Bitcoin Forum
March 29, 2024, 07:09:05 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 26.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: (Ubuntu) Tunneling DiabloMiner  (Read 2249 times)
insanityflea (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 25, 2012, 10:49:07 AM
 #1

Hi All,

I've been battling for a few days now, I need to tunnel the miner as I cannot use port 8332.

The closest I've got:

Ssh Tunnel:
Code:
ssh -f user@proxy -D 8332 -p 80 proxy.com  (connects fine)

Start DiabloMiner
Code:
DiabloMiner-Linux.sh -u user@miningpool -p password -o pit.deepbit.net -r 8332 -x 127.0.0.1:8332

But I get:

Code:
ERROR: Cannot connect to pit.deepbit.net: Unexpected end of file from server

If anyone could help me out here I'd really appreciate it
Thank you in advance.

PPS I also tried proxychains (proxychains.conf : socks5 127.0.0.1 8332)
Code:
proxychains DiabloMiner-Linux.sh -u user@miningpool -p password -o pit.deepbit.net -r 8332

Also no luck Sad
Transactions must be included in a block to be properly completed. When you send a transaction, it is broadcast to miners. Miners can then optionally include it in their next blocks. Miners will be more inclined to include your transaction if it has a higher transaction fee.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1711696145
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1711696145

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1711696145
Reply with quote  #2

1711696145
Report to moderator
1711696145
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1711696145

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1711696145
Reply with quote  #2

1711696145
Report to moderator
insanityflea (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 26, 2012, 08:35:50 AM
 #2

Success! Got it up and running with tsocks & CGminer

Code:
tsocks  ./cgminer -o http://pit.deepbit.net:8332 -u user@email_worker -p password

I think diablo wont run due to it calling the java to run and the java wont run 'sockified'

I'm happy although using cgminer I lose around 20mhs no biggie.
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 26, 2012, 12:10:24 PM
 #3

Mess around with the vector width (1, 2, or 4) and worksize (64,128, or 256).
Make sure intensity is set to 9 and thread count per GPU at 2.

All miners use basically the same kernels for GPU calculations, you should not lose 20 MHash/s out of the blue.

Nice job tunneling cgminer out of the hostile zone.
insanityflea (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 01, 2012, 05:45:24 AM
 #4

Managed to get it faster than it's ever run before Smiley

Used the vectors and worksize and threads and got the gpu engine to 860Mhz (this is my laptop miner with an ATI Firepro M7820)
200mhs is not bad for a laptop!

Linux really is the best OS to mine on.

Thanks for the tips!
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100


View Profile
February 01, 2012, 09:01:20 AM
 #5

As is there was ever any doubt about that Smiley
Hey, and it's free - as in free speech.

If only GPU manufacturers bothered to compile their utilities for Linux it would be a no-contest.
200MHash/s? Not too shabby. Just do be careful about the thermals on that lappy. Laptops were never designed with this kind of use on the radar and may overheat easily.
I suspect you're doing this as a stopgap until you build an actual rig?
Best of luck.
insanityflea (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 02, 2012, 05:26:57 AM
 #6

runs @ 65 Degrees Celsius, I've got three rigs. I let the laptop run overnight when i'm not using it Smiley extra 200mhs overnight never hurt anyone!

I agree with you, the manufacturers need to look at other os's as well.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!