Bitcoin Forum
September 26, 2022, 06:54:47 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 23.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Need help in setting up Raspberry Pi with my Scrypt ASICs  (Read 3791 times)
film2240 (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1000


Freelance videographer


View Profile WWW
May 18, 2014, 02:14:02 PM
 #1

Hi,
It's been a while since I've been here but that's just because I've been busy.Anyway I've ordered a Raspberry Pi since I'm fed up with the high power use of my old PC to run my Gridseed (5 Chip) and DualMiner ASICs (which use 8 Watts total for around 470Kh/s) and since mining is not as profitable as it once used to be (both from mining directly and selling off mining contracts).The old PC uses 50W idle (connected to the internet) vs Raspberry Pi's 3 watt footprint (saving me a lot a day on electric).

I don't have it yet as I'm waiting to get it posted to me off eBay (thanks to the fact I won the auction at £21 for model B with a case as well.All I need is a USB keyboard on top of that and it'll be great).

I'm looking for an easy to use image that supports the 2 devices along with a easy to use GUI/settings out of the box since I couldn't find a cost effective option when I last made this kind of request for help with the PC and Intel NUC options (they met the requirements but were too expensive for my mining operation).

Can anyone provide me with an easy to follow guide with an easy to flash/setup/use image that's compatible with all my hardware and is stable (as I heard that some of the ROMs are unstable or something on the Raspberry Pi)?

Thanks.Smiley

[This signature is available for rent.BTC/ETH/LTC or £50 equivalent a month]
[This signature is available for rent.BTC/ETH/LTC or £50 equivalent a month]
[This signature is available for rent.BTC/ETH/LTC or £50 equivalent a month]
1664175287
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1664175287

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1664175287
Reply with quote  #2

1664175287
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
film2240 (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1000


Freelance videographer


View Profile WWW
May 19, 2014, 12:03:29 PM
 #2

Ok I've got the Raspberry Pi now and am wondering which ROM I should use to enable Gridseed mining?As I heard rumours that the wi-fi is unstable on the Raspberry Pi and if it's true then I'll have to return it since using Ethernet is not possible (as there's none where I live at the moment).

Which rom should I use?HashRa?Scripta?Raspbian? As I just want an easy to use,setup rom that doesn't drop the wi-fi connection so much.


Help would be appreciated here guys Smiley

[This signature is available for rent.BTC/ETH/LTC or £50 equivalent a month]
[This signature is available for rent.BTC/ETH/LTC or £50 equivalent a month]
[This signature is available for rent.BTC/ETH/LTC or £50 equivalent a month]
chadwickx16
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 826
Merit: 1000



View Profile
May 20, 2014, 02:32:45 PM
 #3

Ok I've got the Raspberry Pi now and am wondering which ROM I should use to enable Gridseed mining?As I heard rumours that the wi-fi is unstable on the Raspberry Pi and if it's true then I'll have to return it since using Ethernet is not possible (as there's none where I live at the moment).

Which rom should I use?HashRa?Scripta?Raspbian? As I just want an easy to use,setup rom that doesn't drop the wi-fi connection so much.


Help would be appreciated here guys Smiley
Hey Film,

I know where you're coming from, I had to learn a lot about the pi when I got my first one with the seeds, now I manage 7 between mine and my clients.  I use raspbian, with screen installed and bfgminer for mining. Detects the rounds with no problem.

Once you get your keyboard I can help you, but all of mine are direct connected.  If you have solid wi-fi you should be ok though, use this one LINK.  You will have to have a direct connection to the pi initially though.

Chad


███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███



░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
░░░░░░░░░░░░░░███████████████████████
░░░░░░░░░░███████████████████████████████
░░░░░░░░███████████████████████████████████
░░░░░░███████████████████████████████████████
░░░░███████████████████████████████████████████
░░░████████████████▀▀░░░░░░░░░░▀▀███████████████
░░░██████████████░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▀████████████
░░████████████▀░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░████████
░░███████████░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░███
░░██████████
░░██████████
░░██████████
░░░██████████
░░░████████████░
░░░░█████████████████████████████████████
░░░░░▀███████████████████████████████████
░░░░░░░▀▀▀▀▀█████████████████████████████
░░░░░▄▄██████████████████████████████████
░░░░█████████████████████████████████████
░░░████████████
░░███████████
░██████████▌
▐█████████▌
▐█████████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░███
▐██████████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█████
░███████████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█████████
░▐████████████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█████████████
░░▐███████████████▄▄▄░░░░░░░░░░▄▄████████████████
░░░░███████████████████████████████████████████
░░░░░░███████████████████████████████████████
░░░░░░░░░████████████████████████████████
░░░░░░░░░░░░░█████████████████████████
░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀

███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███

███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███

███
███



███
███



███
███
*
!
#
HOMEPAGE
ANNOUNCEMENT
JOIN US ON SLACK
forevernoob
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 687
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 20, 2014, 02:53:09 PM
 #4

Step 1: Get Raspian: https://www.andrewmunsell.com/blog/getting-started-raspberry-pi-install-raspbian
Step 2: Get wifi to work, google whatever Wifi dongle you got + raspbian
Step 3: Follow this guide to install bfgminer https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=517451.0

film2240 (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1000


Freelance videographer


View Profile WWW
May 22, 2014, 11:54:51 AM
 #5

I'll update you on some developments.Since my keyboard arrived faulty,I'm returning it and will buy a different one.The hard part is knowing which one is compatible as I see lots online but I find them confusing as unlike the universal recommendation of an Edimax EW-7811Un for the wi-fi (guaranteed to work out of the box).

Is there a keyboard/mouse solution (has to be wireless) that's guaranteed to work as it'll save me time and money,as I really can't afford to take anymore risks (took too many risks with mining in the past that cost me)?

Only thing is I managed to successfully flash the Raspbian ROM to the SD card as nothing else can be attempted yet.

[This signature is available for rent.BTC/ETH/LTC or £50 equivalent a month]
[This signature is available for rent.BTC/ETH/LTC or £50 equivalent a month]
[This signature is available for rent.BTC/ETH/LTC or £50 equivalent a month]
chadwickx16
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 826
Merit: 1000



View Profile
May 22, 2014, 02:40:53 PM
 #6

I'll update you on some developments.Since my keyboard arrived faulty,I'm returning it and will buy a different one.The hard part is knowing which one is compatible as I see lots online but I find them confusing as unlike the universal recommendation of an Edimax EW-7811Un for the wi-fi (guaranteed to work out of the box).

Is there a keyboard/mouse solution (has to be wireless) that's guaranteed to work as it'll save me time and money,as I really can't afford to take anymore risks (took too many risks with mining in the past that cost me)?

Only thing is I managed to successfully flash the Raspbian ROM to the SD card as nothing else can be attempted yet.


I was able to use a shitty Inland wireless keyboard and mouse combo that was $10 from Fry's at the time.

http://www.frys.com/product/5910764?site=sr:SEARCH:MAIN_RSLT_PG

Once I expanded the image, I just used Putty to do the rest.


███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███



░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
░░░░░░░░░░░░░░███████████████████████
░░░░░░░░░░███████████████████████████████
░░░░░░░░███████████████████████████████████
░░░░░░███████████████████████████████████████
░░░░███████████████████████████████████████████
░░░████████████████▀▀░░░░░░░░░░▀▀███████████████
░░░██████████████░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▀████████████
░░████████████▀░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░████████
░░███████████░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░███
░░██████████
░░██████████
░░██████████
░░░██████████
░░░████████████░
░░░░█████████████████████████████████████
░░░░░▀███████████████████████████████████
░░░░░░░▀▀▀▀▀█████████████████████████████
░░░░░▄▄██████████████████████████████████
░░░░█████████████████████████████████████
░░░████████████
░░███████████
░██████████▌
▐█████████▌
▐█████████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░███
▐██████████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█████
░███████████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█████████
░▐████████████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█████████████
░░▐███████████████▄▄▄░░░░░░░░░░▄▄████████████████
░░░░███████████████████████████████████████████
░░░░░░███████████████████████████████████████
░░░░░░░░░████████████████████████████████
░░░░░░░░░░░░░█████████████████████████
░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀

███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███

███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███

███
███



███
███



███
███
*
!
#
HOMEPAGE
ANNOUNCEMENT
JOIN US ON SLACK
forevernoob
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 687
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 23, 2014, 07:08:17 PM
 #7

I have never had any issues with keyboard compatibility in Linux.
I just buy the cheapest one I can find.

film2240 (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1000


Freelance videographer


View Profile WWW
May 23, 2014, 07:31:33 PM
 #8

I have never had any issues with keyboard compatibility in Linux.
I just buy the cheapest one I can find.
Thanks a lot for clearing that up.Now searching for the cheapest USB (wireless) keyboard and mouse combo I can get on eBay (as they all seem to appear as HID in windows,meaning any OS will handle it).

Getting a cheap case and the best bargain I can get on that    
Edimax EW-7811UN Wi-fi adaptor on top of keyboard and mouse.So waiting for the auctions to end so I can secure those great bargains and finally get up and running with that Raspberry Pi to run my Gridseed and DualMiner ASICs.

I'm looking forward to avoiding the stability issues with windows with the miners and the lack of compatibility on my Macbook Pro with these miners,making the Raspberry Pi a versatile machine assuming I'm willing to learn the basics (which I am)

Thanks for all the tips guys,really appreciate this since I'm a complete newb with the Raspberry Pi (experienced with PC/Mac). Smiley

[This signature is available for rent.BTC/ETH/LTC or £50 equivalent a month]
[This signature is available for rent.BTC/ETH/LTC or £50 equivalent a month]
[This signature is available for rent.BTC/ETH/LTC or £50 equivalent a month]
kdfspam
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 25, 2014, 10:52:00 AM
 #9

Have you looked at MinePeon?
film2240 (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1000


Freelance videographer


View Profile WWW
May 25, 2014, 04:13:30 PM
 #10

Have you looked at MinePeon?

I've heard of it before but am not sure if DualMiner and Gridseed (5 chip) Scrypt ASICs are supported out of the box (plug and play) or not and if the extra time is worth it as time is money for me,as I sell mining contracts.

Does anyone know if MinePeon is a good ROM to use for running Scrypt ASIC miners or not as this decision can really affect my mining contracts business?

Got the case/Wi-fi and wireless keyboard/mouse combo ordered now so will wait and see if they arrive soon so I can get started with that Raspberry Pi.Thanks to eBay I'm getting some really cheap deals on these with free shipping on top since I'm not sure where the nearest pound shop is for me.

Thanks Smiley

[This signature is available for rent.BTC/ETH/LTC or £50 equivalent a month]
[This signature is available for rent.BTC/ETH/LTC or £50 equivalent a month]
[This signature is available for rent.BTC/ETH/LTC or £50 equivalent a month]
GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2436
Merit: 1002


View Profile
May 25, 2014, 04:36:23 PM
 #11

Out of the box, Im not sure if minpeon will run the GS asics ... I know it wont for the gblades. I had to essentially download the cgminer 3.7.2 source that supports gblade, compile it and make a service thats similar to the built in cgminer.service etc...
Also, I dont use the webgui's they are worthless. I set up and use miner.php which is in the http folder, that way I can monitor all my rigs. Also, for stable USB operation there are a few items you want to add to /boot/cmdline.txt :
dwc_otg.fiq_enable=1 dwc_otg.fiq_fsm_enable=1 dwc_otg.fiq_fsm_mask=0x3

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! -- !!NO LONGER AVAILABLE!!
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
film2240 (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1000


Freelance videographer


View Profile WWW
May 30, 2014, 12:17:36 PM
 #12

Got some news for you.I've got all the things I need to make my raspberry Pi work.Got the Raspbian ROM flashed and is now up and running.

Only issues so far is knowing what to do about getting it to boot to desktop by default and sorting out my wi-fi (I can't connect as the network I rely on is using WEP instead of WPA2 meaning the 'password' field is greyed out and is asking me for things I don't understand,so am waiting for network admin to change the security to let me connect).

How can I get it to boot into the desktop by default as I don't see that first setup menu anymore?I want the desktop so that I can actually use it more easily whilst still keeping access to terminal open via LXTerminal (since it appears to do the same thing as the non-GUI mode)

I saw a guide on how to set things up on Raspbian but I can't understand some of it (too confusing and complex for me).

Does anyone here know of what ROM is easy to flash,setup,run my ASICs and connect to my wi-fi as I don't have ethernet available (what place does?)?

Thanks a lot.


[This signature is available for rent.BTC/ETH/LTC or £50 equivalent a month]
[This signature is available for rent.BTC/ETH/LTC or £50 equivalent a month]
[This signature is available for rent.BTC/ETH/LTC or £50 equivalent a month]
film2240 (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1000


Freelance videographer


View Profile WWW
June 01, 2014, 01:41:58 PM
 #13

Ok,things have progressed quite a lot since my last post so I'll keep this short:
1.Managed to use my 4G phone's wifi hotspot to do the setup but can't connect to the hidden wifi network where I am and I can't keep my phone at home all the time as I'm usually quite busy.
2.The only things left to do are get the Pi somehow to see and actually connect to the hidden wi-fi network where I am,if not I'm screwed.
3.After the wifi connection is sorted out I can use the stabilise wifi tweak and then run the miner for the first time and hopefully I can get rid of my old PC as windows is really unstable for Gridseeds I find,even in a VM on a mac.

How can I get the Pi to find and connect to the hidden network?

[This signature is available for rent.BTC/ETH/LTC or £50 equivalent a month]
[This signature is available for rent.BTC/ETH/LTC or £50 equivalent a month]
[This signature is available for rent.BTC/ETH/LTC or £50 equivalent a month]
film2240 (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1000


Freelance videographer


View Profile WWW
June 06, 2014, 10:53:45 AM
 #14

Got some news for you.Everything's now ready to run,except that I can't access my Raspberry Pi remotely which I'd need to see and manage miners since I have a mac and Putty/SSH isn't really available.

After this,I'll try to run the miner.

Just tried running the miner according to this guide:http://www.reddit.com/r/litecoinmining/comments/20qddx/a_simple_guild_to_set_up_gridseed_ltc_mining_rig/ and I get an error saying 'Unexpected extra comandline arguments' 'Segmentation fault' on the Raspberry Pi.

If I can't get this working then I'll have to ask someone to make me a custom made image that's plug and play for a price (must be reasonabe) where all I need to do is slot in SD card,plug in miners and start mining.

I'm looking for help to resolve these issues.


[This signature is available for rent.BTC/ETH/LTC or £50 equivalent a month]
[This signature is available for rent.BTC/ETH/LTC or £50 equivalent a month]
[This signature is available for rent.BTC/ETH/LTC or £50 equivalent a month]
chadwickx16
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 826
Merit: 1000



View Profile
June 06, 2014, 02:59:23 PM
 #15

Got some news for you.Everything's now ready to run,except that I can't access my Raspberry Pi remotely which I'd need to see and manage miners since I have a mac and Putty/SSH isn't really available.

After this,I'll try to run the miner.

Just tried running the miner according to this guide:http://www.reddit.com/r/litecoinmining/comments/20qddx/a_simple_guild_to_set_up_gridseed_ltc_mining_rig/ and I get an error saying 'Unexpected extra comandline arguments' 'Segmentation fault' on the Raspberry Pi.

If I can't get this working then I'll have to ask someone to make me a custom made image that's plug and play for a price (must be reasonabe) where all I need to do is slot in SD card,plug in miners and start mining.

I'm looking for help to resolve these issues.



I wouldn't use CGMiner, have you tried bfgminer? What does your network situation look like? I know its on Wifi, but do you have access to this network on a daily basis?


███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███



░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
░░░░░░░░░░░░░░███████████████████████
░░░░░░░░░░███████████████████████████████
░░░░░░░░███████████████████████████████████
░░░░░░███████████████████████████████████████
░░░░███████████████████████████████████████████
░░░████████████████▀▀░░░░░░░░░░▀▀███████████████
░░░██████████████░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▀████████████
░░████████████▀░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░████████
░░███████████░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░███
░░██████████
░░██████████
░░██████████
░░░██████████
░░░████████████░
░░░░█████████████████████████████████████
░░░░░▀███████████████████████████████████
░░░░░░░▀▀▀▀▀█████████████████████████████
░░░░░▄▄██████████████████████████████████
░░░░█████████████████████████████████████
░░░████████████
░░███████████
░██████████▌
▐█████████▌
▐█████████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░███
▐██████████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█████
░███████████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█████████
░▐████████████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█████████████
░░▐███████████████▄▄▄░░░░░░░░░░▄▄████████████████
░░░░███████████████████████████████████████████
░░░░░░███████████████████████████████████████
░░░░░░░░░████████████████████████████████
░░░░░░░░░░░░░█████████████████████████
░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀

███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███

███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███

███
███



███
███



███
███
*
!
#
HOMEPAGE
ANNOUNCEMENT
JOIN US ON SLACK
film2240 (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1000


Freelance videographer


View Profile WWW
June 06, 2014, 03:41:34 PM
 #16

Have you tried minera?

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=596620.0

ionno bout mac though.

These two tools you need.

sdformatter
win32diskimager

Format with sdformatter.

Burn image to sd card with win32diskimager.

Bam, pop the sd card into the raspberryPI and you're set basically. Except you need to stop miners, insert your settings like pool, username and password, save&restart miners.

If you don't have a win OS, might wanna try a VirtualOS inside mac. VM=Virtual Machine.


Thanks for the suggestion.I managed to start up windows in VMWare Fusion (getting windows on a mac) and have successfully connected to my Rapsberry Pi via Putty (SSH) so I'm naturally rather pleased with myself for managing to get this far on a device I find really cumbersome otherwise.

The only thing left is to get CGMiner to work with the OS and I'll try and find a spare SD card to try Minera with too.
Only thing is I don't have ethernet so does Minera support wifi?If so how to enable it?

Thanks.

[This signature is available for rent.BTC/ETH/LTC or £50 equivalent a month]
[This signature is available for rent.BTC/ETH/LTC or £50 equivalent a month]
[This signature is available for rent.BTC/ETH/LTC or £50 equivalent a month]
film2240 (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1000


Freelance videographer


View Profile WWW
June 06, 2014, 06:58:24 PM
 #17

Have you tried minera?

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=596620.0

ionno bout mac though.

These two tools you need.

sdformatter
win32diskimager

Format with sdformatter.

Burn image to sd card with win32diskimager.

Bam, pop the sd card into the raspberryPI and you're set basically. Except you need to stop miners, insert your settings like pool, username and password, save&restart miners.

If you don't have a win OS, might wanna try a VirtualOS inside mac. VM=Virtual Machine.


Thanks for the suggestion.I managed to start up windows in VMWare Fusion (getting windows on a mac) and have successfully connected to my Rapsberry Pi via Putty (SSH) so I'm naturally rather pleased with myself for managing to get this far on a device I find really cumbersome otherwise.

The only thing left is to get CGMiner to work with the OS and I'll try and find a spare SD card to try Minera with too.
Only thing is I don't have ethernet so does Minera support wifi?If so how to enable it?

Thanks.

That is a great question if minera supports wifi...

Post up in minera and ask, if not. ask for support of it?
Just tried Minera.Doesn't work as expected.No wifi,complete waste of time to sum things up really.I'll go back to Raspbian as it was successful in setting up except getting an error when trying to run CGminer on it (you have to type it in,I know it's frustrating with the strange errors I've been getting)

I'd recommend to people who are considering a Raspberry Pi (with wifi/GUI) to run their Gridseed Miners to stick with Raspbian as the guide is straightforward,wifi works and things in general just work (once you put with with Terminal at the start) and to avoid all other OS ROMs like the plague as my experience tells me the developers are not commited to providing a trouble free (plug and play-more specifically power on miner,login to wifi,type in mining details and go with no effort required) experience for inexperienced users and appear to have no intention of doing so (I plan on naming and shaming them if they don't get their act together on stability and trouble free setup experience for end users soon.).

Can someone help me with that error I had earlier please (the one I get when starting cgminer via terminal)? Thanks

If you're like me who expects things to just work out of the box without hassle,either stick to Raspbian OS or get a mac (which I also have). Smiley

The guide I used is here:http://www.reddit.com/r/litecoinmining/comments/20qddx/a_simple_guild_to_set_up_gridseed_ltc_mining_rig/

[This signature is available for rent.BTC/ETH/LTC or £50 equivalent a month]
[This signature is available for rent.BTC/ETH/LTC or £50 equivalent a month]
[This signature is available for rent.BTC/ETH/LTC or £50 equivalent a month]
chadwickx16
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 826
Merit: 1000



View Profile
June 06, 2014, 08:03:31 PM
 #18

Film,

Try bfgminer (https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=517451.0) , I think you'll be pleasantly surprised. Also, if you're using putty, you can copy text and use right click to paste in the terminal.

If you need any help, I'd be happy to help you.


███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███



░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
░░░░░░░░░░░░░░███████████████████████
░░░░░░░░░░███████████████████████████████
░░░░░░░░███████████████████████████████████
░░░░░░███████████████████████████████████████
░░░░███████████████████████████████████████████
░░░████████████████▀▀░░░░░░░░░░▀▀███████████████
░░░██████████████░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▀████████████
░░████████████▀░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░████████
░░███████████░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░███
░░██████████
░░██████████
░░██████████
░░░██████████
░░░████████████░
░░░░█████████████████████████████████████
░░░░░▀███████████████████████████████████
░░░░░░░▀▀▀▀▀█████████████████████████████
░░░░░▄▄██████████████████████████████████
░░░░█████████████████████████████████████
░░░████████████
░░███████████
░██████████▌
▐█████████▌
▐█████████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░███
▐██████████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█████
░███████████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█████████
░▐████████████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█████████████
░░▐███████████████▄▄▄░░░░░░░░░░▄▄████████████████
░░░░███████████████████████████████████████████
░░░░░░███████████████████████████████████████
░░░░░░░░░████████████████████████████████
░░░░░░░░░░░░░█████████████████████████
░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀

███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███

███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███

███
███



███
███



███
███
*
!
#
HOMEPAGE
ANNOUNCEMENT
JOIN US ON SLACK
film2240 (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1000


Freelance videographer


View Profile WWW
June 07, 2014, 03:34:21 PM
 #19

Film,

Try bfgminer (https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=517451.0) , I think you'll be pleasantly surprised. Also, if you're using putty, you can copy text and use right click to paste in the terminal.

If you need any help, I'd be happy to help you.


OK I've tried BFGminer and nothing worked.Since I've basically had enough of trying to make the Raspberry Pi 'just work',I've decided to look into an alternative system as I can't keep taking time out of my professional film work to make this cumbersome thing work.

Time is money for me.Wonder if anyone here can help me find a cheap windows netbook on ebay in the UK instead? Even though I think windows is useless compared to the mac (except no mining programs are available for the mac either)/Raspberry Pi,I just don't see any other option now.

Errors I had during this stage:
git clone -b feature/gridseed-support https://github.com/nwoolls/bfgminer

Error:‘FATAL:REMOTE BRANCH FEATURE/GRIDSEED-SUPPORT NOT FOUND IN UPSTREAM ORIGIN UNEXPECTED END OF COMMAND STREAM’ (sorry about the caps but I just wrote it down without double checking first)

Edit:Unless someone is willing to help me out by making a premade SD card ROM for me where all I have to do is plug in my miners,type my details and just get started,I'll go for another solution.Is there anyone out here who can help me with a pre-made SD card ROM for this situation for a price?

[This signature is available for rent.BTC/ETH/LTC or £50 equivalent a month]
[This signature is available for rent.BTC/ETH/LTC or £50 equivalent a month]
[This signature is available for rent.BTC/ETH/LTC or £50 equivalent a month]
forevernoob
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 687
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 07, 2014, 05:00:43 PM
 #20

Film,

Try bfgminer (https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=517451.0) , I think you'll be pleasantly surprised. Also, if you're using putty, you can copy text and use right click to paste in the terminal.

If you need any help, I'd be happy to help you.


OK I've tried BFGminer and nothing worked.Since I've basically had enough of trying to make the Raspberry Pi 'just work',I've decided to look into an alternative system as I can't keep taking time out of my professional film work to make this cumbersome thing work.

Time is money for me.Wonder if anyone here can help me find a cheap windows netbook on ebay in the UK instead? Even though I think windows is useless compared to the mac (except no mining programs are available for the mac either)/Raspberry Pi,I just don't see any other option now.

Errors I had during this stage:
git clone -b feature/gridseed-support https://github.com/nwoolls/bfgminer

Error:‘FATAL:REMOTE BRANCH FEATURE/GRIDSEED-SUPPORT NOT FOUND IN UPSTREAM ORIGIN UNEXPECTED END OF COMMAND STREAM’ (sorry about the caps but I just wrote it down without double checking first)

Edit:Unless someone is willing to help me out by making a premade SD card ROM for me where all I have to do is plug in my miners,type my details and just get started,I'll go for another solution.Is there anyone out here who can help me with a pre-made SD card ROM for this situation for a price?

Why not DL an image with GS support?

http://cryptomining-blog.com/tag/raspberry-pi-gridseed/

Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!