Bitcoin Forum
October 22, 2018, 05:49:55 PM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: [StarMiner] - ARM controller image for your ASIC mining needs!  (Read 14781 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
LinuxETC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
June 27, 2014, 04:03:18 AM
 #41

27 June 2014 version release notes and change log:[/b]
Files for download from SourceForge can be found here.
  • Patch of the mining application by dmaxl that addresses "wall of rejects" with mining pools that have network latency issues.
  • Fix of the Gridseed ASIC configuration files so that they appear when editing via the webUI.

The Linux ETC Company
1540230595
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540230595

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540230595
Reply with quote  #2

1540230595
Report to moderator
1540230595
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540230595

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540230595
Reply with quote  #2

1540230595
Report to moderator
1540230595
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540230595

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540230595
Reply with quote  #2

1540230595
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1540230595
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540230595

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540230595
Reply with quote  #2

1540230595
Report to moderator
Androidicus
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 339
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 03, 2014, 01:58:16 PM
 #42

Hi LinuxETC

Quick question to save me some time...

I have updated /etc/hosts.allow and hosts.deny to only allow: ALL: myIPaddresses and block everything else.

What I want to do now is change the http & https ports for the web server. Ideally, I want to only use https by default...

Can you point me to the specific conf file (equivalent to httpd.conf / vhosts.conf for Apache) please?

TY in advance

PS Two rigs running 8 GS Blades total on 2 x Pi (one with PiFace Digital which I use to control the ATX PSU on/off remotely - it's really cool!)

 Smiley

Failure is success waiting to happen...
LinuxETC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
July 03, 2014, 02:26:10 PM
 #43

Hi LinuxETC

Quick question to save me some time...

I have updated /etc/hosts.allow and hosts.deny to only allow: ALL: myIPaddresses and block everything else.

What I want to do now is change the http & https ports for the web server. Ideally, I want to only use https by default...

Can you point me to the specific conf file (equivalent to httpd.conf / vhosts.conf for Apache) please?

TY in advance

PS Two rigs running 8 GS Blades total on 2 x Pi (one with PiFace Digital which I use to control the ATX PSU on/off remotely - it's really cool!)

 Smiley

The files would be (depending on the version of StarMiner) under either /etc/apache2/ (versions prior to 15 June 2014 release) or /etc/lighttpd/ (versions including and after 15 June 2014 release).

Happy and profitable mining to all! Cool

The Linux ETC Company
Androidicus
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 339
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 03, 2014, 03:17:07 PM
 #44

Hi LinuxETC

Quick question to save me some time...

I have updated /etc/hosts.allow and hosts.deny to only allow: ALL: myIPaddresses and block everything else.

What I want to do now is change the http & https ports for the web server. Ideally, I want to only use https by default...

Can you point me to the specific conf file (equivalent to httpd.conf / vhosts.conf for Apache) please?

TY in advance

PS Two rigs running 8 GS Blades total on 2 x Pi (one with PiFace Digital which I use to control the ATX PSU on/off remotely - it's really cool!)

 Smiley

The files would be (depending on the version of StarMiner) under either /etc/apache2/ (versions prior to 15 June 2014 release) or /etc/lighttpd/ (versions including and after 15 June 2014 release).

Happy and profitable mining to all! Cool

It's the /etc/lighttpd version - I can see the lighttpd.conf but also /etc/lighttpd/conf-enabled with 10-cgi.conf and 10-ssl.conf

Which is the active conf file containing the 'listening' port/s?

TY

Failure is success waiting to happen...
Androidicus
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 339
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 03, 2014, 03:22:30 PM
 #45

Ok - sorted SSL port in 10-ssl.conf and all working...

Now to hosts / ips to allow!

Failure is success waiting to happen...
LinuxETC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
July 03, 2014, 03:55:55 PM
 #46

Ok - sorted SSL port in 10-ssl.conf and all working...

Now to hosts / ips to allow!
Good to hear and you are quite welcome.

For reference, lighttpd does break things down modular wise a bit, so the question is quite understandable. Wink

Happy and profitable mining to all! Cool

The Linux ETC Company
silverthornne
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 149
Merit: 100


SelfPay - ICO PRE SALE - huge Profit !


View Profile
July 03, 2014, 08:30:46 PM
 #47

I don't see mention of the Rockminer units. Is it compatible with the R-Box?

LinuxETC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
July 03, 2014, 09:21:11 PM
 #48

I don't see mention of the Rockminer units. Is it compatible with the R-Box?

It is quite possible, save we do not have this particular ASIC "in hand" to do any development work or testing with it for long term support.  It would also be one of the first SHA-256 ASIC units requested to be supported under StarMiner as well.

I have reached out to Rock Miners directly, though if you wish to post a request in their forum thread as well, that would probably help some. Wink

Out of curiosity and assuming you have a R-Box ASIC with Rock Miner's Raspberry Pi image, how it is?

Happy and profitable mining to all! Cool

The Linux ETC Company
LinuxETC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
July 03, 2014, 10:01:16 PM
 #49

03 July 2014 version release notes and change log:
Files for download from SourceForge can be found here.
  • Modifications to the Gridseed configuration files removing the "per_chip_stats" as noted in StarMiner SourceForge ticket #7.
  • Updated modules/drivers for both Gridseed and Zeus Miner ASIC units.
  • With respects to the "newer" Zeus Miner "batch 2" ASIC units, the ability to use the provided serial number to have specific settings per individual ASIC unit if using USB mode via libusb (versus --scan-serial mode).
  • With respects to the "newer" Zeus Miner "batch 2" ASIC units, the ability to ID the individual ASIC unit based off of the number of chips within each unit. These will have the Zeus Miner ASIC names by default instead of the rebranded names.

The Linux ETC Company
silverthornne
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 149
Merit: 100


SelfPay - ICO PRE SALE - huge Profit !


View Profile
July 05, 2014, 02:50:20 AM
 #50

It is quite possible, save we do not have this particular ASIC "in hand" to do any development work or testing with it for long term support.  It would also be one of the first SHA-256 ASIC units requested to be supported under StarMiner as well.

I have reached out to Rock Miners directly, though if you wish to post a request in their forum thread as well, that would probably help some. Wink

Out of curiosity and assuming you have a R-Box ASIC with Rock Miner's Raspberry Pi image, how it is?

Happy and profitable mining to all! Cool

Well, it gets the job done I guess. It gives out a web UI that gives out the usual information about miners (hashrate, hardware errors, accepted shares, etc.) so nothing special there. I just don't like it because even though it supposedly uses Raspbian, there's no way to change its default password. I've SSH'ed into the thing and done the passwd command and it says that it changed the password but it doesn't work; it just always keeps the default password which and that makes me quite uneasy about it. There are also some odd hashrate dips throughout the day that I don't know if they're related to my hardware or the Rock Miner UI and I'd like to compare against another software before reaching conclusions. Unfortunately I can't compare against my PC since I was never able to get my PC to recognize the R-Boxes.

LinuxETC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
July 05, 2014, 02:37:55 PM
 #51

It is quite possible, save we do not have this particular ASIC "in hand" to do any development work or testing with it for long term support.  It would also be one of the first SHA-256 ASIC units requested to be supported under StarMiner as well.

I have reached out to Rock Miners directly, though if you wish to post a request in their forum thread as well, that would probably help some. Wink

Out of curiosity and assuming you have a R-Box ASIC with Rock Miner's Raspberry Pi image, how it is?

Happy and profitable mining to all! Cool

Well, it gets the job done I guess. It gives out a web UI that gives out the usual information about miners (hashrate, hardware errors, accepted shares, etc.) so nothing special there. I just don't like it because even though it supposedly uses Raspbian, there's no way to change its default password. I've SSH'ed into the thing and done the passwd command and it says that it changed the password but it doesn't work; it just always keeps the default password which and that makes me quite uneasy about it. There are also some odd hashrate dips throughout the day that I don't know if they're related to my hardware or the Rock Miner UI and I'd like to compare against another software before reaching conclusions. Unfortunately I can't compare against my PC since I was never able to get my PC to recognize the R-Boxes.

From a quick review of Rock Miner's Github repository, it appears that Rock Miner ASIC units are using cgminer with a modified version of the Icarus driver/module.  The Icarus driver/module is more of a "generic FPGA" driver/module, thus it is not specific typically for one particular ASIC or FPGA unit.  This is what was initially released with Zeus Miner's ASIC unit (though we developed a "better driver/module" accordingly Cool ) and also explains why some of the Zeus Miner ASIC units were not performing up to specification.  Without having some Rock Miner ASIC units "in hand", we (the "StarMiner crew") cannot say how their version of cgminer may or may not work of course.  This is just from reviewing the information on their Github repository and knowing the history of how others have used the Icarus driver/module in the past.

Happy and profitable mining to all! Cool

The Linux ETC Company
nwoolls
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840
Merit: 1001


View Profile WWW
July 05, 2014, 05:35:27 PM
 #52

From a quick review of Rock Miner's Github repository, it appears that Rock Miner ASIC units are using cgminer with a modified version of the Icarus driver/module.  The Icarus driver/module is more of a "generic FPGA" driver/module, thus it is not specific typically for one particular ASIC or FPGA unit.  This is what was initially released with Zeus Miner's ASIC unit (though we developed a "better driver/module" accordingly Cool ) and also explains why some of the Zeus Miner ASIC units were not performing up to specification.  Without having some Rock Miner ASIC units "in hand", we (the "StarMiner crew") cannot say how their version of cgminer may or may not work of course.  This is just from reviewing the information on their Github repository and knowing the history of how others have used the Icarus driver/module in the past.

Happy and profitable mining to all! Cool

If you haven't already, take a look at BFGMiner. It supports R-Box, ZeusMiners, GridSeeds, DualMiners, G-Blades, and more.

In addition, we have carefully written these drivers based on the manufacturer specs and documentation, so they are of a higher quality than what the HW manufacturers have been releasing (in my opinion). The hardware folks have a habit of delivering on hardware and then rushing the software, basing it on an existing driver (such as Icarus and Avalon) and then slashing and burning code until it hashes.

For example, here's our ZeusMiner driver (which works great):

https://github.com/luke-jr/bfgminer/blob/bfgminer/driver-zeusminer.c

Less than 250 lines, and many of those are comments and whitespace. Compare that to the driver the ZeusMiner folks are releasing:

https://github.com/zeusminer/cgminer_zeus/blob/master/driver-zeus.c

The driver is full of code that is unneeded / unnecessary in my testing and development with the devices, and not present in the documentation from ZeusMiner.

MultiMiner: Any Miner, Any Where, on Any Device |  Xgminer: Mine with popular miners on Mac OS X
btc: 1BmXY4ZZQh1iHSVre658gM1gPAEtDnq8rv  |  ltc: LP1SsHZTDexndkvRKsqAkXNsienPHwaMb5  |  hardware: nwoolls at gmail dot com
powersup
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 05, 2014, 09:55:42 PM
 #53

Can someone please help.

Im using starminer with gridseed pods and blades.  I'm experiencing a problem where cgminer will randomly stop.  It seems to be linked to high rejects, particularly on multipools.

I would like to force cgminer to restart every hour.  Can someone please guide me through how this could be done?
LinuxETC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
July 05, 2014, 11:50:54 PM
 #54

Can someone please help.

Im using starminer with gridseed pods and blades.  I'm experiencing a problem where cgminer will randomly stop.  It seems to be linked to high rejects, particularly on multipools.

I would like to force cgminer to restart every hour.  Can someone please guide me through how this could be done?

You could make a cron job that runs every hour that would run the following code:
Code:
staminer stop; starmine start
once you had the proper ASIC profile selected (which I presume you do Wink ) from the webUI.

Happy and profitable mining to all! Cool


The Linux ETC Company
powersup
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 06, 2014, 01:09:56 PM
 #55

Can someone please help.

Im using starminer with gridseed pods and blades.  I'm experiencing a problem where cgminer will randomly stop.  It seems to be linked to high rejects, particularly on multipools.

I would like to force cgminer to restart every hour.  Can someone please guide me through how this could be done?

You could make a cron job that runs every hour that would run the following code:
Code:
staminer stop; starmine start
once you had the proper ASIC profile selected (which I presume you do Wink ) from the webUI.

Happy and profitable mining to all! Cool



Thanks!

Sorry for being lazy.  I should have looked at starminer commands before posting.  I have added "starminer restart" to cron job and now all is good!
LinuxETC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
July 06, 2014, 01:38:45 PM
 #56

Can someone please help.

Im using starminer with gridseed pods and blades.  I'm experiencing a problem where cgminer will randomly stop.  It seems to be linked to high rejects, particularly on multipools.

I would like to force cgminer to restart every hour.  Can someone please guide me through how this could be done?

You could make a cron job that runs every hour that would run the following code:
Code:
staminer stop; starmine start
once you had the proper ASIC profile selected (which I presume you do Wink ) from the webUI.

Happy and profitable mining to all! Cool



Thanks!

Sorry for being lazy.  I should have looked at starminer commands before posting.  I have added "starminer restart" to cron job and now all is good!
You are quite welcome.  A cron job with starmine restart will work just as well. Smiley

As for your initial issue, perhaps doing some "fine tuning" of the configuration file for Gridseed ASIC units and considering other pools might be another option.  We have not received any similar reports of "random stops" with Gridseed ASIC units prior to yours at this time.

Happy and profitable mining to all! Cool

The Linux ETC Company
starsoccer9
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1642
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
July 06, 2014, 01:55:12 PM
 #57

Being a bit of a noob relating to linux and arm, I can just download the image and flash it to the beaglebone black or rasp pi? Also is there a list of supported hardware somewhere?
LinuxETC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
July 06, 2014, 04:22:20 PM
 #58

Being a bit of a noob relating to linux and arm, I can just download the image and flash it to the beaglebone black or rasp pi? Also is there a list of supported hardware somewhere?

StarMiner is currently imaged only for a Raspberry Pi.  We have a "StarMiner groupie" who plans on donating a set of CubieBoards (another ARM based system) for fulfill that request as well as to assist with long term support of that specific hardware.  At this time though, the BeagleBone line is not currently support.

As for supported hardware for the Raspberry Pi, you can find references to these on our SourceForge Discussion section here.

Happy and profitable mining to all! Cool

The Linux ETC Company
starsoccer9
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1642
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
July 06, 2014, 07:54:04 PM
 #59

Being a bit of a noob relating to linux and arm, I can just download the image and flash it to the beaglebone black or rasp pi? Also is there a list of supported hardware somewhere?

StarMiner is currently imaged only for a Raspberry Pi.  We have a "StarMiner groupie" who plans on donating a set of CubieBoards (another ARM based system) for fulfill that request as well as to assist with long term support of that specific hardware.  At this time though, the BeagleBone line is not currently support.

As for supported hardware for the Raspberry Pi, you can find references to these on our SourceForge Discussion section here.

Happy and profitable mining to all! Cool

Okay thanks, I tried to flash an sd card I have with the image but my pi turns on and gives me a steady red light with an occasional yellow light blink. I tried finding its IP on my network but cant seem to find anything.
LinuxETC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
July 06, 2014, 08:38:50 PM
 #60

Okay thanks, I tried to flash an sd card I have with the image but my pi turns on and gives me a steady red light with an occasional yellow light blink. I tried finding its IP on my network but cant seem to find anything.
There should be a series of lights like a NIC card would have near that red light if you have a proper and active network connection via the RJ-45 port on the Raspberry Pi.  Sounds like you have either (1) a bad network cable, or (2) the Raspberry has a bad RJ-45 port.  Try a different cable and see how that works which is the simpler of the two trouble shooting wise. Wink

The Linux ETC Company
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!