Bitcoin Forum
November 21, 2017, 07:37:10 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How much disk space do I need to install bitcoind?  (Read 984 times)
JimmyGre
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
May 21, 2014, 12:31:13 AM
 #1

Hi,

I'm following this -- http://blog.domenech.org/2014/04/install-official-bitcoin-wallet-aws-ec2-linux-ami-redhat-rhel-centos.html tutorial to install my bitcoind. When I was doing 'Initializing Blockchain database using Torrent', my terminal shows 'Disk space is low'. So I'm wondering the size of space to install the bitcoind.

Thanks,
J
1511293030
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511293030

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511293030
Reply with quote  #2

1511293030
Report to moderator
1511293030
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511293030

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511293030
Reply with quote  #2

1511293030
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511293030
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511293030

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511293030
Reply with quote  #2

1511293030
Report to moderator
1511293030
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511293030

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511293030
Reply with quote  #2

1511293030
Report to moderator
telepatheic
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56

Get off the web. Go do something in meatspace!


View Profile
May 21, 2014, 12:52:56 AM
 #2

At least 25GB, preferably more than 30GB if you plan to run it for more than a few months. The blockchain is rather large (just under 20GB right now).

If you want to run a light version of bitcoin, try installing multibit or electrum. If you want to just mess about with bitcoin then run bitcoind in testnet mode (only requires just over 1GB of space); testnet bitcoins are free!

softtissue
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile
May 21, 2014, 01:58:04 AM
 #3

By using the command line, you can transfer your bitcoin wallet data to the other hard disk.
JimmyGre
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
May 21, 2014, 03:04:51 AM
 #4

At least 25GB, preferably more than 30GB if you plan to run it for more than a few months. The blockchain is rather large (just under 20GB right now).

If you want to run a light version of bitcoin, try installing multibit or electrum. If you want to just mess about with bitcoin then run bitcoind in testnet mode (only requires just over 1GB of space); testnet bitcoins are free!



cool! Thank you sooo much! Is there a tutorial to show how to install multibit or electrum to CentOS through Mac SSH (terminal)?

Thank you,
J
monsterbitty
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 122


View Profile
May 21, 2014, 06:24:52 PM
 #5

At least 25GB, preferably more than 30GB if you plan to run it for more than a few months. The blockchain is rather large (just under 20GB right now).

If you want to run a light version of bitcoin, try installing multibit or electrum. If you want to just mess about with bitcoin then run bitcoind in testnet mode (only requires just over 1GB of space); testnet bitcoins are free!



cool! Thank you sooo much! Is there a tutorial to show how to install multibit or electrum to CentOS through Mac SSH (terminal)?

Thank you,
J

Check on youtube, you may find some tutorials out there.
royal-casino
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112

Casino, Lottery, Dice


View Profile WWW
May 21, 2014, 06:25:38 PM
 #6

mine takes 19gb fully synced

Newar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274


https://gliph.me/hUF


View Profile
May 25, 2014, 05:18:11 AM
 #7

Plan for the future:

https://blockchain.info/charts/blocks-size?timespan=all&showDataPoints=false&daysAverageString=1&show_header=true&scale=0&address=

OTC rating | GPG keyid 1DC91318EE785FDE | Gliph: lightning bicycle tree music | Mycelium, a swift & secure Bitcoin client for Android | LocalBitcoins
Skele
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224

VocalPlatform.com


View Profile
May 25, 2014, 05:23:10 AM
 #8


I think it will go to a point that only the businesses will have the entire blockchain, i used to have it in 2013 with 7 gbs and if in 2 days i dint open it, i needed to wait like half hour to sincronize.. ans that was in 2013
ranochigo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260

In the midst of an exam, will be very inactive.


View Profile WWW
May 25, 2014, 05:33:02 AM
 #9

If you are going to run a website, at least 30gb since the blockchain is going to get bigger and bigger.
-ramochigo














 

 

█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
BitBlender 

 













 















 












 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
somic
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
May 25, 2014, 09:55:20 AM
 #10

mine 20.6G now
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!