Bitcoin Forum
December 17, 2017, 04:50:06 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: A couple questions about a Radeon card  (Read 1188 times)
lowbrow
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
January 29, 2012, 11:41:34 PM
 #1

I was checking up on the hardware comparison page on the wiki and noticed an entry for a Radeon 3410 card. Which is a mobility chipset.

I saw the entry listed the person was using a custom brook+ miner, and I cannot find anything on brook+ miners in general.
I have a 3450 card I'd like to use for additional mining, the card supports openCL and everything, so I don't see why it can't be.
The miners I try using for the card tell me the there is a cal mismatch, that I need 1.4.879 as opposed to the 1.4.675 I have installed.

So my questions are:
How do I update CAL?
Where do I find this brook+ miner?
1513529406
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513529406

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513529406
Reply with quote  #2

1513529406
Report to moderator
1513529406
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513529406

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513529406
Reply with quote  #2

1513529406
Report to moderator
1513529406
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513529406

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513529406
Reply with quote  #2

1513529406
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
January 30, 2012, 12:26:48 AM
 #2

The 3XXX series does not support OpenCL.

Did you see the 3410's efficiency? It's abysmal at only 0,074 MHash/J.
Some CPUs do better (e.g. Phenom II X6 1100T is twice as efficient) and still they're perfectly inadequate for the task.

Just forget that 3450, it's not going to work.
A very inexpensive 6750 card is an order of magnitude more useful for mining but still is barely strong enough to guarantee a single Bitcoin per week of 24/7 mining.
lowbrow
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
January 30, 2012, 02:03:29 AM
 #3

Yes I did see it and I'm still interested
Azelphur
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43


View Profile
January 30, 2012, 02:32:20 AM
 #4

You shouldn't be, 0.89MH/sec is not worth bothering with. It will make you about 11 cents a month. Then you have to pay the power bill for running this thing at 100%, which will be about 150Wh 24/7.

In other words, Losses, huge losses.

On top of this, mining on a laptop is bad, and can cause permanent damage to the laptop due to overheating.

Overall: bad idea.
nbtcminer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 247


View Profile
January 30, 2012, 02:44:52 AM
 #5

I concur; laptop mining is totally unprofitable (same goes for CPU unless your stealing the hashing power).

GPU / FPGA mining currently are the only ways to be profitable (with GPUs having the best value for dollar atm).
blissfulyoshi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
January 30, 2012, 03:07:22 AM
 #6

I concur; laptop mining is totally unprofitable (same goes for CPU unless your stealing the hashing power).

GPU / FPGA mining currently are the only ways to be profitable (with GPUs having the best value for dollar atm).

If you are talking about bitcoin/intial cost then I agree with you, but it is not necessarily true if you have to pay a fair bit for your electricity. Where I live, the net gain per day for FPGAs is significantly greater than the gain by graphics cards. I am pretty sure I can make up the difference between the graphics card and FPGA in 1-2 months. (Though I need my graphics card for gaming, so that is not going anywhere xD)
nbtcminer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 247


View Profile
January 30, 2012, 03:21:33 AM
 #7

FPGA mining cards are great for electrical efficiency (most run under 20w) but require a good amount of tech knowledge in terms of getting them up and running in comparison to most current GPU setup. Having said that I'm in a similar situation where my electricity costs are going up (stupid smart meters) and have picked up a x6500 FPGA miner as a test unit (mh/s vs power consumption). I'll definitely make a new post here once I get mine and journal how things are going with it!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!