Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 02:14:07 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Version 0.6 release candidate 1  (Read 12474 times)
dunand
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 625



View Profile
February 12, 2012, 05:49:15 AM
 #21

On ubuntu 11.10 x64 I have this error when trying to run ./bitcoind -daemon

I was on 0.5.2 before.

EXCEPTION: 22DbRunRecoveryException       
DbEnv::open: DB_RUNRECOVERY: Fatal error, run database recovery       
bitcoin in AppInit()       

terminate called after throwing an instance of 'DbRunRecoveryException'
  what():  DbEnv::open: DB_RUNRECOVERY: Fatal error, run database recovery
1481033647
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481033647

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481033647
Reply with quote  #2

1481033647
Report to moderator
1481033647
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481033647

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481033647
Reply with quote  #2

1481033647
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481033647
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481033647

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481033647
Reply with quote  #2

1481033647
Report to moderator
1481033647
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481033647

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481033647
Reply with quote  #2

1481033647
Report to moderator
1481033647
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481033647

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481033647
Reply with quote  #2

1481033647
Report to moderator
slothbag
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 369



View Profile
February 12, 2012, 10:56:44 AM
 #22

I have a wallet.dat file I have been using since v0.3.2, after trying v0.6rc1 using the same wallet.dat file I can no longer run v0.5.2, it crashes on startup. The new version must have made some changes to the wallet.dat that previous versions are not handling.

Not a big issue cause I have backups, but thought it might be worth mentioning.
1Pakis
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 227



View Profile
February 12, 2012, 03:56:45 PM
 #23

On ubuntu 11.10 x64 I have this error when trying to run ./bitcoind -daemon

I was on 0.5.2 before.

EXCEPTION: 22DbRunRecoveryException      
DbEnv::open: DB_RUNRECOVERY: Fatal error, run database recovery      
bitcoin in AppInit()      

terminate called after throwing an instance of 'DbRunRecoveryException'
  what():  DbEnv::open: DB_RUNRECOVERY: Fatal error, run database recovery
I get this error too on xubuntu 11.04

Tips are welcome at this address 18DVZkpSwmejPjekX3QMKvRRtR8Bfx65LN.
kjj
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302



View Profile
February 13, 2012, 06:35:16 PM
 #24

I just used importprivkey to import a key, and the whole thing hung up for several minutes.  Is that normal?

The import appears to have been successful though.

p2pcoin: a USB/CD/PXE p2pool miner - 1N8ZXx2cuMzqBYSK72X4DAy1UdDbZQNPLf - todo
I routinely ignore posters with paid advertising in their sigs.  You should too.
kwukduck
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1564


View Profile
February 16, 2012, 08:23:41 AM
 #25

Yesterday my pc crashed for no aparent reason (just  went like what seemed to be standby, then after 10 seconds rebooted). When i started bitcoin client it took about 2-3 minutes to load before the gui popped up.
After the gui shows it just freezes, can't click anything, task manager claims it's not responding, also RPC doesnt reply to commands.

I did a chkdsk but all seems fine there...

Also, all seems good when reverting back to 0.5.2.

Can't really explain it or reproduce the crash exactly, all i know is that 0.6rc1 now freezes whenever i start it. Used to work just fine before.

14b8PdeWLqK3yi3PrNHMmCvSmvDEKEBh3E
blueadept
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 225


View Profile
February 16, 2012, 02:27:21 PM
 #26

I just used importprivkey to import a key, and the whole thing hung up for several minutes.  Is that normal?

The import appears to have been successful though.

Yes, the entire blockchain is rescanned for transactions to the key you imported.

Like my posts?  Connect with me on LinkedIn and endorse my "Bitcoin" skill.
Decentralized, instant off-chain payments.
viper1092
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
February 18, 2012, 10:19:15 PM
 #27

*Drool*  Shocked

Some nice looking features here in oh6RC1. Soon as I'm back to my MBP I'm gonna test.

1E6R1EnvLP43xawCxs3X826uR1GKob4brC
http://bitcoinpyramid.com/r/1620
http://minefield.bitcoinlab.org/?r=ItDyVtSdMH0K8pLG
Pieter Wuille
Legendary
*
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


View Profile WWW
February 20, 2012, 03:33:35 PM
 #28

Quote
• How far is this "complete compatibility" with older versions? Can I move a wallet.dat from this new release that's created these new keys to an older release and have it still work?

Good point. It will probably work, but the compressed pubkeys will be considered non-compressed ones by older versions, so they will probably miss transactions. Over time, the ledger seen by older clients and newer clients may diverge. I'll try to fix this before 0.6.0 final is released.

This was fixed in commit 38067c1.

aka sipa, core dev team

Tips and donations: 1KwDYMJMS4xq3ZEWYfdBRwYG2fHwhZsipa
Wordlet
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26



View Profile
February 20, 2012, 05:18:29 PM
 #29

I just used importprivkey to import a key, and the whole thing hung up for several minutes.  Is that normal?

The import appears to have been successful though.

Yes, the entire blockchain is rescanned for transactions to the key you imported.

Does it make the UI unresponsive with no indication as to what is happening? Sounds like a bug to me.
Diapolo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 769



View Profile WWW
February 25, 2012, 06:09:01 PM
 #30

I had one strange observation with this RC1 on Windows, which I can't reproduce but perhaps the info is important.

My system has Win7 x64 uses CGMINER for mining and runs the Bitcoin client while I mine. Yesterday I had a bluescreen ... rebooted and tried to start the BC client. I saw the loading screen and thought everything was good, but the GUI simple froze and did not recover from that state. I had the impression the database was corrupt, so I restored a wallet.dat backup and tried to restart the client another time. And again it froze after the loading screen ... interesting fact, I saw via ProcessExplorer, that there were threads working and my data directory grew, so it was in fact re-downloading the block-chain. But no chance, the GUI keept freezing.

So I reverted back to the latest stable release 0.5.2 and now everything is fine again. A further important info I have to give is, I use Microsoft EMET 2.1, which implements some security concepts for applications, which don't support them out of the box via a kind of additional layer, alternatively minimizes attack vectors, so that let's say a buffer-overflow is harder to use for an attack on the application or the host system. I disabled EMET for the BC client the same time I switched back to 0.5.2, so I can't really say if it was a bug with 0.6 or a problem with the bluescreen crash + EMET usage and a database problem. After the re-download of the blockchain I re-activated EMET, so that it's now again active and works without any problems (and it did that for 0.6 before that bluescreen, too ...).

Dia

Liked my former work for Bitcoin Core? Drop me a donation via:
1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x
bitcoin:1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x?label=Diapolo
Diapolo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 769



View Profile WWW
February 25, 2012, 06:17:38 PM
 #31

Wallets created with this version of bitcoin will
use 33-byte 'compressed' public keys instead of
65-byte public keys, resulting in smaller
transactions and less traffic on the bitcoin
network. The shorter keys are completely
compatible with older versions.

Will older wallets (the wallet.dat?) get converted to the new format or can this be done somehow without a data-loss?

Dia

Liked my former work for Bitcoin Core? Drop me a donation via:
1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x
bitcoin:1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x?label=Diapolo
Pieter Wuille
Legendary
*
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


View Profile WWW
February 25, 2012, 06:25:06 PM
 #32

Will older wallets (the wallet.dat?) get converted to the new format or can this be done somehow without a data-loss?

Dia

Yes; in fact, the wallet format remains compatible as long as no new-style keys are generated. As soon as a new key in generated in 0.6.0 onwards, the wallet will not be compatible anymore with pre-0.6.0 clients.

Note that 0.6.0rc1 does not yet prevent old clients from opening such a new wallet, potentially corrupting the wallet. The next release candidates will do so.

aka sipa, core dev team

Tips and donations: 1KwDYMJMS4xq3ZEWYfdBRwYG2fHwhZsipa
Diapolo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 769



View Profile WWW
February 28, 2012, 05:16:46 PM
 #33

I again tried to switch to 0.6 RC1 and GUI still freezes, even with EMET disabled for the BC client :-/.
Reverting to 0.5.2 instantly restores usability ... any ideas, how I can help to debug this? Or when will RC2 be release, so I can see if that one got fixed?

Dia

Liked my former work for Bitcoin Core? Drop me a donation via:
1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x
bitcoin:1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x?label=Diapolo
Prayer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 69


View Profile
February 29, 2012, 02:53:06 PM
 #34

Working on setting up a new home server on Ubuntu 11.10, and wanted to build bitcoind from source.  Ended up with the 0.6 code (didn't realize this until later).  Anyways, had fun playing with the import feature (I was banging my head about how to do this in 0.5.2).

As mentioned by another user, the import took a while.  Would it be worth considering threading this off in order to make the user experience a little nicer?

There seems to be something crossed in the getaccountaddress and getnewaddress RPC calls.  I generated a throwaway address at bitcionaddress.com for this demonstration (and masked it to keep anyone from accidentally using it):
Code:
Bitcoin Address: 1XXXXX7zMGHrs7oc1hCSwkNCmmfT8m2mSQ
Private Key: 5JMn6mZwW69NXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXEgzyjD9NvywV3CzuVUT18wq

Then, I imported it, then got the list of accounts.  It's there!

Code:
me@chewy:~$ bitcoind importprivkey 5JMn6mZwW69NXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXEgzyjD9NvywV3CzuVUT18wq Garbage
me@chewy:~$ bitcoind listaccounts
{
    "" : 0.00000000,
    "Garbage" : 0.00000000,
    "Prayer" : 0.14000000,
    "Test" : 0.00000000,
    "dunno" : 0.00000000
}

However, when I tried to verify the address on the imported key, it seems to have generated a new key/address pair:
Code:
me@chewy:~$ bitcoind getaccountaddress Garbage
1ZZZZZpXRbgb9dn3bfbwZb9YDKieqgnNaZ

Subsequent calls to getaccountaddress return the same address (no new addresses are generated).  However, you can verify that the 'account' now has two addresses associated with it:

Code:
me@chewy:~$ bitcoind getaddressesbyaccount Garbage
[
    "1XXXXX7zMGHrs7oc1hCSwkNCmmfT8m2mSQ",
    "1ZZZZZpXRbgb9dn3bfbwZb9YDKieqgnNaZ"
]

Having an extra address generated isn't a big deal, but I never asked for a new address to be generated.

I started looking into the code, but I'm not familiar enough yet to figure out what's going on.  I may play around with it tonight and see if I can figure out a fix, but it's been years since I've even looked at c++ and even then it wasn't much.

Also, if I may... shouldn't the client be able to refresh the wallet when a key has been imported?  It's rather annoying to have to stop/restart when importing a key before it shows up in the GUI.  Maybe this would be an argument for splitting server & client functionality, and use the GUI only to make RPC calls against the server.

Now, if my observations are worth anything, the address in my sig is valid.  I only have like .14 BTC now and want a bit more to play with =D.



BTC/BEN:1PrayerRDDE2fohojZBQEwyjF2vsbz6eKw
Pieter Wuille
Legendary
*
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


View Profile WWW
February 29, 2012, 02:58:49 PM
 #35

However, when I tried to verify the address on the imported key, it seems to have generated a new key/address pair:
Code:
me@chewy:~$ bitcoind getaccountaddress Garbage
1ZZZZZpXRbgb9dn3bfbwZb9YDKieqgnNaZ

Good point, I don't recall updating the account info when importing. I'll try to do that still before 0.6.0's release.

Quote
Also, if I may... shouldn't the client be able to refresh the wallet when a key has been imported?  It's rather annoying to have to stop/restart when importing a key before it shows up in the GUI.  Maybe this would be an argument for splitting server & client functionality, and use the GUI only to make RPC calls against the server.

Yes, that's a known issue, see the issue page. I'm not familiar with the GUI code, however.

aka sipa, core dev team

Tips and donations: 1KwDYMJMS4xq3ZEWYfdBRwYG2fHwhZsipa
Diapolo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 769



View Profile WWW
February 29, 2012, 03:29:08 PM
 #36

Yesterday my pc crashed for no aparent reason (just  went like what seemed to be standby, then after 10 seconds rebooted). When i started bitcoin client it took about 2-3 minutes to load before the gui popped up.
After the gui shows it just freezes, can't click anything, task manager claims it's not responding, also RPC doesnt reply to commands.

I did a chkdsk but all seems fine there...

Also, all seems good when reverting back to 0.5.2.

Can't really explain it or reproduce the crash exactly, all i know is that 0.6rc1 now freezes whenever i start it. Used to work just fine before.

I should have read this thread from the beginning, as this is the behaviour I observed, too! Any info on this?

Dia

Liked my former work for Bitcoin Core? Drop me a donation via:
1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x
bitcoin:1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x?label=Diapolo
D.H.
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 311


Bitcoin.se site owner


View Profile WWW
February 29, 2012, 04:29:05 PM
 #37

It would be great if someone could create a windows installer for release candidates, like Luke-Jr did with the next-test branch here. Would bring in a lot more testers I'm sure.

www.bitcoin.se - Forum, nyheter och information på svenska! (Forum, news and information in Swedish)
mcorlett
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 308



View Profile
February 29, 2012, 04:39:14 PM
 #38

It would be great if someone could create a windows installer for release candidates, like Luke-Jr did with the next-test branch here. Would bring in a lot more testers I'm sure.
Is this not satisfactory?
http://sourceforge.net/projects/bitcoin/files/Bitcoin/bitcoin-0.6.0/test/

Pieter Wuille
Legendary
*
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


View Profile WWW
February 29, 2012, 04:49:36 PM
 #39

I should have read this thread from the beginning, as this is the behaviour I observed, too! Any info on this?

Unfortunately, no. There have been a rather large number of bugfixes since 0.6.0rc1 however, and 0.6.0rc2 will be created very soon. I hope this problem is fixed by now.

aka sipa, core dev team

Tips and donations: 1KwDYMJMS4xq3ZEWYfdBRwYG2fHwhZsipa
D.H.
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 311


Bitcoin.se site owner


View Profile WWW
February 29, 2012, 04:52:05 PM
 #40

It would be great if someone could create a windows installer for release candidates, like Luke-Jr did with the next-test branch here. Would bring in a lot more testers I'm sure.
Is this not satisfactory?
http://sourceforge.net/projects/bitcoin/files/Bitcoin/bitcoin-0.6.0/test/

Oops, sorry about that. I read through the first post a bit too quickly.

www.bitcoin.se - Forum, nyheter och information på svenska! (Forum, news and information in Swedish)
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!