Bitcoin Forum
November 24, 2017, 10:21:47 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Few advertised node responding to me : Am I blacklisted ?  (Read 574 times)
Nicolas Dorier
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686


View Profile
May 02, 2014, 04:33:02 PM
 #1

I am currently developping NBitcoin (https://github.com/NicolasDorier/NBitcoin)

Some of my unit tests connect to the Main network, handshake nodes, and ask for Addr.
Given I am developping, my unit tests do a lot of handshake and ask a lot of Addr. (Not spamming the network, but one test can connect to 10 nodes at the same time)

In my logs, it appears than more than 90% of nodes have their socket closed.
Is it a normal behavior, or I got black listed ?
If I am black listed, what are the rule so I can avoid that in the future ?




Bitcoin address 15sYbVpRh6dyWycZMwPdxJWD4xbfxReeHe
1511562107
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511562107

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511562107
Reply with quote  #2

1511562107
Report to moderator
1511562107
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511562107

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511562107
Reply with quote  #2

1511562107
Report to moderator
1511562107
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511562107

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511562107
Reply with quote  #2

1511562107
Report to moderator
According to NIST and ECRYPT II, the cryptographic algorithms used in Bitcoin are expected to be strong until at least 2030. (After that, it will not be too difficult to transition to different algorithms.)
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
telepatheic
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56

Get off the web. Go do something in meatspace!


View Profile
May 02, 2014, 08:01:04 PM
 #2

Without any more data than this I can't tell definitively. Why don't you connect to your own bitcoind node and see if you blacklist yourself?
Nicolas Dorier
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686


View Profile
May 02, 2014, 08:37:49 PM
 #3

good idea, I'll try that.
I can connect, and when I connect to some accepting peers the handshake goes well.
But wondering if there was any way it could be considered as spam, the socket connection success rate seems very low to me. Is 20% typical ?

Bitcoin address 15sYbVpRh6dyWycZMwPdxJWD4xbfxReeHe
telepatheic
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56

Get off the web. Go do something in meatspace!


View Profile
May 02, 2014, 08:44:29 PM
 #4

Is 20% typical ?

It depends on how you are getting your list of node addresses to try and connect to.
gmaxwell
Moderator
Legendary
*
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 2338



View Profile
May 02, 2014, 09:19:54 PM
 #5

what are the rule so I can avoid that in the future ?
Run your own nodes locally to test against. Don't do development against other people's systems, thats a waste of their resources.

Bitcoin will not be compromised
Nicolas Dorier
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686


View Profile
May 03, 2014, 12:52:52 AM
 #6

Now I get a better connection rate... not sure why it was like that before.
I get the seed from hard coded DNS seeds to which I send GetAddr, I fill my database with the responses and use these nodes.

what are the rule so I can avoid that in the future ?
Run your own nodes locally to test against. Don't do development against other people's systems, thats a waste of their resources.

I prefer to make sure my implementation does not work only in the lab.
Not sure it is a waste though, since it is greatly helping the development of my C# full bitcoin (+ node server) port that I share with the community.
I'm not downloading gigs of blocks either, just handshaking and disconnecting. (I don't even poll the dns nodes, since I cache their Addr result)

Just wanted to know if such handshake could trigger a black listing.

Bitcoin address 15sYbVpRh6dyWycZMwPdxJWD4xbfxReeHe
TierNolan
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120


View Profile
May 03, 2014, 03:25:09 PM
 #7

I prefer to make sure my implementation does not work only in the lab.
Not sure it is a waste though, since it is greatly helping the development of my C# full bitcoin (+ node server) port that I share with the community.
I'm not downloading gigs of blocks either, just handshaking and disconnecting. (I don't even poll the dns nodes, since I cache their Addr result)

Just wanted to know if such handshake could trigger a black listing.

You could try with testnet? 

You could grep the code for DoS and Misbehaving to see if you are doing anything like that?

You could use an internet VPN system to change your IP and try again.

Many nodes might have their ports closed due to router setup etc.

I don't think using the mainnet for unit testing is that great an idea, in general.

Unit tests should be self-contained and fast, so they can complete each time you recompile the code.

You could have a more comprehensive test suite that you run less often.  That one could use mainnet, and take longer to run.

It could be part of the series of tests before releasing an update version.

1LxbG5cKXzTwZg9mjL3gaRE835uNQEteWF
Nicolas Dorier
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686


View Profile
May 03, 2014, 03:44:29 PM
 #8

I call them unit test, but I'm not running them automatically, just manually during development.
Thanks for your suggestion, the next time I have lots of closed port like that, I will try to pass by a dedicated server or through VPN just to check if I was blacklisted.

This problem was specific to main net, did not had issue with testnet which raised my concern. Anyway, now it works fine again for now.

Bitcoin address 15sYbVpRh6dyWycZMwPdxJWD4xbfxReeHe
gmaxwell
Moderator
Legendary
*
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 2338



View Profile
May 03, 2014, 06:15:33 PM
 #9

I prefer to make sure my implementation does not work only in the lab.
Thats good and fine, but it should be a test reserved for software that first works locally. Running it locally you can get far more visibility into whats happening and you don't waste other people's resources.

I'm glad its working better for you now.

Bitcoin will not be compromised
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!