Bitcoin Forum
February 27, 2017, 04:45:28 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.2  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 [20] 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 »
  Print  
Author Topic: p2pool - Decentralized, Absolutely DoS-Proof, Pool Hopping-Proof Pool [archival]  (Read 32406 times)
gnar1ta$
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
January 14, 2012, 04:37:44 AM
 #381

Executable.

Go to relevant directories and issue

Code:
$chmod +x bitcoind
$chmod +x namecoind

I knew that was coming as soon as I asked it, but I already tried it:

Code:
homesvt:~/bin$ ls
bitcoind
homesvt:~/bin$ chmod +x bitcoind
homesvt:~/bin$ bitcoind
bitcoind: command not found
homesvt:~/bin$
homesvt:~/bin$ ./bitcoind
-bash: ./bitcoind: cannot execute binary file

EDIT: Got it working on one machine.  IDK how.  I'll let it load the block chains overnight and pick up from there.

Losing hundreds of Bitcoins with the best scammers in the business - BFL, Avalon, KNC, HashFast.
1488170728
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1488170728

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1488170728
Reply with quote  #2

1488170728
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
ovidiusoft
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
January 14, 2012, 08:43:14 AM
 #382

Code:
homesvt:~/bin$ bitcoind
bitcoind: command not found
homesvt:~/bin$
homesvt:~/bin$ ./bitcoind
-bash: ./bitcoind: cannot execute binary file

EDIT: Got it working on one machine.  IDK how.  I'll let it load the block chains overnight and pick up from there.

Code:
$ echo $PATH

if /home/username/bin is no there, add it:

Code:
$ PATH=$HOME/bin:$PATH

You should add this to your login scripts too (.bashrc, .profile or .bash_profile).

For the second error, I think you're trying to run a 64 binary on 32 bits? When in doubt, use 32 bits binaries.
thirdlight
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 281



View Profile
January 14, 2012, 09:28:10 AM
 #383

2 blocks in 11 minutes!
Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
January 14, 2012, 12:22:19 PM
 #384

Tried it out and everything seemd to work fine but for some reason my network latency got up to 4k ms...  Huh Not funny for the other miners in the same network.

Edit: Everything works well now, downloading the blockchain for the other machine now  Smiley

gnar1ta$
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
January 14, 2012, 06:55:34 PM
 #385

For the second error, I think you're trying to run a 64 binary on 32 bits? When in doubt, use 32 bits binaries.

Thanks, I forget the other machine is 32 bit, blockchains downloading.  The other machine had full blockchains downloaded.  I launched p2pool, got a connection error, and it looks like bitcoind crashed.  Now I get this:
Code:
$ bitcoin server starting


************************
EXCEPTION: 11DbException       
Db::open: Invalid argument       
bitcoin in AppInit()       

terminate called after throwing an instance of 'DbException'
  what():  Db::open: Invalid argument

Losing hundreds of Bitcoins with the best scammers in the business - BFL, Avalon, KNC, HashFast.
gmaxwell
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100



View Profile
January 14, 2012, 11:11:46 PM
 #386

Thanks, I forget the other machine is 32 bit, blockchains downloading.  The other machine had full blockchains downloaded.  I launched p2pool, got a connection error, and it looks like bitcoind crashed.  Now I get this:
Code:
$ bitcoin server starting
[/quote]

Did you copy any database files between machines?
gnar1ta$
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
January 14, 2012, 11:45:04 PM
 #387

No I didn't copy any files.  p2pool gave me a connection error, and when I checked bitcoind was no longer running.  My rigs don't have a lot of memory or storage.  If I run bitcoind, namecoind, and p2pool on another machine, I will have to forward 9333, 8333, and 8334 and then can connect multiple miners to that IP correct?

Losing hundreds of Bitcoins with the best scammers in the business - BFL, Avalon, KNC, HashFast.
forrestv
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 510


View Profile
January 15, 2012, 04:43:48 AM
 #388

No I didn't copy any files.  p2pool gave me a connection error, and when I checked bitcoind was no longer running.  My rigs don't have a lot of memory or storage.  If I run bitcoind, namecoind, and p2pool on another machine, I will have to forward 9333, 8333, and 8334 and then can connect multiple miners to that IP correct?

Yes, connect them to port 9332.

1J1zegkNSbwX4smvTdoHSanUfwvXFeuV23
tiberiandusk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 580


The North Remembers


View Profile WWW
January 15, 2012, 07:29:25 AM
 #389

I just switched 3 miners over. Going to see how this works.

Bitcoin Auction House http://www.BitBid.net BTC - 1EwfBVC6BwA6YeqcYZmm3htwykK3MStW6N | LTC - LdBpJJHj4WSAsUqaTbwyJQFiG1tVjo4Uys Don't get Goxed.
c_k
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 242



View Profile
January 15, 2012, 11:01:40 AM
 #390

I've moved over 3GH/s - imo: this is the future of mining, centralization in the form of pools as they are today is not what bitcoin is supposed to be about

Some say p2pool is similar to the way satoshi had envisioned mining to be Smiley

Mike Hearn
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


View Profile
January 15, 2012, 12:15:16 PM
 #391

I don't think there's any point in having existing pools mine on the p2pool. The point (one of the points) of p2pool is to dilute the vote. If you get 100 GH from a bunch of RPC miners that just mine on whatever some random guy provides, you don't change the security of the network, you just unbalance p2pool.

Really, running your own Bitcoin node (and Namecoin if you care about that), and keeping it up to date, is fundamental to what mining should be. Remember you are voting with your hash power.
finway
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


View Profile
January 15, 2012, 04:36:57 PM
 #392

Seems p2pool is taking off right now.
Congrats!

Schleicher
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 636



View Profile
January 15, 2012, 06:22:02 PM
 #393

Some noob questions about running p2pool under Windows 7:

Code:
17:06:46.878000 p2pool (version unknown)
Is this a side effect of using py2exe?

Code:
19:03:31.197000 Pool: 75939MH/s in 17322 shares (17327/17327 verified)
17322 shares, but 17327 verified?

Code:
Peers: 10
I understand that this number should be higher if I have forwarded the port 9333 in my router, right?

Bitcoin donations: 1H2BHSyuwLP9vqt2p3bK9G3mDJsAi7qChw
forrestv
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 510


View Profile
January 15, 2012, 07:30:08 PM
 #394

Some noob questions about running p2pool under Windows 7:

Code:
17:06:46.878000 p2pool (version unknown)
Is this a side effect of using py2exe?

Code:
19:03:31.197000 Pool: 75939MH/s in 17322 shares (17327/17327 verified)
17322 shares, but 17327 verified?

Code:
Peers: 10
I understand that this number should be higher if I have forwarded the port 9333 in my router, right?

The "version unknown" is fine. It detects the version by looking at the name of the folder that it's in.. Did you rename it? It doesn't matter much anyway. Newer versions are going to have the version embedded in the executable.

Not having all shares verified is normal when you haven't been using p2pool for long. It doesn't matter and is only because a particular share requires the previous day of shares in order to be verified, so they can't all immediately be verified.

Yes, the client is limited to 10 outgoing connections, but if you forward the port, you can get more incoming ones.

1J1zegkNSbwX4smvTdoHSanUfwvXFeuV23
Gabi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


View Profile
January 15, 2012, 08:38:02 PM
 #395

Hi, i'll probably try P2P Pool tomorrow.

What would be nice is the p2p pool client merged in the official client, so i just start it and then mine...
Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
January 15, 2012, 08:51:07 PM
 #396

What would be nice is the p2p pool client merged in the official client, so i just start it and then mine...

+1

Rassah
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652


Director of Bitcoin100


View Profile
January 16, 2012, 01:16:48 AM
 #397

Hi. Noob question:
I was mining with P2Pool for a bit over a day, and let it running while going away for he weekend. When I came home, I saw my Bitcoin client has crashed (using just bitcoind from now on). I restarted the bitcoin client, but the balance is still 0.

Have there been no payouts between now and Saturday morning?
Do the payouts take some time to be processed, or are they instant?
And since I restarted p2pool, does that mean that if I haven't gotten paid for the old shares, they are gone now, or can I still expect to get paid for them later?

Brunic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 633



View Profile
January 16, 2012, 02:00:28 AM
 #398

So, I've read the documentation available about p2pool (wiki, readme, etc). I'm asking just to be sure that I understand correctly how this works.

So, you need to have a bitcoind running somewhere. So, if I'm on one computer, I start bitcoind with p2pool, and the software is going to work like I'm solo mining, but with p2pool activated. I suppose that the Bitcoins that I received are going to be deposited into the wallet.dat associated with the bitcoind I used on that computer.

What if I have 12 different computers? Is it possible to only have one bitcoind somewhere on the network, where p2pool connect to and where Bitcoins are deposited? The documentation seems written for miners who only have one rig. What in the case I have many rigs, and I want all the Bitcoins mined to be in the same wallet somewhere?
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
January 16, 2012, 02:31:28 AM
 #399

So, I've read the documentation available about p2pool (wiki, readme, etc). I'm asking just to be sure that I understand correctly how this works.

So, you need to have a bitcoind running somewhere. So, if I'm on one computer, I start bitcoind with p2pool, and the software is going to work like I'm solo mining, but with p2pool activated. I suppose that the Bitcoins that I received are going to be deposited into the wallet.dat associated with the bitcoind I used on that computer.

What if I have 12 different computers? Is it possible to only have one bitcoind somewhere on the network, where p2pool connect to and where Bitcoins are deposited? The documentation seems written for miners who only have one rig. What in the case I have many rigs, and I want all the Bitcoins mined to be in the same wallet somewhere?

Good question.  My assumption is that you only need a single bitcoind and p2pool running and then point all the miners on the 11 other rigs at the ip address of the machine running bitcoind/p2pool.  It would be good to get a confirmation of that though.
Therilith
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 62


100X100111XX10


View Profile
January 16, 2012, 02:35:14 AM
 #400

So, I've read the documentation available about p2pool (wiki, readme, etc). I'm asking just to be sure that I understand correctly how this works.

So, you need to have a bitcoind running somewhere. So, if I'm on one computer, I start bitcoind with p2pool, and the software is going to work like I'm solo mining, but with p2pool activated. I suppose that the Bitcoins that I received are going to be deposited into the wallet.dat associated with the bitcoind I used on that computer.

What if I have 12 different computers? Is it possible to only have one bitcoind somewhere on the network, where p2pool connect to and where Bitcoins are deposited? The documentation seems written for miners who only have one rig. What in the case I have many rigs, and I want all the Bitcoins mined to be in the same wallet somewhere?
Not sure if you can point all of them to the same p2pool or bitcoind.exe, but you can manually set the payout address when starting run_p2pool.exe.

I'm using the same address for all my mining boxes.
run_p2pool.exe user password -a 1HLXuWY1JC6j6RD2c6BUFCGyeqFrTZ9qAG

Money is power. If you would like to transfer some of your power to me (making yourself weaker and me stronger), use the following address: 1PoFSpghmpsebfwZwnu5PPmmv2u9uYgJKo
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 [20] 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!