Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2017, 02:36:01 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Antminer S2 Support and Overclocking Thread  (Read 26315 times)
bernard75
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204



View Profile
August 13, 2014, 12:44:04 PM
 #61

225 Mhz, 1,207.93 GHash/s at ozco.in pool. Continue to monitor.  Cool
Thats the whole pool, right? Wink
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1512959761
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1512959761

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1512959761
Reply with quote  #2

1512959761
Report to moderator
Rabinovitch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190



View Profile
August 18, 2014, 06:44:53 AM
 #62

Sure it's only my S2.  Roll Eyes
But now I'm at slush's because of better ping.

From Siberia with love!
Never do any business with Kirill Stepanenko (Volgograd, Russia)
Hotmine X6 miner/upgrade kit review
d2dtk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518


View Profile
August 20, 2014, 05:33:39 AM
 #63

Then for you it's time to overclock your S2.  Cool

I'm officially over clocked and running a 1300 watt PSU from EVGA their Supernova Model. I'll post results one it steady itself out at 219mhz.

mindtrip
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1061



View Profile WWW
August 20, 2014, 08:44:17 PM
 #64

Then for you it's time to overclock your S2.  Cool

I'm officially over clocked and running a 1300 watt PSU from EVGA their Supernova Model. I'll post results one it steady itself out at 219mhz.

Good choice on the Power supply this is one of my favorites plus 10 year warranty cant go wrong


          ▄▄█████▌▐█████▄▄
       ▄█████████▌    ▀▀▀███▄
     ▄███████████▌  ▄▄▄▄   ▀██▄
   ▄█████████████▌  ▀▄▄▀     ▀██▄
  ▐██████████████▌  ▄▄▄▄       ▀█▌
 ▐███████████████▌             ▀█▌
 ████████████████▌  ▀▀▀█         ██
▐████████████████▌  ▄▄▄▄         ██▌
▐████████████████▌  ▀  ▀         ██▌
 ████████████████▌  █▀▀█         ██
 ▐███████████████▌  ▀▀▀▀        ▄█▌
  ▐██████████████▌  ▀▀▀▀       ▄█▌
   ▀█████████████▌  ▀▀█▀     ▄██▀
     ▀███████████▌  ▀▀▀▀   ▄██▀
       ▀█████████▌    ▄▄▄███▀
          ▀▀█████▌▐█████▀▀
▬◉▬
▬◉▬
▬◉▬
▬◉▬
▬◉▬
▬◉▬
▬◉▬
▬◉▬
      ▄▄▄
 ▄▄█████████▄▄
  ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
   █▌▐█ █▌▐█
   █▌▐█ █▌▐█
 ▄███████████▄
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄






▄█████████████▄
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
███████████████
██▀▀█▀▀████████
▀█████████████▀
d2dtk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518


View Profile
August 22, 2014, 06:36:37 AM
 #65

Pushing it at 225mhz now. Timeout set to 30 seconds. Anyone have better results adjusting the timeout seconds?

d2dtk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518


View Profile
August 24, 2014, 07:11:44 PM
 #66

Pushing the s2 a little harder and I'm glad I re-did the heat sinks or my temps would be extremely high

Pool says I'm averaging between 1.10-1.20TH/s

High hardware error rate but kind of low difficulty rejects.

Hardware Error Rate - 3.579 %
http://www.coincadence.com/antminer-s1-hardware-error/


Rabinovitch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190



View Profile
September 07, 2014, 04:55:42 AM
 #67

I'm tired of waiting when the new firmware for S2 will be released....

From Siberia with love!
Never do any business with Kirill Stepanenko (Volgograd, Russia)
Hotmine X6 miner/upgrade kit review
d2dtk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518


View Profile
September 07, 2014, 05:49:17 AM
 #68

I'm tired of wait when the new firmware for S2 will be released....

I keep checking the website and github everyday :/

Rabinovitch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190



View Profile
September 08, 2014, 06:00:50 PM
 #69

Well, at least we have a cgminer update for S3s: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=671189.msg8731716#msg8731716

From Siberia with love!
Never do any business with Kirill Stepanenko (Volgograd, Russia)
Hotmine X6 miner/upgrade kit review
d2dtk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518


View Profile
September 08, 2014, 10:22:14 PM
 #70

Well, at least we have a cgminer update for S3s: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=671189.msg8731716#msg8731716

I wish I had me some S3 units to test and mess around with! We're all still waiting for Bitmain to update our firmware which is extremely older then the s3, I guess they only care about the new product line.

Rabinovitch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190



View Profile
September 08, 2014, 11:34:33 PM
 #71

Looks so.

From Siberia with love!
Never do any business with Kirill Stepanenko (Volgograd, Russia)
Hotmine X6 miner/upgrade kit review
as4406
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32


View Profile
September 13, 2014, 05:47:01 AM
 #72

it looks like the freq_value is in hex.


Has anyone tested any higher settings with success? if so let me know so I can update this thread for others to try out. I am running stable at 1.11TH for over a week less than 0.45% HW errors


good idea, but i haven't tested it!
new force
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30


View Profile
September 18, 2014, 02:25:47 AM
 #73

Since there is scattered info on the Antminer S2's I thought it would be a good idea to start a thread dedicated to the support and overclocking of the newer S2's

So Far I have replaced my PSU with a newer Enermax 1350Watt Platinum rated as I believed the stock PSU was pushed to close to the limit, this should add some additional head room to OC the boards

My first attempt to SSH into the unit has failed look like the SSH password is not the same as the web interface does anyone know this? SOLVED

WEB LOGIN root
WEB PASSWORD root

SSH LOGIN root
SSH PASSWORD admin

OVERCLOCKING STEPS *PLEASE NOTE THIS IS DONE AT YOUR OWN RISK* IF THIS WORKS FOR YOU PLEASE DONATE FOR THE TIME I INVESTED IN THIS IF YOU FEEL IT WILL MAKE YOU MONEY Smiley

Step 1 Using Putty  or another program SSH into your Miner
Step 2 Click "YES" on the "Security Alert" that pops up
Step 3 Login with User: root Password: admin
Step 4 Type "cd /config"
Step 5 Type "vi asic-freq.config
Step 6 Hit the "I" key to edit the file
Step 7 Scroll the the bottom and copy this code and click in the SSH window to paste it (I suggest you start with the 212M Settings run it for a few hours make sure your miner is stable then work your way up)
    option 'freq_value'    '5082'  #212M
    option 'chip_freq'     '212.5'
    option 'timeout'       '36'

    #option 'freq_value'    '6206'  #216M
    #option 'chip_freq'     '215.625'
    #option 'timeout'       '37'

    #option 'freq_value'     '5102'  #219M
    #option 'chip_freq'      '218.75'
    #option 'timeout'        '38'

Step 8 be sure to add "#" in front of everything listed on the 196M line
Step 9 Hit "esc" then type ":wq"
Step 10 (IMPORTANT) type "cp asic-freq.config /etc/asic-freq.config"
IF YOU SKIP THIS STEP ALL SETTINGS WILL BE LOST WHEN YOU POWER CYCLE THE MINER
Step 11 Now Login to the web interface of your miner and go to the miner config tab and click "save and apply" this will restart cgminer with the new settings

Based on my testing here is how my miner performed at each speed

212mhz     1083GH     (+56 Watts)(+80GH Speed)(HW Error 0.22%)
216mhz     1098GH     (+71 Watts)(+95GH Speed)(HW Error 0.39%)
219mhz     1114GH     (+90 Watts)(+111GH Speed)(HW Error 0.88%)

Keep in mind your results might vary. Enjoy and happy mining  Smiley

no freq value... Huh
Hyacin75
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 53


View Profile
September 18, 2014, 06:48:07 PM
 #74

I just built 4.6.0 on my S2 to try to resolve an issue I'm having with multipool.us (didn't work btw)


Code:
cgminer version 4.6.0 - Started: [2014-09-18 18:16:32]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):1.643T (1m):1.399T (5m):1.144T (15m):892.6G (avg):1.070Th/s
 A:371712  R:18432  HW:8380  WU:15069.9/m
 Connected to stratum.westhash.com diff 1.02K with stratum as user me
 Block: 7cb75f9f...  Diff:232M  Started: [18:42:26]  Best share: 2.09M
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [U]SB management [P]ool management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 0: AS2 0       : 51/ 54C 1800R           | 3.239T / 1.078Th/s WU:15069.9/m
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


There isn't really much of note in the NEWS since 4.3.5, but if anyone would like a copy just tell me where to upload it ...

NEWS since 4.3.5 with stuff relating to other hardware removed -

Code:
Version 4.6.0 - 7th September 2014

- We should not be checking for pool_unworkable in cnx_needed as it is keeping
stratum connections open on unused pools
- Properly handle lack of input when adding pool via menu
- Allow workers without passwords

Version 4.5.0 - 29th July 2014

- Reorder and document the configure options
- fix jansson include path in cgminer-api compile instructions
- Make submit_nonce2_nonce return whether the share was valid or not
- Increase the internal buffer for API response,   as "stats" command response
can grow greater than 8K
- Detach test pool thread only if we have a blocking startup

Version 4.4.2 - 17th July 2014

- Remove the use of the pthread_tryjoin_np which is currently unimplemented on
many platforms
- Fix processarg parameters loaded from a config file not being saveable
- We only use the jansson in our source tree so no need for special case
handling of older versions
- Upgrade jansson to 2.6
- Only clear sockbuf if it's been allocated
- Fix missing osm-led-mode support in write config
- Deal with nanosecond overflow in both directions on both addition and
subtration of timespecs
- production stats added, reset queue added
- Avoid blocking all pool testing if one pool fails to ever init
- There is no point storing the hints addrinfo in struct pool
- initialise more pool values in benchmark
- merge upstream frequency changes
- Fix an off-by-one.
- fix AntS1 breakages from AntS2 changes
- noncedup - give access to the internal stats

Version 4.4.1 - 21st June 2014

- Clean up pool failure and failover code for stratum

Version 4.4.0 - 16th June 2014

- Clear the pool idle flag in the pool test thread
- Display error message if we receive one on share rejects
- Allow zero length strings to be passed to valid_hex
- delete unused roundl definition



Oh, and it has no getwork support since it couldn't find libcurl despite it being installed, and everything I use supports stratum anyway, so I couldn't be bothered to fight with it any longer than I did trying to get it to see the libraries ...



UPDATE - Nevermind.  Absolutely TERRIBLE hashrates with it ... ~3 Gh/s on Slush's pool, and maybe 250 Gh/s on westhash ... went back to 4.3.5-s2 ...
d2dtk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518


View Profile
September 18, 2014, 08:32:29 PM
 #75

UPDATE - Nevermind.  Absolutely TERRIBLE hashrates with it ... ~3 Gh/s on Slush's pool, and maybe 250 Gh/s on westhash ... went back to 4.3.5-s2 ...

Did you just rebuild cgminer or a entire firmware upgrade?

Hyacin75
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 53


View Profile
September 18, 2014, 08:41:15 PM
 #76

Did you just rebuild cgminer or a entire firmware upgrade?

Just cgminer.
Hyacin75
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 53


View Profile
September 25, 2014, 06:29:42 PM
 #77

Oh good, so this thing hasn't come close to returning my investment, and now instead of the upgrade they promised, they want me to fork out another ~$1250 for a whole other unit to run up my hydro bills more and *hopefully* make me back the money I put into the S2 and now the new S4?!?

I believe this is where the train stops for me ... done with Bitmain.
d2dtk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518


View Profile
September 26, 2014, 05:12:34 AM
 #78

Oh good, so this thing hasn't come close to returning my investment, and now instead of the upgrade they promised, they want me to fork out another ~$1250 for a whole other unit to run up my hydro bills more and *hopefully* make me back the money I put into the S2 and now the new S4?!?

I believe this is where the train stops for me ... done with Bitmain.

I feel the same way. Waiting for positive news about possibly over clocking these units to 2th/s with maybe a firmware mod/volt mod.

dudee
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 81


View Profile
October 13, 2014, 06:52:48 PM
 #79

I tried oc 212M set but failed to work, I did a reset. the original power supply can handle 212Mhz?
klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652

ASIC wannabe


View Profile
October 14, 2014, 03:58:25 PM
 #80

Anyone tried underclocking or undervolting these?

Wondered if anything better than 1w/gh can be achieved

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461 also selling 6" M-F-M PCIe splitters and PCIe-PCIe
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!