Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 02:18:48 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Multi-GPU Question  (Read 1074 times)
The-Real-Link
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 530



View Profile
January 21, 2012, 10:06:32 PM
 #1


  Hi everyone,

  Simple question really.  So far in my rings I've tried mining with 4 6770s and also 2 5970s.  Either way whether 4 single GPU cores or 2 duals, this equals 4 GPUs.  OS is Windows 7 x64 home or pro depending on the system.  Can I mine with more than 4 GPU cores at once though?

  Now I was thinking I could run 3 GPUs in a system since the board has enough slots (not wanting to trust PCIe extenders with 5970s though they seem like an awesome idea).  I've heard though that the max GPUs in a system can reliably be four.  Is this true?  Obviously I know some people have 4 6990s crammed in a case right next to each other (so 8 cores) so I'm thinking that either it was just true say, under Windows XP or that that limit doesn't really exist any more.

  Would any multi-GPU miners care to share their insight on this please? 

  Either way should I want to put 3 5970s in, I would have to swap PSUs I think.  My rig has a Lepa G900 900w Gold PSU but I don't think it could quite handle 3 OC'd (not OV'd) 5970s.

  Thanks for the help in advance.

Oh Loaded, who art up in Mt. Gox, hallowed be thy name!  Thy dollars rain, thy will be done, on BTCUSD.  Give us this day our daily 10% 30%, and forgive the bears, as we have bought their bitcoins.  And lead us into quadruple digits
There are several different types of Bitcoin clients. Hybrid server-assisted clients like Electrum get a lot of their network information from centralized servers, but they also check the server's results using blockchain header data. This is perhaps somewhat more secure than either server-assisted clients or header-only clients.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481465928
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481465928

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481465928
Reply with quote  #2

1481465928
Report to moderator
1481465928
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481465928

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481465928
Reply with quote  #2

1481465928
Report to moderator
1481465928
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481465928

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481465928
Reply with quote  #2

1481465928
Report to moderator
antares
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518


View Profile
January 22, 2012, 09:50:35 AM
 #2

hi there,

at least for linux there seems to be the slot limit only. my board is mining with:
2x unlocked 6950s
3x heavily oc'd 6770
1x 5850
1x 6850

I dont have any pci or pcie slots left(using pci->pcie adapters to max out the board), but everything seems to work fine, all cards are doing the expected HR.
Swishercutter
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
January 22, 2012, 10:38:52 AM
 #3

Windows= 8 GPU (Dual Gpu cards count as 2)
Linux= 10 GPU (I personally have not tested this because I do not run Linux)

Last August or so ATI updated the drivers to allow more than 4 GPU's (or 5...cannot remember).  Windows would recognize them but ATI's drivers would not allow them to be used.


Also, I have been using PCIe extenders with no issues for months...5 GPU/Machine with 4 extenders.
goxed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582


Mining hardware dev and reviewer.


View Profile
January 22, 2012, 11:21:03 AM
 #4

Running
5830, 5850, 6850, 6850 on a single motherboard since last 2 months 24x7 non-stop, no issues

Looking to review Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
The-Real-Link
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 530



View Profile
January 22, 2012, 11:40:19 PM
 #5


  Cool.  Thanks for all the different perspectives here.  Well I'd have to rewire one of my systems now if I wanted to do a 3-card setup due to the original system's PSU being not quite strong enough for 3 big cards I'd think.  Other PSUs I've gotten now won't have that issue.  Good to know it's more of a preference with temps and noise as opposed to a hard limitation.  Yay for driver fixes.

Oh Loaded, who art up in Mt. Gox, hallowed be thy name!  Thy dollars rain, thy will be done, on BTCUSD.  Give us this day our daily 10% 30%, and forgive the bears, as we have bought their bitcoins.  And lead us into quadruple digits
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!