Bitcoin Forum
July 24, 2017, 02:49:53 AM *
News: Due to BIP91, it would starting now be prudent to require 5 times more confirmations than usual before trusting transactions.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 [38] 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Butterfly Labs - Bitforce Single and Mini Rig Box  (Read 183000 times)
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


View Profile WWW
March 24, 2012, 05:34:10 AM
 #741

I made mine short... just 2ft, for that reason.
6ft 18awg will drop .5v ish @ 12V 6A, so about 3W loss on each cable.
2ft will drop 0.15, so 1W loss on each cable.

I might even make them shorter... I'll see how it fits together WHEN THEY BLOODY ARRIVE!

http://www.powerstream.com/Wire_Size.htm
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1500864593
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1500864593

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1500864593
Reply with quote  #2

1500864593
Report to moderator
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
March 24, 2012, 02:02:00 PM
 #742

Yeah 6ft is way too long for that kind of current.  If you want 6ft cables then they should be 16 (or even better 14) gauge wire.   Also I wish you had a better PSU.  Even with 30W or so lost due to excessive wiring the efficiency seems very low for 80Plus-Gold unit.  You don't by any chance have any xfx, seasonics, antecs or other tier 1 supplier PSU lying around do you?
JWU42
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610


View Profile
March 24, 2012, 02:05:07 PM
 #743

If you are in the market for Seasonic PSUs lemme know  Wink

GPG PubKey | THREEMA | OTC | HeatWare | 1JWU42QLGFESoQCC4iPzUDTRiC9nx5bi95
jddebug
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 443



View Profile
March 24, 2012, 05:36:52 PM
 #744

Yeah 6ft is way too long for that kind of current.  If you want 6ft cables then they should be 16 (or even better 14) gauge wire.   Also I wish you had a better PSU.  Even with 30W or so lost due to excessive wiring the efficiency seems very low for 80Plus-Gold unit.  You don't by any chance have any xfx, seasonics, antecs or other tier 1 supplier PSU lying around do you?

I don't have any other PSU's. I am considering returning this one and getting a better one but its at least $130 more for a platinum 97?% efficient one. I just don't see it paying off in a reasonable amount of time ($330+ invested). If the replacement PSU had 16 gauge or better wiring it would be VERY tempting though. I'm on the fence with this one.

The advantage seems to be having one power supply for all and that its likely more reliable than the power bricks. One of my bricks has already turned itself into a "brick". BFL sent a replacement out right away but I decided at that time to go ahead and put this PSU together. Didn't like one single just sitting there doing nothing. Smiley
jamesg
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


AKA: gigavps


View Profile
March 24, 2012, 05:47:40 PM
 #745

Yeah 6ft is way too long for that kind of current.  If you want 6ft cables then they should be 16 (or even better 14) gauge wire.   Also I wish you had a better PSU.  Even with 30W or so lost due to excessive wiring the efficiency seems very low for 80Plus-Gold unit.  You don't by any chance have any xfx, seasonics, antecs or other tier 1 supplier PSU lying around do you?

I don't have any other PSU's. I am considering returning this one and getting a better one but its at least $130 more for a platinum 97?% efficient one. I just don't see it paying off in a reasonable amount of time ($330+ invested). If the replacement PSU had 16 gauge or better wiring it would be VERY tempting though. I'm on the fence with this one.

The advantage seems to be having one power supply for all and that its likely more reliable than the power bricks. One of my bricks has already turned itself into a "brick". BFL sent a replacement out right away but I decided at that time to go ahead and put this PSU together. Didn't like one single just sitting there doing nothing. Smiley


I purchased this PSU for my singles.

http://www.amazon.com/Cooler-Master-Modular-Certified-RSA00-AMBAJ3-US/dp/B002RWJGCM
jddebug
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 443



View Profile
March 24, 2012, 05:54:36 PM
 #746

Yeah 6ft is way too long for that kind of current.  If you want 6ft cables then they should be 16 (or even better 14) gauge wire.   Also I wish you had a better PSU.  Even with 30W or so lost due to excessive wiring the efficiency seems very low for 80Plus-Gold unit.  You don't by any chance have any xfx, seasonics, antecs or other tier 1 supplier PSU lying around do you?

I don't have any other PSU's. I am considering returning this one and getting a better one but its at least $130 more for a platinum 97?% efficient one. I just don't see it paying off in a reasonable amount of time ($330+ invested). If the replacement PSU had 16 gauge or better wiring it would be VERY tempting though. I'm on the fence with this one.

The advantage seems to be having one power supply for all and that its likely more reliable than the power bricks. One of my bricks has already turned itself into a "brick". BFL sent a replacement out right away but I decided at that time to go ahead and put this PSU together. Didn't like one single just sitting there doing nothing. Smiley


I purchased this PSU for my singles.

http://www.amazon.com/Cooler-Master-Modular-Certified-RSA00-AMBAJ3-US/dp/B002RWJGCM

This one I have cost $199 for Gold? and 1200 watts. Same realm I think. This CoolMax had very good ratings. Who knows. Maybe when I cut the cables to length I'll see the savings. I was expecting something like a 100 watt savings though.
jamesg
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


AKA: gigavps


View Profile
March 24, 2012, 05:59:23 PM
 #747

This one I have cost $199 for Gold? and 1200 watts. Same realm I think. This CoolMax had very good ratings. Who knows. Maybe when I cut the cables to length I'll see the savings. I was expecting something like a 100 watt savings though.

Well, 100w * 745h = 74.5Kw/h

At $0.07104 ($5.29 per month) I am not doing this for the power savings. It really to keep the install clean as (if you haven't noticed) I'm kind of OCD. Smiley

jddebug
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 443



View Profile
March 24, 2012, 06:00:50 PM
 #748

This one I have cost $199 for Gold? and 1200 watts. Same realm I think. This CoolMax had very good ratings. Who knows. Maybe when I cut the cables to length I'll see the savings. I was expecting something like a 100 watt savings though.

Well, 100w * 745h = 74.5Kw/h

At $0.07104 ($5.29 per month) I am not doing this for the power savings. It really to keep the install clean as (if you haven't noticed) I'm kind of OCD. Smiley



Oh, I noticed. I envy in actually. I can tell when something looks good but have such a hard time making it look that way myself. I do try believe it or not.
abeaulieu
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 295



View Profile
March 25, 2012, 07:13:19 PM
 #749

So does anyone have an information about the production status of Rev2?
Are they being ordered? assembled? shipped?
My order is binned in Rev3 (pretty kick-ass heat sink by the looks), so I'm curious when Rev3 will begin cropping up.
Um, if you have an active order that is binned for Rev3, why don't you ask BFL your questions directly instead of soliciting useless speculation here? Bottom line: BFL knows; we don't.

I figured I would see if the masses knew, considering there have been a lot of people sending emails to Sonny. I didn't really want to bother him with my emails considering the more emails that he has to respond to the less time that he can spend completing orders.
Omni
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
March 25, 2012, 08:09:25 PM
 #750

These are sick. How much mhash/$
JWU42
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610


View Profile
March 25, 2012, 08:29:41 PM
 #751

Math skills escape you Omni?

832 Mh/s / $599 = 1.38898 Mh/$

832 / 80 +/- = 10.4 Mh/J (about half as efficient as other FPGA designs but they are all < 1 Mh/$ -- many close to .Cool.

GPG PubKey | THREEMA | OTC | HeatWare | 1JWU42QLGFESoQCC4iPzUDTRiC9nx5bi95
cablepair
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854


https://btc-republic.com/index.php?ref=cablepair


View Profile WWW
March 25, 2012, 10:29:06 PM
 #752

sorry to spam the thread but I just want to encourage people to use and contribute to the Bitcoin FPGA wiki at http://wiki.btcfpga.com

Our goal is to provide an informative wiki to display and compare all hardware and software related to mining Bitcoin with FPGA

thanks!

Askit2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 587



View Profile
March 25, 2012, 11:04:40 PM
 #753

Semi Current BFL News is located here on the website. On main page look for customer news but here is a link for you.
http://www.butterflylabs.com/production-update/
Hope this helps!


▄█████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████
██████▀                  ▀████████
█████▀                    ████████
████▀    ▄████████████████████████
████    ███            ▀██████████
████    ███               ▀███████
████▄    ▀████████████▄     ██████
█████▄               ███    ██████
███████▄             ███    ██████
██████████████████████▀     ██████
██████                    ▄███████
██████▄                 ▄█████████
██████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████
▀█████████████████████████████████
.SURETLY.

.First crowdvouching platform
.Vouch for people and make money!
|ICO
July,11
...
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434


1ngldh


View Profile
March 25, 2012, 11:07:03 PM
 #754

Semi Current BFL News is located here on the website. On main page look for customer news but here is a link for you.
http://www.butterflylabs.com/production-update/
Hope this helps!
Nice update. They show the easyminer software, but it doesn't appear to be available for download yet. Wonder when that will happen.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
guruvan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532


View Profile
March 26, 2012, 04:46:39 AM
 #755

sorry to spam the thread but I just want to encourage people to use and contribute to the Bitcoin FPGA wiki at http://wiki.btcfpga.com

Our goal is to provide an informative wiki to display and compare all hardware and software related to mining Bitcoin with FPGA

+10

Used this the other day to make sure I hadn't missed anything. Very helpful to have all the numbers right in front of me to compare options and Mh/s vs. lead time. Thanks!!

mrb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302


View Profile WWW
March 26, 2012, 06:39:28 AM
 #756

sorry to spam the thread but I just want to encourage people to use and contribute to the Bitcoin FPGA wiki at http://wiki.btcfpga.com
Our goal is to provide an informative wiki to display and compare all hardware and software related to mining Bitcoin with FPGA

There is a lot of bad data in this table. Pretty much all of the Radeons have incorrect Mh/s/$ values (eg. Radeon HD 6990, 800 Mh/s, $623 -> 1.28 Mh/s/$... but the table lists 1.46 Mh/s/$).

The prices are wrong too (Radeon HD 6990 sells for more than $623).

The wattages are wrong to (Radeon HD 6990 o/c'd to mine at 800 Mh/s will consume MUCH more than 346 Watt).

Etc.
BlackPrapor
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591



View Profile
March 26, 2012, 09:27:39 AM
 #757

Does anyone know if FPGA's can be used to mine LiteCoins too?

There is no place like 127.0.0.1
In blockchain we trust
Askit2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 587



View Profile
March 26, 2012, 09:54:49 AM
 #758

Ufasoft miner will handle litecoins and will handle the BFL single for sure.
Best of luck!


▄█████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████
██████▀                  ▀████████
█████▀                    ████████
████▀    ▄████████████████████████
████    ███            ▀██████████
████    ███               ▀███████
████▄    ▀████████████▄     ██████
█████▄               ███    ██████
███████▄             ███    ██████
██████████████████████▀     ██████
██████                    ▄███████
██████▄                 ▄█████████
██████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████
▀█████████████████████████████████
.SURETLY.

.First crowdvouching platform
.Vouch for people and make money!
|ICO
July,11
...
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
March 26, 2012, 09:58:25 AM
 #759

Ufasoft miner will handle litecoins and will handle the BFL single for sure.
Best of luck!

You think BFL can mine LTC using scrypt algorithm ?

What a joke ...

It also supposedly can do loads of medical imaging, Monte Carlo calculations, cook your food, wash your clothes but no bitstream has been provided except for BTC mining which leads me to believe all their industry experience and story that "BTC is just a secondary use of our products" is total BS.

This is clearly a product for BTC mining and not for any other uses since they refuse to provide support.

Since we are on this topic, can it mine SoiledCons too Cheesy
BlackPrapor
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591



View Profile
March 26, 2012, 03:10:56 PM
 #760

Ufasoft miner will handle litecoins and will handle the BFL single for sure.
Best of luck!

You think BFL can mine LTC using scrypt algorithm ?

What a joke ...

It also supposedly can do loads of medical imaging, Monte Carlo calculations, cook your food, wash your clothes but no bitstream has been provided except for BTC mining which leads me to believe all their industry experience and story that "BTC is just a secondary use of our products" is total BS.

This is clearly a product for BTC mining and not for any other uses since they refuse to provide support.

Since we are on this topic, can it mine SoiledCons too Cheesy

According to litecoin thread of this forum, litecoins can be mined only on devices with cache memory of at least 128kb. I'll look into Altera chip specifications, but as I recall there is no such info. Maybe I'm wrong.

There is no place like 127.0.0.1
In blockchain we trust
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 [38] 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!