Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 08:36:00 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Starting Rig Questions - What GPU and PSU  (Read 1572 times)
twam
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
February 09, 2012, 05:16:17 AM
 #1

Hey,
Iv been looking around now for a while on BitCoins and wanted to start mining with my own computer.
Its not going to be a dedicated Rig just my personal computer that i keep on all the time anyways.
I'm in need of a Card and a new PSU as my current one is only 450Watts.

Here is my current specs

Intel Core-i7-920
8GB RAM
ATI Radeon 5450 (15ish MH/s  Cheesy )
1TB HDD
450 Watt Power Supply

Now in order for me to be able to put a better card in the system i will need more power but im not sure what to get.
But what is a good combination of a Power Supply and Card that could give me a High Hash rate but be worth it Power-wise.

I think i have cheaper power prices anyways, they average at $0.074 but go down to $0.061 at times.
All advice and information is appreciated.

Thanks
Twam

BinHoster - Free cPanel Hosting - NO ADS (http://www.BinHoster.com)
SSL Secure Web Proxy - UnblockYoutube.co (https://unblockyoutube.co)
Ad Free Web Proxy (http://Doobit.info)
Smiley
1481402160
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481402160

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481402160
Reply with quote  #2

1481402160
Report to moderator
1481402160
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481402160

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481402160
Reply with quote  #2

1481402160
Report to moderator
1481402160
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481402160

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481402160
Reply with quote  #2

1481402160
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
February 09, 2012, 05:46:36 AM
 #2

How much are you looking to spend?
How many PCIe 16x slots do you have?  Are they spaced 2 slots apart?

Like this (Don't laugh at my ASCII Art):
------ PCIe x16
--- something
--- something
------ PCIe x16

Do you mind buying used or does your GPU need to be all new and sparkly with mint condition unicorn stickers?
Do you want the ability to expand later and thus want an oversized PSU that can handle a 2nd GPU without being replaced?
twam
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
February 09, 2012, 08:45:05 AM
 #3

I don't need the best of the best pricy items but i don't wants cheap ones that i should expect to break with heavy use.
I'm fine with used though as long as everything is working as it should.
Unfortunately my Motherboard only has 1 PCIe x16 slot and its spaced out from the other card i have in there as well.
I was thinking of leaving myself some room to expand as currently i have 2 internal HDD and still room for 1 more which i might add.

My Motherboard

------ PCI Express x8 connector (PCI_E1)
--- PCI Express x1 connector (PCI_E2)
--- PCI Express x1 connector (PCI_E3)
-----------PCI Express x16 connector (PCI_E4)
--- PCI Express x1 connector (PCI_E5)

Thanks for your reply Smiley
Twam

BinHoster - Free cPanel Hosting - NO ADS (http://www.BinHoster.com)
SSL Secure Web Proxy - UnblockYoutube.co (https://unblockyoutube.co)
Ad Free Web Proxy (http://Doobit.info)
Smiley
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
February 09, 2012, 02:25:15 PM
 #4

Well you only have one 16x slot so unless you use extenders (and that isn't viable unless you are looking to build an open rig ) you are limited to one graphics card.  An alternate "scary" option for getting 2nd graphics card in the rig is to cut the end of the 8x slot making it able to fit a 16x card.  Google "dremel PCIe slot".

So since you only have 1 graphics card I would say make it count.

If your budget is ~$400 I would get a used 5970.  Should give you ~750 MH/s.  Your need at least 650W PSU but I would buy 850W because later you could expand to 2x 5970s for ~1.5 GH/s.  5970s work decently even in a case (if not crazy overclocked) because the fan design expells all the hot air OUTSIDE the case.  You will need some beefy intake fans to bring lots of cool air inside the case.

If your budget is ~$200 I would get a used 5870.  Should give you ~400 MH/s.  Recommend same PSU wattage.

If your budget is  less than that I would just save your money.  <400 MH/s isn't going to net you much and potentially needing to upgrade PSU & GPU makes it a bad deal.

If you have to get a new card (including unicorn stickers & glitter).
6870 ~$150 230 MH/s
6950 ~$230 350 MH/s
7950 ~$450 500 MH/s guesstimate (nobody has benchmarked one yet I think)
7970 ~$550 650 MH/s
twam
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
February 10, 2012, 07:20:45 AM
 #5

Hey Thanks for the reply, again.
Im going to keep my eye out for a used 5970.
As for the PSU i think it is smarter for me to get a 850 then like you said i have room to upgrade and if i don't i can then add another HDD is i wanted.

Any good trustworthy PSU ?

Thanks again
Twam

BinHoster - Free cPanel Hosting - NO ADS (http://www.BinHoster.com)
SSL Secure Web Proxy - UnblockYoutube.co (https://unblockyoutube.co)
Ad Free Web Proxy (http://Doobit.info)
Smiley
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
February 10, 2012, 07:21:44 AM
 #6

Seasonic.
twam
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
February 10, 2012, 07:35:13 AM
 #7

Great thanks,
Now i know what to keep eyes on and what my hardware is going to be.

Again Thanks
Twam

BinHoster - Free cPanel Hosting - NO ADS (http://www.BinHoster.com)
SSL Secure Web Proxy - UnblockYoutube.co (https://unblockyoutube.co)
Ad Free Web Proxy (http://Doobit.info)
Smiley
CA Coins
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 306


View Profile
February 10, 2012, 07:57:34 AM
 #8

Also keep in mind where you're keeping your computer.  Check out the watts on the card you're planning to get.  That's equivalent to a heater of that power heating the space around it.  Also, cards with a blower (like the reference 5970) can be quite loud.  So if your computer is in your bedroom, you might not appreciate the heat/noise.

Here is the wiki:  https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison
twam
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
February 13, 2012, 09:47:56 PM
 #9

Thanks for the additional information.
I just got myself a Cooler Master 850W 80+ power Supply, should be enough to power everything and leave me room for another 5970 or another HDD if i choose.
I got it for $76 Shipped and i looked it up and saw they go for $130 New (Have to do mail in rebate at NewEgg, $160 Regular) So i think i got an OK deal.

Still keeping my eyes out for a 5970, had a few bids on eBay but both got out bidded.

Thanks
Twam

BinHoster - Free cPanel Hosting - NO ADS (http://www.BinHoster.com)
SSL Secure Web Proxy - UnblockYoutube.co (https://unblockyoutube.co)
Ad Free Web Proxy (http://Doobit.info)
Smiley
twam
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
February 13, 2012, 11:30:20 PM
 #10

Are there any specific versions of the 5970 i should be looking for ?
I'm getting one for $350 from a guy off of CraigsList, is that an ok price ?

Its a "ATI Radeon HD 5970 2GB Diamond Edition"

Thanks
Twam

BinHoster - Free cPanel Hosting - NO ADS (http://www.BinHoster.com)
SSL Secure Web Proxy - UnblockYoutube.co (https://unblockyoutube.co)
Ad Free Web Proxy (http://Doobit.info)
Smiley
drewtaz
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48


View Profile
February 13, 2012, 11:33:48 PM
 #11

I used a HIS 5850 and it pulls in just around 300 mh/s.  Also run SWTOR on high like a dream. 

Low Entry BTC March Madness Pool!  0.5 BTC per entry!
http://www.bitmadness.com/pool.php?g=KXLQN2YM

Help me a build a mining rig!  Gladly accepting donations!  =)
1HtzqZBcP1yKt6KjFz1xvm1ppCLBcDz3vB
twam
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
February 15, 2012, 08:07:55 PM
 #12

Thanks for all the info so far, But i also have an Asus Striker Extreme Motherboard in another computer that does not get used much.
Im thinking of swapping them, i think it only hold 8GB Ram which is all i have though but would not leave me room to upgrade but would be able to hold more then just 1 5970 safer.

Here is the link to the motherboard specs - http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/Intel_Socket_775/Striker_Extreme/#specifications

My current is just the stock from a Dell Computer and as you can see by my ACSII art above i only have room for 1 card without risers.


Thanks again
Twam

BinHoster - Free cPanel Hosting - NO ADS (http://www.BinHoster.com)
SSL Secure Web Proxy - UnblockYoutube.co (https://unblockyoutube.co)
Ad Free Web Proxy (http://Doobit.info)
Smiley
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
February 15, 2012, 08:53:37 PM
 #13

Thanks for all the info so far, But i also have an Asus Striker Extreme Motherboard in another computer that does not get used much.
Im thinking of swapping them, i think it only hold 8GB Ram which is all i have though but would not leave me room to upgrade but would be able to hold more then just 1 5970 safer.

Here is the link to the motherboard specs - http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/Intel_Socket_775/Striker_Extreme/#specifications

Ram is not an issue.  I use to run 2GB and when I built more rigs I "stole" 1 GB from each rig for the new rigs and they run just fine @ 1 GB.

The way the slots are spaced you can fit 2 easy with no mods or extenders (slots #2 & #6).  If you want to run 3x or 4x 5970s you will need extenders and open rig to get enough airflow.
twam
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
February 15, 2012, 09:09:51 PM
 #14

This wont just be a dedicated mining rig as ill also use if for other things, but my current 8GB of RAM should be fine for anything else i use it for.
But it being able to hold 2 5970's is nice and it have the other pci x16 i could get a riser for is i ever wanted to upgrade again, though upgrading again would require another PSU upgrade which im not ready for yet and don't want to go open case and basically make it a dedicated rig.

Only problems is i don't see a Intel Core-i7 in the supported CPU list  Huh

BinHoster - Free cPanel Hosting - NO ADS (http://www.BinHoster.com)
SSL Secure Web Proxy - UnblockYoutube.co (https://unblockyoutube.co)
Ad Free Web Proxy (http://Doobit.info)
Smiley
edalbkrad
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
February 15, 2012, 10:15:41 PM
 #15

since your board has space for at least 3 cards.
Get a decent card as the dedicated miner/gaming card like HD6870 or faster

Keep your HD5450 because 15 Mhash is not bad for its low power consumption.
make sure you get an ati card because nvidia cards are bad at mining

Bitcoin is new world order? Smiley
twam
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
February 15, 2012, 10:28:09 PM
 #16

But i should use a riser for the middle x16 slot as it would be too hard to keep good air flow with 3 cards so close.
Iv never actually thought of keeping the 5450,  yes is does have very low power consumption. I guess i just looked at it compared to the 5970 not as hey i can still use this.
I wonder if i should put the 5450 in my middle card slot.

But you said a 6870 ?
Doesn't this card have a lot less of a hash rate compared to the 5970 ?
But it is a cheaper in price i see.

BinHoster - Free cPanel Hosting - NO ADS (http://www.BinHoster.com)
SSL Secure Web Proxy - UnblockYoutube.co (https://unblockyoutube.co)
Ad Free Web Proxy (http://Doobit.info)
Smiley
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
February 15, 2012, 10:32:25 PM
 #17

I would ditch the 5450.  It isn't going to add anything meaningful.  At current price & difficulty it is worth about $0.05 per day.

Having it just adds complexity to the system.  Keep it simple.  Get a 5970 and later when you can afford a second one get a second one.  Two gives you >1.5GH/s.  The 5450 would add less than 0.1% to that.

twam
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
February 15, 2012, 11:50:37 PM
 #18

I looked and i see i might be able to sell the 5450 for $30-$40 if i'm lucky.
Worth it better as money i guess then mining.

BinHoster - Free cPanel Hosting - NO ADS (http://www.BinHoster.com)
SSL Secure Web Proxy - UnblockYoutube.co (https://unblockyoutube.co)
Ad Free Web Proxy (http://Doobit.info)
Smiley
viper1092
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
February 16, 2012, 01:03:45 AM
 #19

Nice question! Good for noobs (read: me). I'm new to the whole Botcoin thing and have been reading about mining. This was really informative. I currently have an nVidia 9800 GT so this is helping me decide on a new card. It'll be a hybrid, not dedicated to mining.

I'm really digging this site, BTW.

1E6R1EnvLP43xawCxs3X826uR1GKob4brC
http://bitcoinpyramid.com/r/1620
http://minefield.bitcoinlab.org/?r=ItDyVtSdMH0K8pLG
edalbkrad
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
February 16, 2012, 01:12:41 AM
 #20

what else will you be using your rig for?

if you'll also do gaming and work on it, id go for two gpus instead of a single 5970.
You can use the 5450 as main gpu for adobe photoshop or watching movies while the 5970 does the mining.

or get two HD5870s. The two can get 600 mhash/s if they will both mine.
But you can play games on one while the other does the mining.

Bitcoin is new world order? Smiley
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!