Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 01:51:48 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can't get ethernet going in linuxcoin final  (Read 2349 times)
jjshabadoo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 519


View Profile
January 22, 2012, 06:41:18 AM
 #1

My best rig running 4 5870's is now giving me crap. of course i ad to screw around with it so i decided to add a couple fans to help cool the cards more. they are on pci extenders, etc. all i did was add a molex cable to my psu so i can run the two scythe fans and then I had some issues with rebooting headless. So I did me usual fresh re-install, and now i get no ethernet connection.

WTF? anyone know why that would suddenly stop working. My ethernet switch is working fine on all my other rigs, port lights are green, etc.
1481291508
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481291508

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481291508
Reply with quote  #2

1481291508
Report to moderator
1481291508
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481291508

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481291508
Reply with quote  #2

1481291508
Report to moderator
1481291508
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481291508

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481291508
Reply with quote  #2

1481291508
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481291508
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481291508

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481291508
Reply with quote  #2

1481291508
Report to moderator
1481291508
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481291508

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481291508
Reply with quote  #2

1481291508
Report to moderator
jjshabadoo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 519


View Profile
January 22, 2012, 06:45:08 AM
 #2

Tested ethernet cable and works fine on laptop, etc. I have an MSI 890FXa-GD70 and it was working fine a few hours ago. Could I have blow the ethernet port? doesn't work in second port either.

I reset cmos, etc. still nothing.
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
January 22, 2012, 09:16:18 PM
 #3


I have had some issues..  but usually a fresh install will fix,  however.  try the other etho.  just pull network cable out and put into other port. even while its on.

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
ArtForz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
January 22, 2012, 09:39:19 PM
 #4

Had the same thing once, pulling the plug + 10 min wait magically fixed it.

bitcoin: 1Fb77Xq5ePFER8GtKRn2KDbDTVpJKfKmpz
i0coin: jNdvyvd6v6gV3kVJLD7HsB5ZwHyHwAkfdw
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
January 22, 2012, 10:46:51 PM
 #5

Had the same thing once, pulling the plug + 10 min wait magically fixed it.

lol,  the windoz haters say now? that is ubuntu!

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
jjshabadoo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 519


View Profile
January 23, 2012, 08:40:53 AM
 #6

Yeah i actually had another mobo and just rebuilt my machine. I'm RMA'ng the MSI board it just pissed me off too much. I heard about the whole discharging the capacitors thing and tried everything i could read on the web, and nothing worked.

I unplugged the psu and held down the power button, etc.

i have to say, my passion for bitcoin is fading pretty rapidly since i haven't been able to run a stable rig for more than a week and that was ONCE.

P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
January 23, 2012, 08:46:44 AM
 #7

Do you have leds on the ethernet port? Usually green led means cable+connection is okay, yellow led to indicate activity. Do you get either? If you dont, it looks like a hardware problem. Or if your motherboard doesnt have leds at the ethernetport, check those on your switch/router. To be honest, I think its more likely an issue with router, try resetting that.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!