mining as well (mostly supports the network but you might get lucky and win a block). Usually the best number of threads to use is the L3 cache size of your CPU divided by 2 MB.

jailee
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
February 24, 2015, 06:57:30 PM
 #20432

If I run bitmonered.exe am I running a node when it syncs? I want to help support this community any way I can and that, for now, seems the best support I can offer.

Yes that is right, and if you type start_mining in the wallet you will be solo mining as well (mostly supports the network but you might get lucky and win a block). Usually the best number of threads to use is the L3 cache size of your CPU divided by 2 MB.



Thanks for all the help everyone. If I run the miner in the wallet I will be helping the community more, but will that burn out anything on my laptop? I dont care if Im successful in obtaining a block, I just want to help and dont want to f up my computer.....it cost me 800$....alot more than Ill get from ANY mining I might be capable of...how do I change the number of threads ? Step my step cuz Im slow like a four yr old type talk please. Thank you so much....
NemesisT
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 24, 2015, 06:59:11 PM
 #20433

If I run bitmonered.exe am I running a node when it syncs? I want to help support this community any way I can and that, for now, seems the best support I can offer.

Yes that is right, and if you type start_mining in the wallet you will be solo mining as well (mostly supports the network but you might get lucky and win a block). Usually the best number of threads to use is the L3 cache size of your CPU divided by 2 MB.



Thanks for all the help everyone. If I run the miner in the wallet I will be helping the community more, but will that burn out anything on my laptop? I dont care if Im successful in obtaining a block, I just want to help and dont want to f up my computer.....it cost me 800$....alot more than Ill get from ANY mining I might be capable of...how do I change the number of threads ? Step my step cuz Im slow like a four yr old type talk please. Thank you so much....

Best way I have found to run a node and help the network: https://getmonero.org/getting-started/running Smiley
e-coinomist
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568
Merit: 1049


Money often costs too much.


View Profile
February 24, 2015, 07:07:05 PM
 #20434

Hi guys. I need a logo for Crypto Kingdom the game, and it should also symbolize CKG, the gold asset central in the game. ~0.5 BTC bounty is possible, or more if it's slick and professional.

Monero guys, help me. I cannot even define what constitutes a "logo" really.  Embarrassed
Coat of arms. On a pile of golden coins, one or more heraldic beasts to the left and right (a pony, a dwagon, a bear or a bull see more at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category:Heraldic_beasts). Lots of cryptic key emblemes. Well http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Charge_(heraldry) summarieses it.

Needs a motto. How about "datorum, sed nusquam perfecti" ? (means the database will never get finished)
smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002
Merit: 1065



View Profile
February 24, 2015, 07:18:39 PM
 #20435

If I run bitmonered.exe am I running a node when it syncs? I want to help support this community any way I can and that, for now, seems the best support I can offer.

Yes that is right, and if you type start_mining in the wallet you will be solo mining as well (mostly supports the network but you might get lucky and win a block). Usually the best number of threads to use is the L3 cache size of your CPU divided by 2 MB.



Thanks for all the help everyone. If I run the miner in the wallet I will be helping the community more, but will that burn out anything on my laptop? I dont care if Im successful in obtaining a block, I just want to help and dont want to f up my computer.....it cost me 800$....alot more than Ill get from ANY mining I might be capable of...

Okay first of all, nobody wants you to damage your computer. If it is properly designed and you don't block any vents then it should be fine, but if you have doubts, don't do it.

Quote
how do I change the number of threads ? Step my step cuz Im slow like a four yr old type talk please. Thank you so much....

You put the number of threads after the start_mining command in the wallet.

If you don't know your L3 cache size (and most four year olds wouldn't) tell us your CPU model we'll help you. For most laptops the best number of threads to use is 1 but it varies.

5w00p
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644
Merit: 502



View Profile
February 24, 2015, 07:56:39 PM
 #20436

Hi guys. I need a logo for Crypto Kingdom the game, and it should also symbolize CKG, the gold asset central in the game. ~0.5 BTC bounty is possible, or more if it's slick and professional.

Monero guys, help me. I cannot even define what constitutes a "logo" really.  Embarrassed
Coat of arms. On a pile of golden coins, one or more heraldic beasts to the left and right (a pony, a dwagon, a bear or a bull see more at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category:Heraldic_beasts). Lots of cryptic key emblemes. Well http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Charge_(heraldry) summarieses it.

Needs a motto. How about "datorum, sed nusquam perfecti" ? (means the database will never get finished)

nachoig
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 250


View Profile
February 24, 2015, 08:29:47 PM
 #20437

A little question about memory footprint on 0.8.8.6. Is it okay? Or should I move my wallet to linux machine?





I had the same problem with my Windows machine. It seems this is a "normal" behavior, it maintains the blockchain running at RAM. I do'nt know why this still wasn't fixed, DarkNote already claims to have fixed this.
smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002
Merit: 1065



View Profile
February 24, 2015, 08:31:31 PM
 #20438

I had the same problem with my Windows machine. It seems this is a "normal" behavior, it maintains the blockchain running at RAM. I do'nt know why this still wasn't fixed, DarkNote already claims to fixed this.

There is a "quick and dirty" way to reduce the memory usage without a database that some other cyptonote coins have adopted. We're not using it. The database code is available for testing now though, and should hit a release fairly soon.



5w00p
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644
Merit: 502



View Profile
February 24, 2015, 09:01:26 PM
 #20439

https://www.google.com/search?q=4GB+RAM&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8#q=4GB+RAM&tbs=cat:1733,pdtr0:729223|4%244,vw:l,p_ord:p&tbm=shop
jailee
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
February 24, 2015, 09:30:42 PM
 #20440

If I run bitmonered.exe am I running a node when it syncs? I want to help support this community any way I can and that, for now, seems the best support I can offer.

Yes that is right, and if you type start_mining in the wallet you will be solo mining as well (mostly supports the network but you might get lucky and win a block). Usually the best number of threads to use is the L3 cache size of your CPU divided by 2 MB.



Thanks for all the help everyone. If I run the miner in the wallet I will be helping the community more, but will that burn out anything on my laptop? I dont care if Im successful in obtaining a block, I just want to help and dont want to f up my computer.....it cost me 800$....alot more than Ill get from ANY mining I might be capable of...

Okay first of all, nobody wants you to damage your computer. If it is properly designed and you don't block any vents then it should be fine, but if you have doubts, don't do it.

Quote


The only thing I know Smooth is that it is an HP, I run Window 8.1 and it has a sticker on it that says

                  E1
               Vision
                AMD

I went to the AMD website a few days ago and updated all my drivers because I was trying to download a miner that suggested it, so I did. Because of that I would assume all my drivers are up to date. If that helps. I guess I just want to run the miner in the wallet to the best of my ability, contribute to the community, and maybe make a little something by accident. Thank for your help guys
how do I change the number of threads ? Step my step cuz Im slow like a four yr old type talk please. Thank you so much....

You put the number of threads after the start_mining command in the wallet.

If you don't know your L3 cache size (and most four year olds wouldn't) tell us your CPU model we'll help you. For most laptops the best number of threads to use is 1 but it varies.


Pages: « 1 ... 972 973 974 975 976 977 978 979 980 981 982 983 984 985 986 987 988 989 990 991 992 993 994 995 996 997 998 999 1000 1001 1002 1003 1004 1005 1006 1007 1008 1009 1010 1011 1012 1013 1014 1015 1016 1017 1018 1019 1020 1021 [1022] 1023 1024 1025 1026 1027 1028 1029 1030 1031 1032 1033 1034 1035 1036 1037 1038 1039 1040 1041 1042 1043 1044 1045 1046 1047 1048 1049 1050 1051 1052 1053 1054 1055 1056 1057 1058 1059 1060 1061 1062 1063 1064 1065 1066 1067 1068 1069 1070 1071 1072 ... 2029 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!