Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 02:03:38 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: A couple questions about a Radeon card  (Read 1121 times)
lowbrow
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
January 29, 2012, 11:41:34 PM
 #1

I was checking up on the hardware comparison page on the wiki and noticed an entry for a Radeon 3410 card. Which is a mobility chipset.

I saw the entry listed the person was using a custom brook+ miner, and I cannot find anything on brook+ miners in general.
I have a 3450 card I'd like to use for additional mining, the card supports openCL and everything, so I don't see why it can't be.
The miners I try using for the card tell me the there is a cal mismatch, that I need 1.4.879 as opposed to the 1.4.675 I have installed.

So my questions are:
How do I update CAL?
Where do I find this brook+ miner?
1480773818
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480773818

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480773818
Reply with quote  #2

1480773818
Report to moderator
1480773818
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480773818

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480773818
Reply with quote  #2

1480773818
Report to moderator
1480773818
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480773818

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480773818
Reply with quote  #2

1480773818
Report to moderator
The money raised from these ads will be used to pay for improved forum software and other useful stuff.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480773818
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480773818

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480773818
Reply with quote  #2

1480773818
Report to moderator
1480773818
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480773818

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480773818
Reply with quote  #2

1480773818
Report to moderator
1480773818
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480773818

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480773818
Reply with quote  #2

1480773818
Report to moderator
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
January 30, 2012, 12:26:48 AM
 #2

The 3XXX series does not support OpenCL.

Did you see the 3410's efficiency? It's abysmal at only 0,074 MHash/J.
Some CPUs do better (e.g. Phenom II X6 1100T is twice as efficient) and still they're perfectly inadequate for the task.

Just forget that 3450, it's not going to work.
A very inexpensive 6750 card is an order of magnitude more useful for mining but still is barely strong enough to guarantee a single Bitcoin per week of 24/7 mining.
lowbrow
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
January 30, 2012, 02:03:29 AM
 #3

Yes I did see it and I'm still interested
Azelphur
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
January 30, 2012, 02:32:20 AM
 #4

You shouldn't be, 0.89MH/sec is not worth bothering with. It will make you about 11 cents a month. Then you have to pay the power bill for running this thing at 100%, which will be about 150Wh 24/7.

In other words, Losses, huge losses.

On top of this, mining on a laptop is bad, and can cause permanent damage to the laptop due to overheating.

Overall: bad idea.
nbtcminer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 247


View Profile
January 30, 2012, 02:44:52 AM
 #5

I concur; laptop mining is totally unprofitable (same goes for CPU unless your stealing the hashing power).

GPU / FPGA mining currently are the only ways to be profitable (with GPUs having the best value for dollar atm).
blissfulyoshi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
January 30, 2012, 03:07:22 AM
 #6

I concur; laptop mining is totally unprofitable (same goes for CPU unless your stealing the hashing power).

GPU / FPGA mining currently are the only ways to be profitable (with GPUs having the best value for dollar atm).

If you are talking about bitcoin/intial cost then I agree with you, but it is not necessarily true if you have to pay a fair bit for your electricity. Where I live, the net gain per day for FPGAs is significantly greater than the gain by graphics cards. I am pretty sure I can make up the difference between the graphics card and FPGA in 1-2 months. (Though I need my graphics card for gaming, so that is not going anywhere xD)
nbtcminer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 247


View Profile
January 30, 2012, 03:21:33 AM
 #7

FPGA mining cards are great for electrical efficiency (most run under 20w) but require a good amount of tech knowledge in terms of getting them up and running in comparison to most current GPU setup. Having said that I'm in a similar situation where my electricity costs are going up (stupid smart meters) and have picked up a x6500 FPGA miner as a test unit (mh/s vs power consumption). I'll definitely make a new post here once I get mine and journal how things are going with it!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!