Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 05:58:14 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: 5870 running at 421 mHash/sec!  (Read 21913 times)
ptshamrock
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 479



View Profile
June 17, 2011, 09:23:13 AM
 #61

where can i finde hashkill?? and wah is it for?  cannot find the thread ! please someone point me there

"Money needs to be depoliticized, and the time has come for the separation of money and state to be accomplished."
1481306294
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481306294

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481306294
Reply with quote  #2

1481306294
Report to moderator
1481306294
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481306294

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481306294
Reply with quote  #2

1481306294
Report to moderator
1481306294
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481306294

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481306294
Reply with quote  #2

1481306294
Report to moderator
If you see garbage posts (off-topic, trolling, spam, no point, etc.), use the "report to moderator" links. All reports are investigated, though you will rarely be contacted about your reports.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481306294
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481306294

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481306294
Reply with quote  #2

1481306294
Report to moderator
DonMon
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32


View Profile
June 17, 2011, 08:19:54 PM
 #62

Update 4/25/11:  I switched over to the Phoenix miner 1.1, and now run at 421-423 mHash/sec on all of my 5870s.  Clock settings are 975/300, using 0.950 voltage.  They're running cooler, sucking less power, and running significantly faster with Phoenix!

Yeah..phoenix is definitely the way to go with the 5870's...I get 415Mh/s with settings of 940/305 temps around 65degC...they could probably do more..but I think it would be marginal for the extra juice/time tweaking/reduced lifespan required to achieve it..

My opinion is if you can get over 400-410 with your 5870's lock her in and ride it...it's not worth getting more (with present known methods).


Two peanuts walked down the road and one was a salted...boom goes the dynamite!  Here's my hat on the ground..

185GGNi36zxtFmJ4zaKthBfzsb4yoYWnHD
italeffect
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 255



View Profile
June 17, 2011, 10:29:53 PM
 #63

I'm running an Apple 5870 clocked to 1020/300, stock voltage, with MSI Afterburner running in Windows 7 on a MacPro

Temps 57C and fan at 60% - running Phoenix and phatk & getting 448Mhash/s for about 5 days now with no issues.

Dash: Xdopotr3eAHpsSCMkUyU2YWP3WQWb5X3t8
tictok
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
June 18, 2011, 11:19:31 AM
 #64

I'm on a 2006 mac pro running a XFX HD 5870 which I found on pricelover.com for around £110. Flashed the BIOS to make the card work in OS X. Left clock speeds and voltages as stock.

Get really bad speeds in OS X due to Apples crippled OpenCL implementation.. somewhere around 150mhash/sec last time I tried, although I hear its much better running OS X 10.7 (lion).

When booted into Windows 7 I get approx 350mhash/sec when left at stock settings.
If I overclock with MSI afterburner I can achieve 430Mhash/sec when clocking to 969/350.
The card crashes or becomes unstable (although it recovers without a reboot) if I clock GPU over 970.
Running most recent AMD drivers (11.6 I think) and phoenix with the Phatk kernal.

Similar results (430mhash/sec) when booted into Ubunutu, although I have to flash the bios to overclock out of the preset ranges as I don't believe there's an MSI Afterburner type app for linux?

Temps anywhere between 65ºC and 75ºC depending upon ambient temp.
I leave the side of the mac off and the fans appear to need to do less work to keep GPU and mac CPU cool, meaning less noise.






Harri
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 86


View Profile
June 18, 2011, 11:42:18 AM
 #65

So Phönix would work better than diablominer?

I get 1267374/1256143 khash/sec using 3x 5870...
Confidence Man
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
June 18, 2011, 04:41:37 PM
 #66

I'm mining at about 382 Mhash/sec with an HD 5870. In the ATI Catalyst Control Center, I've overclocked the GPU to 900 Mhz, and downclocked the memory to 900 Mhz. The fan is set at 75%, and the current temperature is 78 C with the side panel removed (I also have an nVidia GTX 580 running the miner in a slot right below it, so this drives the temperatures up).

Are there any other currently-maintained Windows apps out there for overclocking AMD GPUs, besides ATI Tray Tools? For some reason, ATI Tray Tools doesn't want to run with both AMD and nVidia hardware in one system, with both sets of drivers installed.
Mousepotato
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


Seal Cub Clubbing Club


View Profile
June 18, 2011, 05:06:26 PM
 #67

Ok I did some further tweaking and got mine stable at 442-443 MH/s. 1000MHz/350Mhz, 68C with fan @ 60% (ambient temp is around 80F), case cover is on.  That's with 11.5.  With 11.6 I lose about 80 MH/s.

Mousepotato
hugolp
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
June 18, 2011, 05:49:12 PM
 #68

Ok I did some further tweaking and got mine stable at 442-443 MH/s. 1000MHz/350Mhz, 68C with fan @ 60% (ambient temp is around 80F), case cover is on.  That's with 11.5.  With 11.6 I lose about 80 MH/s.

Have you tried going down to 335? A lot of people here (including me) have gotten the 5870 to 335 -333 without affecting hashing speed. What about voltage?
Mousepotato
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


Seal Cub Clubbing Club


View Profile
June 18, 2011, 05:53:49 PM
 #69

Have you tried going down to 335? A lot of people here (including me) have gotten the 5870 to 335 -333 without affecting hashing speed. What about voltage?

Yeah, I've tried 333 and, while it's a noticeable improvement over 300, it falls a few MH/s behind 350 memory clock.  Voltage is automatically set at 1.250 by the ATI GPU Tool, which I'm using to adjust the core/memory clocks.  I don't think there's a way for me to change the voltage with that tool.

Mousepotato
hugolp
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
June 18, 2011, 06:35:13 PM
 #70

Have you tried going down to 335? A lot of people here (including me) have gotten the 5870 to 335 -333 without affecting hashing speed. What about voltage?

Yeah, I've tried 333 and, while it's a noticeable improvement over 300, it falls a few MH/s behind 350 memory clock.  Voltage is automatically set at 1.250 by the ATI GPU Tool, which I'm using to adjust the core/memory clocks.  I don't think there's a way for me to change the voltage with that tool.

If you are using Linux try AMDOverdriveCtrl. I could set the voltage lower at those speeds, so you have less consumption and less heat.
Yeti
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112

Firstbits: 1yetiax


View Profile
July 05, 2011, 07:20:35 PM
 #71

Hai, I got my 5870 running at 425 MH/s with SDK 2.1 and the newest DiabloMiner (includes this tweak).

Now I know overclocking (won't be stable past 950 MHz, blame XFX) and I recently learned underclocking (memory is at 300 MHz), but what about undervolting? I am down to 1.15V with the 950/300 setup and it's already saved me 10 W. How far can one go? Should I just trial and error until the system freezes and use the last voltage known to work? Is that safe or can I effectively ruin my card?

1YetiaXeuRzX9QJoQNUW84oX2EiXnHgp3 or http://payb.tc/yeti

Since Bitcoin Randomizer is dead, join the Bitcoin Pyramid (referrer id #203)! Be quick, be on top! Instant payout as soon as one of your referrals deposits!
Chucksta
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168



View Profile
July 07, 2011, 10:24:51 AM
 #72

I get 430 Mhash/s with 945/300, and this phoenix script:

phoenix -u http://workername:workerpassword@btcguild.com:8332/ -k phatk VECTORS BFI_INT AGGRESSION=7 WORKSIZE=128 DEVICE=0 FASTLOOP=false

That's on a Win 7 machine.

If you use that pre-built Linux OS/miner, that you can boot off of a USB stick, it is possible to get 450 - 460 Mhash/s

I killed my USB stick Sad so ordering another one Smiley
Atroxes
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 120



View Profile
July 07, 2011, 03:11:46 PM
 #73

2x ASUS Radeon 5870 (EAH5870/2DIS/1GD5/V2)

452 MH/s each

Card Settings
Core: 992MHz
Mem: 350MHz
Voltage: Standard
Temperature: 81c (top) 78c (bottom). Room temperature 20-25c. Fan @ 40-50%.

Miner Configuration
GUIMiner (07-01-2011)
Phoenix 1.5 (phatk 07-06-2011)
Flags: -k phatk VECTORS BFI_INT AGGRESSION=14 WORKSIZE=256
Yeti
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112

Firstbits: 1yetiax


View Profile
July 07, 2011, 04:22:38 PM
 #74

What's your wattage running stock voltage?

I have 260 W for the whole rig, it does about 80 W during POST so I'm guessing 180-200 W for the GPU. Can I get below that if I undervolt? How far can I go?

1YetiaXeuRzX9QJoQNUW84oX2EiXnHgp3 or http://payb.tc/yeti

Since Bitcoin Randomizer is dead, join the Bitcoin Pyramid (referrer id #203)! Be quick, be on top! Instant payout as soon as one of your referrals deposits!
Herodes
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868


View Profile
July 13, 2011, 12:47:50 AM
 #75

Nice to see high hashing power. How's the stability of these numbers over a longer time period? I find that if the core clock is 'too' high, instability can occur over time. I should know as I have 4 5870 cards.

So for a card to be running stable, it should at least run 14 days without freezes or crashes in my opinion.
cupkakes
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
July 13, 2011, 08:20:22 AM
 #76

I had major cooling problems with my 3 x 5870s due to the proximity of the cards to eachother's fans, meaning that I couldn't really overclock them significantly without hitting 90c and above. Fixed with clothes pegs...
http://img89.imageshack.us/img89/4290/201106251714402.th.jpg

I then got into flashing the BIOS for faster speeds so needed more cooling. Fixed with some dryer ducting with a 92mm fan jammed inside...
http://img41.imageshack.us/img41/8355/201107042308203.th.jpg

Running at the following settings:
Adapter0: 860/300 clock, 382MHash/s @ 69.5c
Adapter1: 920/307 clock, 411MHash/s @ 68.0c
Adapter2: 940/313 clock, 422MHash/s @ 62.0c

All voltages & fans are at stock setting, though I'm tempted to manually set the fans a bit faster for the higher temps. All cards are running Phoenix with Phatk configured with: AGGRESSION=10 WORKSIZE=256 VECTORS BFI_INT FASTLOOP=false -q 2

I can't really go above 960 core clock without the cards crashing, due to voltages probably - has anyone had any luck changing this on XFX 5870 under Linux? The setting is locked in RBE and I can't find any software option.

1GxKNPRDxT6Wx2EYv5CVz1FWwDDEq6Tmw4
bal3wolf
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 426



View Profile
July 15, 2011, 12:18:24 AM
 #77

I been testing my 5870 and 5970 alot iv managed to get my 5870 to 1060/600 on 1.225 and my 5970 to 960/500 on 1.149.  Im running windows 7 and i found my cards can be undervolted and still run great at high clocks with pretty low stales.  Im still gonna see how far i can push them also my cards are under water so temps not a issue just they heat up my room bad when its really hot out thats when i down clock them.  I think i might get 1100 out of the 5870 but the 5970 is pretty close to topped out.


my btc address 1LRWTJS3rf8ubG2oMjcm7CmGGDJQSomdRP
Mining tools and Drivers
Furyan
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 175



View Profile
July 15, 2011, 01:13:15 AM
 #78

You guys are making me drool.

Can't wait for my 6950 to get here...
Crispin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
July 30, 2011, 05:45:17 PM
 #79

Hey Gang,

I've been looking things over and I am aiming to build a light mining rig with hopes for future expansion. I am a self-professed newb and so I am hoping to get a little help from the community with my choices of hardware. As far as I know, the hardware I have chosen should work together, but if anything sticks out, constructive criticism would be greatly appreciated.

What I have here is a combination of what I found on these two well-known pages:
https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_rig and:
https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison#See_Also

Also, I am in Europe and some of the hardware is either unavailable to me or prohibitively expensive.  Links provided go to a Czech website, but I think the specs should still be intelligible even without translation.  Here is the list:

-Mobo: ASUS M4A87TD
    http://www.alza.cz/asus-m4a87td-d198797.htm#popis

-CPU: AMD Sempron 140

-GPU: ASUS MATRIX 5870/2DIS/2GD5
    http://www.alza.cz/asus-matrix-5870-2dis-2gd5-d164659.htm

-RAM: 2x 1024MB DDR3 1333MHz CL9 CORSAIR
    http://www.mironet.cz/2048mb-ddr3-1333mhz-cl9-corsair--xms3-kit-2x1024mb+dp80617/

-PSU: CORSAIR Builder Series CX600 V2 600W , 80 PLUS Certified
    http://www.alza.cz/corsair-cx600-v2-d237950.htmhttp://www.alza.cz/corsair-cx600-v2-d237950.htm

-Chassis: CoolerMaster HAF 912 PLUS black
    http://www.alza.cz/coolermaster-haf-912-plus-cerna-d189911.htm#foto

-Hard Disk: WESTERN DIGITAL Caviar Green 750GB 64MB cache w/ Advanced Format
    http://www.alza.cz/western-digital-caviar-green-750gb-64mb-cache-s-advanced-format-d245784.htm#popis

I know the HDD is quite an overkill on space, but it was one of the cheapest they had that appeared worth anything. My goal is to firstly have a machine that has high Mhash/J, which is more important to me in the long run considering the costs of electricity, and then secondly, to have an initial investment that gives me a high Mhash/$ invested. I figure with the HDD,  I can simply remote access it and use the extra space as storage.

Also, as I am just getting my feet wet, I do not want to immediately invest too much until I get a feel for the practical side of this operation. To that end, I have been planning on building my own PC anyway and so if I decide to bow out of mining, most of the components I plan to buy can be used for my home office/gaming rig. I calculate my bitcoin mining investment portion of this machine to be only about USD 200.

Based on the motherboard I have chosen, would it be possible to add another 1 or 2 of the same GPU if I decide to take this further? I would like to get close to the ~420Mhash/GPU that I have been reading in this thread and so I plan to have the appropriate software and configuration there.


Thanks for any pointers!

Crispin

I will gladly pay you Tuesday for a Bitcoin today... 
1PqTM8XXbs4yWaQy3n8Pg12SXAFZUVqrdZ
being
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38


View Profile
July 31, 2011, 07:52:50 AM
 #80

Thanks for any pointers!
Have you tried calculating, when this would pay off for you? -__-
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!