Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 07:50:47 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: How to determine if an FPGA is suitable for mining?  (Read 2056 times)
R04dRunn3r
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49


Speed limits are a form of Oppression.


View Profile
February 11, 2012, 02:18:01 PM
 #21

Call it unethical but my friend from college has a 4x5970 setup running 24/7 in his office at work. He has a few more of the same rigs running 24/7 at his sister's house because she is on some low income energy program where she pays a flat rate no matter the usages.

Tapping power that is being paid for by the state/government doesn't matter to me. We are paying for it one way or another.

Damn right is your friend. We payed the goverment way to much the last decade, time to get something back for it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Even when it's only electric power. People are being ripped off by the goverment and it's time to do something back!!!!!
We can all start by undermining the central banking system by mining/trading/buying Bitcoins!
So support Bitcoin is a vallid way to protest to the way goverments function!

Diamonds are like tears of mother nature captured for eternity.
1480794647
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480794647

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480794647
Reply with quote  #2

1480794647
Report to moderator
The forum strives to allow free discussion of any ideas. All policies are built around this principle. This doesn't mean you can post garbage, though: posts should actually contain ideas, and these ideas should be argued reasonably.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480794647
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480794647

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480794647
Reply with quote  #2

1480794647
Report to moderator
chrisp
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33


View Profile
February 11, 2012, 02:23:01 PM
 #22



On one page they describe a project that costs $175.  But I think they all use a spartan chip.

I too was wondering if the problem can be solved by 200 $0.50 chips or something like that.

Part of the difficulty with using multiple smaller parts is the large state-size.  Each iteration requires 8 32-bit integers as well as other variables.  To pass >256 bytes at the goal clock rate would in general more expensive than using a larger FPGA.
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!